Back and Neck Pain News
July 24, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 6:22am EDT

More Back and Neck Pain News
July 24, 2016

New Device Saves Racecar Drivers' Lives

July 12, 2016 — A biomechanical crash engineer and his brother-in-law, a racecar driver, have joined forces to create the HANS® device, which was designed to prevent the occurrence of shear injuries between the ... read more

Return-to-Play Rates High for Football Players After Shoulder Instability Surgery

July 8, 2016 — Getting back into the game is important for any athlete after a significant injury but shoulder injuries can be tricky, especially for football ... read more

Making Better Orthopedic Surgeons: Track Their Errors as Well as Their Skills

June 29, 2016 — In a small study to determine the best way to assess the operating skills of would-be orthopedic surgeons, researchers found that tracking the trainees' performance on cadavers using ... read more

E-Wheelchair Should Weigh Less

June 27, 2016 — Whilst the advantages of a wheelchair with auxiliary drive are self-evident, they do not always outweigh the disadvantages. The weight of the construction can pose a physical burden on a certain ... read more

June 24, 2016 — A researcher has developed an adjustable tables where the front portion can be tilted for easy reading and writing in order to minimize the ergonomic health risks among school ... read more

Facebook Key to Identifying Thousands With Inflammatory Back Pain

June 10, 2016 — The results of a UK study showed that using Facebook to raise awareness about the symptoms of Inflammatory Back Pain (IBP) and the need to seek medical help early may reduce the delay in diagnosis ... read more

May 25, 2016 — Facelift patients who wish to avoid the dreaded 'turkey wattle' neckline years later should undergo a full-incision surgical technique instead of a short-scar method, according to novel new ... read more

Two-Fold Higher Risk of Concussions for NFL Players During Colder Game-Days

Mar. 31, 2016 — NFL players had a two-fold greater risk of concussions and 1.5 times higher risk for ankle injuries when games were played at colder temperatures, a new study has ... read more

Women, Men With Suspected Heart Disease Have Similar Symptoms

Mar. 23, 2016 — Chest pain and shortness of breath are the most common symptoms reported by both women and men with suspected heart disease, a finding that is in contrast to prior ... read more

Use of Mindfulness-Based Stress Reduction for Chronic Low Back Pain

Mar. 22, 2016 — Among adults with chronic low back pain, both mindfulness-based stress reduction and cognitive behavioral therapy resulted in greater improvement in back pain and functional limitations when compared ... read more

Women Suffer More Neck Pain Than Men

Mar. 8, 2016 — Women are 1.38 times more likely than men to report neck pain due to cervical degenerative disc disease, according to a new ... read more

New Procedure for Massive Rotator Cuff Tears Restores Stability Better, Say Researchers

Mar. 5, 2016 — Repairing massive rotator cuff tears is often a tricky proposition, especially for those who have failed prior surgery. New research considers how a new arthroscopic procedure to treat large rotator ... read more

Fatigue Contributing Factor in Kid's Pitching Injuries

Mar. 5, 2016 — Shoulder and elbow injuries in adolescent pitchers are becoming more and more prevalent each year. Researchers highlight how fatigue can affect pitching mechanics and potentially result in ... read more

Mar. 2, 2016 — After platelet-rich plasma injections, researchers have described the structural change in the healing process as well as improvement in patients' pain and function, in a new ... read more

One in Two Americans Have a Musculoskeletal Condition

Mar. 1, 2016 — An estimated 126.6 million Americans (one in two adults) are affected by a musculoskeletal condition -- comparable to the total percentage of Americans living with a chronic lung or heart condition ... read more

Osteopathic Manipulative Treatment Improves Low Back Pain, Avoid Surgery, Studies Find

Feb. 29, 2016 — Osteopathic manipulative treatment reduced pain and improved function in patients suffering from chronic, nonspecific low back pain, research shows. Further, patients reporting the worst pain and ... read more

Wristband and an App for a Better Back

Feb. 26, 2016 — You may think you are doing the right back exercises to help your back pain, but a new app coupled with a wristband will help you—and your doctors—to figure out if this is ... read more

Smoking Cigarettes Can Be a Chronic Pain in Your Neck

Feb. 18, 2016 — Adding to the already length list of reasons not to smoke, researchers have connected smoking to worsening degenerative disc disease in the cervical spine, according to new ... read more

Conversion of Head and Neck Cancer Cells Into Radiation-Resistant Cancer Stem Cells Depends on HPV Status, Study Finds

Feb. 9, 2016 — Head and neck cancers that test positive for the human papilloma virus (HPV) are known to respond more favorably to radiation therapy than those that test HPV-negative, but an explanation for these ... read more

Why Is Calcific Tendinitis So Painful?

Feb. 3, 2016 — Calcific tendinitis of the shoulder, typically characterized by calcium deposits on the rotator cuff, is an extremely painful condition that can severely impair movement and life quality. A new study ... read more

Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Friday, July 8, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Friday, June 24, 2016
Friday, June 10, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Tuesday, March 22, 2016
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Saturday, March 5, 2016
Wednesday, March 2, 2016
Tuesday, March 1, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Friday, February 26, 2016
Thursday, February 18, 2016
Tuesday, February 9, 2016
Wednesday, February 3, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Monday, January 11, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Monday, January 4, 2016
Tuesday, December 29, 2015
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Sunday, October 25, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Tuesday, October 20, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Thursday, October 8, 2015
Wednesday, October 7, 2015
Tuesday, October 6, 2015
Thursday, September 10, 2015
Wednesday, September 9, 2015
Tuesday, September 8, 2015
Monday, August 31, 2015
Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Saturday, July 11, 2015
Friday, July 10, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Wednesday, June 24, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Monday, May 18, 2015
Thursday, May 14, 2015
Thursday, May 7, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Tuesday, March 31, 2015
Saturday, March 28, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Friday, March 13, 2015
Thursday, March 12, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Monday, March 9, 2015
Thursday, February 26, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Thursday, February 19, 2015
Thursday, February 12, 2015
Monday, February 9, 2015
Friday, February 6, 2015
Thursday, February 5, 2015
Wednesday, February 4, 2015
Monday, January 19, 2015
Friday, January 9, 2015
Wednesday, December 17, 2014
Thursday, December 11, 2014
Wednesday, December 10, 2014