Sports Medicine News
May 7, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 1:23am EDT

More Sports Medicine News
May 7, 2015

Many Young ACL Surgery Patients Need Second Surgery Later on

May 1, 2015 — Orthopedic surgeons are seeing an epidemic of anterior cruciate ligament injuries among young athletes, and a large number of patients who have surgery to reconstruct a torn ACL undergo a second knee ... read more

Concerns Over UK Government Plan to Increase Participation in School Rugby

Apr. 21, 2015 — The UK government plan to fund and to increase participation in rugby in schools has not been informed by injury data, warn ... read more

Apr. 14, 2015 — Exercise researchers have developed a new treadmill that automatically changes speed to match the pace of the runner. The automated treadmill uses sonar to tell exactly where the runner is on the ... read more

More Salt Doesn't Mean Better Performance for Endurance Athletes

Apr. 13, 2015 — A new study cast doubts on the popular idea that salt consumption can help endurance athletes during competition. "While moderate sodium consumption is perfectly reasonable and should be ... read more

Apr. 8, 2015 — New research shows that males with higher 'reproductive potential' are better distance runners. This may have been used by females as a reliable signal of high male genetic quality during ... read more

Muscles Matter in Baseball

Apr. 8, 2015 — A new approach to analyzing baseball-pitching biomechanics may one day give players more personalized feedback and help prevent elbow injuries. In a computer simulation study of baseball pitching, ... read more

ACL Surgery May Significantly Improve Physical Health and Function for at Least Six Years in Younger Patients

Apr. 7, 2015 — Most patients who underwent surgery to repair and rebuild an anterior cruciate ligament tear showed significant improvement in physical function at two years, which continued for at least six years ... read more

Middle-Aged Athletes at Low Risk for Sudden Cardiac Arrest While Exercising

Apr. 6, 2015 — Middle-aged athletes are at low risk for having a sudden cardiac arrest while playing sports, and those who do have a greater chance of surviving the usually-fatal condition, shows a new ... read more

Working Up a Sweat: It Could Save Your Life

Apr. 6, 2015 — Physical activity that makes you puff and sweat is key to avoiding an early death, a large study of middle-aged and older adults has found. The researchers followed 204,542 people for more than six ... read more

Apr. 3, 2015 — A novel probe will be investigating impact injuries in water polo. The goal of the three-pronged study – aided by the popular sport’s national governing body – is to compile scientific data on ... read more

Antioxidant Therapy May Have Promising Potential in Concussion Treatment

Apr. 1, 2015 — Antioxidants may play a key role in reducing the long-term effects of concussions and could potentially offer a unique new approach for treatment, a new study suggests. Common among athletes and ... read more

Mar. 30, 2015 — The five-star ratings of hockey helmets, judging their abilities to help prevent concussions, have been released by experts. The findings so far: Only one of 32 tested hockey helmets earned three ... read more

Shoulder and Elbow Injury Possibility in Youth Players

Mar. 28, 2015 — Pitching speed, player's height, and pitching for multiple teams may correlate with a history of shoulder and elbow injuries, according to new ... read more

Young Athletes at Greater Risk for Re-Injury After ACL Surgery

Mar. 28, 2015 — One in three young athletes who undergo ACL surgery experiences re-injury, according to new research. The study examined the long term success of surgery for patients aged 18 years and ... read more

Mar. 27, 2015 — A new study found that more than one-third of elite, Division I college athletes may have low levels of vitamin D, which is critical in helping the body to absorb calcium needed to maintain bone ... read more

Most NFL Players With Injuries to the Midfoot Return to Game Action

Mar. 27, 2015 — Nearly 93 percent of National Football League (NFL) athletes who sustained traumatic injuries to the midfoot returned to competition less than 15 months after injury and with no statistically ... read more

Promising New Biomarkers for Concussion Identified

Mar. 25, 2015 — A panel of four readily detectable blood proteins can accurately indicate concussion, even helping distinguishing it from other injuries, according to a new study. Researchers found the panel by ... read more

Baseball Injuries: Majority of Parents Unaware of Safe Pitching Practices

Mar. 25, 2015 — A new study found that 53 percent of the parents/caregivers of youth baseball pitchers are unaware of safe pitching practices designed to prevent overuse injuries -- common tears or damage, most ... read more

Call for More Research on Brain Damage in American Football

Mar. 24, 2015 — More research is needed to identify how athletes sustain brain injury from American football, and also to develop strategies to protect them, write experts. Chronic traumatic encephalopathy (CTE) is ... read more

Second Tommy John Surgery Linked to Performance Decline, Shortened Career

Mar. 24, 2015 — Major League Baseball pitchers who underwent a second Tommy John surgery saw their performance decline and their career shortened, according to ... read more

Friday, May 1, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Monday, April 13, 2015
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Monday, April 6, 2015
Friday, April 3, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Saturday, March 28, 2015
Friday, March 27, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Thursday, March 5, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Tuesday, March 3, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Friday, February 27, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Monday, February 23, 2015
Thursday, February 19, 2015
Tuesday, February 17, 2015
Thursday, February 12, 2015
Monday, February 9, 2015
Thursday, February 5, 2015
Thursday, January 29, 2015
Wednesday, January 28, 2015
Tuesday, January 27, 2015
Monday, January 26, 2015
Thursday, January 22, 2015
Wednesday, January 14, 2015
Thursday, January 8, 2015
Wednesday, January 7, 2015
Tuesday, December 30, 2014
Monday, December 22, 2014
Wednesday, December 10, 2014
Tuesday, December 9, 2014
Friday, December 5, 2014
Thursday, December 4, 2014
Wednesday, December 3, 2014
Monday, December 1, 2014
Tuesday, November 25, 2014
Monday, November 24, 2014
Sunday, November 16, 2014
Thursday, November 6, 2014
Wednesday, November 5, 2014
Saturday, November 1, 2014
Thursday, October 30, 2014
Wednesday, October 29, 2014
Tuesday, October 28, 2014
Monday, October 27, 2014
Friday, October 24, 2014
Thursday, October 23, 2014
Wednesday, October 22, 2014
Tuesday, October 21, 2014
Monday, October 20, 2014
Tuesday, October 14, 2014
Monday, October 13, 2014
Friday, October 10, 2014
Thursday, October 9, 2014
Monday, October 6, 2014
Friday, October 3, 2014
Thursday, October 2, 2014
Wednesday, October 1, 2014
Tuesday, September 30, 2014
Monday, September 29, 2014
Wednesday, September 24, 2014
Tuesday, September 23, 2014
Monday, September 22, 2014
Thursday, September 18, 2014