Controlled Substances News
May 28, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 12:02pm EDT

More Controlled Substances News
May 28, 2016

Neuroscientists Discover Previously Unknown Function of Cannabinoid Receptor

May 2, 2016 — In the brain, there is a delicate interplay of signaling substances and cellular activity. Scientists have now identified another key player within this ensemble. In a laboratory study they found ... read more

Legalization of Marijuana in Washington Had No Effect on Teens' Access to Drug

Apr. 30, 2016 — Despite concerns that legalizing marijuana use for adults would make it easier for adolescents to get ahold of it, a new study in Washington State shows that teens find it no easier now than before ... read more

One in Six Children Hospitalized for Lung Inflammation Positive for Marijuana Exposure

Apr. 30, 2016 — A new study found that one in six infants and toddlers admitted to a Colorado hospital with coughing, wheezing and other symptoms of bronchiolitis tested positive for marijuana ... read more

Modifying an Obesity Drug Could Reduce Side Effects Like Anxiety and Depression

Apr. 28, 2016 — A new version of an obesity drug that caused serious psychiatric side effects could help people lose pounds without experiencing the anxiety, depression and suicidal thoughts previously associated ... read more

Psychedelic Drugs May Reduce Domestic Violence

Apr. 26, 2016 — Psychedelic drugs may help curb domestic violence committed by men with substance abuse problems, according to a new study. The study found that 42 percent of US adult male inmates who did not take ... read more

Apr. 21, 2016 — Cocaine use has increased substantially among African Americans in some of the most underserved areas of the United States. Interventions designed to increase connection to and support from non-drug ... read more

New Study Examines the Effect of Ecstasy on the Brain

Apr. 18, 2016 — The effect ecstasy has on different parts of the brain has been the focus of recent study. Researchers found that ecstasy users showed significant reductions in the way serotonin is transported in ... read more

In the Face of Chronic Pain, Clinicians Seek Best Practices for Management While Evading Opioid Abuse

Apr. 16, 2016 — Researchers have discussed best practices in management of chronic pain in people with ... read more

Apr. 13, 2016 — A complication associated with bone marrow transplantation, graft-versus-host-disease, occurs when a transplanted immune system attacks certain parts of a host's body, and may cause severe dry ... read more

Some Drug Addicts More Likely to Relapse Than Others: Study

Apr. 13, 2016 — Opioids are highly addicting and liable for abuse. Methadone maintenance treatment is the most common intervention for those with drug addiction, but relapse is common, with 46% of patients ... read more

Simultaneous Cocaine, Alcohol Use Linked to Suicide Risk

Apr. 8, 2016 — A new study of hundreds of emergency department visits finds that the links between substance misuse and suicide risk are complex, but that use of cocaine and alcohol together was particularly ... read more

Cannabis Use in Pregnancy Linked to Low Birthweight and Intensive Care

Apr. 5, 2016 — Use of cannabis during pregnancy is linked to low birthweight and the need for intensive care, reveals an analysis of the available evidence. As cannabis becomes more socially acceptable, it's ... read more

Effects of Alcohol, Methamphetamine, and Marijuana Exposure on the Placenta

Apr. 5, 2016 — In the United States, prenatal alcohol exposure (PAE) is the most common preventable cause of developmental delay. Animal studies have shown some of the adverse effects of PAE on placental ... read more

Anabolic Steroid Abuse Is Associated With Increased Systolic Hypertension Risk

Apr. 4, 2016 — Anabolic androgenic steroid (AAS) abuse is associated with severe blood pressure (BP) increase and hypertension, new research ... read more

Rat Study Reveals Long-Term Effects of Adolescent Amphetamine Abuse on the Brain

Mar. 30, 2016 — A study of rats given regular, high doses of amphetamine finds that those exposed to the drug at an age corresponding to human adolescence experience long-term changes in brain function that persist ... read more

Genome-Wide Association Study of Cannabis

Mar. 30, 2016 — Cannabis dependence is a serious problem worldwide and it is of growing importance in the United States as marijuana becomes increasingly legal, report ... read more

Prenatal Steroids Reduce Risk of Brain Bleeding in Preemies, Stanford Study Finds

Mar. 24, 2016 — Prenatal steroid treatment reduces by half a premature baby's risk for a severe form of brain hemorrhage after birth, a study has found. The research, on nearly 26,000 premature infants, ... read more

Treating Withdrawal Symptoms Could Help Cannabis Users Quit, Study Finds

Mar. 23, 2016 — Treating symptoms of cannabis withdrawal could help heavy users stay clean longer, finds a new study. Marijuana's long half-life and users' reports of primarily psychological withdrawal ... read more

Heavy, Persistent Pot Use Linked to Economic, Social Problems at Midlife

Mar. 23, 2016 — People who smoked cannabis four or more days of the week over many years ended up in a lower social class than their parents, with lower-paying, less skilled and less prestigious jobs than those who ... read more

Mar. 18, 2016 — Physicians are prescribing more opioid painkillers than ever before to patients undergoing common surgeries, according to new research. Opioid abuse and addiction is a growing concern in the U.S. ... read more

Monday, May 2, 2016
Saturday, April 30, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Saturday, April 16, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Friday, April 8, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Friday, March 18, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Monday, March 7, 2016
Friday, March 4, 2016
Thursday, March 3, 2016
Wednesday, March 2, 2016
Tuesday, March 1, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Wednesday, February 24, 2016
Friday, February 19, 2016
Thursday, February 18, 2016
Wednesday, February 17, 2016
Tuesday, February 16, 2016
Thursday, February 11, 2016
Wednesday, February 10, 2016
Monday, February 8, 2016
Thursday, February 4, 2016
Wednesday, February 3, 2016
Monday, February 1, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Tuesday, January 26, 2016
Monday, January 25, 2016
Thursday, January 21, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Tuesday, December 29, 2015
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015
Thursday, December 3, 2015
Monday, November 30, 2015
Friday, November 27, 2015
Wednesday, November 25, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Thursday, November 19, 2015
Wednesday, November 18, 2015
Tuesday, November 17, 2015
Tuesday, November 10, 2015
Monday, November 9, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Tuesday, November 3, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015
Wednesday, October 28, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015