Wounds and Healing News
May 27, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 8:59pm EDT

More Wounds and Healing News
May 27, 2017

New Defense Mechanism Against Bacteria Discovered

May 5, 2017 — Researchers believe they have cracked the mystery of why we are able to quickly prevent an infection from spreading uncontrollably in the body during wounding. They believe this knowledge may be of ... read more

Wound Healing: The Stem Cell Dynamic

Mar. 1, 2017 — One of the key questions in biology is to identify how tissues are repaired after trauma and understand how stem cells migrate, proliferate, and differentiate to repair tissue damage. Researchers ... read more

Feb. 16, 2017 — Scientists have identified a molecule that sends a 'wound-healing' message from tumor cells. If we can disrupt this messaging system, we may be able to fight certain cancers, say ... read more

Depression or Anxiety May Increase Risk of Surgical Wound Complications

Feb. 16, 2017 — Patients' mental health may affect their risk of experiencing wound-related complications after surgery, new research ... read more

Faster Way of Detecting Bacteria Could Save Your Life

Feb. 3, 2017 — A faster way to detect the bacteria causing patients to become sick has now been developed, giving physicians a better chance at saving ... read more

Feb. 2, 2017 — More than six million cases of chronic wounds cost $20 billion each year in the United States. Diabetic ulcers, pressure sores, surgical site wounds and traumatic injuries to high-risk patients ... read more

Laparoscopic Anti-Reflux Operation for GERD Linked to Fewer Postoperative Complications

Jan. 26, 2017 — Patients with gastroesophageal reflux disease, known as GERD, who undergo laparoscopic anti-reflux operations compared with traditional 'open' operations suffer fewer postoperative ... read more

Skin Closure Options for Cesarean Delivery: Glue Vs. Subcuticular Sutures

Jan. 23, 2017 — Cesarean delivery rates have increased during the last few decades and it has become the most common surgery during a woman's reproductive years. There is currently no definite evidence ... read more

Comparing Skin Closure Options for Cesarean Delivery

Jan. 23, 2017 — Researchers tested two types of sutures -- poliglecaprone 25 (monocryl® suture) and polyglactin 910 (vicryl® suture). Monocryl is an absorbable, single filament suture with low tissue reactivity ... read more

Surgical Site Infections Are the Most Common and Costly of Hospital Infections

Jan. 19, 2017 — Researchers updated guidelines for the prevention, detection and management of surgical site infections, which affect as many as 300,000 patients per year in the United ... read more

Antimicrobial Sutures Can Prevent Surgical Site Infections and Save Money

Jan. 17, 2017 — New analyses of the published clinical studies indicate that antimicrobial sutures are effective for preventing surgical site infections (SSIs), and they can result in significant cost ... read more

Recognize Sepsis as a Separate Cause of Illness and Death

Jan. 9, 2017 — Sepsis should be recognized as a separate cause of illness and death around the world. This focus would help efforts to prevent sepsis by improving hygiene, nutrition and vaccination rates and also ... read more

Study Identifies a Way to Prevent Burn Injury Infection, Without Antibiotics

Dec. 20, 2016 — A new way to fight multidrug-resistant bacteria by blinding them rather than killing them proved highly effective in a model of burn injuries, research ... read more

Study of Thousands of Operations Suggests That Overlapping Surgeries Are Safe

Dec. 1, 2016 — A common way of scheduling surgeries to expand patient access to care and improve hospital efficiency, known as “overlapping surgeries,” is as safe and provides the same outcomes for patients as ... read more

Nov. 28, 2016 — A new study rates the water pressure of several improvised wound irrigation tools to see how they stack up against commercial ... read more

Chronic Wound Patients Who Never Receive Opioids Heal Faster, New Study Finds

Nov. 21, 2016 — Opioid exposure is associated with reduced likelihood of healing in patients with chronic wounds, new research ... read more

This New Technology Could Prevent a Leading Cause of Death

Oct. 31, 2016 — Sepsis can kill a person in two days. Normal methods of detecting sepsis take at least that long. But researchers have found a new way to significantly reduce that detection time, giving medical ... read more

Oct. 28, 2016 — To get a head start on healing burn wounds, biomedical engineers at Michigan Technological University turn to the body's natural network. They combine engineered stem cell sheets with split ... read more

Researchers Develop System to Classify Gunshot Wounds to the Head and Other Similar Injuries

Oct. 26, 2016 — Every year, more than 32,000 Americans die from gunshot wounds. A significant proportion of these deaths involve head wounds. Despite this massive public health burden, researchers know little about ... read more

Faster, Better Healing of Infected Wounds Using Negative Pressure Technique

Oct. 14, 2016 — Shorter wound healing time, fewer dressing changes and the opportunity for earlier discharge from the hospital. These are some of the benefits of negative pressure wound therapy to treat wound ... read more

Friday, May 5, 2017
Wednesday, March 1, 2017
Thursday, February 16, 2017
Friday, February 3, 2017
Thursday, February 2, 2017
Thursday, January 26, 2017
Monday, January 23, 2017
Thursday, January 19, 2017
Tuesday, January 17, 2017
Monday, January 9, 2017
Tuesday, December 20, 2016
Thursday, December 1, 2016
Monday, November 28, 2016
Monday, November 21, 2016
Monday, October 31, 2016
Friday, October 28, 2016
Wednesday, October 26, 2016
Friday, October 14, 2016
Tuesday, October 11, 2016
Monday, October 10, 2016
Friday, September 30, 2016
Tuesday, September 6, 2016
Thursday, September 1, 2016
Wednesday, August 31, 2016
Friday, August 26, 2016
Monday, August 22, 2016
Wednesday, August 17, 2016
Wednesday, August 3, 2016
Thursday, July 28, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Thursday, June 16, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Thursday, June 2, 2016
Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Monday, May 23, 2016
Friday, May 20, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Thursday, May 12, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Friday, April 8, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Wednesday, March 2, 2016
Monday, February 22, 2016
Wednesday, February 17, 2016
Tuesday, February 9, 2016
Monday, February 8, 2016
Friday, February 5, 2016
Thursday, February 4, 2016
Friday, January 29, 2016
Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Tuesday, December 22, 2015
Friday, December 18, 2015
Thursday, December 17, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Wednesday, November 18, 2015
Tuesday, November 17, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Wednesday, November 11, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Wednesday, October 7, 2015
Friday, October 2, 2015
Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Tuesday, September 15, 2015
Monday, September 14, 2015
Monday, August 31, 2015
Monday, August 24, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
Tuesday, August 18, 2015
Monday, August 10, 2015