Colitis News
September 27, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 2:54am EDT

More Colitis News
September 27, 2016

Aberrant Epigenetic Regulation Behind the Intestinal Symptoms in Celiac Disease

Sep. 5, 2016 — A mechanism causing aberrancies in celiac disease and colorectal cancer has been discovered by researchers. Celiac disease is an autoimmune disease in genetically susceptible individuals and is ... read more

Pets and Children Are a Potential Source of C. Difficile in the Community

Aug. 30, 2016 — Household transmission of Clostridium difficile to pets and children may be a source of community-associated C. difficile infections according to findings from a new study. The study found that ... read more

New Research Shows Impact of Crohn's Disease on Brain Function

Aug. 24, 2016 — Crohn's disease sufferers experience slower response times than matched individuals that do not have the disease, new research ... read more

New Care Plan Improves Crohn’s Disease Complication Outcomes

Aug. 22, 2016 — The first published medical and surgical approach care plan for managing septic perianal Crohn’s disease, a serious complication that occurs in around 40 percent of Crohn’s disease patients has ... read more

Aug. 17, 2016 — Researchers have developed 'edible ginger-derived nanoparticles' that they believe may be good medicine for Crohn's disease and ulcerative colitis, the two main forms of inflammatory ... read more

Higher Weekly Activity Levels Linked to Lower Risk of Five Chronic Diseases

Aug. 10, 2016 — Higher levels of total physical activity are strongly associated with lower risk of five common chronic diseases, finds new research: breast and bowel cancer, diabetes, heart disease and ... read more

Real-Time Imaging of Fish Gut Ties Bacterial Competition to Gut Movements

July 26, 2016 — In recent years, numerous diseases have been tied to variations in gut microbiota. The probiotics industry targets gut and intestinal health by developing products built mostly around enzyme cultures ... read more

Gastrointestinal Disorders Involve Both Brain-to-Gut and Gut-to-Brain Pathways

July 22, 2016 — New research indicates that in patients with irritable bowel syndrome (IBS) or indigestion, there is a distinct brain-to-gut pathway, where psychological symptoms begin first, and separately a ... read more

Lower Risk of Bowel Cancer Death Linked to High Omega 3 Intake After Diagnosis

July 19, 2016 — A high dietary intake of omega 3 fatty acids, derived from oily fish, may help to lower the risk of death from bowel cancer in patients diagnosed with the disease, suggests ... read more

Rare Mutations in Bowel Cancer May Identify Patients With a Better Prognosis

July 19, 2016 — A study focused on colorectal cancers and examined the presence of mutations in a gene that is essential for the accurate copying of DNA when cells divide, known as DNA polymerase epsilon (POLE). As ... read more

Modified Rye Bread Helps Patients With Irritable Bowel Syndrome

July 18, 2016 — Patients with irritable bowel syndrome (IBS) are often concerned that certain foods may trigger or worsen their symptoms, which can include abdominal pain, diarrhea, or constipation. In a new study, ... read more

Dietary Restriction Increases Lifespan Through Effects on the Gut

July 14, 2016 — Dietary restriction, or limited food intake without malnutrition, has beneficial effects on longevity in many species, including humans. A new study represents a major advance in understanding how ... read more

Long Noncoding RNA Found to Quell Inflammation

July 14, 2016 — A long non-coding RNA (lincRNA) -- called lincRNA-EPS -- responsible for regulating innate immunity has been identified by a team of scientists. This discovery points to an unrecognized role for ... read more

Rat Study Shows Gut Microbes Play a Role in Colon Cancer Susceptibility

July 13, 2016 — The microscopic organisms that live in our gut do more than help us digest food. A new study in rats bolsters a growing body of evidence that the complex mix of microorganisms found in the gut, known ... read more

July 12, 2016 — Fecal transplants are increasingly being used to treat certain human illnesses and there is a major upsurge in animal experiments involving fecal material, report scientists. But what, exactly, is ... read more

The Colon Is Defended from Bacteria by a Self-Sacrificing Sentinel Cell

July 12, 2016 — A lone Sentinel cell monitors and coordinates the defense of the entrance to the colon's most sensitive parts. The Sentinel cell detects nearby bacteria and signals to a line of defensive cells ... read more

Research Brings New Understanding of Chronic Inflammatory Disease

July 6, 2016 — New light has been shed on the way cells tune in to different inflammatory signals to understand what is happening in the body, report life ... read more

How Toxins Activate Cellular Guides

July 5, 2016 — The ingestion of antibiotics often damages the intestine’s natural flora. This prevents it from keeping pathogens under control; diarrhea and intestinal inflammation are the result. Researchers ... read more

Genetic Mutations Found Linked to Rare Cases of Multiple Bowel Tumors

July 5, 2016 — Researchers have identified genetic mutations affecting the immune system which may lead to the development of more than one bowel tumour at the same time. Understanding how these cancers develop ... read more

New Probiotic Identified in Fermented Japanese Vegetable: Enzyme Improves Colon Health in Rats

July 4, 2016 — An enzyme produced by fermenting a vegetable common in Japanese cuisine may be responsible for increasing the amount of at least one beneficial bacterium associated with healthy colons in a study ... read more

Monday, September 5, 2016
Tuesday, August 30, 2016
Wednesday, August 24, 2016
Monday, August 22, 2016
Wednesday, August 17, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Tuesday, July 26, 2016
Friday, July 22, 2016
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Tuesday, July 5, 2016
Monday, July 4, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Friday, June 24, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Tuesday, June 21, 2016
Thursday, June 16, 2016
Wednesday, June 15, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Monday, June 6, 2016
Thursday, June 2, 2016
Wednesday, June 1, 2016
Thursday, May 26, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Monday, May 23, 2016
Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Friday, May 6, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Monday, May 2, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Thursday, April 7, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Friday, April 1, 2016
Tuesday, March 29, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Wednesday, March 9, 2016
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Wednesday, March 2, 2016
Tuesday, March 1, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Thursday, February 25, 2016
Tuesday, February 23, 2016
Monday, February 22, 2016
Friday, February 19, 2016
Wednesday, February 17, 2016
Tuesday, February 16, 2016
Wednesday, February 10, 2016
Tuesday, February 9, 2016