NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Cosmetic Surgery News
February 20, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 2:30am EST

More Cosmetic Surgery News
February 20, 2017

By the Numbers: What Are the Most Attractive Female Lips?

Feb. 16, 2017 — What dimensions might create the most attractive lips in women? A new study used focus groups and morphed computed images to try to find out because established guidelines may help achieve optimal ... read more

Experts Develop Evidence-Based Clinical Practice Guideline on Rhinoplasty

Feb. 1, 2017 — The American Academy of Otolaryngology -- Head and Neck Surgery Foundation addresses the limited literature and availability of multi-disciplinary clinical practice guidelines accessible to ... read more

Skin Closure Options for Cesarean Delivery: Glue Vs. Subcuticular Sutures

Jan. 23, 2017 — Cesarean delivery rates have increased during the last few decades and it has become the most common surgery during a woman's reproductive years. There is currently no definite evidence ... read more

Round or 'Shaped' Breast Implants? Even Plastic Surgeons Can't Tell the Difference

Dec. 29, 2016 — Looking at before-and-after photos, plastic surgeons and nurses can't tell whether breast augmentation surgery was done using conventional round implants or newer anatomically shaped implants, ... read more

Can Facial Plastic Surgeons Correctly Estimate Age from a Photograph?

Nov. 17, 2016 — The lack of scientific tools to translate perceptions - such as more beautiful or rejuvenated - into numbers that can be analyzed is a challenge in the field of facial plastic surgery and it can get ... read more

How Brain Surgery Eliminates Seizures in Epilepsy Patients

Nov. 8, 2016 — Surgery is an option for patients who do not respond to medications and have epileptic scar tissue that can be removed safely. In 60 to 70 percent of surgery patients, seizures are completely ... read more

What's the Best Way to Match the Implant to the Breast?

Oct. 28, 2016 — How should plastic surgeons choose the best implant type and size for women undergoing breast augmentation surgery? Implant size selection systems based on breast tissue measurements may provide ... read more

Concerns Over Glutathione Skin Bleaching in the UK

Aug. 31, 2016 — Skin bleaching with the use of glutathione is on the rise, despite the potential ethical issues and adverse side effects associated with the practice, warns a doctor from ... read more

Men Perceived as Younger, More Attractive After Hair Transplant for Baldness

Aug. 25, 2016 — Does how much hair a man has matter in how he is perceived? The answer is yes, according to a new article, and this reality can play a role in workplace and social success, say the authors of a new ... read more

Aug. 24, 2016 — The severely burned Mississippi firefighter, who captivated the world when he successfully underwent the most extensive face transplant ever performed, is thriving one year after his historic ... read more

The Next Frontier in Facial Plastic, Reconstructive Surgery

Aug. 11, 2016 — Is regenerative medicine the next frontier in facial plastic and reconstructive surgery? Researchers explored that question in a new review ... read more

Scar Treatments Can Improve Patients' Quality of Life

July 28, 2016 — Scarring can have a profound impact on patients. Fortunately, dermatologists have developed an improved understanding of the biology of scarring, allowing them to provide more effective treatment ... read more

Evidence Insufficient to Make Recommendation Regarding Visual Skin Examination by a Clinician

July 26, 2016 — The US Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF) has concluded that the current evidence is insufficient to assess the balance of benefits and harms of visual skin examination by a clinician to screen ... read more

Americans Worried About Using Gene Editing, Brain Chip Implants and Synthetic Blood

July 26, 2016 — Many in the general public think scientific and technological innovations bring helpful change to society, but they are more concerned than excited when it comes to the potential use of emerging ... read more

Many Top Selling Sunscreens Don't Offer Adequate Protection

July 6, 2016 — About 40 percent of top selling sunscreens don't meet AAD guidelines, largely due to a lack of water resistance. The study also found consumers spend up to 3,000 percent more for products that ... read more

Review Article Compared Over-the-Counter Nasal Dilators

June 30, 2016 — The narrowest area of the nose is the internal nasal valve and obstruction can cause airflow trouble. A review article compares over-the-counter mechanical nasal dilators for their efficacy in ... read more

Wearable Technology Gets Good Ratings from Plastic Surgeons

June 29, 2016 — Plastic surgeons see some clear advantages of using Google Glass in the operating room, reports a new ... read more

Total Face Transplant in Patient With Severe Burns: Team Outlines Surgical Approach

June 29, 2016 — Last year, the most extensive clinical face transplant to date was successfully carried out. A complete report on this procedure -- including the extensive organizational and training program created ... read more

Shorter Radiation Course Recommended for Early-Stage Breast Cancer Patients

June 15, 2016 — Early-stage breast cancer patients receiving a shorter course of whole breast radiation with higher radiation doses per fraction reported equivalent cosmetic, functional and pain outcomes over time ... read more

Topical Skin Creams Effective to Treat Superficial Basal Cell Carcinoma

June 2, 2016 — Basal cell carcinoma is one of the most common cancers and its incidence is increasing worldwide, putting a significant burden on health services. Topical treatments are available for superficial ... read more

Thursday, February 16, 2017
Wednesday, February 1, 2017
Monday, January 23, 2017
Thursday, December 29, 2016
Thursday, November 17, 2016
Tuesday, November 8, 2016
Friday, October 28, 2016
Wednesday, August 31, 2016
Thursday, August 25, 2016
Wednesday, August 24, 2016
Thursday, August 11, 2016
Thursday, July 28, 2016
Tuesday, July 26, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Wednesday, June 15, 2016
Thursday, June 2, 2016
Friday, May 27, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Thursday, May 12, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Friday, April 29, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Thursday, April 7, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Friday, March 11, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Wednesday, March 9, 2016
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Monday, March 7, 2016
Friday, March 4, 2016
Thursday, March 3, 2016
Wednesday, March 2, 2016
Friday, February 26, 2016
Thursday, February 25, 2016
Wednesday, February 10, 2016
Tuesday, February 9, 2016
Wednesday, February 3, 2016
Friday, January 29, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Monday, January 4, 2016
Tuesday, November 24, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Wednesday, November 11, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015
Wednesday, October 28, 2015
Tuesday, October 27, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Tuesday, October 20, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015
Monday, October 12, 2015
Wednesday, October 7, 2015
Monday, September 28, 2015
Tuesday, September 8, 2015
Tuesday, September 1, 2015
Thursday, August 27, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
Tuesday, August 4, 2015
Monday, August 3, 2015
Thursday, July 30, 2015
Wednesday, July 29, 2015
Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Friday, July 10, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Friday, June 26, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Thursday, June 18, 2015
Friday, June 5, 2015
Monday, June 1, 2015
Saturday, May 30, 2015
Friday, May 29, 2015
Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015