NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Insomnia Research News
October 22, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 4:54am EDT

More Insomnia Research News
October 22, 2016

Childhood Hypertension Associated With Cognitive Issues

Sep. 29, 2016 — Hypertension, more commonly known as high blood pressure, has increased significantly in children, paralleling the current childhood obesity epidemic.  Although we know that adult hypertension can ... read more

Nighttime Hot Flashes May Spark Mild Depression

Sep. 28, 2016 — A woman’s perception that she is experiencing a high number of nighttime hot flashes can trigger mild symptoms of depression during menopause, according to a new ... read more

Exercise Can Increase Levels of Hunger-Promoting Endocannabinoids Even If You Are Sleep-Deprived

Sep. 26, 2016 — A research group has investigated how levels of endocannabinoids -- which target the same receptors as cannabis -- are affected by short sleep duration, and whether acute exercise can modulate this ... read more

Sleep Is Key to Curing Chronic Pain

Sep. 21, 2016 — A ink between chronic pain and lack of sleep has been identified by a team of researchers. They also discovered that people with pain who believe they won't be able to sleep are more likely to ... read more

Sleep Paralysis: Fully Awake and Unable to Move

Sep. 19, 2016 — Your eyes begin to open after a good night of sleep, but something feels weird. You try to take a deep breath but can't draw air. You can't sit up, and you may even see a shadow in the ... read more

Sleep Habits, Adolescent Drug and Alcohol Use Linked, Shows Research

Sep. 19, 2016 — A possible link between adolescent sleep habits and early substance abuse has been identified by researchers. The study found that both sleep duration and sleep quality during late childhood predict ... read more

Could Quality of Sleep Have to Do With Sex Differences?

Sep. 12, 2016 — You may have noticed that women are more prone to sleep disturbances than men. They are, for instance, up to twice as likely to suffer from insomnia than men. Could there be a link between the body ... read more

Employees of Medical Centers Report High Stress, Negative Health Behaviors

Sep. 8, 2016 — Approximately 15 to 20 percent of adults in the U.S. will report high levels of stress, several American surveys have found. A new study has identified stress and burnout as a major problem employees ... read more

Is Sufficient Sleep the Key to Successful Antidepressant Response?

Sep. 7, 2016 — Antidepressants are necessary for many with major depressive disorder, but response times and remission rates are a problem. Researchers now find sleep might play a ... read more

Brain Circuit That Drives Sleep-Wake States, Sleep-Preparation Behavior Is Identified

Sep. 5, 2016 — A brain circuit that's indispensable to the sleep-wake cycle has now been identified by researchers. This same circuit is also a key component of the reward system, an archipelago of ... read more

Implanted Device Successfully Treats Central Sleep Apnea, Study Finds

Sep. 1, 2016 — An implanted nerve stimulator significantly improves symptoms in those with central sleep apnea, without causing serious side effects, results from an international, randomized study ... read more

New Role of Adenosine in the Regulation of REM Sleep Discovered

Sep. 1, 2016 — The regulation and function of sleep is one of the biggest black boxes of today's brain science. A new paper finds that rapid eye movement (REM) sleep is suppressed by adenosine acting on a ... read more

Cognitive Behavior Therapy Could Be Key for Children With Autism Getting Enough Sleep

Aug. 30, 2016 — Experts believe that a family-based cognitive behavioral therapy may be the key for children with autism spectrum disorder (ASD) who have problems ... read more

Disruptions to Sleep Patterns Lead to an Increased Risk of Suicides

Aug. 24, 2016 — The link between sleep problems and suicidal thoughts and behaviors is made starkly clear in new ... read more

Melatonin Boost a Key to Fighting Breast Cancer

Aug. 23, 2016 — Melatonin, a hormone produced in the human brain, appears to suppress the growth of breast cancer tumors. While treatments based on this new, key discovery are still years away, the results give ... read more

After a Fracture, It's Time to Rethink Medications

Aug. 22, 2016 — Gerontologists underscore the importance of reviewing patients' prescription medications in the wake of a fracture. Appearing alongside original research that finds few changes are made to ... read more

When You Don't Feel Valued in a Relationship, Sleep Suffers

Aug. 17, 2016 — We spend up to one-third of our life asleep, but not everyone sleeps well. For couples, it turns out how well you think your partner understands and cares for you is linked to how well you ... read more

Study Suggests Ways to Block Hypertension in Those With Sleep Apnea

Aug. 16, 2016 — Suppressing hydrogen sulfide production in the carotid body may block the hypertension associated with sleep ... read more

Plenty of Light During Daytime Reduces the Effect of Blue Light Screens on Night Sleep

Aug. 10, 2016 — The use of smartphones and tablet computers during evening hours has previously been associated with sleep disturbances in humans. A new study now shows that daytime light exposure may be a promising ... read more

Economic Burden of Undiagnosed Sleep Apnea in US Is Nearly $150 Billion Per Year

Aug. 8, 2016 — A new analysis has been published that reveals the staggering cost of undiagnosed obstructive sleep apnea. The new work summarizes the results of an online survey completed by patients currently ... read more

Thursday, September 29, 2016
Wednesday, September 28, 2016
Monday, September 26, 2016
Wednesday, September 21, 2016
Monday, September 19, 2016
Monday, September 12, 2016
Thursday, September 8, 2016
Wednesday, September 7, 2016
Monday, September 5, 2016
Thursday, September 1, 2016
Tuesday, August 30, 2016
Wednesday, August 24, 2016
Tuesday, August 23, 2016
Monday, August 22, 2016
Wednesday, August 17, 2016
Tuesday, August 16, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Monday, August 8, 2016
Friday, August 5, 2016
Wednesday, August 3, 2016
Thursday, July 28, 2016
Tuesday, July 26, 2016
Monday, July 25, 2016
Friday, July 22, 2016
Friday, July 15, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Friday, June 24, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Wednesday, June 15, 2016
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Friday, June 10, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Wednesday, June 1, 2016
Thursday, May 26, 2016
Sunday, May 29, 2016
Monday, May 23, 2016
Thursday, May 19, 2016
Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Friday, May 13, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Friday, May 6, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Monday, May 2, 2016
Friday, April 29, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Friday, April 22, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016