Gastrointestinal Problems News
September 26, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 6:23pm EDT

More Gastrointestinal Problems News
September 26, 2016

Sep. 26, 2016 — The consumption of dietary supplements and cold therapies containing high concentrations of zinc is now being called into question, following research that suggests it may worsen Clostridium ... read more

Bile Acid Uptake Inhibitor Prevents Nash/fatty Liver in Mice

Sep. 21, 2016 — Drugs that interfere with bile acid recycling can prevent several aspects of NASH (nonalcoholic steatohepatitis) in mice fed a high-fat diet, scientists have shown. The findings suggest that these ... read more

Sep. 21, 2016 — A novel multi-potent drug removes arginine from the blood and kills cancer cells, report scientists. Arginine is an essential amino acid for the growth of cancer ... read more

Patient Overcomes Rare Acute Necrotizing Pancreatitis

Sep. 15, 2016 — Larry Jacob got the call every parent fears. His daughter was sick, away at college and needed help. Mr. Jacob left his home in the Chicago suburbs and was driving to Western Illinois University when ... read more

Consumption of Certain Fatty Acids Linked to Type 2 Diabetes in Women

Sep. 13, 2016 — New research shows that consumption of certain fatty acids is associated with an increased risk of developing type 2 diabetes in ... read more

Aberrant Epigenetic Regulation Behind the Intestinal Symptoms in Celiac Disease

Sep. 5, 2016 — A mechanism causing aberrancies in celiac disease and colorectal cancer has been discovered by researchers. Celiac disease is an autoimmune disease in genetically susceptible individuals and is ... read more

New Hope for New Crohn's Disease Treatment

Sep. 2, 2016 — Scientists have made a discovery that could potentially lead to treatments for a debilitating complication of Crohn's ... read more

Accumulation of a Product of Cell Metabolism Found to Be Linked With Kidney Tumor Growth

Aug. 31, 2016 — Researchers have shown that when the metabolite fumarate accumulates in a hereditary form of renal cancer it leads to an epigenetic reprogramming that drives cancer. The tumor growth mechanism seen ... read more

Smokers More Prone to Bowel Condition Relapses, Study Suggests

Aug. 30, 2016 — Smoking is strongly linked to relapse of a serious bowel condition, research has confirmed. People with Crohn's disease are more likely to experience a recurrence after surgery if they continue ... read more

Retinoic Acid Suppresses Colorectal Cancer Development, Study Finds

Aug. 30, 2016 — Levels of retinoic acid, a vitamin A metabolite, are low in mice and humans with colorectal cancer, according to new research. People with high levels of an enzyme that degrades retinoic acid have a ... read more

Aug. 30, 2016 — A research team has identified the pain transmission mechanism at the molecular level and presented new solutions for the understanding of pain signals and the development of pain ... read more

Folic Acid Fortified Food Linked to Decline in Congenital Heart Defects

Aug. 29, 2016 — Food fortified with folic acid helped lower overall rates of congenital heart defects in Canada. The effect was evident in some types of congenital heart defects but not ... read more

Fateful Evolution: New Study Improves Accuracy of Cancer Diagnosis

Aug. 25, 2016 — Researchers use evolutionary theory to make predictions about which Barrett's esophagus (BE) patients will go on to develop cancer. The results point the way toward more accurate medical ... read more

New Research Shows Impact of Crohn's Disease on Brain Function

Aug. 24, 2016 — Crohn's disease sufferers experience slower response times than matched individuals that do not have the disease, new research ... read more

Gallstone Disease May Increase Heart Disease Risk

Aug. 18, 2016 — A history of gallstone disease was linked to a 23 percent increased risk of developing coronary heart disease. Preventing gallstone disease may also benefit heart health, say ... read more

Polyunsaturated Fat in Adipose Tissue Linked to Lower Mortality

Aug. 18, 2016 — The fatty acid linoleic acid (Omega 6) in subcutaneous adipose tissue was linked to lower mortality among older men followed over a 15-year ... read more

Olympic Stomach Upsets: Leaky Gut Symdrome?

Aug. 18, 2016 — A number of competitors at the Rio Olympics have reported stomach problems. Team GB officials have denied that athletes have fallen victim to food poisoning at the Olympic athletes' village in ... read more

Aug. 17, 2016 — Researchers have developed 'edible ginger-derived nanoparticles' that they believe may be good medicine for Crohn's disease and ulcerative colitis, the two main forms of inflammatory ... read more

Blood Pressure Diet Improves Gout Blood Marker

Aug. 15, 2016 — A diet rich in fruits, vegetables, low-fat dairy and reduced in fats and saturated fats (the DASH diet), designed decades ago to reduce high blood pressure, also appears to significantly lower uric ... read more

Higher Weekly Activity Levels Linked to Lower Risk of Five Chronic Diseases

Aug. 10, 2016 — Higher levels of total physical activity are strongly associated with lower risk of five common chronic diseases, finds new research: breast and bowel cancer, diabetes, heart disease and ... read more

Monday, September 26, 2016
Wednesday, September 21, 2016
Thursday, September 15, 2016
Tuesday, September 13, 2016
Monday, September 5, 2016
Friday, September 2, 2016
Wednesday, August 31, 2016
Tuesday, August 30, 2016
Monday, August 29, 2016
Thursday, August 25, 2016
Wednesday, August 24, 2016
Thursday, August 18, 2016
Wednesday, August 17, 2016
Monday, August 15, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Tuesday, August 9, 2016
Monday, August 1, 2016
Tuesday, July 26, 2016
Monday, July 25, 2016
Friday, July 22, 2016
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Friday, July 8, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Tuesday, July 5, 2016
Monday, July 4, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Tuesday, June 21, 2016
Thursday, June 16, 2016
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Friday, June 10, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Monday, June 6, 2016
Thursday, June 2, 2016
Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Sunday, May 29, 2016
Friday, May 27, 2016
Thursday, May 26, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Monday, May 23, 2016
Thursday, May 19, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Friday, May 6, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Monday, May 2, 2016