Menopause News
April 29, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 10:58pm EDT

More Menopause News
April 29, 2017

Women Suffer from Asthma Symptoms More Frequently and More Severely Than Men

Mar. 7, 2017 — Women suffer more frequently and more severely from pollen and food allergies and therefore also from asthma. Firstly, female sex hormones increase the risk and symptoms of asthma and allergies and, ... read more

Feb. 25, 2017 — Women recently postmenopause have similar or improved benefits from physical activity, in terms of muscle and blood vessel function, as those premenopause. Therefore, early postmenopause might be a ... read more

The Role of Weight in Postmenopausal Women's Longevity

Feb. 23, 2017 — In a large multiethnic study, being underweight was linked with an increased risk of early death among postmenopausal women, report ... read more

Estrogen Therapy Shown Effective in Reducing Tooth and Gum Diseases in Postmenopausal Women

Feb. 22, 2017 — Estrogen therapy has already been credited with helping women manage an array of menopause-related issues, including reducing hot flashes, improving heart health and bone density, and maintaining ... read more

Postmenopausal Hormone Therapy Exceeding Ten Years May Protect from Dementia

Feb. 16, 2017 — Postmenopausal estrogen-based hormone therapy lasting longer than ten years was associated with a decreased risk of Alzheimer's disease in a large study. The study explored the association ... read more

Weight Loss Actually Possible After Menopause

Feb. 15, 2017 — Talk to a woman in menopause and you're likely to hear complaints about hot flashes and an inability to lose weight, especially belly fat. A new study shows how regular exercise can help reduce ... read more

Possible Link Between Early Menstruation, Stroke Risk

Feb. 7, 2017 — Women who start menstruating early in life could later face a higher risk of stroke, suggest researchers in a new ... read more

Under and Misuse of Hormone Therapy Decreasing, but Still High

Feb. 2, 2017 — A nationwide cancer registry of almost one million patients treated for hormone-sensitive breast cancer shows that one out of six women who should have received post-surgical treatment known as ... read more

Poor Metabolic Health in Some Normal-Weight Women May Increase Risk for Colorectal Cancer

Feb. 1, 2017 — Among postmenopausal women who were normal weight, those who were metabolically unhealthy had a significantly increased risk for colorectal cancer compared with those who were metabolically healthy, ... read more

Better Sleep Can Lead to Better Sex

Feb. 1, 2017 — Sleep disturbance is common for many women during menopause, creating an array of adverse health outcomes such as heart disease, hypertension, and depression. A new study shows that sleep problems ... read more

Jan. 30, 2017 — For the first time, researchers have pinpointed a type of heart fat, linked it to a risk factor for heart disease and shown that menopausal status and estrogen levels are critical modifying factors ... read more

Certain Fat Found Around the Heart Associated With Higher Risk of Heart Disease in Postmenopausal Women

Jan. 30, 2017 — New study points to heart disease risk factor in menopausal women that could be caught ... read more

Examining Women's Bones During Menopause May Help Head Off Fractures

Jan. 26, 2017 — A new study examined the bone traits of 198 midlife women transitioning through menopause for 14 years. The goal: identifying women who will experience bone fragility well in advance of ... read more

Anti-Inflammatory Diet Could Reduce Risk of Bone Loss in Women

Jan. 26, 2017 — Anti-inflammatory diets -- which tend to be high in vegetables, fruits, fish and whole grains -- could boost bone health and prevent fractures in some women, a new study ... read more

Anxiety Impairing Quality of Life for Postmenopausal Women, New Study Shows

Jan. 25, 2017 — Whether anxiety increases common menopause symptoms such as hot flashes and sleep disruption or whether these symptoms cause increased anxiety remains an ongoing debate. Regardless of which comes ... read more

Starting Menstrual Periods at a Young Age and Childlessness Increase Risk of Premature and Early Menopause

Jan. 24, 2017 — Women who had their first menstrual period when they were aged 11 or younger have an increased risk of an early or premature menopause and if they remain childless the risk is increased even more, ... read more

Yoga, Exercise Fail to Improve Sleep in Midlife Women, Study Suggests

Jan. 23, 2017 — Yoga and aerobic exercise interventions did not significantly reduce objectively measured sleep disturbances among midlife women who were experiencing hot flashes, suggests new ... read more

Women's Cognitive Decline Begins Earlier Than Previously Believed

Jan. 20, 2017 — Mental sharpness in women begins to decline as early as their 50s. Cognitive processing speed, which includes speed of perception and reaction, showed an average decline of around 1 percent every two ... read more

Researcher Examines Effect of Exercise on Breast Cancer Survivors

Jan. 18, 2017 — A new study has focused on the effects of exercise and physical activity on postmenopausal breast cancer survivors taking AIs -- hormone-therapy drugs that stop the production of estrogen. The work ... read more

Role of Common Risk Factors in ER-Positive, ER-Negative Breast Cancer

Jan. 9, 2017 — Researchers have examined the role of common risk factors in the development of ER-positive and ER-negative breast cancers. The study sheds new light on how a woman’s age, weight, and menopausal ... read more

Tuesday, March 7, 2017
Saturday, February 25, 2017
Thursday, February 23, 2017
Wednesday, February 22, 2017
Thursday, February 16, 2017
Wednesday, February 15, 2017
Tuesday, February 7, 2017
Thursday, February 2, 2017
Wednesday, February 1, 2017
Monday, January 30, 2017
Thursday, January 26, 2017
Wednesday, January 25, 2017
Tuesday, January 24, 2017
Monday, January 23, 2017
Friday, January 20, 2017
Wednesday, January 18, 2017
Monday, January 9, 2017
Wednesday, December 14, 2016
Thursday, December 8, 2016
Wednesday, December 7, 2016
Tuesday, November 29, 2016
Thursday, November 17, 2016
Wednesday, November 9, 2016
Wednesday, November 2, 2016
Tuesday, October 25, 2016
Wednesday, October 19, 2016
Tuesday, October 18, 2016
Monday, October 17, 2016
Friday, October 14, 2016
Wednesday, October 12, 2016
Saturday, October 8, 2016
Monday, October 3, 2016
Thursday, September 29, 2016
Wednesday, September 28, 2016
Wednesday, September 21, 2016
Monday, September 19, 2016
Monday, September 12, 2016
Tuesday, August 23, 2016
Tuesday, August 16, 2016
Friday, August 5, 2016
Thursday, August 4, 2016
Wednesday, August 3, 2016
Thursday, July 28, 2016
Wednesday, July 27, 2016
Monday, July 25, 2016
Friday, July 22, 2016
Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Thursday, June 23, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Tuesday, June 21, 2016
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Friday, June 10, 2016
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Monday, June 6, 2016
Wednesday, June 1, 2016
Monday, May 30, 2016
Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Monday, May 23, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Sunday, April 3, 2016
Friday, April 1, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Tuesday, March 29, 2016
Friday, March 18, 2016