Neuropathy News
May 30, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 12:57am EDT

More Neuropathy News
May 30, 2016

Vitamin Nicotinamide Riboside Protects Mice from Diabetes Complications

May 27, 2016 — A naturally occurring vitamin, nicotinamide riboside, can improve metabolic symptoms and prevent peripheral nerve damage in mouse models of diabetes, according to a new ... read more

Genetic Biomarker May Predict Nerve Pain Side Effects Associated With Prostate Cancer Treatment

May 13, 2016 — Taxanes are a group of drugs commonly used to treat cancers of the breast, lung, ovary, or prostate, but its use can be limited by significant side effects. Researchers report prostate cancer ... read more

Surgery for Chronic Temporal Headaches: Simplified Approach Shows Good Results

Apr. 29, 2016 — A modified surgical technique may provide a simpler approach to the surgical treatment for one type of chronic headache, according to new ... read more

Apr. 11, 2016 — Glial cells nourish, protect, and support neurons, but their role is far from passive. A new study shows how they can change the shape of nerve endings and distinguish between the different types of ... read more

Apr. 11, 2016 — Results of a small study of people with tingling pain in their hands and feet have added to evidence that so-called prediabetes is more damaging to motor nerves than once believed, report ... read more

Inflammatory Factors Cause Damage to Back of Eye Following Keratoprosthesis Implantation

Apr. 7, 2016 — Researchers have identified inflammatory factors that contribute to optic nerve damage following keratoprosthesis implantation in a mouse model, a new report ... read more

Minimally Invasive Treatment Could Freeze out Phantom Limb Pain

Apr. 6, 2016 — A pioneering technique significantly reduces phantom limb pain -- chronic pain emanating from the site of amputated limbs ... read more

Potential New Source for Pain Inhibition Found

Apr. 4, 2016 — A new neurological mechanism has been found that appears to contribute to a reduction in pain. According to the researchers, the discovery of neuroligin-2 as a cause exacerbating chronic pain is ... read more

Use of Peripheral Nerve Blocks Associated With Improved Joint Replacement Outcomes

Apr. 1, 2016 — The use of peripheral nerve blocks (PNBs) is associated with better outcomes following hip and knee replacement, according to a study. Researchers compiled data on more than one million joint ... read more

For Young Adults, Sleep Problems Predict Later Pain Problems

Mar. 31, 2016 — For at least some groups of 'emerging adults,' sleep problems are a predictor of chronic pain and worsening pain severity over time, suggests a ... read more

Spinal Cord Regeneration Might Actually Be Helped by Glial Scar Tissue

Mar. 30, 2016 — Few neuroscientists question the idea that scar tissue formed by glial cells after brain or spinal cord injury impedes regrowth of damaged nerve cells. But now, working in mouse models, a team of ... read more

Researchers Identify New Cause of Inherited Neuropathy

Mar. 23, 2016 — Charcot-Marie-Tooth Disease is a family of inherited disorders of the peripheral nervous system, affecting approximately one in 2,500 Americans. Its most common iteration, CMT1, comes in many forms, ... read more

Mar. 17, 2016 — Researchers have identified a molecular signal, known as 'neuregulin-1,' which drives and enables the spinal cord's natural capacity for repair after ... read more

Traditional Measures of Inducing Pain Refuted in Exercise Experiments

Mar. 14, 2016 — People who are ready to engage in greater amounts of pain perform better in exercise activities, research shows. This indicates that traditional methods of measuring pain in experiments -- such as ... read more

Neurofeedback Reduces Pain, Increases Quality of Life for Cancer Patients Suffering from Chemotherapy-Induced Neuropathy

Mar. 11, 2016 — A new study evaluating the use of neurofeedback found a decrease in the experience of chronic pain and increase quality of life in patients with neuropathic pain, researchers ... read more

Women Suffer More Neck Pain Than Men

Mar. 8, 2016 — Women are 1.38 times more likely than men to report neck pain due to cervical degenerative disc disease, according to a new ... read more

30 Small Neurons Join Forces Against Pain

Mar. 3, 2016 — Oxytocin plays a crucial role in modulating the response to pain, but until now the process leading to its release was unknown. Scientists have just identified a new pain control center situated in ... read more

New Pain Relief Technique for ACL Knee Surgery Preserves Muscle Strength

Mar. 3, 2016 — Anesthesiologists can significantly reduce loss of muscle strength in ACL knee surgery patients using a new pain management technique, a new study has ... read more

Mar. 1, 2016 — Nerve ultrasound has rapidly developed into becoming a more precise and easily applied diagnosis tool. People suffering from injuries of peripheral nerves and require reconstructive plastic surgery ... read more

Feb. 29, 2016 — A specific molecule involved in maintaining pain after a nerve injury has been identified and blocked in mice by researchers. These results reveal a promising therapeutic strategy for treating ... read more

Friday, May 27, 2016
Friday, May 13, 2016
Friday, April 29, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Thursday, April 7, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Friday, April 1, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Friday, March 11, 2016
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Thursday, March 3, 2016
Tuesday, March 1, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Friday, February 19, 2016
Monday, February 15, 2016
Wednesday, February 10, 2016
Monday, February 8, 2016
Thursday, February 4, 2016
Wednesday, February 3, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Tuesday, January 26, 2016
Friday, January 22, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Monday, January 4, 2016
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Monday, December 14, 2015
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
Monday, November 30, 2015
Wednesday, November 18, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Friday, November 13, 2015
Monday, November 9, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Monday, October 12, 2015
Friday, October 9, 2015
Thursday, October 8, 2015
Monday, October 5, 2015
Thursday, September 10, 2015
Wednesday, September 9, 2015
Thursday, September 3, 2015
Wednesday, August 19, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Friday, June 19, 2015
Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Tuesday, June 9, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Friday, June 5, 2015
Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Tuesday, May 26, 2015
Monday, May 25, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Sunday, May 17, 2015
Friday, May 15, 2015
Wednesday, May 13, 2015
Monday, May 11, 2015
Sunday, May 10, 2015
Thursday, May 7, 2015
Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Tuesday, May 5, 2015