NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Cholesterol News
February 26, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 4:54pm EST

More Cholesterol News
February 26, 2017

Feb. 22, 2017 — Elevations in a unusual form of cholesterol, called Lipoprotein(a) or Lp(a), as responsible for 1 in 14 heart attacks and 1 in 7 cases of aortic valve disease, research has ... read more

New Peptide to Combat a Disorder That Causes Heart Attacks at Early Age

Feb. 21, 2017 — Some people inherit a condition that elevates their cholesterol to an excessive degree, and no amount of diet or exercise can bring the numbers down. Researchers are developing and testing a new ... read more

Atherosclerosis: Endogenous Peptide Lowers Cholesterol

Jan. 19, 2017 — Cells of the innate immune system that play an important role in development of atherosclerosis contain a protein that reduces levels of cholesterol in mice -- and thus helps to inhibit or mitigate ... read more

Jan. 17, 2017 — For the first time, by using a path-breaking optical imaging technique to pinpoint cholesterol's location and movement within the cell membrane, chemists have made the surprising finding that ... read more

Dietary Supplement May Carry Both Benefits and Risks Associated With Statins

Jan. 17, 2017 — Red yeast rice (RYR) is contained in dietary supplements that are often used by patients with high cholesterol, and it is often proposed as an alternative therapy in those who experience side effects ... read more

Depression as Hard on the Heart as Obesity and Cholesterol

Jan. 13, 2017 — Depression poses a risk for cardiovascular diseases in men that is just as great as that posed by high cholesterol levels and ... read more

Melanoma Mutation Likes Fat for Fuel

Jan. 12, 2017 — Cancer cells love glucose, so a high-fat, low-carb diet should starve them, right? Not cancers driven by a notorious melanoma mutation. Research in mice suggests that cancers with BRAF V600E will ... read more

Maternal Blood Pressure Before Pregnancy May Be Related to Babies' Sex

Jan. 12, 2017 — A new article suggests that a woman's blood pressure before pregnancy is related to her likelihood of giving birth to a boy or ... read more

High Cholesterol Intake and Eggs Do Not Increase Risk of Memory Disorders

Jan. 9, 2017 — A relatively high intake of dietary cholesterol, or eating one egg every day, are not associated with an elevated risk of dementia or Alzheimer's disease. Furthermore, no association was found ... read more

Physical Activity Reduces Heart Disease Deaths for Older Adults

Jan. 5, 2017 — A new study examined whether regular leisure-time physical activity could reduce deaths from all causes, and whether it also could reduce deaths from cardiovascular disease. The researchers ... read more

Most Younger Adults With High LDL-C Levels Do Not Take a Statin

Jan. 4, 2017 — Despite recommendations, less than 45 percent of adults younger than 40 years with an elevated low-density lipoprotein cholesterol (LDL-C) level of 190 mg/dL or greater receive a prescription for a ... read more

Common Antioxidant May Guard Against Liver Disease

Jan. 3, 2017 — A common antioxidant found in human breast milk and foods like kiwi fruit can protect against nonalcoholic fatty liver disease (NAFLD) in the offspring of obese ... read more

Fenofibrate May Reduce Heart Disease Risk in Some Patients With Type 2 Diabetes

Dec. 28, 2016 — A new study shows that the drug fenofibrate might reduce the risk of cardiovascular events in patients with type 2 diabetes who have high levels of triglycerides and low levels of 'good' ... read more

Dec. 22, 2016 — A life-threatening genetic disorder known as familial hypercholesterolemia (FH) is both underdiagnosed and undertreated, new research ... read more

New Drug Could Help Prevent Artery Disease in High-Risk Patients

Dec. 21, 2016 — Approximately 2,200 Americans die each day from heart attacks, strokes and other cardiovascular diseases. The most common cause is blocked blood vessels that can no longer supply oxygen and nutrients ... read more

Vitamin D Improves Gut Flora and Metabolic Syndrome

Dec. 21, 2016 — A high fat diet alone is not enough to cause metabolic syndrome, a group of symptoms that pose as risk factors for diabetes and heart disease. This recent study shows it is needed in combination with ... read more

Nutrition Data Review Shows Red Meat Has Neutral Effect on Cardiovascular Disease Risk Factors

Dec. 19, 2016 — Consuming red meat in amounts above what is typically recommended does not affect short-term cardiovascular disease risk factors, such as blood pressure and blood cholesterol, according to a new ... read more

Lowering Cholesterol to 'Levels of a New-Born Baby' Cuts Heart Attack Risk

Dec. 16, 2016 — Reducing our cholesterol levels to those of a new-born baby significantly lowers the risk of cardiovascular disease, according to new ... read more

Silencing Fat Protein Improves Obesity and Blood Sugar

Dec. 15, 2016 — Scientists report that turning off a protein found in liver and adipose tissue significantly improves blood sugar levels and reduces body fat in an animal ... read more

Dec. 14, 2016 — Microgreens are sprouting up everywhere from upscale restaurants to home gardens. They help spruce up old recipes with intense flavors and colors, and are packed with nutrients. Now testing has shown ... read more

Wednesday, February 22, 2017
Tuesday, February 21, 2017
Thursday, January 19, 2017
Tuesday, January 17, 2017
Friday, January 13, 2017
Thursday, January 12, 2017
Monday, January 9, 2017
Thursday, January 5, 2017
Wednesday, January 4, 2017
Tuesday, January 3, 2017
Wednesday, December 28, 2016
Thursday, December 22, 2016
Wednesday, December 21, 2016
Monday, December 19, 2016
Friday, December 16, 2016
Thursday, December 15, 2016
Wednesday, December 14, 2016
Wednesday, December 7, 2016
Tuesday, December 6, 2016
Friday, December 2, 2016
Thursday, December 1, 2016
Wednesday, November 30, 2016
Monday, November 28, 2016
Monday, November 21, 2016
Thursday, November 17, 2016
Tuesday, November 15, 2016
Sunday, November 13, 2016
Wednesday, November 9, 2016
Monday, November 7, 2016
Wednesday, November 2, 2016
Tuesday, November 1, 2016
Monday, October 31, 2016
Thursday, October 20, 2016
Friday, October 14, 2016
Thursday, October 13, 2016
Monday, October 10, 2016
Friday, October 7, 2016
Wednesday, September 28, 2016
Tuesday, September 27, 2016
Monday, September 26, 2016
Wednesday, September 21, 2016
Monday, September 12, 2016
Thursday, September 8, 2016
Tuesday, September 6, 2016
Monday, August 29, 2016
Saturday, August 27, 2016
Monday, August 22, 2016
Friday, August 19, 2016
Thursday, August 18, 2016
Tuesday, August 16, 2016
Monday, August 15, 2016
Thursday, August 11, 2016
Thursday, August 4, 2016
Wednesday, August 3, 2016
Monday, August 1, 2016
Wednesday, July 27, 2016
Friday, July 8, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Tuesday, July 5, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Thursday, June 23, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Saturday, June 11, 2016
Friday, June 10, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Monday, May 30, 2016
Friday, May 27, 2016
Thursday, May 26, 2016
Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Monday, May 23, 2016
Thursday, May 12, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Saturday, May 7, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Tuesday, May 3, 2016
Monday, May 2, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016