Vaccines News
October 4, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 4:59am EDT

More Vaccines News
October 4, 2015

This Year's Flu Vaccine Expected to Be a 'Good Match'

Sep. 24, 2015 — Every year at this time, we hear it's time to get the flu shot. After last year's vaccine missed the mark, how does the Center for Disease Control regain the public's confidence that ... read more

Old Vaccine Trains Immune System

Sep. 22, 2015 — Not only the acquired immune system but also the innate immune system has a memory. And the BCG vaccine against tuberculosis can stimulate this memory, researchers report. After a BCG vaccination, ... read more

Bordetella Parapertussis Outbreak in Southeastern Minnesota in 2014

Sep. 21, 2015 — A new study reports that an outbreak of Bordetella parapertussis occurred in 2014 in Southeastern Minnesota, in the months of October through ... read more

Vaccine Clears Some Precancerous Cervical Lesions in Clinical Trial

Sep. 17, 2015 — Scientists have used a genetically engineered vaccine to successfully eradicate high-grade precancerous cervical lesions in nearly one-half of women who received the vaccine in a clinical trial. The ... read more

Where Flu Vaccination Rates Are Higher in Adults Under 65, Lower Flu Risk for Seniors

Sep. 10, 2015 — Healthy adults who get the flu vaccine may help protect not only themselves but also older adults in their community at higher risk for serious complications from influenza, suggest findings from a ... read more

Promising Vaccine Therapy for Glioblastoma Brain Cancers Moves on to Larger, Multisite Study

Sep. 9, 2015 — A new clinical trial will assess the effectiveness of the SurVaxM vaccine in combination with standard chemotherapy as treatment for glioblastoma, a rare but often-fatal cancer of the ... read more

Study Identifies Viral Protein That Causes Dengue Shock

Sep. 9, 2015 — Scientists have identified a viral protein secreted by cells infected with the dengue virus as a key culprit behind the fluid loss and resulting shock that are the hallmark of severe -- and ... read more

Sep. 9, 2015 — While babies are born with very little vitamin K, and the only way to sufficiently supplement it is through an injection soon after birth, some parents are shying away from the shots, a new study ... read more

Effects of MVA85A Vaccine on Tuberculosis Challenge in Animals

Sep. 9, 2015 — A new systematic review of animal studies testing a vaccine for tuberculosis raises questions about whether the studies provided sufficient evidence to move into trials of ... read more

Study Points to a Possible New Pathway Toward a Vaccine Against MRSA

Sep. 9, 2015 — New research has uncovered why a particular strain of Staphylococcus aureus -- known as HA-MRSA -- becomes more deadly than other variations. These new findings open up possible new pathways to ... read more

Immune Cells Take Cue from Animal Kingdom: Together, Everyone Achieves More

Sep. 3, 2015 — Much like birds fly in flocks to conserve energy and ants create complex nests to protect their queens, immune cells engage in coordinated behavior to wipe out viruses like the flu. Scientists ... read more

Sep. 2, 2015 — Vaccines to protect against an avian influenza pandemic as well as seasonal flu may be mass produced more quickly and efficiently using new ... read more

How Anesthesia May Fight Lung Infections: Mouse Study

Sep. 1, 2015 — In experiments in mice, researchers have added to evidence that certain so-called “volatile” anesthetics — commonly used during surgeries — may also possess powerful effects on the immune ... read more

Aug. 31, 2015 — HIV-1 infection with multiple founder variants points to poorer clinical outcomes than infection with a single variant, according to research. In the study, researchers analyzed large sample sets ... read more

Aug. 27, 2015 — With all but two countries worldwide, Pakistan and Afghanistan, declared polio-free, the eradication of the devastating viral disease in the near future is a real possibility. A new study however ... read more

Less May Be More in Slowing Cholera Epidemics

Aug. 25, 2015 — An oral cholera vaccine that is in short supply could treat more people and save more lives in crisis situations, if one dose were dispensed instead of the recommended two, new research ... read more

Aug. 25, 2015 — New research could potentially yield a new platform for cancer vaccines. Leveraging a biologically inspired sponge-like gel called 'cryogel' as an injectable biomaterial, the vaccine ... read more

Influenza Vaccines Provide Moderate Protection Throughout the Entire Flu Season

Aug. 24, 2015 — Individuals who received the flu vaccine were protected for up to 6 months post-vaccination, the duration of most flu seasons, according to a new ... read more

Reducing Pain During Vaccination: New Guideline to Help Manage Pain in Children and Adults

Aug. 24, 2015 — A new guideline aims to ensure that pain during vaccination is minimized in both children and ... read more

Flu Vaccinations Make Sense for Elderly, Study Suggests

Aug. 24, 2015 — Amid debate about whether flu vaccination really helps the elderly, a new study provides fresh evidence that it does. Researchers found vaccines well matched to the year's flu strain ... read more

Thursday, September 24, 2015
Tuesday, September 22, 2015
Monday, September 21, 2015
Thursday, September 17, 2015
Thursday, September 10, 2015
Wednesday, September 9, 2015
Thursday, September 3, 2015
Wednesday, September 2, 2015
Tuesday, September 1, 2015
Monday, August 31, 2015
Thursday, August 27, 2015
Tuesday, August 25, 2015
Monday, August 24, 2015
Friday, August 14, 2015
Thursday, August 13, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Tuesday, August 11, 2015
Monday, August 10, 2015
Wednesday, August 5, 2015
Monday, August 3, 2015
Thursday, July 30, 2015
Wednesday, July 29, 2015
Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Monday, July 27, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Wednesday, July 8, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Saturday, June 27, 2015
Friday, June 26, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Wednesday, June 24, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015
Friday, June 19, 2015
Thursday, June 18, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015
Friday, June 12, 2015
Tuesday, June 9, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Sunday, June 7, 2015
Thursday, June 4, 2015
Wednesday, June 3, 2015
Monday, June 1, 2015
Thursday, May 28, 2015
Tuesday, May 26, 2015
Friday, May 22, 2015
Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Monday, May 18, 2015