NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Gastrointestinal Problems News
October 26, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 5:23pm EDT

More Gastrointestinal Problems News
October 26, 2016

Healing Effect of Fecal Microbiota Transplantation Lasts for a Long Time

Oct. 11, 2016 — Researchers have studied in detail the intestinal microbiota of 14 patients treated with a fecal microbiota transplant. The patients suffered from recurrent Clostridium difficile -- infection, also ... read more

Disease-Causing Gut Bacteria Common in Children

Oct. 4, 2016 — A type of bacteria, which can cause diarrhea and inhibit growth in children in developing countries, has been found in 14% of a sample of children in an industrialized country. However, the children ... read more

First Evidence Direct from Human Stem Cells Provides New Insight Into Cancer ‘lifestyle’ Vs ‘bad Luck' Debate

Oct. 3, 2016 — New research conducted in adult human stem cells has provided, for the first time, crucial insight into just how much of our cancer risk is down to 'bad luck.' The findings fuel the ... read more

Certain Alternative Therapies May Help Patients With Bowel Disorders

Oct. 3, 2016 — A new review looks at the evidence behind the effectiveness of complementary or alternative therapies-including probiotics, prebiotics, synbiotics, fiber, and herbal medicinal products-for the ... read more

Studying Therapeutic Stool Transplantation (Fecal Microbiota Transplantation)

Sep. 30, 2016 — Patients suffering from infection of the bowel with the Gram-positive bacillus Clostridium difficile often have recurrent infections despite antibiotic treatment. In such cases, the transfer of stool ... read more

Men With High Genetic Chance of Bowel Cancer Could Have Lower Risk With Healthy Lifestyles

Sep. 29, 2016 — Men with a high genetic risk of developing bowel cancer over the next 25 years could have a lower risk of developing the disease if they also have a healthy lifestyle, according to a ... read more

Heart Disease Exercise Program Could Work for Bowel Cancer Patients

Sep. 28, 2016 — Could rehabilitation programs for heart disease patients be used to help people recovering from bowel cancer get back on their feet? That’s the question cancer care experts have been ... read more

The Spice of Life: Cinnamon Cools Your Stomach

Sep. 26, 2016 — Adding cinnamon to your diet can cool your body by up to two degrees, according to research. And the spice may also contribute to a general improvement in overall health, say authors of a new ... read more

Cervical and Endometrial Cancer Patients Report Fewer Side Effects and Better Quality of Life With IMRT

Sep. 26, 2016 — Patients with cervical and endometrial cancer have fewer gastrointestinal and genitourinary side effects and experience better quality of life when treated with intensity-modulated radiation therapy ... read more

Sep. 26, 2016 — The consumption of dietary supplements and cold therapies containing high concentrations of zinc is now being called into question, following research that suggests it may worsen Clostridium ... read more

Extremely Hypofractionated Radiation Therapy Shows Promising Toxicity Results for Intermediate Risk Prostate Cancer Patients

Sep. 26, 2016 — For men with intermediate risk prostate cancer, side effects at two years following radiation therapy (RT) were comparable for extremely-hypofractionated treatment, which was delivered in seven ... read more

Precision Medicine Trial First of Its Kind to Show Benefit to Patients

Sep. 23, 2016 — A clinical trial for types of advanced cancer is the first of its kind to show that precision medicine – or tailoring treatment for individual people – can slow down the time it takes for a tumor ... read more

Researchers Update Understanding of Damaging Liver Disease

Sep. 22, 2016 — A new article updates the medical community on a potentially devastating liver disease that afflicts approximately 29,000 Americans. Primary sclerosing cholangitis, or PSC, is a condition that ... read more

Bile Acid Uptake Inhibitor Prevents Nash/fatty Liver in Mice

Sep. 21, 2016 — Drugs that interfere with bile acid recycling can prevent several aspects of NASH (nonalcoholic steatohepatitis) in mice fed a high-fat diet, scientists have shown. The findings suggest that these ... read more

Sep. 21, 2016 — A novel multi-potent drug removes arginine from the blood and kills cancer cells, report scientists. Arginine is an essential amino acid for the growth of cancer ... read more

New Therapeutic Target for Crohn's Disease

Sep. 20, 2016 — A promising new target for future drugs to treat inflammatory bowel disease (IBD) has been uncovered by researchers. The study also indicates that another protein, protein kinase C (PKC) ?/?, may ... read more

Retinoic Acid May Significantly Prevent Lymphedema Development, Experimental Model Suggests

Sep. 16, 2016 — Using newly updated mouse models, researchers demonstrated the impactful preventive properties of 9-cis retinoic acid against lymphedema. Currently, there is no cure for lymphedema, a swelling of the ... read more

Patient Overcomes Rare Acute Necrotizing Pancreatitis

Sep. 15, 2016 — Larry Jacob got the call every parent fears. His daughter was sick, away at college and needed help. Mr. Jacob left his home in the Chicago suburbs and was driving to Western Illinois University when ... read more

Consumption of Certain Fatty Acids Linked to Type 2 Diabetes in Women

Sep. 13, 2016 — New research shows that consumption of certain fatty acids is associated with an increased risk of developing type 2 diabetes in ... read more

Scientists Discover Potential Mechanism for Early Detection, Better Treatment of Gastric Cancer

Sep. 13, 2016 — Changes in ribonucleic acid (RNA) sequences play a major role in the development of gastric cancer, researchers have discovered. Further research into this novel driving force for gastric cancer may ... read more

Tuesday, October 11, 2016
Tuesday, October 4, 2016
Monday, October 3, 2016
Friday, September 30, 2016
Thursday, September 29, 2016
Wednesday, September 28, 2016
Monday, September 26, 2016
Friday, September 23, 2016
Thursday, September 22, 2016
Wednesday, September 21, 2016
Tuesday, September 20, 2016
Friday, September 16, 2016
Thursday, September 15, 2016
Tuesday, September 13, 2016
Monday, September 12, 2016
Thursday, September 8, 2016
Tuesday, September 6, 2016
Monday, September 5, 2016
Friday, September 2, 2016
Thursday, September 1, 2016
Wednesday, August 31, 2016
Tuesday, August 30, 2016
Monday, August 29, 2016
Thursday, August 25, 2016
Wednesday, August 24, 2016
Thursday, August 18, 2016
Wednesday, August 17, 2016
Monday, August 15, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Tuesday, August 9, 2016
Monday, August 1, 2016
Tuesday, July 26, 2016
Monday, July 25, 2016
Friday, July 22, 2016
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Friday, July 8, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Tuesday, July 5, 2016
Monday, July 4, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Tuesday, June 21, 2016
Thursday, June 16, 2016
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Friday, June 10, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Monday, June 6, 2016
Thursday, June 2, 2016
Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Sunday, May 29, 2016
Friday, May 27, 2016
Thursday, May 26, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Tuesday, May 24, 2016