NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Lung Cancer News
February 25, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 10:55am EST

More Lung Cancer News
February 25, 2017

Scientists Identify Chain Reaction That Shields Breast Cancer Stem Cells from Chemotherapy

Feb. 22, 2017 — Working with human breast cancer cells and mice, researchers say they have identified a biochemical pathway that triggers the regrowth of breast cancer stem cells after ... read more

Quick-and-Dirty DNA Repair Sets the Stage for Smoking-Related Lung Cancer

Jan. 26, 2017 — The stem cells that proliferate the most in response to damage caused by cigarette smoke repair their DNA using a process prone to errors, setting the stage for lung cancer, according to a new ... read more

Lung Cancer Patients With Anxiety, Depression Die Sooner

Jan. 24, 2017 — Patients who experience anxiety and depression after being diagnosed with advanced lung cancer are more likely to die sooner, according to new ... read more

Jan. 23, 2017 — The protein PHLDB3, thought to be a potential tumor suppressor, actually allows cancer cells to thrive in pancreatic, prostate, colon, breast, lung, and other common cancers, researchers have found. ... read more

Researchers Identify Mechanism of Oncogene Action in Lung Cancer

Jan. 19, 2017 — Researchers have identified a genetic promoter of cancer that drives a major form of lung cancer. In a new paper, researchers provide genetic evidence that Ect2 drives lung adenocarcinoma tumor ... read more

Stem Cell 'Marking' Study Offers Alterative Hypothesis of Cancer Metastasis

Jan. 18, 2017 — Stem cells are among the most energetically activated, migratory and proliferative sub-populations of tumor cells, according to a new ... read more

New Research Holds Promise for Personalized Lung Cancer Treatments

Jan. 12, 2017 — New research has uncovered distinct types of tumors within small cell lung cancer that look and act differently from one another. Scientists also identified a targeted drug combination that worked ... read more

Cancers Evade Immunotherapy by 'Discarding the Evidence' of Tumor-Specific Mutations

Jan. 5, 2017 — Results of an initial study of tumors from patients with lung cancer or head and neck cancer suggest that the widespread acquired resistance to immunotherapy drugs known as checkpoint inhibitors may ... read more

Lung Cancer Patients May Benefit from Delayed Chemotherapy After Surgery

Jan. 5, 2017 — Patients with a common form of lung cancer may still benefit from delayed chemotherapy started up to four months after surgery, according to a team of ... read more

Lung-Sparing Surgery for Patients With Advanced Mesothelioma Results in Prolonged Survival, New Study Shows

Dec. 14, 2016 — Patients with advanced malignant pleural mesothelioma (MPM) treated with a combination of surgery to remove the cancer but save their lung, plus photodynamic therapy and chemotherapy, had a median ... read more

New Cancer Connection: Two Enzymes Work in Tandem to Spur Tumor Growth

Dec. 14, 2016 — Scientists have discovered that two enzymes previously linked independently with keeping cancer cells alive actually work in tandem to spur tumor ... read more

Immunotherapy Drug Gives Non-Small-Cell Lung Cancer Patients Extra Four Months of Life With Fewer Side Effects Compared to Chemotherapy

Dec. 13, 2016 — Patients with advanced non-small-cell lung cancer survive four months longer with fewer side effects on an immunotherapy drug called atezolizumab compared to chemotherapy, according to a phase 3 ... read more

Lung Cancer: Protein as Potential Tool for Predicting Survival

Dec. 6, 2016 — The biomarker PD-1, a protein, could potentially be used to predict survival or disease-free survival of lung cancer patients who have had the tumour surgically removed, a new study has ... read more

Long-Term, Low-Intensity Smoking Associated With Increased Risks of Death

Dec. 5, 2016 — Low-intensity smokers who puff on 10 or less cigarettes per day over their lifetime still have higher risks of death than individuals who never smoke, providing further evidence that there is no safe ... read more

New Ovarian Cancer Immunotherapy Study Poses Question: Can Microbiome Influence Treatment Response?

Nov. 28, 2016 — A new clinical study currently underway is the first to test the combination of the immunotherapy pembrolizumab with two other drugs as treatment for recurrent epithelial ovarian cancer, and is also ... read more

Diabetes Proves Deadly for Smokers

Nov. 22, 2016 — While it is well known that smoking causes lung cancer, heavy smokers with diabetes are also at increased risk of death from causes other than lung cancer, according to a new ... read more

Research Reveals Insight Into How Lung Cancer Spreads

Nov. 21, 2016 — A cellular component known as the Golgi apparatus may play a role in how lung cancer metastasizes, according to ... read more

Blood Test Could Predict Best Treatment for Lung Cancer

Nov. 21, 2016 — A blood test could predict how well small-cell lung cancer (SCLC) patients will respond to treatment, according to new ... read more

Estimating Survival in Patients With Lung Cancer, Brain Metastases

Nov. 17, 2016 — A new article updates a tool to estimate survival in patients with lung cancer and brain metastases. Lung cancer is a leading cause of death in the United States and around the world. A frequent and ... read more

Study Develops Prediction Model for Lung Cancer Risk in Never Smokers

Nov. 2, 2016 — A new personalized assessment tool has been developed that could better predict lung cancer risk in never, light and heavy smokers using a large prospective cohort ... read more

Wednesday, February 22, 2017
Thursday, January 26, 2017
Tuesday, January 24, 2017
Monday, January 23, 2017
Thursday, January 19, 2017
Wednesday, January 18, 2017
Thursday, January 12, 2017
Thursday, January 5, 2017
Wednesday, December 14, 2016
Tuesday, December 13, 2016
Tuesday, December 6, 2016
Monday, December 5, 2016
Monday, November 28, 2016
Tuesday, November 22, 2016
Monday, November 21, 2016
Thursday, November 17, 2016
Wednesday, November 2, 2016
Tuesday, November 1, 2016
Thursday, October 27, 2016
Tuesday, October 25, 2016
Thursday, October 20, 2016
Tuesday, October 11, 2016
Sunday, October 9, 2016
Saturday, October 8, 2016
Friday, October 7, 2016
Tuesday, October 4, 2016
Monday, October 3, 2016
Thursday, September 29, 2016
Tuesday, September 27, 2016
Monday, September 26, 2016
Friday, September 23, 2016
Wednesday, September 21, 2016
Monday, September 19, 2016
Thursday, September 15, 2016
Wednesday, September 7, 2016
Wednesday, August 31, 2016
Tuesday, August 30, 2016
Saturday, August 27, 2016
Thursday, August 25, 2016
Wednesday, August 24, 2016
Thursday, August 18, 2016
Wednesday, August 17, 2016
Monday, August 15, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Friday, August 5, 2016
Thursday, July 28, 2016
Thursday, July 21, 2016
Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016
Friday, July 8, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Tuesday, July 5, 2016
Monday, July 4, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Thursday, June 23, 2016
Wednesday, June 15, 2016
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Monday, June 6, 2016
Saturday, June 4, 2016
Thursday, June 2, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Friday, May 13, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Monday, May 2, 2016