Gastrointestinal Problems News
August 28, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 11:53pm EDT

More Gastrointestinal Problems News
August 28, 2016

Aug. 1, 2016 — For medicinal chemists, making tweaks to peptide structures is key to developing new drug candidates. Now, researchers have demonstrated that two iron-containing small-molecule catalysts can help ... read more

Real-Time Imaging of Fish Gut Ties Bacterial Competition to Gut Movements

July 26, 2016 — In recent years, numerous diseases have been tied to variations in gut microbiota. The probiotics industry targets gut and intestinal health by developing products built mostly around enzyme cultures ... read more

Patients With Low Risk Prostate Cancer on Active Surveillance Experience Good Quality of Life

July 25, 2016 — Active surveillance (AS) has become an increasingly important alternative to surgery, chemotherapy, or radiation treatment for men diagnosed with low risk prostate cancer. However, what is the impact ... read more

July 22, 2016 — A preliminary cell study finds combining curcumin, the active ingredient in spicy curry dishes, and silymarin, a component of milk thistle, inhibited the spread of colon cancer cells and increased ... read more

Gastrointestinal Disorders Involve Both Brain-to-Gut and Gut-to-Brain Pathways

July 22, 2016 — New research indicates that in patients with irritable bowel syndrome (IBS) or indigestion, there is a distinct brain-to-gut pathway, where psychological symptoms begin first, and separately a ... read more

Lower Risk of Bowel Cancer Death Linked to High Omega 3 Intake After Diagnosis

July 19, 2016 — A high dietary intake of omega 3 fatty acids, derived from oily fish, may help to lower the risk of death from bowel cancer in patients diagnosed with the disease, suggests ... read more

Rare Mutations in Bowel Cancer May Identify Patients With a Better Prognosis

July 19, 2016 — A study focused on colorectal cancers and examined the presence of mutations in a gene that is essential for the accurate copying of DNA when cells divide, known as DNA polymerase epsilon (POLE). As ... read more

Different Types of PUFAs Are Associated With Differential Risks for Type 2 Diabetes

July 19, 2016 — Different types of circulating polyunsaturated fatty acids (PUFAs) are associated with differing future risk of type 2 diabetes, according to a large European study on the ... read more

Genes Found in H. Pylori That Influence Biofilm Formation

July 18, 2016 — Most bacteria cannot survive in the acidic environment of the human stomach, but Helicobacter pylori, a major cause of ulcers, thrives under such circumstances. Now research has shown that one of ... read more

Modified Rye Bread Helps Patients With Irritable Bowel Syndrome

July 18, 2016 — Patients with irritable bowel syndrome (IBS) are often concerned that certain foods may trigger or worsen their symptoms, which can include abdominal pain, diarrhea, or constipation. In a new study, ... read more

Dietary Restriction Increases Lifespan Through Effects on the Gut

July 14, 2016 — Dietary restriction, or limited food intake without malnutrition, has beneficial effects on longevity in many species, including humans. A new study represents a major advance in understanding how ... read more

Rat Study Shows Gut Microbes Play a Role in Colon Cancer Susceptibility

July 13, 2016 — The microscopic organisms that live in our gut do more than help us digest food. A new study in rats bolsters a growing body of evidence that the complex mix of microorganisms found in the gut, known ... read more

The Colon Is Defended from Bacteria by a Self-Sacrificing Sentinel Cell

July 12, 2016 — A lone Sentinel cell monitors and coordinates the defense of the entrance to the colon's most sensitive parts. The Sentinel cell detects nearby bacteria and signals to a line of defensive cells ... read more

July 12, 2016 — Stomach MRI images combined with functional fMRI of the brain activity have provided scientists new insight into how the brain listens to the stomach during eating. Researchers show -- for the first ... read more

Veggie Juice That Illuminates the Gut

July 11, 2016 — The pigment that gives spinach and other plants their verdant color may improve doctors' ability to examine the human gastrointestinal tract. That's according to a study which describes how ... read more

Statins May Be Associated With Reduced Mortality in 4 Common Cancers

July 8, 2016 — A diagnosis of high cholesterol is associated with reduced mortality and improved survival in the four most common cancers, according to new research. The 14-year study from nearly one million ... read more

Research Brings New Understanding of Chronic Inflammatory Disease

July 6, 2016 — New light has been shed on the way cells tune in to different inflammatory signals to understand what is happening in the body, report life ... read more

Metformin as a Potential Treatment for a Rare Pediatric Disorder

July 6, 2016 — A study in human skin cells and mice shows the widely-used diabetes drug metformin reduces toxic acid levels in Maple Syrup Urine Disease. The discovery offers the possibility of a new treatment for ... read more

July 5, 2016 — Recognizing early stages of esophageal cancer is difficult because it can easily be missed. Medical researchers have now been working to develop a method to enable a computer to scan esophagus images ... read more

Genetic Mutations Found Linked to Rare Cases of Multiple Bowel Tumors

July 5, 2016 — Researchers have identified genetic mutations affecting the immune system which may lead to the development of more than one bowel tumour at the same time. Understanding how these cancers develop ... read more

Monday, August 1, 2016
Tuesday, July 26, 2016
Monday, July 25, 2016
Friday, July 22, 2016
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Friday, July 8, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Tuesday, July 5, 2016
Monday, July 4, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Tuesday, June 21, 2016
Thursday, June 16, 2016
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Friday, June 10, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Monday, June 6, 2016
Thursday, June 2, 2016
Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Sunday, May 29, 2016
Friday, May 27, 2016
Thursday, May 26, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Monday, May 23, 2016
Thursday, May 19, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Friday, May 6, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Monday, May 2, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Friday, April 22, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Saturday, April 16, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Saturday, April 9, 2016
Thursday, April 7, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Sunday, April 3, 2016
Saturday, April 2, 2016