Menopause News
February 13, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 2:02am EST

More Menopause News
February 13, 2016

Emerging Vascular Risk Factors in Women and Men: Any Differences?

Feb. 4, 2016 — The incidence and severity of both traditional and emerging cardiovascular disease risk factors as well as the response to treatment may differ between men and ... read more

Improving Vaginal Discomfort After Menopause

Jan. 5, 2016 — A new phase III trial with positive results is taking intravaginal DHEA a step closer to governmental approval. The formulation could provide women who cannot or do not wish to use intravaginal ... read more

Active and Passive Smoking Linked to Infertility and Earlier Menopause

Dec. 16, 2015 — Active and passive smoking are linked to infertility problems and a hastening of the natural menopause before the age of 50, a large study ... read more

Elevated Testosterone Levels May Raise Risk of Uterine Fibroids

Dec. 15, 2015 — Women who have high levels of both testosterone and estrogen in midlife may face a greater risk of developing benign tumors on the uterus called uterine fibroids than women with low levels of the ... read more

Younger and Older Patients Experience Different Symptoms from the Same Breast Cancer Drugs, Researcher Finds

Dec. 11, 2015 — The long-term outcomes in postmenopausal women who took two widely used breast cancer treatments have been analyzed. Researchers found that although both drugs were safe and effective, and had no ... read more

ABCSG 18: Monoclonal Antibody Increases Disease-Free Survival in Breast Cancer

Dec. 9, 2015 — Giving a monoclonal antibody (denosumab) as adjuvant therapy with aromatase inhibitors in postmenopausal, hormone-receptor-positive breast cancer patients reduces the relapse rate by 18%. This is the ... read more

Denosumab Improves Disease-Free Survival for Postmenopausal Patients W HR+ Breast Cancer

Dec. 9, 2015 — Adding denosumab to adjuvant aromatase inhibitor therapy improved disease-free survival for postmenopausal patients with early-stage, hormone receptor (HR)-positive breast cancer, according to ... read more

After Menopause, Vulvovaginal Troubles Are Common and Linked With Other Pelvic Problems

Dec. 9, 2015 — After menopause, more than half of women may have vulvovaginal symptoms that have a big impact on their lifestyle, emotions, and sex life. What's more, the symptoms tend to travel with other ... read more

Gene Therapy Used to Extend Estrogen's Protective Effects on Memory

Dec. 8, 2015 — The hormone estrogen helps protect memory and promote a healthy brain, but this effect wanes as women age, and even estrogen replacement therapy stops working in humans after age 65. Now researchers ... read more

Breast Density Alone Not a Risk Factor for Cancer, Study Suggests

Dec. 2, 2015 — Breast density may not be a strong independent factor for breast cancer risk, according to a new study. Prior research has shown an association between breast density and breast cancer. In addition, ... read more

Female Hormone Supplements With Estrogen, Progestin Linked to Breast Cancer Risk

Nov. 30, 2015 — Postmenopausal African American women who use female hormone supplements containing estrogen and progestin ('combination' therapy) are at an increased risk for estrogen receptor positive ... read more

PMS as an Early Marker for Future High Blood Pressure Risk

Nov. 24, 2015 — In the first prospective study to consider premenstrual syndrome (PMS) as a possible sentinel for future risk of hypertension, epidemiologists report that women with moderate-to-severe PMS had a 40 ... read more

Study Counters Long-Time Practice of Prescribing More Fertility Hormones

Nov. 23, 2015 — Too much of a hormone commonly used during in vitro fertility, or IVF, treatments actually decreases a woman's chances of having a baby, new research indicates. The research is the largest study ... read more

Sex Reassignment Surgery May Be Better for Transgender Women’s Health Than Hormones Only

Nov. 18, 2015 — Transgender women may be at a higher risk of developing cardiovascular disease and type 2 diabetes compared with men and women in the general population. New research finds that transgender women who ... read more

Wrist Fractures Could Predict Susceptibility to Serious Fractures in Postmenopausal Women

Nov. 10, 2015 — Postmenopausal women younger than age 65 who experienced a wrist fracture could be at increased risk for bone fractures in other parts of their bodies later in life, new research ... read more

Genes May Determine the Side Effects of Menopausal Hormone Therapy, Study Suggests

Nov. 10, 2015 — Cardiovascular disease risk in women increases after menopause and is associated with the drop in estrogen levels. Menopausal hormone therapy could slow the progression, but oral formulations also ... read more

As Menopause Approaches, Fluctuating Estrogen Increases Sensitivity to Stress, Depression

Nov. 4, 2015 — If you're feeling a little blue during the transition to menopause, there's good reason. A study from the Department of Psychiatry at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill ... read more

Soybean Foods May Protect Menopausal Women Against Osteoporosis

Nov. 2, 2015 — Eating a diet rich in both soy protein and isoflavones can protect menopausal women from bone weakening and osteoporosis, according to the results of a preliminary ... read more

Annual Vs. Biennial Mammography and Breast Tumor Prognostic Characteristics

Oct. 20, 2015 — Premenopausal women diagnosed with breast cancer following a biennial screening mammogram were more likely to have bigger more advanced tumors than women screened annually, while postmenopausal women ... read more

Physical Activity Has Greater Impact on Body Composition in Postmenopausal Women

Oct. 19, 2015 — Everyone knows that exercise is good for you, regardless of your age. But a new study shows that some types of physical activity have a greater impact on body composition in postmenopausal compared ... read more

Thursday, February 4, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Friday, December 11, 2015
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
Tuesday, December 8, 2015
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Monday, November 30, 2015
Tuesday, November 24, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Wednesday, November 18, 2015
Tuesday, November 10, 2015
Wednesday, November 4, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Tuesday, October 20, 2015
Monday, October 19, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Thursday, October 8, 2015
Wednesday, October 7, 2015
Wednesday, September 30, 2015
Monday, September 28, 2015
Sunday, September 27, 2015
Thursday, September 24, 2015
Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Thursday, September 17, 2015
Thursday, September 10, 2015
Thursday, September 3, 2015
Wednesday, September 2, 2015
Thursday, August 27, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Tuesday, August 11, 2015
Wednesday, August 5, 2015
Monday, August 3, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Friday, June 26, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Friday, June 12, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Thursday, June 4, 2015
Tuesday, June 2, 2015
Monday, June 1, 2015
Saturday, May 30, 2015
Tuesday, May 26, 2015
Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Tuesday, May 12, 2015
Thursday, May 7, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Sunday, March 8, 2015
Friday, March 6, 2015
Thursday, March 5, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Friday, February 20, 2015
Thursday, February 19, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Tuesday, February 17, 2015
Monday, February 16, 2015
Thursday, February 12, 2015
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Wednesday, February 4, 2015
Wednesday, January 28, 2015
Tuesday, January 27, 2015