Lung Cancer News
August 28, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 2:25pm EDT

More Lung Cancer News
August 28, 2016

Targeting Low-Oxygen Patches Inside Lung Cancer Tumors Could Help Prevent Drug Resistance

Aug. 25, 2016 — With the right treatment schedule, medications known as hypoxia-activated prodrugs (HAPs) could help prevent drug resistance in a subtype of lung cancer, according to a ... read more

Lymph Node Stage May Have Clinical Significance Among NSCLC Patients With Stage IV M1a

Aug. 24, 2016 — Analysis of a large non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC) patient cohort with stage IV M1a disease identified lymph node staging as having clinical significance and an impact on ... read more

How Genomic Sequencing May Be Widening Racial Disparities in Cancer Care

Aug. 18, 2016 — As scientists learn more about which genetic mutations are driving different types of cancer, they're targeting treatments to small numbers of patients with the potential for big payoffs in ... read more

Afatinib in Advanced Squamous Cell Carcinoma of the Lung: Added Benefit Not Proven

Aug. 18, 2016 — Considering Afatinib in advanced squamous cell carcinoma of the lung, neither the direct nor the indirect comparison conducted by the drug manufacturer allows conclusions on advantages or ... read more

Cutting Off the Cancer Fuel Supply

Aug. 10, 2016 — Research has identified a new approach to cancer therapy in cutting off a cancer cell’s ‘fuel supply’ by targeting a cellular survival mechanism known as ... read more

Introduction of Screening Could Significantly Reduce Lung Cancer Deaths

July 28, 2016 — The introduction of lung cancer screening in the UK could significantly reduce deaths in high risk groups, without causing participants the undue stress sometimes associated with medical tests, say ... read more

New Therapeutic Targets for Small Cell Lung Cancer Identified

July 21, 2016 — Researchers have identified a protein termed ASCL1 that is essential to the development of small cell lung cancer and that, when deleted in the lungs of mice, prevents the cancer from ... read more

How Do Cells Recover Their Shape After Being Subjected to External Forces?

July 20, 2016 — Human cells show deformation under the influence of external forces. But how do they recover their original shape afterwards? This mechanism, which is important in medicine and biology, has been ... read more

Hybrid Immune Cells in Early-Stage Lung Cancer Spur Anti-Tumor T Cells to Action

July 14, 2016 — Researchers have identified a unique subset of these cells that exhibit hybrid characteristics of two immune cell types -- neutrophils and antigen-presenting cells -- in samples from early-stage ... read more

Statins May Be Associated With Reduced Mortality in 4 Common Cancers

July 8, 2016 — A diagnosis of high cholesterol is associated with reduced mortality and improved survival in the four most common cancers, according to new research. The 14-year study from nearly one million ... read more

New Immunotherapy Combo Effectively Treats Advanced Brain Cancer in Pre-Clinical Models

July 7, 2016 — A new breakthrough combination treatment has been developed that utilizes a vaccine to activate an immune response against advanced brain ... read more

CT Follow-Up Sufficient for Some Lung Nodules

July 5, 2016 — Annual low-dose computed-tomography (CT) screening can eliminate the need for biopsy or surgery in nonsolid lung nodules, according to a new ... read more

July 4, 2016 — While immune therapy has proven effective in treating certain types of cancer, especially lung cancer and melanoma, tumors of the pancreas remain among the most difficult to treat and, so far, are ... read more

June 29, 2016 — Zap a tumor with radiation to trigger expression of a molecule, then attack that molecule with a drug-loaded nanoparticle, say cancer ... read more

Prognostic Factor Indicates Risk of Cancer Recurrence Following Radical Prostatectomy

June 27, 2016 — Slightly more than 10% of all patients who undergo successful surgery for prostate cancer have an elevated risk of tumor recurrence afterwards – especially as metastases. Under the microscope, it ... read more

The Silencer: Study Reveals How a Cancer Gene Promotes Tumor Growth

June 23, 2016 — A new study describes how a known cancer gene, EGFR, silences genes that typically suppress tumors. The finding may lead to the development of more effective, individualized treatment for patients ... read more

June 23, 2016 — Cancer cells appear to depend on an unusual survival mechanism to spread around the body, according to an early study. The discovery could help with future development of novel treatments to prevent ... read more

Presurgery Chemotherapy May Make Advanced Ovarian Cancers Responsive to Immunotherapy

June 15, 2016 — Metastatic ovarian cancer patients treated with chemotherapy prior to surgery had altered immune cells in their tumors, and specific alterations identified suggest that immunotherapy given after ... read more

Middle-Aged More Likely to Be Diagnosed With Advanced Lung Cancer

June 14, 2016 — Younger patients aged 50 to 64 are more likely to be diagnosed with late stage lung cancer than older patients according to new ... read more

FDG PET Evaluates Immunotherapy for Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer

June 13, 2016 — Non-small cell lung cancers (NSCLC) have a collective reputation for not responding very well to chemotherapy. Researchers now report a means of evaluating an immunotherapy that fights off NSCLC by ... read more

Thursday, August 25, 2016
Wednesday, August 24, 2016
Thursday, August 18, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Thursday, July 28, 2016
Thursday, July 21, 2016
Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016
Friday, July 8, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Tuesday, July 5, 2016
Monday, July 4, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Thursday, June 23, 2016
Wednesday, June 15, 2016
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Monday, June 6, 2016
Saturday, June 4, 2016
Thursday, June 2, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Friday, May 13, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Monday, May 2, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Friday, April 15, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Tuesday, April 12, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Thursday, April 7, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Sunday, April 3, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Tuesday, March 29, 2016
Tuesday, March 22, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Monday, March 7, 2016
Friday, March 4, 2016
Thursday, March 3, 2016
Wednesday, March 2, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Friday, February 26, 2016
Thursday, February 25, 2016
Wednesday, February 17, 2016
Tuesday, February 16, 2016
Friday, February 12, 2016
Thursday, February 11, 2016
Monday, February 1, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Tuesday, January 26, 2016
Thursday, January 21, 2016
Monday, January 18, 2016
Monday, January 11, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016