Cholesterol News
May 23, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 3:24am EDT

More Cholesterol News
May 23, 2017

'Bad' Air May Impact 'Good' Cholesterol Increasing Heart Disease Risk

Apr. 13, 2017 — Traffic-related air pollution may increase risk of developing cardiovascular diseases through its effects on high-density lipoprotein (HDL), also known as 'good' cholesterol. US middle-aged ... read more

Most Major Heart Attacks Occur in People With Normal Cholesterol, Research Finds

Apr. 12, 2017 — Researchers wanted to find out if new statin guidelines were affecting the number of heart attacks. What they found was promising, but revealed a basic flaw in preventive ... read more

Role of Vascular Disease in Development of Alzheimer's Disease

Apr. 11, 2017 — Among adults who entered a study more than 25 years ago, an increasing number of midlife vascular risk factors, such as obesity, high blood pressure, diabetes, high cholesterol and smoking, were ... read more

Avocados May Help Combat the Metabolic Syndrome

Apr. 10, 2017 — A new review investigates the effects of avocados on different components of metabolic syndrome, which is a clustering of risk factors including high blood sugar, cholesterol, blood pressure, and ... read more

Patients Uncertain About How to Best Manage Their Cholesterol, Survey Finds

Apr. 10, 2017 — People who have high cholesterol may understand they need to manage their condition, but many aren’t sure how to do that, nor do they feel confident they can, according to a new ... read more

Apr. 6, 2017 — Cardiac glycosides reduce a precursor of LDL cholesterol in a drug screen of statin-resistant hypercholesterolemia, new research concludes. A large meta-analysis of medical records revealed that ... read more

As Kids' Weight Climbs, Power of Healthy Fat Supplements Drops

Apr. 5, 2017 — Body weight plays a significant role in how much benefit children may get from consuming “good” fats, new research suggests. The study highlights the need for weight-appropriate dosing of ... read more

Vitamin D Deficiency May Indicate Cardiovascular Disease in Overweight and Obese Children

Apr. 4, 2017 — In overweight and obese children and adolescents, vitamin D deficiency is associated with early markers of cardiovascular disease, a new study ... read more

Early-Life BPA Exposure Reprograms Gene Expression Linked to Fatty Liver Disease

Apr. 2, 2017 — Exposure during infancy to the common plasticizer bisphenol A (BPA) "hijacks" and reprograms genes in the liver of newborn rats, leading to nonalcoholic fatty liver disease (NAFLD) in ... read more

Molecular Therapy Set to Protect at-Risk Patients Against Heart Attack and Stroke

Mar. 30, 2017 — Even a single dose of a specific ribonucleic acid molecule, known as a small interfering RNA (siRNA), offers patients at high risk of cardiovascular disease long-lasting protection against high LDL ... read more

Genetic Errors Associated With Heart Health May Guide Drug Development

Mar. 30, 2017 — A new study of such 'beneficial' genetic mutations may provide guidance on the design of new therapies intended to reduce the risk of heart ... read more

A Little Vigorous Exercise May Help Boost Kids' Cardiometabolic Health

Mar. 24, 2017 — As little as 10 minutes a day of high-intensity physical activity could help some children reduce their risk of developing heart problems and metabolic diseases such as diabetes, according to an ... read more

Statins May Provide Treatment Alternative for Chronic Liver Disease

Mar. 23, 2017 — Statin drugs are widely used to manage high cholesterol and reduce the risk of cardiovascular disease. But in a new review of more than 50 studies, researchers cite reductions in liver inflammation ... read more

Mar. 20, 2017 — Researchers have developed a new way of visualizing the distribution of cholesterol in cells and tissues. Their research provides insights into the movement of cholesterol into and out of cells and ... read more

Potential Breakthrough in Determining Who’s at Risk for Heart Attacks

Mar. 19, 2017 — Researchers are revisiting their views on the relative dangers soft and hard atherosclerotic plaque deposits pose to heart health. Findings of a new study may be a "game-changer" for ... read more

