NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Neuropathy News
September 28, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 11:27pm EDT

More Neuropathy News
September 28, 2016

Despite Chronic Pain, South Africans With HIV-Related Pain Are Surprisingly Active

Sep. 13, 2016 — South Africans with HIV-related pain are surprisingly active and this is not due to their resilience, says a new report. More than 50% of HIV-positive individuals experience a painful condition like ... read more

Opioid Receptors Outside the Brain Targeted in Rats; New Direction for Painkillers

Aug. 25, 2016 — Opioid abuse is a growing public health crisis, affecting up to 36 million people worldwide. Many of these individuals first get hooked on prescription painkillers that target mu opioid receptors in ... read more

New Drug Target Could Prevent Tolerance, Addiction to Opioids, Study Finds

Aug. 22, 2016 — Researchers have identified a brain mechanism that could be a drug target to help prevent tolerance and addiction to opioid pain medication, such as ... read more

Swimming Is an Effective Part of the Treatment for Fibromyalgia, Study Suggests

Aug. 19, 2016 — Swimming is as effective as walking to relieve pain and improve quality of life for patients with fibromyalgia, that experience chronic diffuse non-inflammatory pain in the musculoskeletal system ... read more

Genetic and Environmental Risk Factors for Chronic Pain

Aug. 16, 2016 — Both genetic factors and family environment contribute to risk for chronic pain, and contributions of many genes contribute to risk of both chronic pain and major depressive disorder (MDD), according ... read more

Brain Stimulation Technique Shown Effective in Phantom Limb Pain

Aug. 10, 2016 — As many as 25,000 people a year worldwide lose limbs from land mine blasts, and a new study shows that transcranial magnetic stimulation (rTMS) administered to the scalp can stimulate the brain and ... read more

Targeting Brain Cells to Alleviate Neuropathic Pain

Aug. 8, 2016 — Chronic neuropathic pain -- caused by nerve damage as a result of an injury, surgery or a debilitating disease like diabetes or cancer -- could be greatly reduced in animals when the injury is ... read more

Impact of Prion Proteins on the Nerves Revealed for the First Time

Aug. 8, 2016 — When prion proteins mutate, they trigger mad cow and Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease. Although they are found in virtually every organism, the function of these proteins remained unclear. Researchers now ... read more

Novel Genetic Mutation May Lead to the Progressive Loss of Motor Function

Aug. 3, 2016 — Researchers have identified the genetic cause and a possible therapeutic target for a rare form of pediatric progressive ... read more

New Cause of Immune Neuropathy Discovered

Aug. 3, 2016 — Wuerzburg neurologists have discovered an antibody that is involved in triggering certain forms of neuropathies. This discovery also allowed them to show a way to treat these diseases ... read more

Pain Often Improves in Older Veterans, Study Shows

July 28, 2016 — Older military veterans frequently show improvements in pain intensity over time. However, opioids, some mental health conditions and certain pain diagnoses are associated with lower likelihood of ... read more

'Pain Paradox' Discovery Provides Route to New Pain Control Drugs

July 28, 2016 — A natural substance known to activate pain in the central nervous system has been found to have the opposite effect in other parts of the body, potentially paving the way to new methods of pain ... read more

Fibromyalgia: Doubling Up to Fight Pain

July 13, 2016 — A more effective way of treating fibromyalgia, a medical condition characterized by chronic widespread pain typically accompanied by fatigue, as well as sleep, mood and memory problems has been ... read more

Cutting Nerves During Breast Cancer Surgery Is Associated With Chronic Pain

July 11, 2016 — A systematic review has been conducted that analyzed 30 observational studies that enrolled 20,000 women undergoing surgery for breast cancer. Analysis of this data suggested that disruption of ... read more

Transplant Drug May Provide Benefits After Spinal Cord Injury

July 8, 2016 — New research in mice indicates that a drug commonly used to suppress the immune system in recipients of organ transplants may also reduce tissue damage and neuropathic pain after spinal cord injury. ... read more

Risk of Blindness from Spine Surgery Down Significantly

June 30, 2016 — The risk of blindness caused by spinal fusion, one of the most common surgeries performed in the U.S., has dropped almost three-fold since the late 1990s, according to the largest study of the topic ... read more

June 29, 2016 — A glutamate receptor GluD2 was responsible for the regeneration of synapses in the cerebellum, researchers report at the conclusion of a recent ... read more

An Effective but Painful Treatment

June 23, 2016 — Photodynamic therapy is an effective treatment for early-stage skin cancer. However, this therapy can cause patients severe pain. The reason for this was previous a mystery to researchers. ... read more

June 23, 2016 — Researchers have found that a suite of genes in both fruit flies and humans plays a role in nerve sensitivity. The research could lead to new drug targets in pain ... read more

Researchers Explore Epigenetic Influences of Chronic Pain

June 21, 2016 — New research shows how the DNA-binding protein MeCP2 can regulate the expression of a large number of genes that modulate pain. This study is a first step in identifying new, non-opioid drugs for ... read more

Tuesday, September 13, 2016
Thursday, August 25, 2016
Monday, August 22, 2016
Friday, August 19, 2016
Tuesday, August 16, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Monday, August 8, 2016
Wednesday, August 3, 2016
Thursday, July 28, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Friday, July 8, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Thursday, June 23, 2016
Tuesday, June 21, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Saturday, June 4, 2016
Thursday, June 2, 2016
Wednesday, June 1, 2016
Friday, May 27, 2016
Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Friday, May 13, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Friday, April 29, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Tuesday, April 12, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Thursday, April 7, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Friday, April 1, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Friday, March 11, 2016
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Thursday, March 3, 2016
Tuesday, March 1, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Friday, February 19, 2016
Monday, February 15, 2016
Wednesday, February 10, 2016
Monday, February 8, 2016
Thursday, February 4, 2016
Wednesday, February 3, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Tuesday, January 26, 2016
Friday, January 22, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Monday, January 4, 2016
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Monday, December 14, 2015
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
Monday, November 30, 2015
Wednesday, November 18, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Friday, November 13, 2015
Monday, November 9, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Monday, October 12, 2015
Friday, October 9, 2015
Thursday, October 8, 2015
Monday, October 5, 2015
Friday, September 18, 2015
Thursday, September 10, 2015
Wednesday, September 9, 2015