Kidney Disease News
July 27, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 3:28pm EDT

More Kidney Disease News
July 27, 2016

Discovery of Biomarkers for the Prognosis of Chronic Kidney Disease

July 27, 2016 — Currently, there is no effective method to predict the prognosis of chronic kidney disease (CKD) patients. Researchers have now found that measuring D-amino acids, which present only trace in human, ... read more

Preconceptions Predict Coping, Health Outcomes

July 8, 2016 — A study into chronic kidney disease is currently underway. The work shows that people who have chronic kidney disease (CKD) form pre-conceived beliefs about their illness which can impact their ... read more

New Treatment Approaches to Improve Peritoneal Dialysis

June 24, 2016 — One of the main functions of the kidneys is to filter metabolic products out of the blood. If the kidneys are no longer able to do this, the blood has to be artificially purified and drained of ... read more

Surgery Can Lengthen Survival of Metastatic Kidney Cancer Patients, Study Finds

June 20, 2016 — Cytoreductive nephrectomy may offer an overall survival benefit to patients with metastatic kidney cancer who are treated with targeted therapies, researchers have ... read more

Researchers Discover New Therapeutic Approach for Cardiorenal Syndrome Type 2

June 14, 2016 — A study suggests a new therapeutic approach to treat the development of chronic kidney disease secondary to chronic heart failure, known as cardiorenal syndrome type 2. Researchers suggest inhibiting ... read more

Mathematical Simulation of Open-Heart Surgery Lends Clues to Kidney Failure

June 8, 2016 — No one can deny that open-heart surgery, where the heart is exposed and the blood is made to bypass it, is one of the most invasive of all medical procedures. Nearly one-third of all patients ... read more

Rehydrating With Soda on a Hot Day May Worsen Dehydration

June 7, 2016 — Repeated heat-related dehydration has been associated with increased risk of chronic kidney damage in mice. A new study in rats reports that drinking soft drinks to rehydrate worsened dehydration and ... read more

June 2, 2016 — The results of an exploratory clinical trial indicate that a wearable artificial kidney could be developed as a viable, new dialysis technology. Some redesigns would be required to overcome ... read more

First-of-Its-Kind Procedure Combines Scalp, Skull, Kidney and Pancreas Transplant

May 27, 2016 — Simultaneous transplantation of a "composite" skull and scalp flap plus a kidney and pancreas -- all from the same donor -- provided excellent outcomes for a patient with a non-healing ... read more

Gut Bacteria May Contribute to Poor Health in Patients With Kidney Disease

May 26, 2016 — In patients with chronic kidney disease, the accumulation of a gut bacterial metabolite that's normally excreted in urine may contribute to serious health ... read more

Higher Salt Intake May Increase Risk of Cardiovascular Disease Among Patients With Chronic Kidney Disease

May 24, 2016 — Scientists have evaluated more than 3,500 participants with chronic kidney disease, examining the association between urinary sodium excretion and clinical cardiovascular disease (CVD) ... read more

May 18, 2016 — Scientists are developing an innovative research technique that could help urologists better understand the early stages of kidney ... read more

Bioengineered Blood Vessel Is Safe for Dialysis Patients, Study Finds

May 13, 2016 — Scientists have created bioengineered blood vessels for kidney-disease patients on dialysis. The human-made vessels appeared to be both safe and more durable than commonly used synthetic versions, ... read more

More Urinary Tract Stones Are Being Treated With Surgery

May 12, 2016 — Researchers who analyzed recent trends related to urinary tract stones in the UK found a sustained and high prevalence of the condition, with an increased trend to treat patients with surgery. The ... read more

Donor Kidneys May Be Discarded Due to 'Weekend Effect' at Hospitals

May 12, 2016 — Investigators have uncovered a “weekend effect” contributing to the worsening availability of donor kidneys in the United States. They found that kidneys that would normally be made available for ... read more

Junk Food Causes Similar High Blood Sugar Levels as Type 2 Diabetes

May 10, 2016 — A junk food diet can cause as much damage to the kidney as diabetes, according to a study. In their study, researchers used animal models of diabetes and models of diet-induced obesity and insulin ... read more

Climate Change May Contribute to Rising Rates of Chronic Kidney Disease

May 5, 2016 — Chronic kidney disease that is not associated with traditional risk factors appears to be increasing in rural hot communities as worldwide temperature progressively rises. The condition has likely ... read more

May 4, 2016 — Researchers have used a 'kidney on a chip' device to mimic the flow of medication through human kidneys and measure its effect on kidney cells. The new technique could lead to more precise ... read more

Sparing Livers: Curing Hepatitis C Will Create Transplant Opportunities for Patients With Other Illnesses

May 4, 2016 — Recently developed cures for hepatitis C virus will create new opportunities for people with other liver diseases to receive transplanted livers, say ... read more

Common Supplement Boosts Kidney Cancer Therapy

May 2, 2016 — Docosahexaenoic acid (DHA), a fatty acid commonly found in fish and fish oil supplements, reduces renal cell carcinoma invasiveness, growth rate, and blood vessel growth when combined with the ... read more

Wednesday, July 27, 2016
Friday, July 8, 2016
Friday, June 24, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Thursday, June 2, 2016
Friday, May 27, 2016
Thursday, May 26, 2016
Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Friday, May 13, 2016
Thursday, May 12, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Monday, May 2, 2016
Friday, April 22, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Friday, April 15, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Tuesday, April 12, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Friday, April 8, 2016
Thursday, April 7, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Monday, March 28, 2016
Friday, March 25, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Friday, March 18, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Friday, March 4, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Tuesday, February 23, 2016
Thursday, February 18, 2016
Monday, February 15, 2016
Tuesday, February 9, 2016
Monday, February 8, 2016
Tuesday, January 26, 2016
Thursday, January 21, 2016
Monday, January 18, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Monday, January 11, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Monday, December 28, 2015
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Friday, December 18, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Friday, December 11, 2015
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015
Thursday, December 3, 2015
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Tuesday, December 1, 2015
Tuesday, November 24, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Thursday, November 19, 2015
Wednesday, November 18, 2015
Tuesday, November 17, 2015
Friday, November 13, 2015
Tuesday, November 10, 2015
Sunday, November 8, 2015
Saturday, November 7, 2015
Friday, November 6, 2015