No Benefit of Synthetic HDL-C on Arterial Plaque

Mar. 19, 2017 — Injection of a novel form of synthetic high-density lipoprotein cholesterol (HDL-C), or good cholesterol, into the arteries of patients who had recently had a heart attack did not reduce the volume ... read more

Evolocumab Significantly Reduces Risk of Cardiovascular Events

Mar. 17, 2017 — Evolocumab, one of the new targeted PCSK9 inhibitor drugs that has been shown to dramatically lower levels of low-density lipoprotein (LDL), or “bad” cholesterol, also significantly lowers the ... read more

New Study Finds People Who Have High Levels of Two Markers at High Risk of Adverse Heart Events

Mar. 17, 2017 — New research suggests that GlycA, a newly identified blood marker, and C-reactive protein both independently predict major adverse cardiac events, including heart failure and death. Patients who have ... read more

PCSK9 Inhibitior Bococizumab Produces Varying Results

Mar. 17, 2017 — Researchers report that bococizumab had short-term benefits on lowering cholesterol levels and significantly reduced the risk of cardiovascular events by 21 percent compared to placebo among those ... read more

Agriculture, Dietary Changes, and Adaptations in Fat Metabolism from Ancient to Modern Europeans

Mar. 16, 2017 — Evolutionary biologists are weighing in based on the increasing power of DNA analyses to explore how changes in diet over eons have caused human adaptations to genes regulating fat metabolism. ... read more

Thursday, April 13, 2017
Wednesday, April 12, 2017
Tuesday, April 11, 2017
Monday, April 10, 2017
Thursday, April 6, 2017
Wednesday, April 5, 2017
Tuesday, April 4, 2017
Sunday, April 2, 2017
Thursday, March 30, 2017
Friday, March 24, 2017
Thursday, March 23, 2017
Monday, March 20, 2017
Sunday, March 19, 2017
Friday, March 17, 2017
Thursday, March 16, 2017
Wednesday, March 15, 2017
Tuesday, March 14, 2017
Monday, March 13, 2017
Friday, March 10, 2017
Wednesday, March 8, 2017
Monday, March 6, 2017
Wednesday, March 1, 2017
Monday, February 27, 2017
Friday, February 24, 2017
Thursday, February 23, 2017
Wednesday, February 22, 2017
Tuesday, February 21, 2017
Wednesday, February 15, 2017
Monday, February 13, 2017
Wednesday, February 1, 2017
Tuesday, January 31, 2017
Friday, January 20, 2017
Thursday, January 19, 2017
Tuesday, January 17, 2017
Friday, January 13, 2017
Thursday, January 12, 2017
Monday, January 9, 2017
Thursday, January 5, 2017
Wednesday, January 4, 2017
Tuesday, January 3, 2017
Wednesday, December 28, 2016
Thursday, December 22, 2016
Wednesday, December 21, 2016
Monday, December 19, 2016
Friday, December 16, 2016
Thursday, December 15, 2016
Wednesday, December 14, 2016
Wednesday, December 7, 2016
Tuesday, December 6, 2016
Friday, December 2, 2016
Thursday, December 1, 2016
Wednesday, November 30, 2016
Monday, November 28, 2016
Monday, November 21, 2016
Thursday, November 17, 2016
Tuesday, November 15, 2016
Sunday, November 13, 2016
Wednesday, November 9, 2016
Monday, November 7, 2016
Wednesday, November 2, 2016
Tuesday, November 1, 2016
Monday, October 31, 2016
Thursday, October 20, 2016
Friday, October 14, 2016
Thursday, October 13, 2016
Monday, October 10, 2016
Friday, October 7, 2016
Tuesday, October 4, 2016
Wednesday, September 28, 2016
Tuesday, September 27, 2016
Monday, September 26, 2016
Wednesday, September 21, 2016
Monday, September 12, 2016
Thursday, September 8, 2016
Tuesday, September 6, 2016
Monday, August 29, 2016
Saturday, August 27, 2016
Monday, August 22, 2016
Friday, August 19, 2016