Kidney Disease News
April 30, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 12:58pm EDT

More Kidney Disease News
April 30, 2016

Factors Associated With Good Heart Health May Also Protect Kidneys

Apr. 6, 2016 — Middle-aged adults who scored well on the American Heart Association's Life's Simple 7 checklist were less likely to develop chronic kidney disease than those with low scores. Not smoking, ... read more

Trial Drug Ineffective in Preventing Contrast-Induced Kidney Injury

Apr. 5, 2016 — Patients treated with CMX-2043—an investigational drug that has previously shown some ability to protect heart muscle from damage during stenting—saw no improved protection in their kidneys ... read more

US Prediction Models for Kidney Injury Following Angioplasty Hold Up in Japan

Apr. 4, 2016 — Models developed by the American College of Cardiology NCDR CathPCI Registry to predict the likelihood of angioplasty patients developing acute kidney injury and acute kidney injury requiring ... read more

Kidney Disease: Report Assesses Mammoth Problem for the United States

Mar. 30, 2016 — A sweeping new report assessing chronic kidney disease in the United States offers startling statistics about a condition that affects almost 14 percent of the US population and costs billions in ... read more

Mar. 28, 2016 — The increasing prevalence of both gout and chronic kidney disease has led to a growing interest in the association between hyperuricemia (an abnormally high level of uric acid in the blood) and ... read more

Mar. 25, 2016 — Renal fibrosis or the scarring of kidneys, following an injury, reduces their function and can cause kidney disease to progressively worsen. In a recent study, researchers have shown that drugs that ... read more

Tissue Imaging Mass Spectrometry Detects Early Lipid Changes in Acute Kidney Injury

Mar. 23, 2016 — Researchers made a microscopic snapshot of the early renal lipid changes in acute kidney injury, using a laser-scanning method called MALDI tissue imaging to localize the ... read more

Survey Finds Positive View Towards Living Kidney Donation

Mar. 23, 2016 — Researchers examined the willingness of voting US citizens to become living kidney donors and to determine the potential influence of compensation for ... read more

Researchers Improve Kidney Diagnostics

Mar. 21, 2016 — Researchers have devised a simple method to determine split renal function— critical knowledge for anyone planning to donate a kidney or to guide doctors’ decisions for surgery and other medical ... read more

Mar. 18, 2016 — The best laid plans of mice and men are a bit different -- at least when it comes to kidney development. Compared to a mouse, a human has nearly 100 times more nephrons, the functional units of the ... read more

Conservative Care May Be a Reasonable Option for Elderly Kidney Failure Patients

Mar. 17, 2016 — Among kidney failure patients aged 80 years or older, there was no statistically significant survival advantage for those who chose dialysis over conservative ... read more

Mar. 17, 2016 — Zebrafish help investigators shed light on the mechanisms underlying cilia dysfunction in polycystic kidney disease and other ciliopathies. Cilia, the finger-like protrusions on most epithelial ... read more

How 'Salt' MRI Scans Could Give a Clearer Picture of Disease

Mar. 17, 2016 — MRI experts are adapting scanning techniques to pick up sodium in the body. The research could lead to much more detailed MRI scans in the future with significant improvements to the diagnosis and ... read more

Autoimmune Attack Underlying Kidney Failure

Mar. 16, 2016 — Interstitial nephritis, a common cause of kidney failure, has a complex and largely unknown pathogenesis. In a new published paper, a team of researchers shows how interstitial nephritis can develop ... read more

Mitochondrial Metabolism Linked to Acute Kidney Injury

Mar. 16, 2016 — Researchers help explain the origins of acute kidney injury and suggest that manipulation of the NAD aging molecule might help prevent loss of kidney function and subsequent ... read more

Scientists Identify Molecular Markers of Kidney Transplant Rejection

Mar. 15, 2016 — Genome-wide molecular profiling of kidney biopsies may be a key to catching organ rejection before it's too late, new research ... read more

Reduced Immunosuppression Drug Dose May Be Best for Kidney Transplant Outcomes, Study Suggests

Mar. 15, 2016 — Four immunosuppression strategies have been investigated by researchers who have found that many patients might benefit from a lower-than-standard dose of calcineurin ... read more

First-Line Anti-Staph Drug Oxacillin Safer Than Nafcillin

Mar. 14, 2016 — Nafcillin and oxacillin, two antibiotics commonly prescribed in hospitals, have been used without preference for one over the other. Costs and effectiveness are similar for both. But a new study ... read more

Mar. 14, 2016 — What have historically been considered three major types of kidney cancer according to their histological characteristic, can be further distinguished into nine major subtypes through molecular ... read more

Mar. 14, 2016 — A new Europe-wide survey shows significant country-to-country differences in rates of kidney transplant donors. The survey shows for example within the EU, there is a x5 variation in the number of ... read more

Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Monday, March 28, 2016
Friday, March 25, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Friday, March 18, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Friday, March 4, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Tuesday, February 23, 2016
Thursday, February 18, 2016
Monday, February 15, 2016
Tuesday, February 9, 2016
Monday, February 8, 2016
Tuesday, January 26, 2016
Thursday, January 21, 2016
Monday, January 18, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Monday, January 11, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Monday, December 28, 2015
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Friday, December 18, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Friday, December 11, 2015
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015
Thursday, December 3, 2015
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Tuesday, December 1, 2015
Tuesday, November 24, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Thursday, November 19, 2015
Wednesday, November 18, 2015
Tuesday, November 17, 2015
Friday, November 13, 2015
Tuesday, November 10, 2015
Sunday, November 8, 2015
Saturday, November 7, 2015
Friday, November 6, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Tuesday, October 27, 2015
Friday, October 23, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Tuesday, October 20, 2015
Monday, October 19, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Monday, October 12, 2015
Friday, October 9, 2015
Thursday, October 8, 2015
Thursday, October 1, 2015
Monday, September 28, 2015
Saturday, September 26, 2015
Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Tuesday, September 22, 2015
Monday, September 21, 2015
Friday, September 18, 2015
Monday, September 14, 2015