NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Health Policy News
October 22, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 1:31pm EDT

More Health Policy News
October 22, 2016

Reshaping the Future of Global Clinical Trials Practice

Oct. 19, 2016 — A new international guideline has been developed to help standardize how results from clinical trial studies are reported. This new guideline could increase the efficiency and value of clinical ... read more

Medical Ethicists Challenge Court Ruling on Lethal Injection in Alabama Case

Oct. 18, 2016 — Court orders demanding death row inmates to provide "specific, detailed and concrete alternatives" to a state's lethal injection protocol compel those inmates to produce evidence that ... read more

Researchers Study Diagnostic Error in Asthma, COPD

Oct. 13, 2016 — A $1.5 million grant has been awarded to a research team to study the impact of diagnostic error on outcomes for pulmonary patients and the use of lung-function testing in primary care. Studies ... read more

Raising Soda Taxes May Sound Good, but Likely to Fall Flat With US Consumers

Oct. 12, 2016 — The World Health Organization (WHO) has recommended governments raise taxes on sugary drinks and increase subsidies on fruits and vegetables, in an effort to fight global obesity and diabetes. An ... read more

New Report on Medicaid Payment Reform at Community Health Centers

Oct. 11, 2016 — A new report on Medicaid payment reform and community health centers reviews the key elements of Medicaid’s Federally Qualified Health Centers (FQHC) payment rules, describes the flexibility ... read more

Failures in Mental Health System Flagged in New Report in England

Oct. 10, 2016 — Significant numbers of people with learning disabilities, particularly very young adults, remain inappropriately incarcerated in English hospitals, new research ... read more

Obesity-Linked Conditions Are Projected to Rise Sharply in Children

Oct. 10, 2016 — Researchers' global estimates indicate that by 2025, some 268 million children aged 5 to 17 years may be overweight, including 91 million obese, assuming no policy interventions have proven ... read more

UK's Approach to Health Needs Radical Rethinking, Experts Say

Oct. 7, 2016 — As the NHS lurches from crisis to crisis, the UK’s approach to health needs radical rethinking to create a healthy and health-creating society. Just as the founding of the NHS in 1948 was a great ... read more

Most Gay Men Not Aware of Treatment to Protect Them from HIV

Oct. 5, 2016 — Only four in 10 gay and bisexual men in Baltimore without HIV are aware that pre-exposure prophylaxis medication (PrEP) may significantly reduce their risk of contracting the virus, even those who ... read more

Empowering Diabetes Patients Through Technology

Sep. 28, 2016 — Researchers have received a five-year, $4 million federal grant to study how mobile technology can assist African American and Hispanic patients in adhering to their diabetes treatment ... read more

If Legalizing Pot, Consider Health, Not Profits, Analysis Says

Sep. 28, 2016 — A new analysis of marijuana legislation offers a framework for states that are considering legalizing the drug and want to protect public health, rather than corporate ... read more

Low Cancer Symptom Awareness Linked to Lower Chance of Survival

Sep. 27, 2016 — In regions where cancer survival is poorer, people on average have lower awareness of cancer symptoms, according to new ... read more

Study Reveals Tremendous Clinical, Economic Burden of Common Chronic Liver Disease

Sep. 27, 2016 — Non-alcoholic fatty liver disease (NAFLD), the most common liver disease worldwide, is increasing in prevalence and is currently estimated to affect approximately one-quarter of the general ... read more

Healthcare Leaders Recommend Restructuring Health Care System to Better Serve Needs of U.S. Throughout 21st Century

Sep. 26, 2016 — To keep up with the evolving needs of our nation’s health and health care system, a series of papers recommends restructuring the U.S. health care system in ways that will support more efficient, ... read more

Young Cancer Survivors in Economic Struggle

Sep. 26, 2016 — Young cancer survivors have a 40 per cent higher risk of becoming unemployed, than others, say researchers, noting that they also have a 40 per cent higher risk of receiving governmental financial ... read more

Women With Hearing Loss More Likely to Have Preterm or Low Birth Weight Babies

Sep. 26, 2016 — The first study of birth outcomes in women with hearing loss finds significant differences when compared to women without hearing loss, scientists ... read more

Science Can Shape Healthy City Planning

Sep. 23, 2016 — The health gains achieved if cities were designed so that shops, facilities, work and public transportation were within walking distance of most residents have now been quantified by researchers. In ... read more

Fear of Stigma or Sanction Keeps Many Doctors from Revealing Mental Health Issues, Study Finds

Sep. 22, 2016 — Even as doctors across America encourage their patients to share concerns about depression, anxiety and other concerns, a new study suggests the doctors may be less likely to seek help for those same ... read more

Care Home Dementia Study Finds Failure to Reduce Antipsychotic Prescribing

Sep. 20, 2016 — There has been no sustained reduction in the prescription of antipsychotics to UK dementia patients, despite government guidance, according to a ... read more

Age Limit for Federal Food Assistance Program Is Increasing Food Insecurity

Sep. 20, 2016 — A problem has been found with regard to the requirement that when children turn five, they are no longer eligible to receive food assistance from Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, ... read more

Wednesday, October 19, 2016
Tuesday, October 18, 2016
Thursday, October 13, 2016
Wednesday, October 12, 2016
Tuesday, October 11, 2016
Monday, October 10, 2016
Friday, October 7, 2016
Wednesday, October 5, 2016
Wednesday, September 28, 2016
Tuesday, September 27, 2016
Monday, September 26, 2016
Friday, September 23, 2016
Thursday, September 22, 2016
Tuesday, September 20, 2016
Monday, September 19, 2016
Friday, September 16, 2016
Thursday, September 15, 2016
Wednesday, September 14, 2016
Tuesday, September 13, 2016
Monday, September 12, 2016
Thursday, September 8, 2016
Wednesday, September 7, 2016
Tuesday, September 6, 2016
Friday, September 2, 2016
Thursday, September 1, 2016
Wednesday, August 31, 2016
Tuesday, August 30, 2016
Monday, August 29, 2016
Friday, August 26, 2016
Thursday, August 25, 2016
Wednesday, August 24, 2016
Tuesday, August 23, 2016
Monday, August 22, 2016
Friday, August 19, 2016
Thursday, August 18, 2016
Wednesday, August 17, 2016
Tuesday, August 16, 2016
Monday, August 15, 2016
Friday, August 12, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Tuesday, August 9, 2016