Kidney Disease News
May 26, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 8:28pm EDT

More Kidney Disease News
May 26, 2016

More Urinary Tract Stones Are Being Treated With Surgery

May 12, 2016 — Researchers who analyzed recent trends related to urinary tract stones in the UK found a sustained and high prevalence of the condition, with an increased trend to treat patients with surgery. The ... read more

Donor Kidneys May Be Discarded Due to 'Weekend Effect' at Hospitals

May 12, 2016 — Investigators have uncovered a “weekend effect” contributing to the worsening availability of donor kidneys in the United States. They found that kidneys that would normally be made available for ... read more

Females More Resistant to Organ Damage Following Kidney Transplant

Apr. 19, 2016 — After a kidney transplant, women may experience decreased kidney damage from ischemia reperfusion injury compared to men due to the impact of gender-specific hormones, suggests a new preclinical ... read more

Long-Term Benefits to the Kidney in Simultaneous Liver-Kidney Transplant

Apr. 15, 2016 — There may be long-term benefits to simultaneous liver-kidney transplantation versus kidney transplantation alone, new research ... read more

Commonly Used Reflux, Ulcer Medication May Cause Serious Kidney Damage

Apr. 14, 2016 — Patients who took proton pump inhibitors for heartburn, acid reflux, or ulcers had an increased risk of kidney function decline, chronic kidney disease, and kidney failure. The longer patients took ... read more

Apr. 12, 2016 — Mutations in many genes involved in a certain type of DNA repair cause a rare anemia, but one such gene has been shown to cause kidney disease instead. By eliminating this unique gene in mice, ... read more

Kidney Stone Patients Hospitalized on the Weekend May Get Delayed Treatment

Apr. 11, 2016 — Patients with severe cases of kidney stones are 26 percent less likely to receive timely treatment when they're admitted to the hospital on the weekend, according to a new report. The study is ... read more

Pivotal Inflammatory Players Revealed in Diabetic Kidney Disease

Apr. 8, 2016 — Key inflammatory mechanisms underlying type 1 diabetes and obesity-related kidney dysfunction have been identified by a team of researchers. In the study, the researchers analyzed the kidneys of ... read more

HPV Vaccine May Be Effective in Adolescents With Kidney Disease, but Less So in Those With a Kidney Transplant

Apr. 7, 2016 — Following vaccination against human papillomavirus, girls and young women with chronic kidney disease and those on dialysis had antibody levels above the threshold that indicates protection from ... read more

Kidneys Have an Innate Clock That Affects Many Metabolic Processes in the Body

Apr. 7, 2016 — Daily fluctuations caused by the kidney’s circadian clock have an important effect on the levels of various amino acids, lipids, and other components of blood in the body, say researchers. In ... read more

Factors Associated With Good Heart Health May Also Protect Kidneys

Apr. 6, 2016 — Middle-aged adults who scored well on the American Heart Association's Life's Simple 7 checklist were less likely to develop chronic kidney disease than those with low scores. Not smoking, ... read more

Trial Drug Ineffective in Preventing Contrast-Induced Kidney Injury

Apr. 5, 2016 — Patients treated with CMX-2043—an investigational drug that has previously shown some ability to protect heart muscle from damage during stenting—saw no improved protection in their kidneys ... read more

US Prediction Models for Kidney Injury Following Angioplasty Hold Up in Japan

Apr. 4, 2016 — Models developed by the American College of Cardiology NCDR CathPCI Registry to predict the likelihood of angioplasty patients developing acute kidney injury and acute kidney injury requiring ... read more

Kidney Disease: Report Assesses Mammoth Problem for the United States

Mar. 30, 2016 — A sweeping new report assessing chronic kidney disease in the United States offers startling statistics about a condition that affects almost 14 percent of the US population and costs billions in ... read more

Mar. 28, 2016 — The increasing prevalence of both gout and chronic kidney disease has led to a growing interest in the association between hyperuricemia (an abnormally high level of uric acid in the blood) and ... read more

Mar. 25, 2016 — Renal fibrosis or the scarring of kidneys, following an injury, reduces their function and can cause kidney disease to progressively worsen. In a recent study, researchers have shown that drugs that ... read more

Tissue Imaging Mass Spectrometry Detects Early Lipid Changes in Acute Kidney Injury

Mar. 23, 2016 — Researchers made a microscopic snapshot of the early renal lipid changes in acute kidney injury, using a laser-scanning method called MALDI tissue imaging to localize the ... read more

Survey Finds Positive View Towards Living Kidney Donation

Mar. 23, 2016 — Researchers examined the willingness of voting US citizens to become living kidney donors and to determine the potential influence of compensation for ... read more

Researchers Improve Kidney Diagnostics

Mar. 21, 2016 — Researchers have devised a simple method to determine split renal function— critical knowledge for anyone planning to donate a kidney or to guide doctors’ decisions for surgery and other medical ... read more

Mar. 18, 2016 — The best laid plans of mice and men are a bit different -- at least when it comes to kidney development. Compared to a mouse, a human has nearly 100 times more nephrons, the functional units of the ... read more

Thursday, May 12, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Friday, April 15, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Tuesday, April 12, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Friday, April 8, 2016
Thursday, April 7, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Monday, March 28, 2016
Friday, March 25, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Friday, March 18, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Friday, March 4, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Tuesday, February 23, 2016
Thursday, February 18, 2016
Monday, February 15, 2016
Tuesday, February 9, 2016
Monday, February 8, 2016
Tuesday, January 26, 2016
Thursday, January 21, 2016
Monday, January 18, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Monday, January 11, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Monday, December 28, 2015
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Friday, December 18, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Friday, December 11, 2015
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015
Thursday, December 3, 2015
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Tuesday, December 1, 2015
Tuesday, November 24, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Thursday, November 19, 2015
Wednesday, November 18, 2015
Tuesday, November 17, 2015
Friday, November 13, 2015
Tuesday, November 10, 2015
Sunday, November 8, 2015
Saturday, November 7, 2015
Friday, November 6, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Tuesday, October 27, 2015
Friday, October 23, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Tuesday, October 20, 2015
Monday, October 19, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Monday, October 12, 2015
Friday, October 9, 2015
Thursday, October 8, 2015
Thursday, October 1, 2015