Cosmetic Surgery News
April 28, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 10:00pm EDT

More Cosmetic Surgery News
April 28, 2016

Facial Grading Systems for Patients With Facial Paralysis

Apr. 21, 2016 — When patients have facial paralysis, many rehabilitation specialists and facial reanimation surgeons use the time-tested Sunnybrook Facial Grading System (FGS) to measure and look for changes in ... read more

Inflammatory Factors Cause Damage to Back of Eye Following Keratoprosthesis Implantation

Apr. 7, 2016 — Researchers have identified inflammatory factors that contribute to optic nerve damage following keratoprosthesis implantation in a mouse model, a new report ... read more

Experience in Afghanistan Highlights Plastic Surgeons' Role in Combat Trauma Surgery

Mar. 31, 2016 — Especially with improved chances of survival from severe combat trauma, plastic surgeons play a critical role in managing injuries sustained in modern warfare, suggest researchers with experience at ... read more

Ibuprofen Doesn't Increase Bleeding Risk After Plastic Surgery

Mar. 31, 2016 — Patients are often instructed not to take ibuprofen and other nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs) before or after surgery because of increased bleeding risk. But available evidence suggests ... read more

Ultrasonic Surgery Reduces Pain, Swelling After Chin Surgery

Mar. 11, 2016 — For patients undergoing plastic surgery of the chin (genioplasty), the use of ultrasonic 'piezosurgery' equipment reduces trauma, pain, and swelling, compared to traditional surgical ... read more

Revision Rates, Patient Characteristics in Those Undergoing Septorhinoplasty

Mar. 10, 2016 — The overall revision rate for septorhinoplasty (a surgical procedure to fix the nose and nasal septum) was low at 3.3 percent although certain patient characteristics were associated with an ... read more

Periorbital Transplantation May Be Promising Alternative to Protect Vision in Facial Transplant Candidates

Mar. 9, 2016 — Transplantation of the periorbital tissues -- the area surrounding the eyes -- is a 'technically feasible' alternative to protect a functioning eye in some patients being considered for ... read more

Quality of Life Not Notably Better for Women Choosing Double Mastectomy

Mar. 7, 2016 — Contralateral prophylactic mastectomies were associated with slightly higher satisfaction in women's perception of how their breasts looked and felt, but primarily among women whose mastectomies ... read more

Dermatology: Patients Have Many Reasons to Love Lasers

Mar. 4, 2016 — From removing birthmarks to reducing wrinkles, dermatologists can use laser treatments to help patients in more ways than ever. Thanks to recent advances in laser technology, experienced ... read more

3-D Analysis and CAD/CAM Techniques Lead to New Advances in Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery

Feb. 26, 2016 — Three-dimensional analysis, virtual surgical planning, and computer-aided design and manufacturing techniques are leading to new and refined approaches to reconstructive surgery of the skull, face, ... read more

Intense Work Helped Michelangelo Maintain Use of Hands Despite Osteoarthritis

Feb. 3, 2016 — Prolonged hammering and chiseling accelerated degenerative arthritis in the hands of Michelangelo Buonarroti, sculptor, painter and one of the greatest artists of all time. But the intense work ... read more

Good Cosmetic Outcomes, Improved Quality of Life With Full Facial Feminization Surgery

Jan. 29, 2016 — For patients with gender dysphoria undergoing male-to-female transformation, a stepwise approach to facial feminization surgery (FFS) leads to good cosmetic outcomes along with psychological, social, ... read more

Fat Injection for Breast Reconstruction Doesn't Increase Risk of Recurrent Breast Cancer

Jan. 29, 2016 — For women undergoing breast cancer surgery, a technique called lipofilling—using the patient's own fat cells to optimize the results of breast reconstruction—does not increase the risk of ... read more

Pregnancy-Associated Melanoma Is Associated With Higher Death Rates

Jan. 20, 2016 — Melanoma, the deadliest form of skin cancer, is on the rise in women of child-bearing age. Those at the greatest risk, according to new research, are women younger than 50 who are pregnant or have ... read more

Study Finds Gaps in Patient Knowledge of Breast Reconstruction Surgery, Complications

Jan. 7, 2016 — Breast cancer patients surveyed about their knowledge of breast reconstruction were only moderately informed about the procedure, and their knowledge of complications was low, a new study has ... read more

With Botox 'Chemodenervation' Dermal Fillers Last Longer

Jan. 4, 2016 — Hyaluronic acid (HA) fillers are a popular treatment for facial lines and wrinkles, but early degradation of fillers may limit how long their effects last. Experimental evidence supports a simple ... read more

Cataract Surgery Lessens Patients' Dizziness

Nov. 24, 2015 — Older people with visual impairment can report feeling dizzy and falling. A new study found that after routine cataract surgery, the improved vision led to patients experiencing significantly less ... read more

Regenerative Medicine Speeds Healing of Eye Tissue Following Surgery

Nov. 16, 2015 — A new drug has been found to heal eyes in two days after corneal surgery. Originally created in France for chronic diabetic skin wounds, the heparin sulfate mimetic Cacicol (or RGTA) helps eyes heal ... read more

No Scars After a Reconstructed Face

Nov. 11, 2015 — In an eight-hour operation on an adult patient, a surgeon carried out facial reconstruction using virtual surgery and 3-D models, removing a vascularized piece of pelvic bone and reshaping it to ... read more

No Need to Stop Antidepressants Before Plastic Surgery, Evidence Suggests

Oct. 29, 2015 — For patients undergoing plastic surgery procedures, there's no consistent evidence that taking antidepressants increases the risk of bleeding, breast cancer, or other adverse outcomes, concludes ... read more

Thursday, April 21, 2016
Thursday, April 7, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Friday, March 11, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Wednesday, March 9, 2016
Monday, March 7, 2016
Friday, March 4, 2016
Friday, February 26, 2016
Wednesday, February 3, 2016
Friday, January 29, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Monday, January 4, 2016
Tuesday, November 24, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Wednesday, November 11, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015
Wednesday, October 28, 2015
Tuesday, October 27, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Tuesday, October 20, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015
Monday, October 12, 2015
Wednesday, October 7, 2015
Monday, September 28, 2015
Tuesday, September 8, 2015
Tuesday, September 1, 2015
Thursday, August 27, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
Tuesday, August 4, 2015
Monday, August 3, 2015
Thursday, July 30, 2015
Wednesday, July 29, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Friday, July 10, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Friday, June 26, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Thursday, June 18, 2015
Friday, June 5, 2015
Monday, June 1, 2015
Saturday, May 30, 2015
Friday, May 29, 2015
Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Thursday, April 30, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Friday, April 10, 2015
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Thursday, March 5, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Thursday, January 29, 2015
Wednesday, January 28, 2015
Thursday, January 15, 2015
Monday, December 29, 2014
Tuesday, December 16, 2014
Monday, December 15, 2014
Wednesday, December 3, 2014
Monday, December 1, 2014
Thursday, November 27, 2014
Monday, November 24, 2014
Wednesday, November 19, 2014
Tuesday, November 11, 2014
Wednesday, November 5, 2014
Tuesday, November 4, 2014
Monday, November 3, 2014
Monday, October 27, 2014
Monday, October 20, 2014
Tuesday, October 14, 2014
Saturday, October 11, 2014
Tuesday, October 7, 2014
Wednesday, October 1, 2014
Tuesday, September 30, 2014