Lung Cancer News
April 24, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 6:54pm EDT

More Lung Cancer News
April 24, 2017

Biomarker Blood Test Shows Cancer Recurrence Months Before CT Scans

Mar. 16, 2017 — Results from a prospective clinical trial showed that a blood test looking at specific biomarkers was able to detect recurrences of lung cancer an average of six months before conventional imaging ... read more

Prevention and Prediction: Understanding How Lung Cancer Progresses

Mar. 16, 2017 — Treating the brain with a preventative course of radiation may help small cell lung cancer (SCLC) patients -- whose tumors often spread to their brain -- live longer, according to a new study. A ... read more

Scientists Identify Chain Reaction That Shields Breast Cancer Stem Cells from Chemotherapy

Feb. 22, 2017 — Working with human breast cancer cells and mice, researchers say they have identified a biochemical pathway that triggers the regrowth of breast cancer stem cells after ... read more

Protein Once Thought Exclusive to Neurons Helps Some Cancers Grow, Spread, Defy Death

Feb. 21, 2017 — How we think and fall in love are controlled by lightning-fast electrochemical signals across synapses, the dynamic spaces between nerve cells. Until now, nobody knew that cancer cells can repurpose ... read more

Feb. 17, 2017 — Scientists have mapped a vast spider web of interactions between proteins in lung cancer cells, as part of an effort to reach what was considered 'undruggable.' This approach revealed new ... read more

Smoking Cessation Counseling Successful When Paired With Lung Cancer Screening

Feb. 14, 2017 — The first successful randomized trial of its kind provides preliminary evidence that telephone-based smoking cessation counseling given to smokers shortly after undergoing lung cancer screening can ... read more

'Achilles' Heel' of Key Anti-Cancer Protein

Feb. 13, 2017 — Researchers have discovered that a protein called Importin-11 protects the anti-cancer protein PTEN from destruction by transporting it into the cell nucleus. The research suggests that the loss of ... read more

Less Inclusive Criteria for Lung Cancer Screening Would Be Cost-Effective

Feb. 7, 2017 — Limiting lung cancer screening to high-risk former smokers may improve cost-effectiveness at a population level, according to a new study. An analysis of 576 computed tomography (CT) lung cancer ... read more

Feb. 6, 2017 — Scientists have discovered that people with cancers containing genetic mutations JAK1 or JAK2, which are known to prevent tumors from recognizing or receiving signals from T cells to stop growing, ... read more

Lung Cancer Screening Rates Remain Very Low Among Current and Former Smokers

Feb. 2, 2017 — Lung cancer screening rates remained very low and unchanged among eligible populations in 2015, despite recommendations that high risk current and former smokers be screened, report ... read more

Report Describes VHA Clinical Demonstration Project for Lung Cancer Screening

Jan. 30, 2017 — Implementing a comprehensive lung cancer screening program was challenging and complex according to a new article that describes a lung cancer demonstration project conducted at eight academic ... read more

Quick-and-Dirty DNA Repair Sets the Stage for Smoking-Related Lung Cancer

Jan. 26, 2017 — The stem cells that proliferate the most in response to damage caused by cigarette smoke repair their DNA using a process prone to errors, setting the stage for lung cancer, according to a new ... read more

Lung Cancer Patients With Anxiety, Depression Die Sooner

Jan. 24, 2017 — Patients who experience anxiety and depression after being diagnosed with advanced lung cancer are more likely to die sooner, according to new ... read more

Jan. 23, 2017 — The protein PHLDB3, thought to be a potential tumor suppressor, actually allows cancer cells to thrive in pancreatic, prostate, colon, breast, lung, and other common cancers, researchers have found. ... read more

Researchers Identify Mechanism of Oncogene Action in Lung Cancer

Jan. 19, 2017 — Researchers have identified a genetic promoter of cancer that drives a major form of lung cancer. In a new paper, researchers provide genetic evidence that Ect2 drives lung adenocarcinoma tumor ... read more

Stem Cell 'Marking' Study Offers Alterative Hypothesis of Cancer Metastasis

Jan. 18, 2017 — Stem cells are among the most energetically activated, migratory and proliferative sub-populations of tumor cells, according to a new ... read more

New Research Holds Promise for Personalized Lung Cancer Treatments

Jan. 12, 2017 — New research has uncovered distinct types of tumors within small cell lung cancer that look and act differently from one another. Scientists also identified a targeted drug combination that worked ... read more

Cancers Evade Immunotherapy by 'Discarding the Evidence' of Tumor-Specific Mutations

Jan. 5, 2017 — Results of an initial study of tumors from patients with lung cancer or head and neck cancer suggest that the widespread acquired resistance to immunotherapy drugs known as checkpoint inhibitors may ... read more

Lung Cancer Patients May Benefit from Delayed Chemotherapy After Surgery

Jan. 5, 2017 — Patients with a common form of lung cancer may still benefit from delayed chemotherapy started up to four months after surgery, according to a team of ... read more

Lung-Sparing Surgery for Patients With Advanced Mesothelioma Results in Prolonged Survival, New Study Shows

Dec. 14, 2016 — Patients with advanced malignant pleural mesothelioma (MPM) treated with a combination of surgery to remove the cancer but save their lung, plus photodynamic therapy and chemotherapy, had a median ... read more

Thursday, March 16, 2017
Wednesday, February 22, 2017
Tuesday, February 21, 2017
Friday, February 17, 2017
Tuesday, February 14, 2017
Monday, February 13, 2017
Tuesday, February 7, 2017
Monday, February 6, 2017
Thursday, February 2, 2017
Monday, January 30, 2017
Thursday, January 26, 2017
Tuesday, January 24, 2017
Monday, January 23, 2017
Thursday, January 19, 2017
Wednesday, January 18, 2017
Thursday, January 12, 2017
Thursday, January 5, 2017
Wednesday, December 14, 2016
Tuesday, December 13, 2016
Tuesday, December 6, 2016
Monday, December 5, 2016
Monday, November 28, 2016
Tuesday, November 22, 2016
Monday, November 21, 2016
Thursday, November 17, 2016
Wednesday, November 2, 2016
Tuesday, November 1, 2016
Thursday, October 27, 2016
Tuesday, October 25, 2016
Thursday, October 20, 2016
Tuesday, October 11, 2016
Sunday, October 9, 2016
Saturday, October 8, 2016
Friday, October 7, 2016
Tuesday, October 4, 2016
Monday, October 3, 2016
Thursday, September 29, 2016
Tuesday, September 27, 2016
Monday, September 26, 2016
Friday, September 23, 2016
Wednesday, September 21, 2016
Monday, September 19, 2016
Thursday, September 15, 2016
Wednesday, September 7, 2016
Wednesday, August 31, 2016
Tuesday, August 30, 2016
Saturday, August 27, 2016
Thursday, August 25, 2016
Wednesday, August 24, 2016
Thursday, August 18, 2016
Wednesday, August 17, 2016
Monday, August 15, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Friday, August 5, 2016
Thursday, July 28, 2016
Thursday, July 21, 2016
Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016
Friday, July 8, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Tuesday, July 5, 2016
Monday, July 4, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Thursday, June 23, 2016
Wednesday, June 15, 2016
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Monday, June 6, 2016
Saturday, June 4, 2016
Thursday, June 2, 2016