Colitis News
May 25, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 4:54pm EDT

More Colitis News
May 25, 2016

Breath Test May Help Diagnose Irritable Bowel Syndrome

May 10, 2016 — There is currently no specific diagnostic test for irritable bowel syndrome (IBS), but now researchers have identified a combination of 16 different substances in the breath that, when measured ... read more

Genetic Variants in Patients With Crohn's Disease Prevent 'Good' Gut Bacteria from Working

May 6, 2016 — A major type of inflammatory bowel disease may be caused in part by genetic variants that prevent beneficial bacteria in the gut from doing their job, according to a new ... read more

Breastfeeding Is Good for Yet Another Reason, Researchers Discover

May 6, 2016 — A mother's breast milk supports immune responses in her newborn that help the infant's gut become a healthy home to a mix of bacterial species, thanks in part to newly identified antibodies ... read more

Findings Light the Way for New Treatments in Colitis, Colon Cancer

May 4, 2016 — Certain sugars produced by the body play an important role in the development of colitis and, ultimately, colon cancer. This new finding could potentially lead to therapies for ulcerative colitis, ... read more

Ozanimod as Effective in Treating Ulcerative Colitis, Study Shows

May 4, 2016 — Ozanimod, a novel drug molecule, is moderately effective in the treatment of ulcerative colitis, researchers have demonstrated. Ulcerative colits is a debilitating autoimmune disease that causes ... read more

Stool Transplants Better Understood

Apr. 28, 2016 — For the first time, scientists studying stool transplants have been able to track which strains of bacteria from a donor take hold in a patient's gut after a transplant. The team found that ... read more

Apr. 28, 2016 — Researchers have built a computer model of the interaction between different bacteria, and between bacteria and the gut wall. This has led them to explain how antibiotic-resistant microbes develop ... read more

Minimally Invasive Colitis Screening Using Infrared Technology Could Offer Fast, Simple Test

Apr. 26, 2016 — A minimally invasive screening for ulcerative colitis, a debilitating gastrointestinal tract disorder, using emerging infrared technology could be a rapid and cost-effective method for detecting ... read more

Apr. 25, 2016 — For some types of autism, gastrointestinal problems may originate from the same genetic changes that lead to the behavioral and social characteristics of the condition, report researchers after ... read more

Effort to Detect, Isolate Asymptomatic C. Difficile Carriers Linked to Lower Incidence

Apr. 25, 2016 — An intervention at an acute care facility to screen and isolate asymptomatic Clostridium difficile carriers was associated with decreased incidence of healthcare-associated C. difficile infection, a ... read more

Do Anorexia, Irritable Bowel Syndrome, Chronic Fatigues Share a Common Cause?

Apr. 25, 2016 — Irritable bowel syndrome, chronic fatigue syndrome and anorexia nervosa may all have a common origin, according to researchers. They speculate that all three disorders may be caused by antibodies to ... read more

Apr. 20, 2016 — TNF-alpha, a proinflammatory molecule and protein produced by the body's cells during infection, also promotes the immune system regulatory responses by first inducing immune surveillance cells. ... read more

New Therapy Strategies for Primary Sclerosing Cholangitis Indicate Initial Success

Apr. 19, 2016 — The new therapy strategy for primary sclerosing cholangitis, a liver disease that at present still cannot be cured with medication, shows initial measureable success with the nor-ursodeoxycholic acid ... read more

Certain Types of Polyps May Warrant Keeping Closer Tabs on the Colon

Apr. 14, 2016 — Being on the lookout for certain features of polyps may help physicians keep a closer eye on patients at risk for colorectal ... read more

Only Half of Advanced Rectal Cancer Patients Receiving Standard Therapy

Apr. 13, 2016 — While use of the standard therapy leading to the best outcome against locally advanced rectal cancer has increased over the past decade, only half of patients currently receive it, new research ... read more

Pain Drug in Pipeline as Researchers Unwind Marine Snail Puzzle

Apr. 13, 2016 — A big step toward the holy grail of biomedical science has been made -- a new form of effective pain relief. Marine snail venom has been a well-known and promising source of new pain drugs, but ... read more

Nanoparticles Show Promise for Treating Intestinal Inflammation, Study Finds

Apr. 7, 2016 — Nanoparticles designed to block a cell-surface molecule that plays a key role in inflammation could be a safe treatment for inflammatory bowel disease, according to ... read more

Typhoid Toxin Increases Host Survival and Promotes Asymptomatic Infection

Apr. 7, 2016 — Genotoxins damage the genetic material in cells and can cause mutations and cancer. Some bacteria code for and produce genotoxins. A new study reports the surprising finding that one of them, typhoid ... read more

Apr. 5, 2016 — The lining of the intestine is the most rapidly-renewing tissue in the body. Routine shedding of epithelial cells from this lining is a key element of tissue turnover, and is thus essential to ... read more

Three Glycosyltransferases Identified as Significant Mutational Targets in Colon Cancer

Apr. 4, 2016 — Scientists have successfully characterized the mutational landscapes of glycosylation-associated genes in colon cancer, identifying three glycosyltransferases as significant mutational targets in ... read more

Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Friday, May 6, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Thursday, April 7, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Friday, April 1, 2016
Tuesday, March 29, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Wednesday, March 9, 2016
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Wednesday, March 2, 2016
Tuesday, March 1, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Thursday, February 25, 2016
Tuesday, February 23, 2016
Monday, February 22, 2016
Friday, February 19, 2016
Wednesday, February 17, 2016
Tuesday, February 16, 2016
Wednesday, February 10, 2016
Tuesday, February 9, 2016
Thursday, February 4, 2016
Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Monday, January 25, 2016
Friday, January 22, 2016
Friday, January 15, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Monday, January 11, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Monday, January 4, 2016
Monday, December 28, 2015
Monday, December 21, 2015
Friday, December 18, 2015
Monday, December 14, 2015
Thursday, December 3, 2015
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Monday, November 30, 2015
Thursday, November 19, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Tuesday, November 10, 2015
Friday, November 6, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Friday, October 30, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015
Tuesday, October 27, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Tuesday, October 20, 2015
Monday, October 19, 2015
Sunday, October 18, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Monday, October 12, 2015
Friday, October 9, 2015
Thursday, October 8, 2015
Tuesday, October 6, 2015