Wounds and Healing News
May 22, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 9:00pm EDT

More Wounds and Healing News
May 22, 2015

New Care Approach to Colorectal Operations Speeds Patients' Recovery Times

May 7, 2015 — Patients undergoing colorectal operations who participated in an enhanced recovery program left the hospital sooner and had significantly lower hospital costs than patients who had the traditional ... read more

As Circumcision Wounds Heal, HIV-Positive Men May Spread Virus to Female Partners: Uganda Study

Apr. 28, 2015 — Scientists report that a new study of HIV-infected men in Uganda has identified a temporary, but potentially troublesome unintended consequence of the procedure: a possible increased risk of ... read more

Home Skills Program for Surgical Patients Who Require Complex Wound Management

Apr. 14, 2015 — A new initiative has been launched to improve outcomes for patients requiring complex wound management. Experts note that the health care system has focused significant resources on reducing surgical ... read more

Many Nursing Home Residents Die, Don't Walk After Lower Extremity Revascularization

Apr. 6, 2015 — Many nursing home residents who underwent lower extremity revascularization died, did not walk or had functional decline following the procedure, which is commonly used to treat leg pain caused by ... read more

For Type V AC Joint Injuries, Early Surgery May Not Be the Best Approach

Mar. 28, 2015 — Early surgery may not be the best treatment option for patients with Type V AC joint injuries, according to new research. Medical researchers showed military personnel returned to duty faster when ... read more

Bundled Payments: Study Finds Causes of Hospital Readmissions Following Joint Replacements

Mar. 27, 2015 — A new study identifies common causes of hospital readmissions following total hip and knee arthoplasty procedures among patients involved in a Bundled Payment Care Initiative. By finding these common ... read more

Mar. 26, 2015 — An experimental therapy successfully tested in mice cut in half the time it takes to heal wounds compared to no treatment at all. "We envision that our nanoparticle therapy could be used to ... read more

In Debated Surgical Procedure, Technique Trumps Technology

Mar. 26, 2015 — Modern technology for healing distal femur fractures is as safe and effective as its more established alternative, without a potential shortfall of the older approach, a team of orthopedic surgeons ... read more

Higher Volume of Scoliosis Surgeries Linked to Reduced Reoperation Rates

Mar. 24, 2015 — Adolescent patients who need scoliosis surgery may benefit most from going to a hospital that performs a high volume of the procedures, according to new research. Specifically, 14.1 percent of ... read more

Diabetics With Ankle Fractures Have Longer Lengths of Stay, More Health Care Costs

Mar. 24, 2015 — American researchers have found that patients with diabetes were more likely to incur significantly greater hospital charges (mean: $26,491 diabetes versus $20,428 nondiabetes) and have significantly ... read more

Mar. 17, 2015 — A new 'smart bandage' has been developed that uses electrical currents to detect early tissue damage from pressure ulcers, or bedsores, before they can be seen by human eyes -- and while ... read more

Review of Global Guidelines for Sepsis Needed

Mar. 20, 2015 — Experts are calling for a global review of guidelines used to diagnose sepsis, after a study found one in eight patients with infections severe enough to need admission to an Intensive Care Unit in ... read more

Should Paramedics Be Allowed to Give Antibiotics to Trauma Victims?

Feb. 24, 2015 — In trauma victims with open fractures, infection rates can be reduced dramatically by administering antibiotics within the first hour of injury. The finding suggests that allowing paramedics to ... read more

One Year Later, Preoperative Quit-Smoking Program Still Shows Benefits

Feb. 23, 2015 — Patients receiving a brief intervention to help them quit smoking before surgery are still more likely to be nonsmokers at one-year follow-up, reports a ... read more

Minimally Invasive Achilles Tendon Surgery Reduces Healing Complications and Leaves a Smaller Scar

Feb. 6, 2015 — A new minimally invasive surgery for repairing a ruptured Achilles tendon requires a smaller incision, minimizes wound healing complications and leaves less scar tissue, clinicians ... read more

