NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Epilepsy Research News
October 27, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 12:53am EDT

More Epilepsy Research News
October 27, 2016

Electrical Synapses in the Brain Offer New Avenue for Epilepsy Research and Possible Treatment

Aug. 19, 2016 — A child with absence epilepsy may be in the middle of doing something—she could be dancing, studying, talking—when all of a sudden she stares off into space for a few moments. Then, as quickly as ... read more

Some Psychotic Disorders May Be Induced by Drugs Designed to Combat Effects of Epilepsy

Aug. 8, 2016 — A new study indicates that antiepileptic drugs designed to reduce seizures, may also induce psychotic disorders in some ... read more

Leaky Calcium Triggers Brainstem Blackout That Results in Sudden Cardiac Death

Aug. 1, 2016 — Researchers report how a mutation in a gene involved in the regulation of calcium inside brain cells can help trigger blackouts of the brainstem, the center that controls heartbeat and breathing, and ... read more

The Heart-Brain Connection: The Link Between LQTS and Seizures

July 29, 2016 — Patients carrying certain mutations that cause Long QT Syndrome, a rare cardiac rhythm disorder, have an increased risk for developing seizures and have more severe cardiac ... read more

July 29, 2016 — A virtual brain has been created that can reconstitute the brain of a person affected by epilepsy for the first time. From this work we understand better how the disease works and can also better ... read more

Scientists Apply New Imaging Tool to Common Brain Disorders

July 20, 2016 — A new approach has been developed to scanning the brain for changes in synapses that are associated with common brain disorders. The technique may provide insights into the diagnosis and treatment of ... read more

Suicide Rate Is 22% Higher Among People With Epilepsy Than the General Population

July 12, 2016 — The suicide rate among people with epilepsy is 22 percent higher than the general population, according to a new ... read more

New Technique Could Revolutionize Surgical Treatment of Epilepsy

July 7, 2016 — A pioneering new technique has been developed that could revolutionize the surgical treatment of epilepsy. The new technique is designed to help surgeons and neurologists measure the relative ... read more

Having a Relative With Epilepsy May Increase Your Risk of Being Diagnosed With Autism

June 16, 2016 — Having a first-degree relative with epilepsy may increase a person's risk of being diagnosed with autism, according to a new ... read more

Researchers Discover Why Stress Leads to Increased Seizures in Epilepsy Patients

June 14, 2016 — For epilepsy patients, stress and anxiety can exacerbate their condition; increasing the frequency and severity of seizures. Until now, it was unclear why this happened and what could be done to ... read more

Brain Needs to 'Clean Itself Up' So That It Can 'Sort Itself Out'

May 31, 2016 — A new piece of research has revealed how the brain’s cleaning up mechanisms function in neurodegenerative diseases. This discovery opens up a new channel for exploring therapies that could palliate ... read more

Antiepileptic Drugs During Pregnancy: Folic Acid Could Help to Prevent Autism

May 31, 2016 — If pregnant women take antiepileptic drugs, the child can develop autistic traits. The administration of folic acid preparations appears to be a suitable means of preventing this serious side-effect, ... read more

The Brain Needs Cleaning to Stay Healthy

May 26, 2016 — New research has revealed the mechanisms that keep the brain clean during neurodegenerative ... read more

Crowdsourcing Contest Using Data from People, Dogs Advances Epileptic Seizure Forecasting

May 24, 2016 — It might sound like a riddle: What do you get when you combine one online contest, two patients, five dogs and 654 data ... read more

Drug Used for Pain, Anxiety May Be Linked to Birth Defects

May 18, 2016 — A drug commonly used to treat pain, epilepsy, anxiety and other brain health disorders may be associated with an increased risk of major birth defects, according to a new ... read more

Algorithms Can Predict Epileptic Seizures

May 11, 2016 — Computer scientists and mathematicians have developed a prediction model that can warn epileptic sufferers of an upcoming seizure with 20 minutes ... read more

Brain Signals Between Seizures May Explain Memory Problems in Patients With Epilepsy

Apr. 25, 2016 — Brain cells in epileptic patients send signals that make 'empty memories,' perhaps explaining the learning problems faced by up to 40 percent of ... read more

Women With Epilepsy Just as Likely to Get Pregnant as Healthy Women of Childbearing Age

Apr. 16, 2016 — In a prospective study, women with epilepsy had a comparable likelihood of achieving pregnancy, time taken to get pregnant, and pregnancy outcomes such as miscarriage, compared to a group of healthy ... read more

Once-a-Day Epilepsy Drug May Prevent Seizures as Well as Twice-a-Day Drug

Apr. 14, 2016 — A new study suggests that an epilepsy drug that can be taken once a day may control seizures as well as a drug that must be taken twice a day, according to a preliminary ... read more

Epilepsy Drug May Not Increase Risk of Birth Defects, Study Suggests

Apr. 6, 2016 — Babies born to pregnant women taking the epilepsy drug lamotrigine may not be at an increased risk of birth defects, such as cleft lip, cleft palate or clubfoot, according to a ... read more

Friday, August 19, 2016
Monday, August 8, 2016
Monday, August 1, 2016
Friday, July 29, 2016
Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Thursday, June 16, 2016
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Thursday, May 26, 2016
Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Saturday, April 16, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Friday, April 1, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Wednesday, March 9, 2016
Monday, March 7, 2016
Thursday, March 3, 2016
Wednesday, March 2, 2016
Thursday, February 18, 2016
Monday, February 15, 2016
Friday, February 12, 2016
Tuesday, February 9, 2016
Monday, February 8, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Thursday, December 17, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015
Sunday, December 6, 2015
Friday, December 4, 2015
Thursday, December 3, 2015
Monday, November 30, 2015
Wednesday, November 25, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Thursday, November 19, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Tuesday, November 3, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Thursday, September 3, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Friday, June 19, 2015
Tuesday, June 2, 2015
Friday, May 15, 2015
Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Monday, April 13, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Wednesday, March 18, 2015
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Wednesday, January 28, 2015
Tuesday, January 27, 2015
Friday, January 23, 2015
Wednesday, January 21, 2015
Wednesday, December 17, 2014
Tuesday, December 16, 2014
Wednesday, December 10, 2014
Tuesday, December 9, 2014
Monday, December 8, 2014