Colitis News
April 26, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 3:54am EDT

More Colitis News
April 26, 2017

30% Reduction in Deaths from Bowel Cancer

Apr. 19, 2017 — The rate of new cases of bowel cancer in Austria has fallen by around 20% in the last ten years, while the associated mortality rate has fallen by nearly 30%. This trend is primarily due to ... read more

Genetic Link to Susceptibility and Resistance to Inflammatory Bowel Disease

Apr. 13, 2017 — Inflammatory bowel disease (IBD), characterized by chronic relapsing inflammation of the gut, is a common problem in the industrialized world. However, how IBD develops remains unknown. There is ... read more

Taking a Combination of Painkillers, Gastric Protection Damages the Intestines

Apr. 11, 2017 — Patients with inflammatory diseases are often prescribed non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs. They are also often recommended to use a proton pump inhibitor to protect their stomach. In a new ... read more

Inflammatory Bowel Disease, Nonalcoholic Fatty Liver Disease May Be Linked, Suggests Research

Apr. 5, 2017 — Patients who have inflammatory bowel disease (IBD) for more than two decades have a higher risk of developing nonalcoholic fatty liver disease (NAFLD), new research ... read more

Early Life Antibiotic Use Linked to Inflammatory Gut Diseases in Adulthood

Apr. 3, 2017 — A new research report involving mice shows that antibiotic use very early in life that alters the normal development/growth of gut bacteria, may contribute to the development of inflammatory bowel ... read more

Inflammation Awakens Sleepers

Mar. 29, 2017 — The inflammatory response that is supposed to ward off pathogens that cause intestinal disease makes this even worse. This is because special viruses integrate their genome into Salmonella, which ... read more

Gastric Medications Increase Risk for Recurrence of Clostridium Difficile Infection

Mar. 27, 2017 — Patients who use gastric suppression medications are at a higher risk for recurrent Clostridium difficile (C-diff) infection, new research concludes. C-diff is a bacterium that can cause symptoms ... read more

Mar. 27, 2017 — Researchers have found -- for the first time -- that a diet yielding high amounts of the short-chain fatty acids acetate and butyrate provided a beneficial effect on the immune system and protected ... read more

Health Psychologists Now Treating Functional Heartburn, Crohn's Disease, IBS and Other GI Disorders

Mar. 23, 2017 — Health psychologists have begun treating gastrointestinal disorders that are strongly affected by stress, including irritable bowel syndrome (IBS), Crohn’s disease, functional heartburn, functional ... read more

Mar. 23, 2017 — Growth of colorectal cancer cells can be inhibited with the odorant troenan, report scientists. The researchers detected the olfactory receptor OR51B4 in tumor cells taken from the rectum and colon ... read more

Gulf War Illness Linked to Gastrointestinal Disturbances

Mar. 23, 2017 — A new study has linked gastrointestinal disturbances in those suffering from Gulf War illness with changes intestinal microbiota. The findings open up new treatment options that may improve both ... read more

Mar. 22, 2017 — New light has been shed on the functioning of human gut bacteria which could help to develop medicines in the future to improve health and ... read more

Biologic Treatments for Inflammatory Bowel Disease Help Heal the Intestine

Mar. 22, 2017 — Although anti-inflammatory treatments are quite effective at reducing symptoms in patients with Crohn's disease and ulcerative colitis, the mucosal lining of the intestine often remains ... read more

New Alternative to Colonoscopy Is as Easy as Swallowing a Pill

Mar. 15, 2017 — The patient ingests a capsule containing two miniature cameras on either end. As the capsule travels through the digestive tract, it captures images and wirelessly transmits them to a recorder the ... read more

Study Links Sulfide-Producing Bacteria and Colon Cancer in African-Americans

Mar. 15, 2017 — A new study reveals that African-Americans have measurable differences in the number and type of bacteria that live in the colon -- and those differences are related to their higher-than-average ... read more

Mar. 14, 2017 — Intestines experience a lot of wear and tear. Without the stalwart stem cells that live in our gut's lining, our ability to absorb food would dwindle and bacteria from the digestive tract would ... read more

'Good' Bacteria Is Potential Solution to Unchecked Inflammation Seen in Bowel Diseases

Mar. 13, 2017 — In a new report, researchers describe how inflammation can go unchecked in the absence of a certain inhibitor called NLRP12, adding that beneficial bacteria may be the key to helping to reverse a ... read more

Immunology: Live and Let Live

Mar. 10, 2017 — In order to maintain the microflora in the gut, the immune system must be taught to tolerate foreign bacteria. Researches have now shown how immune surveillance cells are educated to perform this ... read more

Mar. 9, 2017 — Researchers have discovered a new group of intestinal stem cells with very different characteristics to those of the abundant and active stem cells already known in this organ. This new group of stem ... read more

New Indicators to Aid Crohn's Disease Diagnosis and Treatment

Mar. 9, 2017 — The diagnosis, understanding and management of Crohn's disease may have just received a helping hand from a study aimed at developing a better blood test for the disease. The study successfully ... read more

Wednesday, April 19, 2017
Thursday, April 13, 2017
Tuesday, April 11, 2017
Wednesday, April 5, 2017
Monday, April 3, 2017
Wednesday, March 29, 2017
Monday, March 27, 2017
Thursday, March 23, 2017
Wednesday, March 22, 2017
Wednesday, March 15, 2017
Tuesday, March 14, 2017
Monday, March 13, 2017
Friday, March 10, 2017
Thursday, March 9, 2017
Friday, March 3, 2017
Wednesday, March 1, 2017
Wednesday, February 22, 2017
Tuesday, February 21, 2017
Friday, February 17, 2017
Thursday, February 16, 2017
Monday, February 13, 2017
Friday, February 10, 2017
Thursday, February 9, 2017
Wednesday, February 8, 2017
Tuesday, February 7, 2017
Wednesday, February 1, 2017
Tuesday, January 31, 2017
Monday, January 30, 2017
Friday, January 27, 2017
Thursday, January 26, 2017
Tuesday, January 24, 2017
Monday, January 23, 2017
Thursday, January 19, 2017
Wednesday, January 18, 2017
Wednesday, January 11, 2017
Monday, January 9, 2017
Wednesday, January 4, 2017
Tuesday, January 3, 2017
Thursday, December 29, 2016
Wednesday, December 28, 2016
Friday, December 23, 2016
Monday, December 19, 2016
Monday, December 12, 2016
Thursday, December 8, 2016
Friday, December 2, 2016
Wednesday, November 30, 2016
Wednesday, November 23, 2016
Tuesday, November 22, 2016
Monday, November 21, 2016
Thursday, November 17, 2016
Friday, November 11, 2016
Wednesday, November 9, 2016
Monday, November 7, 2016
Thursday, November 3, 2016
Wednesday, November 2, 2016
Tuesday, October 25, 2016
Monday, October 24, 2016
Monday, October 17, 2016
Friday, October 14, 2016
Tuesday, October 11, 2016
Friday, October 7, 2016
Tuesday, October 4, 2016
Monday, October 3, 2016
Friday, September 30, 2016
Thursday, September 29, 2016
Wednesday, September 28, 2016
Monday, September 26, 2016
Thursday, September 22, 2016
Tuesday, September 20, 2016
Friday, September 16, 2016
Thursday, September 8, 2016
Monday, September 5, 2016