Making a Better Wound Dressing, With Fish Skin

Feb. 11, 2015 — With a low price tag and mild flavor, tilapia has become a staple dinnertime fish for many Americans. Now it could have another use: helping to heal our wounds. Scientists have shown that a protein ... read more

Feb. 9, 2015 — Skin not only provides an essential protective barrier against foreign materials and pathogens, but it also helps the body retain various fluids and electrolytes. When this barrier is damaged, the ... read more

Erectile Dysfunction Drugs Could Protect Liver from Sepsis-Induced Damage

Jan. 29, 2015 — Drugs that are on the market to treat erectile dysfunction could have another use: they might be able to protect the liver from damage caused by sepsis, a systemic inflammatory response to infection, ... read more

Dental Experts Show Why Wound Healing Is Impaired in Diabetics

Jan. 26, 2015 — A critical molecule has been identified by a team of dental scientists that helps explain why diabetics suffer from impaired healing. Their results pinpoint a target for therapies that could help ... read more

Influenza and Sepsis: Expert Describes Warning Signs of Severe Sepsis, Septic Shock

Jan. 13, 2015 — Sepsis can be a dangerous complication of almost any type of infection, including influenza, pneumonia and food poisoning; urinary tract infections; bloodstream infections from wounds; and abdominal ... read more

Thursday, May 7, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Monday, April 6, 2015
Saturday, March 28, 2015
Friday, March 27, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Friday, March 20, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Monday, February 23, 2015
Friday, February 6, 2015
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Monday, February 9, 2015
Thursday, January 29, 2015
Monday, January 26, 2015
Tuesday, January 13, 2015
Friday, January 9, 2015
Wednesday, January 7, 2015
Monday, January 5, 2015
Monday, December 29, 2014
Monday, December 22, 2014
Wednesday, December 10, 2014
Thursday, December 11, 2014
Wednesday, November 12, 2014
Monday, October 27, 2014
Thursday, October 30, 2014
Wednesday, November 5, 2014
Monday, October 27, 2014
Tuesday, October 28, 2014
Tuesday, October 21, 2014
Thursday, October 23, 2014
Monday, October 20, 2014
Thursday, October 16, 2014
Monday, October 13, 2014
Tuesday, October 7, 2014
Thursday, October 2, 2014
Wednesday, October 1, 2014
Tuesday, September 23, 2014
Thursday, September 25, 2014
Tuesday, September 16, 2014
Thursday, September 4, 2014
Tuesday, September 2, 2014
Thursday, September 4, 2014
Tuesday, August 26, 2014
Monday, August 18, 2014
Sunday, August 10, 2014
Thursday, August 7, 2014
Wednesday, August 6, 2014
Tuesday, August 5, 2014
Thursday, July 31, 2014
Sunday, July 27, 2014
Tuesday, July 15, 2014
Friday, July 11, 2014
Thursday, July 10, 2014
Wednesday, July 9, 2014
Tuesday, July 8, 2014
Monday, July 7, 2014
Tuesday, July 1, 2014
Wednesday, June 25, 2014
Thursday, June 12, 2014
Thursday, May 29, 2014
Wednesday, May 21, 2014
Friday, May 23, 2014
Tuesday, May 20, 2014
Monday, May 12, 2014
Wednesday, April 30, 2014
Monday, April 28, 2014
Thursday, April 17, 2014
Friday, April 18, 2014
Tuesday, April 15, 2014
Tuesday, April 8, 2014
Monday, March 31, 2014
Tuesday, April 1, 2014
Monday, March 31, 2014
Wednesday, March 26, 2014
Friday, March 21, 2014
Tuesday, March 18, 2014
Monday, March 17, 2014
Wednesday, March 12, 2014
Tuesday, March 4, 2014
Tuesday, February 25, 2014
Friday, February 28, 2014
Thursday, February 20, 2014
Friday, February 7, 2014
Wednesday, February 5, 2014
Tuesday, February 4, 2014