Controlled Substances News
April 24, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 9:28am EDT

More Controlled Substances News
April 24, 2017

Volunteering Might Prevent Substance Abuse for Female Student-Athletes

Apr. 20, 2017 — As substance abuse continues to be a health concern in colleges and universities across the US, a social scientist has found that female student-athletes who volunteer in their communities and engage ... read more

For Young Adults, Cigarettes More Pleasurable With Alcohol Than With Pot

Apr. 18, 2017 — Young adults get more pleasure from smoking cigarettes while they are drinking alcohol than they do while using marijuana, according to a new American ... read more

Opioid Epidemic Linked to Childhood Emotional Abuse, Study Shows

Mar. 14, 2017 — A link between adult opioid misuse and childhood emotional abuse has been discovered by researchers, a new finding that suggests a rethinking of treatment approaches for opioid ... read more

Depression, Alcohol, and Marijuana Linked to Later Use of Synthetic Marijuana Among Teens

Mar. 13, 2017 — In the first prospective study of synthetic cannabinoids or SCs -- the group of chemicals that mimic the effects of marijuana -- researchers have found that symptoms of depression, drinking alcohol, ... read more

Cannabis Use in People With Epilepsy Revealed: Australian Survey

Mar. 9, 2017 — The first Australian nationwide survey on the experiences and opinions of medicinal cannabis use in people with epilepsy has revealed that 14 per cent of people with epilepsy have used cannabis ... read more

Consumption of Alcohol and Marijuana Associated With Lower GPA in College

Mar. 8, 2017 — College students who consume medium-to-high levels of alcohol and marijuana have a consistently lower GPA, according to a new ... read more

Experts Ask: Can Cannabis Be Made Safer?

Mar. 1, 2017 — As cannabis laws become liberalized in many countries, experts argue that there is an urgent need to explore how cannabis use can be made ... read more

Aggression Disorder Linked to Greater Risk of Substance Abuse

Feb. 28, 2017 — People with intermittent explosive disorder (IED) -- a condition marked by frequent physical or verbal outbursts -- are at five times greater risk for abusing substances such as alcohol, tobacco and ... read more

From Heroin Addiction to Alcohol-Related Problems

Feb. 28, 2017 — Methadone programs and long-term therapy using other opioids evidently work. People addicted to heroin consume less heroin, cocaine and even alcohol at the beginning of the treatment. As a long-term ... read more

Given the Choice, Patients Will Reach for Cannabis Over Prescribed Opioids

Feb. 27, 2017 — Chronic pain sufferers and those taking mental health meds would rather turn to cannabis instead of their prescribed opioid medication, according to new ... read more

Sons of Cocaine-Using Fathers Have Profound Memory Impairments

Feb. 23, 2017 — Fathers who use cocaine at the time of conceiving a child may be putting their sons at risk of learning disabilities and memory loss. The researchers say the findings reveal that drug abuse by ... read more

Studies Show That the Cerebellum Is Crucial to Understanding Vulnerability to Drug Addiction

Feb. 23, 2017 — The cerebellum, contrary to what was thought, fulfils functions that go beyond the motor sphere and can be co-responsible for the brain alterations associated with addictive consumption of drugs, ... read more

Lollipop or Edible?

Feb. 22, 2017 — Pot brownies may be a thing of the past as there are new edible marijuana products, or edibles, on the market, including chocolates, candies, and cookies. These products are legally sold in Colorado ... read more

Cocaine Addiction Leads to Build-Up of Iron in Brain

Feb. 21, 2017 — Cocaine addiction may affect how the body processes iron, leading to a build-up of the mineral in the brain, according to new research. The study raises hopes that there may be a biomarker -- a ... read more

Variability in Local Costs of Substance Abuse Across California

Feb. 17, 2017 — The average news consumer might be surprised to learn that the economic costs of alcohol abuse far exceed those related to illegal drug use. In California, alcohol abuse cost $129 billion in 2010, ... read more

Adolescents With Weak Working Memory and Progressive Drug Use at Risk for Later Addictions

Feb. 16, 2017 — Drug use in adolescence is often linked to later substance-abuse problems, but a new study suggests that a key risk factor is a combination of weak working memory and difficulties with impulse ... read more

Feb. 13, 2017 — Scientists have genetically engineered a mouse that resists addiction to ... read more

Breaking Research Could Help to Combat Rise in Drivers Impaired by Edible Marijuana Consumption

Feb. 10, 2017 — Though marijuana edibles are becoming increasingly common, scant information exists on how to test drivers for impairment following their consumption. For the first time, research evaluates the ... read more

Commercial Weight-Loss Drug Could Help Treat Opioid Addiction

Feb. 8, 2017 — Scientists are working to come up with new therapies to curb America's opioid epidemic and aid hospitals, doctors and public health officials in this fight. Now one team reports that the ... read more

How Can Marijuana Policy Protect the Adolescent Brain?

Feb. 8, 2017 — As more states begin to legalize the use of marijuana, more young people may believe that it's safe to experiment with the drug. However, those under 25 are more vulnerable to the effects of ... read more

Thursday, April 20, 2017
Tuesday, April 18, 2017
Tuesday, March 14, 2017
Monday, March 13, 2017
Thursday, March 9, 2017
Wednesday, March 8, 2017
Wednesday, March 1, 2017
Tuesday, February 28, 2017
Monday, February 27, 2017
Thursday, February 23, 2017
Wednesday, February 22, 2017
Tuesday, February 21, 2017
Friday, February 17, 2017
Thursday, February 16, 2017
Monday, February 13, 2017
Friday, February 10, 2017
Wednesday, February 8, 2017
Tuesday, February 7, 2017
Thursday, February 2, 2017
Wednesday, February 1, 2017
Friday, January 27, 2017
Wednesday, January 25, 2017
Thursday, January 12, 2017
Wednesday, January 11, 2017
Tuesday, January 10, 2017
Wednesday, January 4, 2017
Wednesday, December 21, 2016
Monday, December 19, 2016
Friday, December 16, 2016
Thursday, December 15, 2016
Wednesday, December 14, 2016
Tuesday, December 13, 2016
Wednesday, December 7, 2016
Monday, December 5, 2016
Thursday, December 1, 2016
Tuesday, November 29, 2016
Monday, November 28, 2016
Tuesday, November 22, 2016
Monday, November 21, 2016
Wednesday, November 16, 2016
Tuesday, November 15, 2016
Sunday, November 13, 2016
Wednesday, November 9, 2016
Tuesday, November 8, 2016
Friday, November 4, 2016
Wednesday, November 2, 2016
Monday, October 31, 2016
Tuesday, October 25, 2016
Monday, October 24, 2016
Thursday, October 20, 2016
Wednesday, October 19, 2016
Monday, October 17, 2016
Wednesday, October 12, 2016
Thursday, October 6, 2016
Wednesday, October 5, 2016
Monday, October 3, 2016
Friday, September 30, 2016
Thursday, September 29, 2016
Wednesday, September 28, 2016
Monday, September 19, 2016
Thursday, September 15, 2016
Wednesday, September 14, 2016
Tuesday, September 13, 2016
Monday, September 12, 2016
Thursday, September 8, 2016
Wednesday, September 7, 2016
Wednesday, August 31, 2016
Tuesday, August 30, 2016
Thursday, August 25, 2016
Wednesday, August 24, 2016
Thursday, August 18, 2016
Wednesday, August 17, 2016
Monday, August 15, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Wednesday, August 3, 2016
Tuesday, August 2, 2016