NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Obesity News
February 27, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 5:53pm EST

More Obesity News
February 27, 2017

Effects of a Poor Diet During Pregnancy May Be Reversed in Female Adolescent Offspring

Feb. 24, 2017 — Here's some good news if you are female: Research shows that in mice, what is eaten during adolescence or childhood development may alter long-term behavior and learning, and can even ... read more

Gastric Balloon Is New Weight Loss Option

Feb. 23, 2017 — The Food and Drug Administration has approved another option to treat obesity: a grapefruit-size gastric balloon that takes up as much as half the volume of the ... read more

Feb. 16, 2017 — The global proliferation of overweight and obese people and people with type 2 diabetes is often associated with the consumption of saturated fats. Scientists have found that even the one-off ... read more

Feb. 15, 2017 — The view that males just pass on genetic material and not much else to their offspring has now been debunked. Instead, new research found a father's diet can affect their son's ability to ... read more

Increased Levels of Active Vitamin D Can Help to Optimize Muscle Strength

Feb. 15, 2017 — Researchers have shown that increasing the levels of active vitamin D can help to optimize muscle strength in ... read more

Scientists Take Aim at Obesity-Linked Protein

Feb. 15, 2017 — Scientists have shown that deleting the gene for this protein, known as IP6K1, protects animal models from both obesity and ... read more

One Fifth of Indonesian Households Exhibit Double Burden of Malnutrition

Feb. 15, 2017 — The coexistence of both undernutrition and overweight/obesity, a phenomenon called double burden of malnutrition, is a global public health challenge existing at all levels from the individual to the ... read more

Gene Variants Associated With Body Shape Increase Risk of Heart Disease, Type 2 Diabetes

Feb. 14, 2017 — A study has found that a pattern of gene variants associated with a body type, in which weight is deposited around the abdomen, rather than in the hips and thighs, increases the risk for type 2 ... read more

Avoiding Medications That Promote Weight Gain When Managing Obesity

Feb. 14, 2017 — While diet, exercise and behavior modification are essential components of obesity management, a successful long-term weight loss strategy should also include avoiding or minimizing ... read more

Mediterranean Diet With Virgin Olive Oil May Boost 'Good' Cholesterol

Feb. 13, 2017 — A Mediterranean diet, particularly when enriched with virgin olive oil, appears to improve the function of high-density lipoprotein, the so-called good cholesterol, in patients at high risk for heart ... read more

Worm Gene Could Be Key to Developing Obesity Treatment

Feb. 13, 2017 — Researchers have discovered a gene in worms that could help break the cycle of overeating and under-exercising that can lead to ... read more

Feb. 13, 2017 — People who eat a gluten-free diet may be at risk for increased exposure to arsenic and mercury -- toxic metals that can lead to cardiovascular disease, cancer and neurological effects, according to a ... read more

Eating Whole Grains Led to Modest Improvements in Gut Microbiota and Immune Response

Feb. 8, 2017 — In a clinical trial, adults who consumed a diet rich in whole grains rather than refined grains had modest improvements in healthy gut microbiota and certain immune ... read more

Research Investigates Role of Protein in Obesity Among Latin American Women

Feb. 8, 2017 — Obesity in Latin America is increasingly concentrated among women of low socioeconomic status, but surprisingly little is known about what such women eat or how their diets compare to others. In a ... read more

New Study Reinforces the Contribution of S6K1 Kinase in Obesity and Aging

Feb. 8, 2017 — EPRS phosphorylation mediates S6K1-dependent metabolic responses related to obesity and aging. This finding could potentially lead to the development of biomarkers and targeted therapies against ... read more

Feb. 8, 2017 — Losing weight through surgical approaches appears to reset chemical messages that fat cells send, substantially reducing people's risk of developing type 2 diabetes, research ... read more

Teachers May Be Cause of 'Obesity Penalty' on Girls' Grades

Feb. 7, 2017 — While obesity is often thought of as a health problem, a new study suggests that discrimination by body weight may be the more important factor for obese white female students' lower success in ... read more

Air Pollution Linked to Heightened Risk of Type 2 Diabetes in Obese Latino Children

Feb. 7, 2017 — Latino children who live in areas with higher levels of air pollution have a heightened risk of developing type 2 diabetes, according to a new study. Scientists tracked children's health and ... read more

Prenatal Bisphenol A Exposure Weakens Body's Fullness Cues

Feb. 7, 2017 — An expectant mother's exposure to the endocrine-disrupting chemical bisphenol A (BPA) can raise her offspring's risk of obesity by reducing sensitivity to a hormone responsible for ... read more

Online Weight-Loss Groups Offer Valuable Support, Comfort

Feb. 7, 2017 — Online weight loss forums protect participants from public fat shaming, and offer them a place to speak out without being confronted by normal-weight individuals, medical science or the ... read more

Friday, February 24, 2017
Thursday, February 23, 2017
Thursday, February 16, 2017
Wednesday, February 15, 2017
Tuesday, February 14, 2017
Monday, February 13, 2017
Wednesday, February 8, 2017
Tuesday, February 7, 2017
Monday, February 6, 2017
Friday, February 3, 2017
Wednesday, February 1, 2017
Tuesday, January 31, 2017
Monday, January 30, 2017
Friday, January 27, 2017
Thursday, January 26, 2017
Tuesday, January 24, 2017
Monday, January 23, 2017
Friday, January 20, 2017
Thursday, January 19, 2017
Wednesday, January 18, 2017
Tuesday, January 17, 2017
Friday, January 13, 2017
Thursday, January 12, 2017
Wednesday, January 11, 2017
Tuesday, January 10, 2017
Monday, January 9, 2017
Friday, January 6, 2017
Thursday, January 5, 2017
Wednesday, January 4, 2017
Tuesday, January 3, 2017
Monday, January 2, 2017
Thursday, December 29, 2016
Thursday, December 22, 2016
Wednesday, December 21, 2016
Monday, December 19, 2016
Thursday, December 15, 2016
Wednesday, December 14, 2016
Tuesday, December 13, 2016
Monday, December 12, 2016
Sunday, December 11, 2016
Thursday, December 8, 2016
Wednesday, December 7, 2016