NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Wounds and Healing News
February 27, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 7:04am EST

More Wounds and Healing News
February 27, 2017

Skin Closure Options for Cesarean Delivery: Glue Vs. Subcuticular Sutures

Jan. 23, 2017 — Cesarean delivery rates have increased during the last few decades and it has become the most common surgery during a woman's reproductive years. There is currently no definite evidence ... read more

Comparing Skin Closure Options for Cesarean Delivery

Jan. 23, 2017 — Researchers tested two types of sutures -- poliglecaprone 25 (monocryl® suture) and polyglactin 910 (vicryl® suture). Monocryl is an absorbable, single filament suture with low tissue reactivity ... read more

Antimicrobial Sutures Can Prevent Surgical Site Infections and Save Money

Jan. 17, 2017 — New analyses of the published clinical studies indicate that antimicrobial sutures are effective for preventing surgical site infections (SSIs), and they can result in significant cost ... read more

Study of Thousands of Operations Suggests That Overlapping Surgeries Are Safe

Dec. 1, 2016 — A common way of scheduling surgeries to expand patient access to care and improve hospital efficiency, known as “overlapping surgeries,” is as safe and provides the same outcomes for patients as ... read more

Nov. 28, 2016 — A new study rates the water pressure of several improvised wound irrigation tools to see how they stack up against commercial ... read more

Oct. 28, 2016 — To get a head start on healing burn wounds, biomedical engineers at Michigan Technological University turn to the body's natural network. They combine engineered stem cell sheets with split ... read more

Researchers Develop System to Classify Gunshot Wounds to the Head and Other Similar Injuries

Oct. 26, 2016 — Every year, more than 32,000 Americans die from gunshot wounds. A significant proportion of these deaths involve head wounds. Despite this massive public health burden, researchers know little about ... read more

Faster, Better Healing of Infected Wounds Using Negative Pressure Technique

Oct. 14, 2016 — Shorter wound healing time, fewer dressing changes and the opportunity for earlier discharge from the hospital. These are some of the benefits of negative pressure wound therapy to treat wound ... read more

New Approach to Gallbladder Surgery, Smallest Reported Incision

Oct. 11, 2016 — A surgical team has completed the first series of operations with a novel surgical system that can remove a diseased gallbladder through a single incision hidden in the belly ... read more

Diabetes: New Hope for Better Wound Healing

Oct. 10, 2016 — A sluggish insulin metabolism results in the slow and incomplete healing of injuries. That is why diabetics often have to contend with wounds that heal poorly. Researchers have now gained new ... read more

Self-Adhesive Dressing Generates Electrical Current That Promotes Healing, Reduces Infection Risk

Sep. 30, 2016 — From precious metals to maggots, physicians have tried just about everything to help reverse the negative spiral of chronic wounds. And for good reason – these types of non-healing wounds currently ... read more

Sep. 13, 2016 — Treating cells with cold plasma leads to their regeneration and rejuvenation, research shows. This result can be used to develop a plasma therapy program for patients with non-healing wounds, say the ... read more

Fungi Contribute to Delayed Healing of Chronic Wounds

Sep. 6, 2016 — Fungal communities found in chronic wounds can form mixed bacterial-fungal biofilms and can be associated with poor outcomes and longer healing times, researchers have discovered. Their report is the ... read more

Importance of Catching and Treating Sepsis Early

Sep. 1, 2016 — Every minute, someone comes into a hospital emergency department in the United States with sepsis, a life-threatening over-response to infection that damages tissues and organs. The CDC recently ... read more

Simple Measures Cut Sepsis Deaths Nearly in Half

Aug. 31, 2016 — Sepsis, commonly called blood poisoning, is a common affliction that can affect people of all ages. A series of simple measures tested at a Norwegian hospital can make a difference in successfully ... read more

Aug. 26, 2016 — A definitive link between the makeup of the microbiome, the host immune response, and an organism’s ability to heal itself has been confirmed by ... read more

New Care Plan Improves Crohn’s Disease Complication Outcomes

Aug. 22, 2016 — The first published medical and surgical approach care plan for managing septic perianal Crohn’s disease, a serious complication that occurs in around 40 percent of Crohn’s disease patients has ... read more

Regenerative Bandage Heals Diabetic Wounds Faster

Aug. 17, 2016 — An antioxidant bandage heals wounds four times faster by delivering a protein that promotes cell repair, report investigators. Called a "regenerative bandage," the novel material heals ... read more

Forensic Research Finds Bone Density Affects Size of Bullet Holes

Aug. 3, 2016 — A proof-of-concept study finds that the density of bones in the skull affects the size of bullet holes in the skull. The finding is useful for law enforcement officials and medical examiners seeking ... read more

Breakthrough in Fight Against Antibiotic Resistance

July 28, 2016 — Scientists have developed a pioneering new treatment to prevent bacterial skin infections, which could be used in the battle against 'superbugs', such as ... read more

Monday, January 23, 2017
Tuesday, January 17, 2017
Thursday, December 1, 2016
Monday, November 28, 2016
Friday, October 28, 2016
Wednesday, October 26, 2016
Friday, October 14, 2016
Tuesday, October 11, 2016
Monday, October 10, 2016
Friday, September 30, 2016
Tuesday, September 13, 2016
Tuesday, September 6, 2016
Thursday, September 1, 2016
Wednesday, August 31, 2016
Friday, August 26, 2016
Monday, August 22, 2016
Wednesday, August 17, 2016
Wednesday, August 3, 2016
Thursday, July 28, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Thursday, June 16, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Thursday, June 2, 2016
Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Monday, May 23, 2016
Friday, May 20, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Thursday, May 12, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Friday, April 8, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Wednesday, March 2, 2016
Monday, February 22, 2016
Wednesday, February 17, 2016
Tuesday, February 9, 2016
Monday, February 8, 2016
Friday, February 5, 2016
Thursday, February 4, 2016
Friday, January 29, 2016
Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Tuesday, December 22, 2015
Friday, December 18, 2015
Thursday, December 17, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Wednesday, November 18, 2015
Tuesday, November 17, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Wednesday, November 11, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Wednesday, October 7, 2015
Friday, October 2, 2015
Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Tuesday, September 15, 2015
Monday, September 14, 2015
Monday, August 31, 2015
Monday, August 24, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
Tuesday, August 18, 2015
Monday, August 10, 2015
Thursday, August 6, 2015
Tuesday, August 4, 2015
Thursday, July 30, 2015
Wednesday, July 29, 2015
Monday, July 27, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Sunday, July 12, 2015
Friday, July 10, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Wednesday, July 8, 2015