Vaccines News
February 9, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 5:31pm EST

More Vaccines News
February 9, 2016

Most Vaccine-Related Posts on Pinterest Are Anti-Vaccine, Reveals Research

Feb. 1, 2016 — 75 percent of the vaccine-related posts on Pinterest are negative towards vaccination, according to new ... read more

First Recombinant Influenza Vaccine Comes to Mexico

Jan. 28, 2016 — In October 2015, the Commission for the Protection against Sanitary Risk (COFEPRIS) gave Mexico the registry of the first recombinant vaccine against seasonal influenza in the world and designed to ... read more

HIV Protein Manipulates Hundreds of Human Genes to Advance Progression Into AIDS, Study Shows

Jan. 27, 2016 — Researchers have deciphered how a small protein made by the human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) that causes AIDS manipulates human genes to further its deadly agenda. It has long been known that HIV ... read more

Acid-Sensitive Molecular Changes Contribute to the Emergence of Pandemic Influenza

Jan. 25, 2016 — Scientists have linked increased resistance of hemagglutinin protein to acidic pH with emergence of the 2009 H1N1 pandemic flu virus; the finding may help spot future pandemic ... read more

Malaria Parasite Is Dependent on Heavy Metals

Jan. 22, 2016 — The malaria parasite is rendered barren when the transport of heavy metals such as copper and iron is blocked. In addition, researchers identified six proteins that are essential to the life stages ... read more

Jan. 21, 2016 — Researchers have isolated human monoclonal antibodies from Ebola survivors which can neutralize multiple species of the ... read more

Jan. 20, 2016 — In use for more than 20 years, the varicella zoster virus vaccine for chickenpox and shingles is considered an essential medicine by the World Health Organization (WHO). However, researchers have ... read more

Jan. 20, 2016 — Physicians have known for years that patients respond differently to vaccines as they age. There may soon be a new way to predict and enhance the effectiveness of vaccinations, in particular the ... read more

Infant-Friendly Flu Vaccine Developed With Key Protein

Jan. 19, 2016 — Influenza causes serious illness among millions of people each year, resulting in 250,000 to 500,000 deaths, according to the World Health Organization. Those most at risk include infants younger ... read more

Synthetic Biologists Use Bacterial Superglue for Faster Vaccine Development

Jan. 19, 2016 — A new technique uses strong isopeptide bonds to link virus-like particles and antigens to create viral vectored vaccines with fewer errors, report scientists at the conclusion of their ... read more

HPV Vaccine Uptake Is Highest Among Girls in High Poverty, Majority Hispanic Communities

Jan. 14, 2016 — Adolescent girls living in high-poverty communities and majority Hispanic communities in the United States were more likely to have received at least one dose of a human papillomavirus (HPV) vaccine ... read more

Vaccine Targets Alzheimer's Disease-Like Characteristics in People With Down Syndrome

Jan. 13, 2016 — In the first clinical trial of its type, researchers will test the safety and tolerability of an immunotherapy vaccine that targets Alzheimer’s disease-like characteristics in adults with Down ... read more

Safe to Cuddle With Pets While Home With a Cold or Flu

Jan. 13, 2016 — An infectious disease expert, while stopping short of actually prescribing in-home “pet therapy” for colds or flu, says that if having your companion by your side makes you feel better, go right ... read more

Researchers Closer to Better Treatment for Leading Cause of Hospital-Acquired Diarrhea

Jan. 11, 2016 — Researchers have obtained the crystal structure of a toxin from the bacterium Clostridium difficile ('C. diff') -- the leading cause of hospital-acquired diarrhea in the United States. They ... read more

Researchers Reveal Mechanisms of How Body Remembers, Fights Infections

Jan. 8, 2016 — Scientists have found a potential way to influence long-term memory formation in the immune ... read more

Minor Flu Strains Pack Bigger Punch, Scientists Find

Jan. 4, 2016 — Minor variants of flu strains, which are not typically targeted in vaccines, carry a bigger viral punch than previously realized, a team of scientists has found. Its research, which examined samples ... read more

Creating Safer Polio Vaccine Strains for the Post-Eradication Era

Jan. 4, 2016 — While the goal of polio virus eradication is in sight, there are concerns about post-eradication manufacturing and stockpiling vaccine stores containing live virus that could escape and repopulate ... read more

T Cells That Recognize HER2 Teceptor May Prevent HER2+ Breast Cancer Recurrence

Dec. 30, 2015 — Recurrence of HER2-positive breast cancer after treatment may be due to a specific and possibly cancer-induced weakness in the patient's immune system -- a weakness that in principle could be ... read more

Childhood Asthma May Increase Risks of Shingles

Dec. 28, 2015 — Nearly 1 million incidents of herpes zoster, which is also known as shingles, occur every year in the US, with an estimated one-third of all adults affected by age 80. Despite its prevalence, ... read more

Dec. 25, 2015 — Scientists have for the first time revealed how malaria parasites cause an inflammatory reaction that sabotages our body's ability to protect itself against the disease.The discovery opens up ... read more

Monday, February 1, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Monday, January 25, 2016
Friday, January 22, 2016
Thursday, January 21, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Monday, January 11, 2016
Friday, January 8, 2016
Monday, January 4, 2016
Wednesday, December 30, 2015
Monday, December 28, 2015
Friday, December 25, 2015
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Tuesday, December 22, 2015
Friday, December 18, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Monday, December 14, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
Tuesday, December 8, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015
Sunday, December 6, 2015
Thursday, December 3, 2015
Tuesday, December 1, 2015
Monday, November 30, 2015
Thursday, November 19, 2015
Wednesday, November 18, 2015
Tuesday, November 17, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Friday, November 13, 2015
Thursday, November 12, 2015
Tuesday, November 10, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Wednesday, November 4, 2015
Tuesday, November 3, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Friday, October 30, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015
Wednesday, October 28, 2015
Tuesday, October 27, 2015
Friday, October 23, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Tuesday, October 20, 2015
Monday, October 19, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Monday, October 12, 2015
Saturday, October 10, 2015
Friday, October 9, 2015
Tuesday, October 6, 2015
Monday, October 5, 2015
Thursday, October 1, 2015
Wednesday, September 30, 2015
Monday, September 28, 2015
Friday, September 25, 2015
Thursday, September 24, 2015
Tuesday, September 22, 2015