NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Colitis News
October 25, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 9:54am EDT

More Colitis News
October 25, 2016

Men With High Genetic Chance of Bowel Cancer Could Have Lower Risk With Healthy Lifestyles

Sep. 29, 2016 — Men with a high genetic risk of developing bowel cancer over the next 25 years could have a lower risk of developing the disease if they also have a healthy lifestyle, according to a ... read more

Heart Disease Exercise Program Could Work for Bowel Cancer Patients

Sep. 28, 2016 — Could rehabilitation programs for heart disease patients be used to help people recovering from bowel cancer get back on their feet? That’s the question cancer care experts have been ... read more

Cervical and Endometrial Cancer Patients Report Fewer Side Effects and Better Quality of Life With IMRT

Sep. 26, 2016 — Patients with cervical and endometrial cancer have fewer gastrointestinal and genitourinary side effects and experience better quality of life when treated with intensity-modulated radiation therapy ... read more

Sep. 26, 2016 — The consumption of dietary supplements and cold therapies containing high concentrations of zinc is now being called into question, following research that suggests it may worsen Clostridium ... read more

Ancient Remedy Becomes Novel Approach to Treating Clostridium Difficile Infection

Sep. 22, 2016 — The epidemiology of Clostridium difficile (C. diff) infection, clinical presentation of infection, diagnosis and various therapies including fecal microbiota transplant have been the focus of recent ... read more

Key Requirement for Regulatory T Cell Function Discovered

Sep. 22, 2016 — A key requirement for the function of regulatory T cells—immune cells that play a critical role in many biological processes, from suppressing inflammation and deadly autoimmunity to helping tumors ... read more

New Therapeutic Target for Crohn's Disease

Sep. 20, 2016 — A promising new target for future drugs to treat inflammatory bowel disease (IBD) has been uncovered by researchers. The study also indicates that another protein, protein kinase C (PKC) ?/?, may ... read more

Repurposed Deworming Drugs Could Combat C. Difficile Epidemic, Study Suggests

Sep. 16, 2016 — Scientists have discovered a potential new weapon against Clostridium difficile, a bacterium that causes hundreds of thousands of severe intestinal infections in the U.S. every year and is frequently ... read more

The Influence of Fat When Gut Bacteria Is Reduced by Antibioticsm

Sep. 8, 2016 — Additional insight has been shed on how bacteria in the gut, or lack thereof, influences intestinal mast cells (MMC) activation and perhaps fat absorption. Mast cells are intimately involved with the ... read more

Gut Bacteria Affect Immune Recovery in HIV Patients, Study Finds

Sep. 5, 2016 — Gut bacteria also play their role in the immune recovery of HIV patients, an international study has found. The implications of this finding are that new complementary therapies could be developed ... read more

Aberrant Epigenetic Regulation Behind the Intestinal Symptoms in Celiac Disease

Sep. 5, 2016 — A mechanism causing aberrancies in celiac disease and colorectal cancer has been discovered by researchers. Celiac disease is an autoimmune disease in genetically susceptible individuals and is ... read more

New Hope for New Crohn's Disease Treatment

Sep. 2, 2016 — Scientists have made a discovery that could potentially lead to treatments for a debilitating complication of Crohn's ... read more

Smokers More Prone to Bowel Condition Relapses, Study Suggests

Aug. 30, 2016 — Smoking is strongly linked to relapse of a serious bowel condition, research has confirmed. People with Crohn's disease are more likely to experience a recurrence after surgery if they continue ... read more

Retinoic Acid Suppresses Colorectal Cancer Development, Study Finds

Aug. 30, 2016 — Levels of retinoic acid, a vitamin A metabolite, are low in mice and humans with colorectal cancer, according to new research. People with high levels of an enzyme that degrades retinoic acid have a ... read more

Pets and Children Are a Potential Source of C. Difficile in the Community

Aug. 30, 2016 — Household transmission of Clostridium difficile to pets and children may be a source of community-associated C. difficile infections according to findings from a new study. The study found that ... read more

New Research Shows Impact of Crohn's Disease on Brain Function

Aug. 24, 2016 — Crohn's disease sufferers experience slower response times than matched individuals that do not have the disease, new research ... read more

New Care Plan Improves Crohn’s Disease Complication Outcomes

Aug. 22, 2016 — The first published medical and surgical approach care plan for managing septic perianal Crohn’s disease, a serious complication that occurs in around 40 percent of Crohn’s disease patients has ... read more

Aug. 17, 2016 — Researchers have developed 'edible ginger-derived nanoparticles' that they believe may be good medicine for Crohn's disease and ulcerative colitis, the two main forms of inflammatory ... read more

Higher Weekly Activity Levels Linked to Lower Risk of Five Chronic Diseases

Aug. 10, 2016 — Higher levels of total physical activity are strongly associated with lower risk of five common chronic diseases, finds new research: breast and bowel cancer, diabetes, heart disease and ... read more

Real-Time Imaging of Fish Gut Ties Bacterial Competition to Gut Movements

July 26, 2016 — In recent years, numerous diseases have been tied to variations in gut microbiota. The probiotics industry targets gut and intestinal health by developing products built mostly around enzyme cultures ... read more

Thursday, September 29, 2016
Wednesday, September 28, 2016
Monday, September 26, 2016
Thursday, September 22, 2016
Tuesday, September 20, 2016
Friday, September 16, 2016
Thursday, September 8, 2016
Monday, September 5, 2016
Friday, September 2, 2016
Tuesday, August 30, 2016
Wednesday, August 24, 2016
Monday, August 22, 2016
Wednesday, August 17, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Tuesday, July 26, 2016
Friday, July 22, 2016
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Tuesday, July 5, 2016
Monday, July 4, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Friday, June 24, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Tuesday, June 21, 2016
Thursday, June 16, 2016
Wednesday, June 15, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Monday, June 6, 2016
Thursday, June 2, 2016
Wednesday, June 1, 2016
Thursday, May 26, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Monday, May 23, 2016
Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Friday, May 6, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Monday, May 2, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Thursday, April 7, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Friday, April 1, 2016
Tuesday, March 29, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Wednesday, March 9, 2016
Tuesday, March 8, 2016