Lung Cancer News
July 28, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 10:25am EDT

More Lung Cancer News
July 28, 2016

Hybrid Immune Cells in Early-Stage Lung Cancer Spur Anti-Tumor T Cells to Action

July 14, 2016 — Researchers have identified a unique subset of these cells that exhibit hybrid characteristics of two immune cell types -- neutrophils and antigen-presenting cells -- in samples from early-stage ... read more

June 29, 2016 — Zap a tumor with radiation to trigger expression of a molecule, then attack that molecule with a drug-loaded nanoparticle, say cancer ... read more

Middle-Aged More Likely to Be Diagnosed With Advanced Lung Cancer

June 14, 2016 — Younger patients aged 50 to 64 are more likely to be diagnosed with late stage lung cancer than older patients according to new ... read more

FDG PET Evaluates Immunotherapy for Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer

June 13, 2016 — Non-small cell lung cancers (NSCLC) have a collective reputation for not responding very well to chemotherapy. Researchers now report a means of evaluating an immunotherapy that fights off NSCLC by ... read more

Adjuvant Chemotherapy Improves Overall Survival in Patients With Stage IB Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer

June 13, 2016 — The use of adjuvant chemotherapy in early-stage non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC) patients improves overall survival and five-year OS in patients with tumor sizes ranging from 3-7 ... read more

Many Family Physicians Have Inaccurate Knowledge About Lung Cancer Screening

June 13, 2016 — Although clinical trials have shown that lung cancer screening using low-dose computed tomography (LDCT) can detect lung cancers early and reduce lung cancer mortality, less than half of family ... read more

Researchers Discover a Mechanism That Reverses Resistance to Antiangiogenic Drugs

June 9, 2016 — Researchers have just published an important finding regarding antiangiogenic drugs. In the article they describe a resistance mechanism to these compounds and, more importantly, a way to reverse it. ... read more

June 9, 2016 — Being able to identify lung cancer "signature" through a simple breath test has emerged as one of the most promising ways to diagnose the disease. Now the test is being used to monitor for ... read more

Lung Cancer Patients Who Have Surgery Live Longer

June 9, 2016 — Patients with late-stage, non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC) who have surgery have better survival rates than those who don't, but fewer of these patients are undergoing surgery, researchers ... read more

Pembrolizumab Elicits Significant Antitumor Activity in Head and Neck Cancer Patients

June 6, 2016 — Treating head and neck cancer patients with recurrent or metastatic disease with the PD-1 inhibitor pembrolizumab resulted in significant clinical responses in a fifth of the patients from a phase II ... read more

Progression-Free Survival Triples in Select Metastatic Lung Cancer Patients With Surgery or Radiation After Standard Chemotherapy

June 6, 2016 — Lung cancer patients with oliogometastases, defined as three or fewer sites of metastasis, may benefit from aggressive local therapy, surgery or radiation, after standard chemotherapy, according to ... read more

Twice a Day Radiotherapy Halves Treatment Time and Is Equally Good at Treating Small Cell Lung Cancer

June 4, 2016 — Having radiotherapy once a day for six and a half weeks or twice a day for three weeks -- when combined with chemotherapy -- is equally good at treating small cell lung cancer that hasn't ... read more

Up to One-Quarter of Lung Cancer Patients Ineligible for Immunotherapy

June 4, 2016 — A significant proportion of lung cancer patients also have autoimmune disease, which may make them unsuitable for increasingly popular immunotherapy treatments, a team of researchers has ... read more

Two-Drug Immunotherapy Deemed Safe for Lung Cancer Patients, Study Shows

June 2, 2016 — Utilizing the immunotherapeutic agents nivolumab and ipilimumab could lead to more effective treatment options for non-small cell lung cancer patients who fail initial therapy, report ... read more

Lung Cancer Survival Rate Increases by 73 Percent If Caught Early

May 25, 2016 — The UK Lung cancer screening trial has been successfully completed and has demonstrated that patients with a high risk of developing lung cancer can be identified with early stage disease and have up ... read more

Effective Protection for Non-Smokers Could Prevent 30% of All Cancer Deaths

May 24, 2016 — Every year, lung cancer causes around 1.6 million deaths worldwide. 70% of all lung cancer patients throughout the world are smokers or ex-smokers and, in Central Europe, this figure is higher than ... read more

Blood Marker Determines Who Will Respond to Colorectal Cancer Drug

May 13, 2016 — Cancer researchers have identified a marker that shows up in a blood test that determines which patients with colorectal cancer that has spread would benefit from receiving the drug ... read more

Discovery of Lung Cancer Mutations Responsive to Targeted Therapies, Immunotherapies

May 9, 2016 — A number of new driver mutations in lung cancer cells has been discovered that may be responsive to genomically targeted therapies and to ... read more

Cancer May Drive Health Problems as People Age

May 9, 2016 — A new study indicates that cancer may have negative impacts on both the physical and mental health of individuals as they age. The study suggests that cancer increases the risk for certain health ... read more

May 5, 2016 — An antibody has been developed from the body's own immune system that preferentially attacks cancer cells. The antibody works by targeting a natural defense mechanism that cancer tumors exploit. ... read more

Thursday, July 14, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Monday, June 6, 2016
Saturday, June 4, 2016
Thursday, June 2, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Friday, May 13, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Monday, May 2, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Friday, April 15, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Tuesday, April 12, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Thursday, April 7, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Sunday, April 3, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Tuesday, March 29, 2016
Tuesday, March 22, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Monday, March 7, 2016
Friday, March 4, 2016
Thursday, March 3, 2016
Wednesday, March 2, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Friday, February 26, 2016
Thursday, February 25, 2016
Wednesday, February 17, 2016
Tuesday, February 16, 2016
Friday, February 12, 2016
Thursday, February 11, 2016
Monday, February 1, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Tuesday, January 26, 2016
Thursday, January 21, 2016
Monday, January 18, 2016
Monday, January 11, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Monday, January 4, 2016
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Tuesday, December 22, 2015
Monday, December 21, 2015
Saturday, December 19, 2015
Friday, December 18, 2015
Thursday, December 17, 2015
Friday, December 11, 2015
Thursday, December 3, 2015
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Tuesday, December 1, 2015
Friday, November 20, 2015
Thursday, November 19, 2015
Friday, November 13, 2015