Obesity News
April 25, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 2:53am EDT

More Obesity News
April 25, 2017

Challenging the Current Approach to Glut1 Deficiency

Apr. 24, 2017 — Researchers have discovered that diet changes and early diagnosis could help outcomes for patients with Glucose Transporter Type 1 Deficiency, a rare pediatric neurological disorder that can cause ... read more

Apr. 24, 2017 — Gene variants could affect food preferences in healthy people, according to a new study. The findings could lead to new strategies that make it easier for people to stick to an optimal ... read more

Intestinal Bacteria May Protect Against Diabetes

Apr. 11, 2017 — A high concentration of indolepropionic acid in the serum protects against type 2 diabetes, shows a new study. Indolepropionic acid is a metabolite produced by intestinal bacteria, and its production ... read more

Obesity in Hispanic Adolescents Linked to Nearly Sixfold Increase in High Blood Pressure

Apr. 11, 2017 — Obesity raises the prevalence of high blood pressure among adolescents but the increase is particularly pronounced among Hispanics compared to white, African-American or Asian ethnic groups, ... read more

What Obese Fruit Flies May Tell Us About the Evolution of Cold Tolerance

Apr. 10, 2017 — Researchers have hypothesized that migrations into higher, colder latitudes may lead to evolution of fast-burning metabolisms that keep cells warm in chilly conditions. In a new article, researchers ... read more

Big Women Have Nearly Threefold Greater Risk of Atrial Fibrillation

Apr. 7, 2017 — Big women have a nearly threefold greater risk of atrial fibrillation than small women, according to new research. The study included 1.5 million women who were followed-up for more than 30 ... read more

To Eat or Not to Eat (Before Exercising): That Is the Question

Apr. 6, 2017 — Exercise enthusiasts often wonder whether it’s better to eat or fast before a workout. A new study is the first of its kind to show the effects of eating versus fasting on gene expression in ... read more

Expanding Waistlines and Metabolic Syndrome: Researchers Warn of New 'Silent Killer'

Apr. 6, 2017 — For decades, American waistlines have been expanding and there is increasing cause for alarm. Researchers now make the case that metabolic syndrome -- a cluster of three of more risk factors that ... read more

Inflammatory Bowel Disease, Nonalcoholic Fatty Liver Disease May Be Linked, Suggests Research

Apr. 5, 2017 — Patients who have inflammatory bowel disease (IBD) for more than two decades have a higher risk of developing nonalcoholic fatty liver disease (NAFLD), new research ... read more

Gut Microbe May Improve Fatty Liver

Apr. 5, 2017 — Oral administration of a commensal gut microbe, Faecalibacterium prausnitzii, improves fatty liver in mice. F. prausnitzii is considered one of the most important bacterial indicators of a healthy ... read more

Birth Weight Is Risk Factor for Fatty Liver Disease in Children

Apr. 4, 2017 — The impact of low and high birth weights in developing Non Alcoholic Fatty Liver Disease (NAFLD), a chronic disease that often leads to a need for organ transplantation, has been demonstrated in a ... read more

Participation in a Weight Management Program Reduces Job Absenteeism

Apr. 4, 2017 — Individuals with obesity who enrolled in a structured weight loss program report fewer hours missed from work after six months in the program, according to a study being presented Sunday at the ... read more

Vitamin D Deficiency May Indicate Cardiovascular Disease in Overweight and Obese Children

Apr. 4, 2017 — In overweight and obese children and adolescents, vitamin D deficiency is associated with early markers of cardiovascular disease, a new study ... read more

Even 'Healthy' Weight Gain Raises Pregnancy Diabetes Risk

Apr. 4, 2017 — Mothers who gain weight in the years leading up to pregnancy have an increased risk of gestational diabetes. Women gaining more than 2.5 percent of their body weight each year tripled their risk of ... read more

Weight History Over Time Shows Higher Risk of Death for Overweight, Obese People

Apr. 3, 2017 — People who are obese or overweight at some point in their adult lives have an elevated risk of death from cardiovascular disease, cancer and other causes, according to a new study by researchers from ... read more

Race Ranks Higher Than Pounds in Diabetes, Heart-Health Risks

Apr. 3, 2017 — Americans of South Asian descent are twice as likely as whites to have risks for heart disease, stroke and diabetes, when their weight is in the normal range, according to a ... read more

Being Overweight at Any Point in Adulthood Increases Risk for Death

Apr. 3, 2017 — People who are obese or overweight at some point in their adult lives have an elevated risk of death from cardiovascular disease, cancer and other causes. Analyzing weight history over a period of ... read more

Brain Signals After a Meal Respond to Food Pictures More in Obese Than Lean Kids

Apr. 3, 2017 — Brain signals that should help tell us we are full after eating appear to be dulled in obese children, according to preliminary ... read more

Early-Life BPA Exposure Reprograms Gene Expression Linked to Fatty Liver Disease

Apr. 2, 2017 — Exposure during infancy to the common plasticizer bisphenol A (BPA) "hijacks" and reprograms genes in the liver of newborn rats, leading to nonalcoholic fatty liver disease (NAFLD) in ... read more

Giving Brown Fat a Green Light

Mar. 29, 2017 — Since the discovery in 2009 that brown fat can be active in adult humans, researchers around the world have worked to unveil ways to switch on this fat. Scientists have now identified a new route to ... read more

Monday, April 24, 2017
Tuesday, April 11, 2017
Monday, April 10, 2017
Friday, April 7, 2017
Thursday, April 6, 2017
Wednesday, April 5, 2017
Tuesday, April 4, 2017
Monday, April 3, 2017
Sunday, April 2, 2017
Wednesday, March 29, 2017
Tuesday, March 28, 2017
Monday, March 27, 2017
Friday, March 24, 2017
Thursday, March 23, 2017
Tuesday, March 21, 2017
Monday, March 20, 2017
Friday, March 17, 2017
Thursday, March 16, 2017
Wednesday, March 15, 2017
Tuesday, March 14, 2017
Monday, March 13, 2017
Thursday, March 9, 2017
Wednesday, March 8, 2017
Tuesday, March 7, 2017
Monday, March 6, 2017
Friday, March 3, 2017
Thursday, March 2, 2017
Wednesday, March 1, 2017
Tuesday, February 28, 2017
Monday, February 27, 2017
Friday, February 24, 2017
Thursday, February 23, 2017
Wednesday, February 22, 2017
Tuesday, February 21, 2017
Monday, February 20, 2017
Friday, February 17, 2017
Thursday, February 16, 2017
Wednesday, February 15, 2017
Tuesday, February 14, 2017
Monday, February 13, 2017
Wednesday, February 8, 2017
Tuesday, February 7, 2017
Monday, February 6, 2017