Wounds and Healing News
May 24, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 8:34am EDT

More Wounds and Healing News
May 24, 2016

Minimally Invasive Tendon Repair Technique Supports Knee Movement Sooner After Surgery

May 16, 2016 — Researchers have found that suture anchors, a less-invasive tendon repair technique, responded better to strength-testing after the surgery, supporting more movement in the knee earlier in the ... read more

Apr. 21, 2016 — A plant-based polyphenol promotes the migration of Mesenchymal Stem Cells (MSCs) in blood circulation and accumulates them in damaged tissues to improve wound healing, scientists have found. It is ... read more

Enzyme Involved in Glucose Metabolism Promotes Wound Healing, Study Finds

Mar. 10, 2016 — An enzyme involved in glucose metabolism in cells plays a major role in the early steps of wound healing, a finding that could lead to new therapeutic approaches for wound care, according to ... read more

Is Hip Arthroscopic Surgery a Sham? Researchers Seek Answer

Mar. 10, 2016 — Arthroscopic hip surgeries have replaced open surgeries as the go-to cure for femoroacetabular impingement (FAI). The number of such procedures increased 18-fold in the U.S. within a decade. However, ... read more

Nurse Staffing Levels Key to Keeping Rehospitalizations Down for Hip/knee Surgery Patients

Mar. 2, 2016 — Patients, who undergo elective hip and knee surgery in hospitals with inadequate nurse staffing and poor nurse work environments, are more likely to require re-hospitalization, research ... read more

Mar. 2, 2016 — Researchers have pinpointed a human gene product that helps regulate wound healing and may control scarring in people recovering from severe injuries and damage to certain internal organs. The ... read more

New Definitions Created for Sepsis, Septic Shock

Feb. 22, 2016 — Updated definitions and clinical criteria for sepsis should facilitate earlier recognition and more timely management of patients with or at risk of developing sepsis, report ... read more

Ensuring Ongoing Care for Patients Treated During Short-Term Surgical Mission Trips

Feb. 17, 2016 — Each year, hundreds of orthopaedic surgeons travel to developing countries to treat and care for patients. Yet despite the successful completion of many surgical procedures on patients who may not ... read more

Wound-Healing Intestinal Bacteria: Like Shrubs After a Forest Fire

Feb. 9, 2016 — In injured mouse intestines, specific types of bacteria step forward to promote healing, scientists have found. Potentially, some of these microbes could be exploited as treatments for conditions ... read more

Newer Pain Management Strategies Can Lead to Quicker, Shorter Recovery After Total Knee Replacement

Feb. 8, 2016 — According to a new literature review , a team-based care approach (consisting of the patient, family members, the orthopaedic surgeon and other medical practitioners) on total knee replacement (TKR) ... read more

New Method for Rapid Detection of Infection in Wounds

Feb. 5, 2016 — A new method for detection of infection in wounds could take physicians less than a minute to complete, rather than the current 24 hours it takes for ... read more

Honey’s Potential to Save Lives by Destroying Harmful Fungus

Feb. 5, 2016 — The healing powers of honey have been known for thousands of years. Now a researchers has discovered a powerful link between a medicinal type of honey and the destruction of a fungus that can cause ... read more

To Prevent Infection After C-Section, Chlorhexidine Better Than Iodine

Feb. 4, 2016 — Chlorhexidine-alcohol skin prep is superior to iodine-alcohol for preventing infection after C-section, according to a new study. Rather than prepping patients with iodine-alcohol -- a common ... read more

Jan. 29, 2016 — Stem cells have been put into plasters and bandages to help heal wounds for the first time, thanks to a newly developed technique. The method of encasing stem cells in an alginate gel made from ... read more

New Material With Built-in Vitamin A May Reduce Scarring

Jan. 27, 2016 — Material can be used to treat damaged blood vessels or to make medical devices with intrinsic healing properties, which could reduce tissue scarring, report ... read more

Jan. 14, 2016 — A polymer sphere that delivers a molecule to bone wounds that tells cells already at the injury site to repair the damage has been developed by a team of ... read more

Study Finds Gaps in Patient Knowledge of Breast Reconstruction Surgery, Complications

Jan. 7, 2016 — Breast cancer patients surveyed about their knowledge of breast reconstruction were only moderately informed about the procedure, and their knowledge of complications was low, a new study has ... read more

Penetrating Head Gunshot Wounds in Children and Adolescents: Factors Predicting Outcomes

Jan. 5, 2016 — Intracranial gunshot wounds (GSWs) in children and adolescents have been studied by researchers who identified nine clinical, laboratory, and radiological factors that were predictive of these ... read more

Vitamin D Levels Linked to Weight-Loss Surgery Outcomes

Dec. 22, 2015 — Low levels of vitamin D have long been identified as an unwanted hallmark of weight loss surgery, but new findings from a study of more than 930,000 patient records add to evidence that seasonal sun ... read more

Mental Health Status Prior to Bladder Cancer Surgery Can Indicate Risk of Complications

Dec. 18, 2015 — A patient's mental health prior to surgery can influence postoperative outcomes. Removal of the bladder, or radical cystectomy (RC), is an effective treatment for locally advanced bladder ... read more

Monday, May 16, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Wednesday, March 2, 2016
Monday, February 22, 2016
Wednesday, February 17, 2016
Tuesday, February 9, 2016
Monday, February 8, 2016
Friday, February 5, 2016
Thursday, February 4, 2016
Friday, January 29, 2016
Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Tuesday, December 22, 2015
Friday, December 18, 2015
Thursday, December 17, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Wednesday, November 18, 2015
Tuesday, November 17, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Wednesday, November 11, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Wednesday, October 7, 2015
Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Tuesday, September 15, 2015
Monday, September 14, 2015
Monday, August 31, 2015
Monday, August 24, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
Tuesday, August 18, 2015
Monday, August 10, 2015
Thursday, August 6, 2015
Tuesday, August 4, 2015
Thursday, July 30, 2015
Monday, July 27, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Sunday, July 12, 2015
Friday, July 10, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Wednesday, July 8, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Tuesday, June 2, 2015
Tuesday, May 26, 2015
Thursday, May 14, 2015
Thursday, May 7, 2015
Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Friday, May 1, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Monday, April 27, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Monday, April 6, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Saturday, March 28, 2015
Friday, March 27, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Friday, March 20, 2015
Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Monday, February 23, 2015
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Monday, February 9, 2015
Friday, February 6, 2015
Thursday, January 29, 2015
Monday, January 26, 2015
Tuesday, January 13, 2015
Friday, January 9, 2015
Wednesday, January 7, 2015
Monday, January 5, 2015