Obesity News
May 24, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 8:53pm EDT

More Obesity News
May 24, 2017

Sleep Loss Affects Your Waistline

May 22, 2017 — Sleep loss increases the risk of obesity through a combination of effects on energy metabolism. This research will highlight how disrupted sleep patterns, a common feature of modern living, can ... read more

Obesity Is in the Eye of the Beholder

May 18, 2017 — Doctors have a specific definition of what it means to be overweight or obese, but in the social world, gender, race and generation matter a lot for whether people are judged as 'thin ... read more

Regular Physical Activity and Reduced Sedentary Time Reduces Build-Up of Dangerous Liver Fat

May 16, 2017 — New research shows that both regular physical activity and avoiding inactivity (sedentary behavior) help reduce build-up of dangerous liver fat, an important complication of ... read more

'Healthy' Obese People Still at Higher Risk of Cardiovascular Disease Events Than General Population

May 16, 2017 — New research shows that so-called 'metabolically healthy' obese people are still at higher risk of cardiovascular disease events such as heart failure or stroke than normal weight ... read more

Breast Cancer Risk Is More Affected by Total Body Fat Than Abdominal Fat

May 16, 2017 — A reduction in overall body fat, rather than abdominal fat, is associated with lower levels of breast cancer markers. Levels of several breast cancer risk markers were reduced in postmenopausal women ... read more

May 16, 2017 — A team of investigators has identified key inflammatory cells involved in nonalcoholic fatty liver disease. Current treatment for the disorder involves changes to diet, yet no medication has been ... read more

Popular Weight-Loss Surgery Puts Patients at High Risk for Alcohol Problems

May 16, 2017 — One in five patients who undergo one of the most popular weight-loss surgical procedures is likely to develop problems with alcohol, with symptoms sometimes not appearing until years after their ... read more

Better Than BMI: More Accurate Way to Determine Adolescent Obesity

May 15, 2017 — Researchers have found a new, more accurate way to determine if adolescents are overweight, important findings considering many school districts label adolescents -- who tend to be more vulnerable to ... read more

May 11, 2017 — Tamoxifen is the gold standard for endocrine treatment of estrogen-receptor positive breast cancer. Tamoxifen is also known to have metabolic effects. A new study reports that the drug also prevents ... read more

Experts Argue That Obesity Is a Chronic, Relapsing, Progressive Disease

May 10, 2017 — Experts consider the argument for obesity as a chronic relapsing disease process. They note that obesity fits the epidemiological model of a disease process except that the toxic or pathological ... read more

Common Sweetener in Low-Cal Foods Also a Marker for Weight Gain

May 10, 2017 — A new study has identified the sugar alcohol erythritol as a biomarker for increasing fat mass. In contrast to previous assumptions and research, erythritol can be metabolized by, and even produced ... read more

Diet Rich in Fruit, Vegetables and Whole Grains May Lower Risk of Gout

May 9, 2017 — A diet rich in fruit and vegetables, nuts and whole grains and low in salt, sugary drinks, and red and processed meats, is associated with a lower risk of gout, whereas a typical 'Western' ... read more

Garden-Enhanced Intervention Improved BMI, Nutrition Knowledge of California Students

May 8, 2017 — The factors that affect rates of childhood obesity are complex. For example, parent feeding practices have been shown to be influential, but that influence has also been shown to change with age. ... read more

New Findings May Explain the Advantages of Polyunsaturated Fat

May 8, 2017 — Previous research has demonstrated that saturated fat is more fattening and less muscle building than polyunsaturated fats. A new study shows that the choice of fat causes epigenetic changes which in ... read more

May 6, 2017 — Cinnamon may lessen the risk of cardiovascular damage of a high-fat diet by activating the body's antioxidant and anti-inflammatory systems and slowing the fat-storing process, according to a ... read more

Your Muscles Can 'Taste' Sugar

May 4, 2017 — It's obvious that the taste buds on the tongue can detect sugar. And after a meal, beta cells in the pancreas sense rising blood glucose and release the hormone insulin—which helps the sugar ... read more

Exosomes Derived from Very Obese Patients' Fat Send Wrong Signals Throughout Body

May 4, 2017 — Exosomes isolated from very obese patients behave very differently than those derived from lean patients and may be key players in heightening youths' likelihood of developing atherosclerosis -- ... read more

May 4, 2017 — The function and distribution of adipose tissue in the body change during the course of life. Beige fat cells, a special type of adipocytes, have the capability to use energy reserves – fatty ... read more

May 2, 2017 — A team of scientists has identified an enzyme that could help in the continuous battle against mid-life obesity and fitness loss. The discovery in mice could upend current notions about why people ... read more

May 2, 2017 — Overweight and obese people who lost a substantial amount of weight over a 48-month period showed significantly lower degeneration of their knee cartilage, according to a new ... read more

Monday, May 22, 2017
Thursday, May 18, 2017
Tuesday, May 16, 2017
Monday, May 15, 2017
Thursday, May 11, 2017
Wednesday, May 10, 2017
Tuesday, May 9, 2017
Monday, May 8, 2017
Saturday, May 6, 2017
Thursday, May 4, 2017
Tuesday, May 2, 2017
Monday, May 1, 2017
Friday, April 28, 2017
Thursday, April 27, 2017
Wednesday, April 26, 2017
Tuesday, April 25, 2017
Monday, April 24, 2017
Friday, April 21, 2017
Thursday, April 20, 2017
Monday, April 17, 2017
Tuesday, April 18, 2017
Wednesday, April 12, 2017
Tuesday, April 11, 2017
Monday, April 10, 2017
Friday, April 7, 2017
Thursday, April 6, 2017
Wednesday, April 5, 2017
Tuesday, April 4, 2017
Monday, April 3, 2017
Sunday, April 2, 2017
Wednesday, March 29, 2017
Tuesday, March 28, 2017
Monday, March 27, 2017
Friday, March 24, 2017
Thursday, March 23, 2017
Tuesday, March 21, 2017
Monday, March 20, 2017
Friday, March 17, 2017
Thursday, March 16, 2017
Wednesday, March 15, 2017
Tuesday, March 14, 2017
Monday, March 13, 2017
Thursday, March 9, 2017
Wednesday, March 8, 2017
Tuesday, March 7, 2017