Wounds and Healing News
August 1, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 6:00pm EDT

More Wounds and Healing News
August 1, 2015

Researchers Identify Model to Predict Successful Wound Healing

July 27, 2015 — Battlefield surgeons and civilian physicians could have a powerful new tool to help patients recover from traumatic injuries, including life-threatening wounds from explosions. Researchers have ... read more

Hope for Patients With Chronic Wounds

June 29, 2015 — Most wounds clear up by themselves, but some fail to heal and become chronic. An international team of researchers has now unveiled the important role of so-called microRNAs in regulating skin wound ... read more

Body's Response to Injury, Inflammation May Hinder Wound Healing in Diabetes

June 15, 2015 — Scientists have found that they could speed up wound healing in diabetic mice by keeping immune cells called neutrophils from producing bacteria-trapping neutrophil extracellular traps ... read more

Implantable Antibiotic-Laced Sponges Reduce Sternal Infections in Cardiac Surgery

June 11, 2015 — Cardiac surgeons often "crack open" the flat bone that forms the middle front section of the chest, known as the sternum, in order to reach important structures. When a sternal wound ... read more

June 10, 2015 — Research is revealing the heavy surgical consequences of severe obesity. The study looked at the results of severely obese patients in need of emergency surgery. Of the patients studied, nearly half ... read more

Plasma Makes Wounds Heal Quicker

June 10, 2015 — Many people suffer from skin disorders. Open wounds are a particularly acute problem, especially among the elderly. PlasmaDerm, a new medical technology solution, uses plasma to facilitate faster ... read more

Eyes Sealed Shut: Seamless Closure of Surgical Incisions

June 2, 2015 — A researcher has spent much of his career honing his pioneering technique called 'laser welding,' which heats incisions in a precisely controlled manner for optimal wound closure. His ... read more

Infusions of Donor Bone Marrow Cells Help Children With Inherited Skin Blistering

May 26, 2015 — Promising results from a trial of a new stem-cell based therapy for a rare and debilitating skin condition suggest that the therapy, involving infusions of stem cells, provide pain relief and to ... read more

May 14, 2015 — The most detailed study to date showing how electrical stimulation accelerates wound healing has now been carried ... read more

New Care Approach to Colorectal Operations Speeds Patients' Recovery Times

May 7, 2015 — Patients undergoing colorectal operations who participated in an enhanced recovery program left the hospital sooner and had significantly lower hospital costs than patients who had the traditional ... read more

Photoactive Dye Could Prevent Infection During Bone-Repair Surgery

May 7, 2015 — A green dye that sticks to bone grafts becomes antimicrobial with the flick of a light switch and could help reduce the risk of infections during bone-reconstruction surgeries, scientists report. In ... read more

In Late Post-Surgical Colon 'Leaks,' Finger Points to Microbes

May 6, 2015 — Post-surgical leaks that develop after a segment of the colon has been removed and stitched back together often are caused not by negligence or technical error but by bacteria in the bowel that elude ... read more

Surgery for Terminal Cancer Patients Still Common

May 1, 2015 — The number of surgeries performed on terminally ill cancer patients has not dropped in recent years, despite more attention to the importance of less invasive care for these patients to relieve ... read more

As Circumcision Wounds Heal, HIV-Positive Men May Spread Virus to Female Partners: Uganda Study

Apr. 28, 2015 — Scientists report that a new study of HIV-infected men in Uganda has identified a temporary, but potentially troublesome unintended consequence of the procedure: a possible increased risk of ... read more

Apr. 27, 2015 — A protein that normally fosters tissue repair instead acts to inhibit healing when sugar levels are high. The role reversal helps explain why wounds heal slowly in people with ... read more

Nanotech-Enabled Moisturizer Speeds Healing of Diabetic Skin Wounds

Apr. 23, 2015 — A new high-tech but simple ointment applied to the skin may one day help diabetic patients heal stubborn and painful ulcers on their feet, Northwestern University researchers report. They are the ... read more

Finding Effective, Cost-Effective Treatments for Complex Wounds

Apr. 22, 2015 — Two new papers identify which of the hundreds of available treatments for complex wounds are most likely to be effective and which are most likely to be cost-effective. Complex wounds are a ... read more

Cell Type Responsible for Scarring, Skin-Cancer Growth Identified by Scientists

Apr. 16, 2015 — A skin cell responsible for scarring, and a molecule that inhibits the cell's activity, have been identified by researchers. The researchers also found that the cell may play a role in the ... read more

Home Skills Program for Surgical Patients Who Require Complex Wound Management

Apr. 14, 2015 — A new initiative has been launched to improve outcomes for patients requiring complex wound management. Experts note that the health care system has focused significant resources on reducing surgical ... read more

Many Nursing Home Residents Die, Don't Walk After Lower Extremity Revascularization

Apr. 6, 2015 — Many nursing home residents who underwent lower extremity revascularization died, did not walk or had functional decline following the procedure, which is commonly used to treat leg pain caused by ... read more

Monday, July 27, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Tuesday, June 2, 2015
Tuesday, May 26, 2015
Thursday, May 14, 2015
Thursday, May 7, 2015
Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Friday, May 1, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Monday, April 27, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Monday, April 6, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Saturday, March 28, 2015
Friday, March 27, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Friday, March 20, 2015
Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Monday, February 23, 2015
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Monday, February 9, 2015
Friday, February 6, 2015
Thursday, January 29, 2015
Monday, January 26, 2015
Tuesday, January 13, 2015
Friday, January 9, 2015
Wednesday, January 7, 2015
Monday, January 5, 2015
Monday, December 29, 2014
Monday, December 22, 2014
Thursday, December 11, 2014
Wednesday, December 10, 2014
Wednesday, November 12, 2014
Wednesday, November 5, 2014
Thursday, October 30, 2014
Tuesday, October 28, 2014
Monday, October 27, 2014
Thursday, October 23, 2014
Tuesday, October 21, 2014
Monday, October 20, 2014
Thursday, October 16, 2014
Monday, October 13, 2014
Tuesday, October 7, 2014
Thursday, October 2, 2014
Wednesday, October 1, 2014
Thursday, September 25, 2014
Tuesday, September 23, 2014
Tuesday, September 16, 2014
Thursday, September 4, 2014
Tuesday, September 2, 2014
Tuesday, August 26, 2014
Monday, August 18, 2014
Sunday, August 10, 2014
Thursday, August 7, 2014
Wednesday, August 6, 2014
Tuesday, August 5, 2014
Thursday, July 31, 2014
Sunday, July 27, 2014
Tuesday, July 15, 2014
Friday, July 11, 2014
Thursday, July 10, 2014
Wednesday, July 9, 2014
Tuesday, July 8, 2014
Monday, July 7, 2014
Tuesday, July 1, 2014
Wednesday, June 25, 2014
Thursday, June 12, 2014
Thursday, May 29, 2014
Friday, May 23, 2014
Wednesday, May 21, 2014
Tuesday, May 20, 2014
Monday, May 12, 2014
Wednesday, April 30, 2014
Monday, April 28, 2014
Friday, April 18, 2014
Thursday, April 17, 2014