Gastrointestinal Problems News
July 24, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 4:23am EDT

More Gastrointestinal Problems News
July 24, 2016

Different Types of PUFAs Are Associated With Differential Risks for Type 2 Diabetes

July 19, 2016 — Different types of circulating polyunsaturated fatty acids (PUFAs) are associated with differing future risk of type 2 diabetes, according to a large European study on the ... read more

Modified Rye Bread Helps Patients With Irritable Bowel Syndrome

July 18, 2016 — Patients with irritable bowel syndrome (IBS) are often concerned that certain foods may trigger or worsen their symptoms, which can include abdominal pain, diarrhea, or constipation. In a new study, ... read more

Veggie Juice That Illuminates the Gut

July 11, 2016 — The pigment that gives spinach and other plants their verdant color may improve doctors' ability to examine the human gastrointestinal tract. That's according to a study which describes how ... read more

Statins May Be Associated With Reduced Mortality in 4 Common Cancers

July 8, 2016 — A diagnosis of high cholesterol is associated with reduced mortality and improved survival in the four most common cancers, according to new research. The 14-year study from nearly one million ... read more

Research Brings New Understanding of Chronic Inflammatory Disease

July 6, 2016 — New light has been shed on the way cells tune in to different inflammatory signals to understand what is happening in the body, report life ... read more

July 5, 2016 — Recognizing early stages of esophageal cancer is difficult because it can easily be missed. Medical researchers have now been working to develop a method to enable a computer to scan esophagus images ... read more

Genetic Mutations Found Linked to Rare Cases of Multiple Bowel Tumors

July 5, 2016 — Researchers have identified genetic mutations affecting the immune system which may lead to the development of more than one bowel tumour at the same time. Understanding how these cancers develop ... read more

New Probiotic Identified in Fermented Japanese Vegetable: Enzyme Improves Colon Health in Rats

July 4, 2016 — An enzyme produced by fermenting a vegetable common in Japanese cuisine may be responsible for increasing the amount of at least one beneficial bacterium associated with healthy colons in a study ... read more

New Research May Help to Develop Effective Pain Killers

June 30, 2016 — If you have ever chopped chilies and then accidentally touched your eyes you will be familiar with the burning sensation that this causes. However, the substance responsible for this sensation can ... read more

Researchers Identify the Molecular Roots of Lung Damage in Preemies With GI Disease

June 29, 2016 — Scientists have figured out a root cause of the lung damage that occurs in up to 10 percent of premature infants who develop necrotizing enterocolitis, a disorder that damages and kills the lining of ... read more

Bacterial Colonies in Human Body Linked to Presence of Cancer in Mouth and Throat

June 28, 2016 — In a sample study, researchers say they have found an association between the makeup of an individual's microbiome and head and neck cancer, a finding that potentially advances the quest for ... read more

Food’s Transit Time Through Body Is a Key Factor in Digestive Health

June 27, 2016 — The time it takes for ingested food to travel through the human gut – also called transit time – affects the amount of harmful degradation products produced along the way. This means that transit ... read more

New Tool for Forecasting Behavior of the Microbiome

June 27, 2016 — A team of investigators has developed a suite of computer algorithms that can accurately predict the behavior of the microbiome -- the vast collection of microbes living on and inside the human ... read more

Landmark Study Gives Clearest Picture of Genetic Causes of Bowel Cancer

June 22, 2016 — A landmark study has given the most detailed picture yet of the genetics of bowel cancer. The study examined all the genes from more than 1,000 people with bowel cancer and is the largest of its type ... read more

Improving Key Diagnostic Measures for Gastrointestinal Disorders

June 21, 2016 — Diagnostic criteria questionnaires for functional GI disorders, which affect millions of people worldwide, have now been amended by ... read more

Mice Fed More Fiber Have Less Severe Food Allergies

June 21, 2016 — The development of food allergies in mice can be linked to what their gut bacteria are being fed, reports a new study. Rodents that received a diet with average calories, sugar, and fiber content had ... read more

June 16, 2016 — Researchers have unlocked secrets of our ancient immune system, a major scientific advance which could help scientists and clinicians in the global fight against disease, they ... read more

Stem Cell Transplant from Young to Old Can Heal Stomach Ulcers

June 16, 2016 — Basic and translational research paves the way for breakthroughs that can ultimately change patient care. Three new studies provide a glimpse into future treatment strategies for stomach ulcers, ... read more

June 14, 2016 — Salmonella infections in the bloodstream, caused by Salmonella enterica bacteria, are still the cause of many deaths in southern regions and Southeast Asia. Children between the age of two and five ... read more

Virus Nanocapsules to Treat Infections

June 14, 2016 — A nanoencapsulation system with a liposome coating has been developed in order to increase the efficacy of bacteriophages in oral phage therapy. The research demonstrates that a liposome ... read more

Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Friday, July 8, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Tuesday, July 5, 2016
Monday, July 4, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Tuesday, June 21, 2016
Thursday, June 16, 2016
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Friday, June 10, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Monday, June 6, 2016
Thursday, June 2, 2016
Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Sunday, May 29, 2016
Friday, May 27, 2016
Thursday, May 26, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Monday, May 23, 2016
Thursday, May 19, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Friday, May 6, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Monday, May 2, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Friday, April 22, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Saturday, April 16, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Saturday, April 9, 2016
Thursday, April 7, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Sunday, April 3, 2016
Saturday, April 2, 2016
Friday, April 1, 2016
Tuesday, March 29, 2016
Monday, March 28, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Wednesday, March 9, 2016
Tuesday, March 8, 2016