Gastrointestinal Problems News
February 14, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 4:52am EST

More Gastrointestinal Problems News
February 14, 2016

Emerging Vascular Risk Factors in Women and Men: Any Differences?

Feb. 4, 2016 — The incidence and severity of both traditional and emerging cardiovascular disease risk factors as well as the response to treatment may differ between men and ... read more

Feb. 2, 2016 — A new paper describes methods to optimize characteristics of cells grown in a lab using biomaterial coatings. The research falls within the field of tissue engineering - the use of biomaterials, ... read more

One in Sevel Colorectal Cancer Patients Diagnosed Before Recommended Screening Age

Jan. 25, 2016 — Nearly 15 percent of patients diagnosed with colorectal cancer were younger than 50, the age at which screening recommendations ... read more

The Neurons in Our Gut Help the Immune System Keep Inflammation in Check

Jan. 22, 2016 — The immune system must protect against potential infections, but over-vigilant reactions can cause problems. New research shows that neurons in the intestine send signals to immune cells to curb ... read more

Jan. 22, 2016 — Bowel cancer is more likely to be diagnosed at the earliest stage if it is picked up by screening, according to new ... read more

Jan. 20, 2016 — A biomarker has been identified that predicts which stage II colon cancer patients may benefit from adjuvant chemotherapy to prevent a disease ... read more

Weekend Binges Just as Bad for the Gut as a Regular Junk Food Diet, Study Suggests

Jan. 20, 2016 — Yo-yoing between eating well during the week and binging on junk food over the weekend is likely to be just as bad for your gut health as a consistent diet of junk, new research ... read more

Cranberry Extract Confirmed to Help Fighting Urinary Tract Infections in Breastfed Babies Under Age One

Jan. 18, 2016 — Cranberry extract helps fighting urinary tract infections (UTIs) in breastfed babies under one year of age, new research confirms. This work has proven that this compound prevents the prescription of ... read more

Link Between Obesity, Increased Risk of Colorectal Cancer Revealed

Jan. 15, 2016 — The culprit for the link between obesity and colorectal cancer is excess calories, say scientists, but risk can be reversed through lifestyle modification or, potentially, use of an approved drug, a ... read more

Hay Fever Medicine Reduces Symptoms of Irritable Bowel Syndrome

Jan. 14, 2016 — The cause of abdominal pain in patients with irritable bowel syndrome has been identified by researchers. As a result, they were able to select a medicine that could reduce or end that pain. This ... read more

Novel Insights in Attachment of the Bacterial Carcinogen Helicobacter Pylori

Jan. 14, 2016 — The gastric pathogen Helicobacter pylori is highly adapted to survival in the human stomach and responsible for the majority of peptic ulcer and gastric cancer cases worldwide. An important survival ... read more

Jan. 13, 2016 — Gut microbes are well known to contribute to health and disease, but what has been less clear is how the host controls gut microbes. A study now reveals that mice and humans produce small molecules ... read more

Jan. 12, 2016 — Researchers have conducted the first ever trials of smart pills that can measure intestinal gases inside the body, with surprising results revealing some unexpected ways that fiber affects the ... read more

Jan. 11, 2016 — Antibiotics that fight infection can adversely affect the digestive tract and give destructive bacteria a chance to flourish, say researchers. This research seeks to identify probiotic mixes to treat ... read more

Jan. 11, 2016 — The composition of the gut microbiome in infants at six weeks of age appears to be associated with the delivery method by which they were born and how they were fed, according to a new ... read more

Proton Pump Inhibitors Associated With Risk of Chronic Kidney Disease

Jan. 11, 2016 — Proton pump inhibitors (PPIs), which are commonly used drugs to reduce acid in the stomach, appear to be associated with an increased risk of chronic kidney disease but more research is needed to ... read more

Jan. 11, 2016 — Insect oil is a possible new source of the healthy omega-3 fatty acid. Insects make fatty acids by nature and can live on organic waste. A team of researchers examines which insects can best be used ... read more

High Folic Acid Intake in Aged Mice Causes a Lowered Immune Response

Jan. 11, 2016 — A study in aged mice shows that excess folic acid intake causes lowered immune function because important immune cells, called natural killer cells, are less effective. These results build upon the ... read more

Superiority of Chromoendoscopy in Dysplasia Detection in Patients With Colitis, Landmark Study Shows

Jan. 7, 2016 — Chromoendoscopy is superior to random biopsy or white-light colonoscopy in detecting dysplasia in patients with inflammatory bowel diseases (IBD), according to a long-term surveillance ... read more

Antibiotics Pave Way for C. Diff Infections by Killing Bile Acid-Altering Bacteria

Jan. 6, 2016 — Bile acids, which are altered by bacteria normally living in the large intestine, inhibit the growth of Clostridium difficile, new research indicates. The work sheds light on the ways in which some ... read more

Thursday, February 4, 2016
Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Monday, January 25, 2016
Friday, January 22, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Monday, January 18, 2016
Friday, January 15, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Monday, January 11, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Monday, January 4, 2016
Monday, December 28, 2015
Monday, December 21, 2015
Friday, December 18, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Monday, December 14, 2015
Thursday, December 3, 2015
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Tuesday, December 1, 2015
Monday, November 30, 2015
Wednesday, November 25, 2015
Tuesday, November 24, 2015
Thursday, November 19, 2015
Wednesday, November 18, 2015
Wednesday, November 11, 2015
Tuesday, November 10, 2015
Friday, November 6, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Wednesday, November 4, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Friday, October 30, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015
Tuesday, October 27, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Tuesday, October 20, 2015
Monday, October 19, 2015
Sunday, October 18, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Monday, October 12, 2015
Friday, October 9, 2015
Thursday, October 8, 2015
Tuesday, October 6, 2015
Friday, October 2, 2015
Thursday, October 1, 2015
Wednesday, September 30, 2015
Tuesday, September 29, 2015
Sunday, September 27, 2015
Friday, September 25, 2015
Thursday, September 24, 2015
Monday, September 21, 2015
Thursday, September 17, 2015
Wednesday, September 16, 2015
Tuesday, September 15, 2015
Monday, September 14, 2015
Friday, September 11, 2015
Thursday, September 10, 2015