Insomnia Research News
April 30, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 4:24pm EDT

More Insomnia Research News
April 30, 2016

Apr. 26, 2016 — Sleep deprivation is tied to an impairment of protein production in the hippocampus, a brain region thought to be central to memory, report researchers. By experimentally increasing the expression of ... read more

Teen Moms and Infant Sleep: Mother Doesn't Always Know Best

Apr. 21, 2016 — Sudden unexpected infant death, which includes sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS), is the leading cause of death in infants 1 month to 1 year of age in the United States. Although the reason is ... read more

Apr. 5, 2016 — Using a sophisticated MRI technique, researchers have found abnormalities in the brain's white matter tracts in patients with insomnia, according to a new ... read more

Common Allergy Medication Worsens Restless Leg Symptoms

Apr. 4, 2016 — Allergy season can be the worst time of year for people suffering with restless legs syndrome because popular over the counter medications can make symptoms much worse, say ... read more

Pituitary Insufficiency Is Prevalent After Blast Concussion in Military Veterans

Apr. 4, 2016 — A study in military veterans finds that explosive blast-related concussions frequently result in hormone changes leading to problems such as sleep disturbances, fatigue, depression and poor quality ... read more

For Young Adults, Sleep Problems Predict Later Pain Problems

Mar. 31, 2016 — For at least some groups of 'emerging adults,' sleep problems are a predictor of chronic pain and worsening pain severity over time, suggests a ... read more

New Recommendations Link Better Sleep to Improved Concussion Outcomes

Mar. 31, 2016 — A panel of sleep and brain injury specialists recommends specific steps to test and develop sleep-related treatments to improve the outcome of mild traumatic brain ... read more

Losing Weight With a High-Protein Diet Can Help Adults Sleep Better

Mar. 24, 2016 — Overweight and obese adults who are losing weight with a high-protein diet are more likely to sleep better, according to new research. The study also has studied how dietary protein quantity, sources ... read more

Long Naps, Daytime Sleepiness Tied to Greater Risk of Metabolic Syndrome

Mar. 23, 2016 — Taking long naps or being excessively tired during the day is associated with a higher risk for developing metabolic syndrome, according to a new ... read more

Enhancing Sleep After Brain Injury Reduces Brain Damage, Cognitive Decline in Rats

Mar. 23, 2016 — Enhancing sleep after a head injury may help prevent some damage to brain cells, according to a study. Researchers found that enhancing the slow-wave cycle of sleep after head trauma minimized damage ... read more

Dutch Students' Grades Lower Due to Lack of Sleep

Mar. 22, 2016 — Students who have a chronic lack of sleep have lower grades and find it harder to concentrate. Around a third of students do not feel well rested enough to be able to study properly, a Dutch study ... read more

Sleep Suppresses Brain Rebalancing

Mar. 21, 2016 — Why humans and other animals sleep is one of the remaining deep mysteries of physiology. A study shows that homeostatic mechanisms are indeed gated by sleep and wake, but in the opposite direction ... read more

Crash Risk Soars Among Truck Drivers Who Fail to Adhere to Sleep Apnea Treatment

Mar. 21, 2016 — The largest study of obstructive sleep apnea and crash risk among CMV drivers involved 1,613 truck drivers with sleep apnea and an equal number of controls. The rate of preventable crashes was 5 ... read more

Mar. 17, 2016 — Researchers have identified seven genes responsible for causing mice to stay awake or fall asleep based on a theoretical model of sleep and on experiments using 21 different genetically modified ... read more

Mar. 16, 2016 — Our cells' power plants run on timers, scientists have discovered. This may help explain why people who sleep and eat out of phase with their circadian clocks are at higher risk of developing ... read more

New Research Highlights Need to Give Greater Consideration to Sleep in Stroke Care

Mar. 15, 2016 — Researchers identify sleep as a problem in patients with stroke, and highlight the need to give greater consideration to sleep in stroke care, and in particular stroke ... read more

How a Bad Night's Sleep Might Worsen Cancer Development

Mar. 14, 2016 — Recent studies have indicated that patients with sleep apnea may be associated with worse cancer outcomes. Now a new animal study uncovers a possible mechanism which may underlie this ... read more

CPAP May Not Improve Glycemic Control in People With Diabetes

Mar. 11, 2016 — People with type 2 diabetes and obstructive sleep apnea (OSA) may not experience improved glycemic control by using continuous positive airway pressure, or CPAP, as some studies have suggested, ... read more

Retirement Is Good for Your Health

Mar. 11, 2016 — People become more active, sleep better and reduce their sitting time when they retire, a new Australian study has shown. The differences were significant even after adjusting for factors such as ... read more

Mar. 9, 2016 — Researchers have found that the parasympathetic nervous system modulates breathing and slows the heart rate of sleeping children with epilepsy substantially more than in healthy children. The finding ... read more

Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Tuesday, March 22, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Friday, March 11, 2016
Wednesday, March 9, 2016
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Monday, March 7, 2016
Friday, March 4, 2016
Wednesday, March 2, 2016
Tuesday, March 1, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Wednesday, February 24, 2016
Monday, February 22, 2016
Friday, February 19, 2016
Wednesday, February 17, 2016
Tuesday, February 16, 2016
Monday, February 15, 2016
Saturday, February 13, 2016
Friday, February 12, 2016
Wednesday, February 10, 2016
Monday, February 8, 2016
Saturday, February 6, 2016
Thursday, February 4, 2016
Wednesday, February 3, 2016
Monday, February 1, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Tuesday, January 26, 2016
Monday, January 18, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Friday, January 8, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Monday, December 28, 2015
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Monday, December 21, 2015
Thursday, December 17, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Monday, December 14, 2015
Friday, December 11, 2015
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
Tuesday, December 8, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015
Thursday, December 3, 2015
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Tuesday, December 1, 2015
Monday, November 30, 2015
Wednesday, November 25, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Wednesday, November 18, 2015
Thursday, November 12, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Wednesday, November 4, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Friday, October 30, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015