Wounds and Healing News
August 27, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 12:03pm EDT

More Wounds and Healing News
August 27, 2016

Forensic Research Finds Bone Density Affects Size of Bullet Holes

Aug. 3, 2016 — A proof-of-concept study finds that the density of bones in the skull affects the size of bullet holes in the skull. The finding is useful for law enforcement officials and medical examiners seeking ... read more

HBOT for Diabetic Foot: Hint of Benefit for Wound Closure

July 6, 2016 — Diabetic foot wounds can heal better with additional HBOT, report investigators, but no advantages were found for other aspects of ... read more

Do Dressings Prevent Infection?

May 24, 2016 — There is insufficient evidence to know whether dressings reduce the risk of wound infection after surgery and, in some cases, leaving a wound exposed may be better, say ... read more

Does Sepsis Keep Killing Months Later?

May 23, 2016 — Researchers have investigated if previous health conditions in sicker patients were driving the risk of late death after sepsis. Late death refers to the deaths that take place months to years after ... read more

In Obese Prostate Cancer Patients, Robotic Surgery Reduces Risk of Blood Loss

May 20, 2016 — In obese prostate cancer patients, robotic-assisted surgery to remove the prostate reduces the risk of blood loss and prolonged hospital stays, a new study has ... read more

Minimally Invasive Tendon Repair Technique Supports Knee Movement Sooner After Surgery

May 16, 2016 — Researchers have found that suture anchors, a less-invasive tendon repair technique, responded better to strength-testing after the surgery, supporting more movement in the knee earlier in the ... read more

Burn Injuries: Better Methods of Treatment Using Soluble Factors from Irradiated White Blood Cells

May 12, 2016 — Extensive burn injuries are usually treated by transplanting layers of skin from other parts of the body. Although this is a commonly used method, the wounds do not always heal completely. A research ... read more

Patients May Not Need to Wait Two Weeks to Shower Following Knee Replacement Surgery

May 12, 2016 — It may not be necessary for knee replacement patients to wait up to two weeks after surgery before showering, as many surgeons now require, new research ... read more

Apr. 27, 2016 — Sepsis constitutes the main cause of disease in people suffering from burns. Researchers studied the effect of exudates on the survival and the virulence of these bacteria. The results demonstrate ... read more

Apr. 21, 2016 — A plant-based polyphenol promotes the migration of Mesenchymal Stem Cells (MSCs) in blood circulation and accumulates them in damaged tissues to improve wound healing, scientists have found. It is ... read more

Apr. 14, 2016 — Immune system cells linked to allergies also turn out to direct healing of mouse muscle wounds when paired with biologic 'scaffolding' to support them, researchers report. The finding adds ... read more

Apr. 8, 2016 — Sepsis represents a serious complication of infection and is one of the leading causes of death and critical illness worldwide due in part to the lack of effective therapies. A report provides ... read more

Apr. 5, 2016 — A torn anterior cruciate ligament, or ACL, is one of the most common knee injuries. Approximately 200,000 Americans experience a torn ACL each year, and more than half undergo surgical repairs. Now, ... read more

Mar. 23, 2016 — In a proof-of-concept study, researchers show that genetically engineered green bottle fly larvae can produce and secrete a human growth factor -- a molecule that helps promote cell growth and wound ... read more

Need Your Thyroid Removed? Seek a Surgeon With 25+ Cases a Year

Mar. 14, 2016 — Patients who need to have their thyroid gland removed should seek surgeons who perform 25 or more thyroidectomies a year for the least risk of complications, a new study ... read more

Enzyme Involved in Glucose Metabolism Promotes Wound Healing, Study Finds

Mar. 10, 2016 — An enzyme involved in glucose metabolism in cells plays a major role in the early steps of wound healing, a finding that could lead to new therapeutic approaches for wound care, according to ... read more

Is Hip Arthroscopic Surgery a Sham? Researchers Seek Answer

Mar. 10, 2016 — Arthroscopic hip surgeries have replaced open surgeries as the go-to cure for femoroacetabular impingement (FAI). The number of such procedures increased 18-fold in the U.S. within a decade. However, ... read more

Nurse Staffing Levels Key to Keeping Rehospitalizations Down for Hip/knee Surgery Patients

Mar. 2, 2016 — Patients, who undergo elective hip and knee surgery in hospitals with inadequate nurse staffing and poor nurse work environments, are more likely to require re-hospitalization, research ... read more

Mar. 2, 2016 — Researchers have pinpointed a human gene product that helps regulate wound healing and may control scarring in people recovering from severe injuries and damage to certain internal organs. The ... read more

New Definitions Created for Sepsis, Septic Shock

Feb. 22, 2016 — Updated definitions and clinical criteria for sepsis should facilitate earlier recognition and more timely management of patients with or at risk of developing sepsis, report ... read more

Wednesday, August 3, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Monday, May 23, 2016
Friday, May 20, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Thursday, May 12, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Friday, April 8, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Wednesday, March 2, 2016
Monday, February 22, 2016
Wednesday, February 17, 2016
Tuesday, February 9, 2016
Monday, February 8, 2016
Friday, February 5, 2016
Thursday, February 4, 2016
Friday, January 29, 2016
Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Tuesday, December 22, 2015
Friday, December 18, 2015
Thursday, December 17, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Wednesday, November 18, 2015
Tuesday, November 17, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Wednesday, November 11, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Wednesday, October 7, 2015
Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Tuesday, September 15, 2015
Monday, September 14, 2015
Monday, August 31, 2015
Monday, August 24, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
Tuesday, August 18, 2015
Monday, August 10, 2015
Thursday, August 6, 2015
Tuesday, August 4, 2015
Thursday, July 30, 2015
Monday, July 27, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Sunday, July 12, 2015
Friday, July 10, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Wednesday, July 8, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Tuesday, June 2, 2015
Tuesday, May 26, 2015
Thursday, May 14, 2015
Thursday, May 7, 2015
Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Friday, May 1, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Monday, April 27, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Monday, April 6, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Saturday, March 28, 2015
Friday, March 27, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015