Infant's Health News
February 9, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 7:58pm EST

More Infant's Health News
February 9, 2016

Eye Abnormalities in Infants With Microcephaly Associated With Zika Virus

Feb. 9, 2016 — Vision-threatening eye abnormalities in infants in Brazil with microcephaly (a birth defect characterized by an abnormally small head) may be associated with presumed intrauterine infection with Zika ... read more

To Prevent Infection After C-Section, Chlorhexidine Better Than Iodine

Feb. 4, 2016 — Chlorhexidine-alcohol skin prep is superior to iodine-alcohol for preventing infection after C-section, according to a new study. Rather than prepping patients with iodine-alcohol -- a common ... read more

Maternal Diet Alters the Breast Milk Microbiome and Microbial Gene Content

Feb. 2, 2016 — Breast milk contains a diverse microbiome that is presumed to colonize the infant gastrointestinal tract and contribute to the establishment of the infant gut microbiome. The composition of the ... read more

Feb. 2, 2016 — Abnormalities in embryonic brain development in mice, including transient embryonic brain enlargement during neuron formation, are responsible for abnormal adult brain structures and behavioral ... read more

Study Validates Two-Protein Test for Spontaneous Preterm Birth Prediction

Feb. 1, 2016 — Researchers have presented findings from the Proteomic Assessment of Preterm Risk study with the title Clinical validation of a two-protein test for spontaneous preterm birth prediction in a large ... read more

Study Strengthens Evidence Linking Autism to Maternal Obesity-Diabetes

Feb. 1, 2016 — Scientists show they can use electronic medical records and birth information to verify and strengthen an already suspected link between autistic children and pregnant mothers with obesity and ... read more

Competition Between Mothers Starts in the Womb, New Study Suggests

Feb. 1, 2016 — Female mammals, including humans, may try to outcompete one another by producing bigger babies, ground-breaking research has suggested. A 13-year-long study, the first of its kind to use ultrasound, ... read more

Vaginal Microbes Can Be Partially Restored to C-Section Babies

Feb. 1, 2016 — A simple swab to transfer vaginal microbes from a mother to her C-section-delivered newborn can alter the baby's microbial makeup (microbiome) in a way that more closely resembles the microbiome ... read more

Obesity, Diabetes in Mom Increases Risk of Autism in Child

Jan. 29, 2016 — Children born to obese women with diabetes are more than four times as likely to be diagnosed with autism spectrum disorder than children of healthy weight mothers without diabetes, new research ... read more

United States Has Greater Link Between Low Birth Weight, Inequality, Study Shows

Jan. 29, 2016 — New research found that while low birth weight was linked to lower income and education levels in four comparable countries, that connection was most persistent in the United ... read more

Refugee Women at Higher Risk of Preterm Birth, Study Finds

Jan. 29, 2016 — Refugee women who come to Canada have greater risk of giving birth prematurely than non-refugee immigrants, a Canadian study shows. Preterm or premature birth describes infants who are born before 37 ... read more

Antidepressants During Pregnancy Do Not Pose Risk to Unborn Child, Say Researchers

Jan. 27, 2016 — Women who take antidepressants during pregnancy do not appear to be at greater risk of giving birth to children with congenital heart defects compared to women who are not exposed to the drugs, ... read more

Four Factors Predict Neurodevelopmental Outcomes for Children With Low Birth Weight

Jan. 27, 2016 — Four factors -- medical complications at birth, maternal education, early motor assessments, and early cognitive assessments -- help predict later cognitive function and motor performance for ... read more

Painkiller Use in Pregnancy Can Cut Female Fertility, Study Finds

Jan. 27, 2016 — Using painkillers in pregnancy may reduce fertility in subsequent generations, research suggests. Tests in rats found that when a mother was given painkillers during pregnancy, her female offspring ... read more

Jan. 26, 2016 — Osteoporosis may have its origins in early life, but the consequences are not apparent until late adult life, report researchers. Osteoporosis is primarily characterized by a depletion of bone ... read more

Anti-Asthma Drugs Taken During Pregnancy Associated With Autism Risk

Jan. 26, 2016 — Taking B2AR agonist asthma drugs during pregnancy appears to be associated with an increased risk that the child will develop autism, according to new ... read more

Many Latino Kids Struggle to Reach a Healthy Weight by Kindergarten

Jan. 26, 2016 — More Latino kids are obese by ages 2-5 than white kids, due to maternal obesity, less exclusive breastfeeding, and workplace and childcare issues that affect nutrition and physical activity levels, ... read more

Exposure to High Levels of Air Pollution Associated With Higher Risk of Preterm Birth

Jan. 26, 2016 — Exposure to high levels of small particle air pollution is associated with an increased risk of preterm birth -- before 37 weeks of pregnancy, according to a new ... read more

Pre-Eclampsia in Pregnant Women Can Be Diagnosed Exactly Through a Blood Test

Jan. 25, 2016 — Pre-eclampsia is a serious illness associated with pregnancy, which develops after twenty weeks and is associated with defective ingrowing of the placenta within the mother. The dangerous illness is ... read more

Scientists Overcome Missing Data to Demonstrate ART Effectiveness in HIV-Infected Infants

Jan. 22, 2016 — Scientists have demonstrated that the issue of missing data can be successfully overcome using appropriate statistical methods, and as a result, they were able to show how early initiation of ART in ... read more

Tuesday, February 9, 2016
Thursday, February 4, 2016
Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Monday, February 1, 2016
Friday, January 29, 2016
Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Tuesday, January 26, 2016
Monday, January 25, 2016
Friday, January 22, 2016
Thursday, January 21, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Monday, January 18, 2016
Friday, January 15, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Monday, January 11, 2016
Friday, January 8, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Monday, January 4, 2016
Tuesday, December 29, 2015
Monday, December 21, 2015
Friday, December 18, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Monday, December 14, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
Tuesday, December 8, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015
Friday, December 4, 2015
Thursday, December 3, 2015
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Tuesday, December 1, 2015
Wednesday, November 25, 2015
Tuesday, November 24, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Friday, November 20, 2015
Thursday, November 19, 2015