Neuropathy News
July 26, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 11:27pm EDT

More Neuropathy News
July 26, 2016

Mobilizing Mitochondria May Be Key to Regenerating Damaged Neurons

June 7, 2016 — Boosting the transport of mitochondria along neuronal axons enhances the ability of mouse nerve cells to repair themselves after injury, researchers have discovered. The study suggests potential new ... read more

Chemotherapy and Exercise: The Right Dose of Workout Helps Side Effects

June 4, 2016 — Researchers discovered something simple and inexpensive to reduce neuropathy in hands and feet due to chemotherapy -- ... read more

Differences in How ALS Affects Eye, Limb Muscles Act as Clue

June 2, 2016 — In an effort to better understand what happens during Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS), researchers have compared the impact of ALS on the eye and limb muscles. They have focused on specific ... read more

Scientists Discover, Test New Class of Pain Relievers

June 1, 2016 — A potential new class of small-molecule drugs has been discovered that simultaneously inhibit two sought-after targets in the treatment of pain, the ion channels TRPV4 and TRPA1. Their ... read more

Vitamin Nicotinamide Riboside Protects Mice from Diabetes Complications

May 27, 2016 — A naturally occurring vitamin, nicotinamide riboside, can improve metabolic symptoms and prevent peripheral nerve damage in mouse models of diabetes, according to a new ... read more

Drug Used for Pain, Anxiety May Be Linked to Birth Defects

May 18, 2016 — A drug commonly used to treat pain, epilepsy, anxiety and other brain health disorders may be associated with an increased risk of major birth defects, according to a new ... read more

Genetic Biomarker May Predict Nerve Pain Side Effects Associated With Prostate Cancer Treatment

May 13, 2016 — Taxanes are a group of drugs commonly used to treat cancers of the breast, lung, ovary, or prostate, but its use can be limited by significant side effects. Researchers report prostate cancer ... read more

Research Findings Reveal Potential to Reverse Cancer-Related Nerve Pain

May 5, 2016 — A study providing new information about neuropathic pain afflicting some 90 percent of cancer patients who have had nerve damage caused by tumors, surgery, chemotherapy or radiation indicates gene ... read more

Researchers Identify New Pathway Leading to Alzheimer's Disease

May 5, 2016 — A newly discovered pathway leading to neurodegeneration in Alzheimer's disease may unlock the door to new approaches for treating the ... read more

Surgery for Chronic Temporal Headaches: Simplified Approach Shows Good Results

Apr. 29, 2016 — A modified surgical technique may provide a simpler approach to the surgical treatment for one type of chronic headache, according to new ... read more

Vessel Damage May Precede Diabetic Retinopathy, Researchers Find

Apr. 27, 2016 — For many years, scientists believed patients developed retinopathy and, as a result of the damage to the blood vessels, later developed neuropathy. In a new study, however, researchers discovered ... read more

A New Player Revealed in Nerve Growth Process

Apr. 20, 2016 — A protein previously known for its role in kidney function, adaptor protein CD2AP, also plays a significant role in the nervous system, and is associated with a type of neural growth known as ... read more

Multivitamin Use Protects Against Chemotherapy-Induced Peripheral Neuropathy in Breast Cancer Patients

Apr. 20, 2016 — Researchers have found that use of multivitamins prior to diagnosis may reduce the risk of neuropathy in breast cancer patients treated with the class of drugs known as ... read more

Apr. 14, 2016 — Recent research identifying the underlying mechanisms of peripheral neuropathy, or nerve damage, has raised the prospect that drug therapies can be developed for the treatment of this condition, ... read more

Over-the-Counter Drug May Reverse Chronic Vision Damage Caused by Multiple Sclerosis

Apr. 12, 2016 — A common antihistamine used to treat symptoms of allergies and the common cold, called clemastine fumarate, partially reversed damage to the visual system in people with multiple sclerosis (MS) in a ... read more

Study Provides New Understanding of Diabetic Peripheral Neuropathy

Apr. 12, 2016 — A research team provides a paradigm shift in the understanding of cellular and molecular mechanisms underlying diabetic peripheral neuropathy and wound healing in the treatment of corneal and skin ... read more

Apr. 12, 2016 — A research team has revealed new information on the underlying mechanisms of cell circuits in a part of the brain for novel therapeutic strategies to treat chronic ... read more

Apr. 11, 2016 — Glial cells nourish, protect, and support neurons, but their role is far from passive. A new study shows how they can change the shape of nerve endings and distinguish between the different types of ... read more

Apr. 11, 2016 — Results of a small study of people with tingling pain in their hands and feet have added to evidence that so-called prediabetes is more damaging to motor nerves than once believed, report ... read more

Inflammatory Factors Cause Damage to Back of Eye Following Keratoprosthesis Implantation

Apr. 7, 2016 — Researchers have identified inflammatory factors that contribute to optic nerve damage following keratoprosthesis implantation in a mouse model, a new report ... read more

Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Saturday, June 4, 2016
Thursday, June 2, 2016
Wednesday, June 1, 2016
Friday, May 27, 2016
Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Friday, May 13, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Friday, April 29, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Tuesday, April 12, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Thursday, April 7, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Friday, April 1, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Friday, March 11, 2016
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Thursday, March 3, 2016
Tuesday, March 1, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Friday, February 19, 2016
Monday, February 15, 2016
Wednesday, February 10, 2016
Monday, February 8, 2016
Thursday, February 4, 2016
Wednesday, February 3, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Tuesday, January 26, 2016
Friday, January 22, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Monday, January 4, 2016
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Monday, December 14, 2015
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
Monday, November 30, 2015
Wednesday, November 18, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Friday, November 13, 2015
Monday, November 9, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Monday, October 12, 2015
Friday, October 9, 2015
Thursday, October 8, 2015
Monday, October 5, 2015
Friday, September 18, 2015
Thursday, September 10, 2015
Wednesday, September 9, 2015
Thursday, September 3, 2015
Wednesday, August 19, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Friday, June 19, 2015
Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Tuesday, June 9, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Friday, June 5, 2015