Kidney Disease News
September 1, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 1:29am EDT

More Kidney Disease News
September 1, 2016

New Oral Diabetes Drugs May Also Protect Patients' Kidney Health

Aug. 18, 2016 — In a clinical trial of patients with type 2 diabetes, canagliflozin (a sodium-glucose cotransporter 2 inhibitor) slowed kidney function decline to a greater extent than glimepiride (a sulfonylurea), ... read more

Strict Blood Pressure Control May Provide Long-Term Benefits for Kidney Disease Patients

Aug. 11, 2016 — In long-term analyses of two clinical trials that included patients with chronic kidney disease, a lower blood pressure target than the currently guideline-recommended goal of 140/90 mm Hg was safe ... read more

New Guidelines Published for Physicians Treating Patients With Kidney Stones

Aug. 10, 2016 — New extensive guidelines have been published for the surgical management of kidney stones. Kidney stones affect more than 8.8 percent of the population in the United States, with direct and indirect ... read more

Two Classes of Medications Linked to Similar Results in Peritoneal Dialysis Patients

Aug. 8, 2016 — A new study examined two classes of medications commonly prescribed to prevent cardiovascular events in dialysis patients and found no significant difference in ... read more

Discovery of Biomarkers for the Prognosis of Chronic Kidney Disease

July 27, 2016 — Currently, there is no effective method to predict the prognosis of chronic kidney disease (CKD) patients. Researchers have now found that measuring D-amino acids, which present only trace in human, ... read more

Preconceptions Predict Coping, Health Outcomes

July 8, 2016 — A study into chronic kidney disease is currently underway. The work shows that people who have chronic kidney disease (CKD) form pre-conceived beliefs about their illness which can impact their ... read more

Air Pollution Linked to Increased Rates of Kidney Disease

June 30, 2016 — While air pollution is known to cause respiratory and cardiovascular diseases, a new study indicates that it also likely causes damage to the ... read more

Immune System Link to Kidney Disease Risk, Research Finds

June 29, 2016 — A gene which forms part of our body's first line of defense against infection may be associated with an increased risk with a type of kidney disease, research ... read more

Research Links High Zinc Levels, Kidney Stones

June 28, 2016 — A new study into the causes of kidney stones has revealed that high levels of zinc in the body may contribute to kidney stone formation. Kidney stones are hard, often jagged masses of crystalized ... read more

June 27, 2016 — Using virtual tissue technology, researchers have identified a potential new drug target in the fight against polycystic kidney disease, an illness with no effective FDA-approved treatment that ... read more

New Treatment Approaches to Improve Peritoneal Dialysis

June 24, 2016 — One of the main functions of the kidneys is to filter metabolic products out of the blood. If the kidneys are no longer able to do this, the blood has to be artificially purified and drained of ... read more

June 24, 2016 — Doctors and scientists in one case printed and used a 3-D kidney to help save a patient's organ during a complicated tumor-removal ... read more

Patients With Inflammation More Likely to Develop Diabetes After Transplant

June 21, 2016 — Up to 30 percent of people who receive organ transplants will develop diabetes, but researchers are unsure why. A new study in kidney transplant recipients suggests that patients with more ... read more

Surgery Can Lengthen Survival of Metastatic Kidney Cancer Patients, Study Finds

June 20, 2016 — Cytoreductive nephrectomy may offer an overall survival benefit to patients with metastatic kidney cancer who are treated with targeted therapies, researchers have ... read more

Blood Pressure Medications Reduce Stroke, Heart Attack in Peritoneal Dialysis Patients

June 14, 2016 — Two classes of blood pressure medications are associated with a 16 percent lower risk of cardiovascular events in patients who are undergoing peritoneal ... read more

Researchers Discover New Therapeutic Approach for Cardiorenal Syndrome Type 2

June 14, 2016 — A study suggests a new therapeutic approach to treat the development of chronic kidney disease secondary to chronic heart failure, known as cardiorenal syndrome type 2. Researchers suggest inhibiting ... read more

Mathematical Simulation of Open-Heart Surgery Lends Clues to Kidney Failure

June 8, 2016 — No one can deny that open-heart surgery, where the heart is exposed and the blood is made to bypass it, is one of the most invasive of all medical procedures. Nearly one-third of all patients ... read more

Rehydrating With Soda on a Hot Day May Worsen Dehydration

June 7, 2016 — Repeated heat-related dehydration has been associated with increased risk of chronic kidney damage in mice. A new study in rats reports that drinking soft drinks to rehydrate worsened dehydration and ... read more

June 2, 2016 — The results of an exploratory clinical trial indicate that a wearable artificial kidney could be developed as a viable, new dialysis technology. Some redesigns would be required to overcome ... read more

First-of-Its-Kind Procedure Combines Scalp, Skull, Kidney and Pancreas Transplant

May 27, 2016 — Simultaneous transplantation of a "composite" skull and scalp flap plus a kidney and pancreas -- all from the same donor -- provided excellent outcomes for a patient with a non-healing ... read more

Thursday, August 18, 2016
Thursday, August 11, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Monday, August 8, 2016
Wednesday, July 27, 2016
Friday, July 8, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Friday, June 24, 2016
Tuesday, June 21, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Thursday, June 2, 2016
Friday, May 27, 2016
Thursday, May 26, 2016
Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Friday, May 13, 2016
Thursday, May 12, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Monday, May 2, 2016
Friday, April 22, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Friday, April 15, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Tuesday, April 12, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Friday, April 8, 2016
Thursday, April 7, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Monday, March 28, 2016
Friday, March 25, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Friday, March 18, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Friday, March 4, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Tuesday, February 23, 2016
Thursday, February 18, 2016
Monday, February 15, 2016
Tuesday, February 9, 2016
Monday, February 8, 2016
Tuesday, January 26, 2016
Thursday, January 21, 2016
Monday, January 18, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Monday, January 11, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Monday, December 28, 2015
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Friday, December 18, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Friday, December 11, 2015
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015
Thursday, December 3, 2015
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Tuesday, December 1, 2015
Tuesday, November 24, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Thursday, November 19, 2015
Wednesday, November 18, 2015