Lung Cancer News
April 30, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 10:55am EDT

More Lung Cancer News
April 30, 2016

Patients With EGFR Expressing NSCLC Benefit Most from Necitumumab Added to Chemotherapy

Apr. 15, 2016 — Patients with epidermal growth factor receptor expressing advanced squamous non-small-cell lung cancer benefit most from necitumumab added to gemcitabine and cisplatin chemotherapy, according to a ... read more

Novel Mechanism of Crizotinib Resistance in a ROS1+ NSCLC Patient

Apr. 11, 2016 — Molecular analysis of a tumor biopsy from a proto-oncogene 1 receptor tyrosine kinase positive (ROS1+) patient with acquired crizotinib resistance revealed a novel mutation in the v-kit Hardy ... read more

Apr. 5, 2016 — A study of light-use hookah or waterpipe smokers found evidence of lung function abnormalities, including marked changes in cells lining the airways, a new study ... read more

Cancer Research Shows Promise for Combating Deadly Lung Cancer

Apr. 4, 2016 — Blocking the blood supply of small cell lung cancer tumors may help reduce their growth and delay the regrowth process after treatment, new research indicates. Small cell lung cancer is considered ... read more

Small Cell Lung Cancer: Newly Discovered Clues to Cause of Chemoresistance

Apr. 4, 2016 — Small cell lung cancer is not usually detected until it is at an advanced stage, when metastases have already formed. Chemotherapy is very effective initially but, within a year, cancer recurs and ... read more

Drugs Show Potential for Combating Aggressive Form of Lung Cancer

Apr. 3, 2016 — A new study shows that blocking the blood supply of small cell lung cancer tumors may help slow their growth and delay a rebound after chemotherapy. Small cell lung cancer is one of the most ... read more

Histone Deacetylase Inhibitors Enhance Immunotherapy in Lung Cancer Models, Say Researchers

Mar. 31, 2016 — Several new immunotherapeutic antibodies that inhibit checkpoint receptors on T cells to restimulate the immune system to target tumors have been approved to treat advanced stage lung cancer and ... read more

Mar. 29, 2016 — Scientists have devised a triple-stage 'cluster bomb' system for delivering the chemotherapy drug cisplatin, via tiny nanoparticles designed to break up when they reach a ... read more

Mar. 29, 2016 — Smokers who are screened for lung cancer should be encouraged to quit smoking during their visit, according to experts. Citing a recent recommendation that heavy smokers undergo a yearly screening ... read more

New Genetic Target Found for Most Common Lung Cancer

Mar. 22, 2016 — Research has identified mutations in lung cancer that is key to tumor growth, offering a new way to differentiate and treat some patients with the disease. Non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC) makes up ... read more

Mar. 22, 2016 — Most high-risk lung cancer patients might not need annual low-dose computed tomography (LDCT) screenings if they are cleared of disease in their initial test, according to a ... read more

'Silencer Molecules' Switch Off Cancer's Ability to Spread Around Body

Mar. 21, 2016 — Scientists have revealed that a key molecule in breast and lung cancer cells can help switch off the cancers' ability to spread around the body. The findings may help scientists develop ... read more

Trained Technicians Using CV Software Improved the Accuracy and Quality of LDCT Scans

Mar. 16, 2016 — Trained technician screeners with assisted computer-aided nodule detection or computer vision screening workstations can efficiently and accurately review and triage abnormal low-dose computed ... read more

Antibody Slows Tumor Growth and Metastasis in Mice

Mar. 16, 2016 — Scientists report they have developed an antibody against a specific cellular gateway that suppresses lung tumor cell growth and breast cancer metastasis in transplanted tumor experiments in mice, ... read more

Racial Differences in Smoking Patterns, Screening

Mar. 15, 2016 — New research reveals that differences in smoking habits between African Americans and whites may lead to a disparity in screening for lung ... read more

Drug Combination Shuts Down Cancer Stem Cells, Tumor Growth in Aggressive Lung Cancer

Mar. 14, 2016 — Researchers have shut down one of the most common and lethal forms of lung cancer by combining the rheumatoid arthritis drug auranofin with an experimental targeted ... read more

Mar. 14, 2016 — A team of investigators may have transformed the treatment of metastatic triple negative breast cancer by creating the first drug to successfully eliminate lung metastases in ... read more

Mar. 14, 2016 — A new drug is showing promise as a treatment for mesothelioma -- one of the most lethal cancers of all. The drug, known as HRX9, works by preventing the cancer cells from avoiding apoptosis -- the ... read more

Highly Active Gene Found in Aggressive Human Lung Cancer

Mar. 10, 2016 — Scientists believe that 'conserved' genes -- those found in life forms that range from bacteria to plants, insects and humans -- perform vital biological functions across species. And ... read more

Possible Marker for Lung Cancer Chemotherapy Identified

Mar. 10, 2016 — The activity level -- expression -- of the SMARCA4/BRG1 gene in lung tumors might identify lung-cancer patients who will likely be helped by a particular chemotherapy regimen given to prevent tumor ... read more

Friday, April 15, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Sunday, April 3, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Tuesday, March 29, 2016
Tuesday, March 22, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Monday, March 7, 2016
Friday, March 4, 2016
Thursday, March 3, 2016
Wednesday, March 2, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Friday, February 26, 2016
Thursday, February 25, 2016
Wednesday, February 17, 2016
Tuesday, February 16, 2016
Friday, February 12, 2016
Thursday, February 11, 2016
Monday, February 1, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Tuesday, January 26, 2016
Thursday, January 21, 2016
Monday, January 18, 2016
Monday, January 11, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Monday, January 4, 2016
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Tuesday, December 22, 2015
Monday, December 21, 2015
Saturday, December 19, 2015
Friday, December 18, 2015
Thursday, December 17, 2015
Friday, December 11, 2015
Thursday, December 3, 2015
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Tuesday, December 1, 2015
Friday, November 20, 2015
Thursday, November 19, 2015
Friday, November 13, 2015
Wednesday, November 11, 2015
Tuesday, November 10, 2015
Tuesday, November 3, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Wednesday, October 28, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Tuesday, October 20, 2015
Monday, October 19, 2015
Sunday, October 18, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Tuesday, October 6, 2015
Monday, October 5, 2015
Friday, October 2, 2015
Thursday, October 1, 2015
Wednesday, September 30, 2015
Monday, September 28, 2015
Sunday, September 27, 2015
Saturday, September 26, 2015
Thursday, September 24, 2015
Monday, September 21, 2015
Wednesday, September 16, 2015
Thursday, September 10, 2015
Wednesday, September 9, 2015