Asthma News
August 29, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 5:54pm EDT

More Asthma News
August 29, 2016

Asthma: Researchers Have Discovered a Type of Eosinophil That Plays a Protective and Beneficial Role

Aug. 22, 2016 — The eosinophils that contribute to inflammation and exacerbation of the asthmatic response had been known to scientists for some time. But another type of eosinophil has been discovered that, to the ... read more

Study Suggests Ways to Block Hypertension in Those With Sleep Apnea

Aug. 16, 2016 — Suppressing hydrogen sulfide production in the carotid body may block the hypertension associated with sleep ... read more

Asthma Pill Could Reduce Symptoms in Severe Sufferers

Aug. 5, 2016 — The first new asthma pill for nearly 20 years has the power to significantly reduce the severity of the condition, a new study has ... read more

Discovery of Infants' Airway Microbiomes May Help Predict Lung Disease

Aug. 5, 2016 — In contrast to the general belief that the airways of an infant are sterile until after birth, researchers have found that the infant airway is already colonized with bacteria when a baby is born -- ... read more

Genomics Study Points to Origins of Pollen Allergens

Aug. 4, 2016 — A new study has provided the first broad picture of the evolution and possible functions in the plant of pollen ... read more

Health-Care Costs Are Bad Medicine

Aug. 4, 2016 — New research shows one in four chronically ill Australians is skipping health care because of high ... read more

Excessive Alcohol Consumption Impacts Breathing

Aug. 1, 2016 — Researchers have discovered a potential new health concern related to excessive alcohol consumption. Adults who drink excessively were found to have less nitric oxide in their exhaled breath than ... read more

Eczema Can Have Many Effects on Patients' Health

July 28, 2016 — When a patient is diagnosed with eczema, the diagnosis of another medical condition may not be far behind, say researchers. Eczema, also known as atopic dermatitis, is characterized by dry, red ... read more

Predicting the Risk for Developing Pneumonia in Older Adults

July 25, 2016 — Researchers have developed a 'prediction score' to help healthcare professionals determine which older adults might be most at risk for developing ... read more

Stop the Rogue ADAM Gene and You Stop Asthma

July 21, 2016 — A potential and novel way of preventing asthma at the origin of the disease has now been discovered by researchers, a finding that could challenge the current understanding of the ... read more

Fracking Industry Wells Associated With Increased Risk of Asthma Attacks

July 18, 2016 — People with asthma who live near bigger or larger numbers of active unconventional natural gas wells operated by the fracking industry in Pennsylvania are 1.5 to four times likelier to have asthma ... read more

July 15, 2016 — The atomic structure of an elusive cold virus linked to severe asthma and respiratory infections in children has been solved by a team of researchers. The findings provide the foundation for future ... read more

US Pediatric Hospitals Vary Greatly in Costs, Practices for Children With Asthma

July 12, 2016 — Children's hospitals vary greatly in managing inpatients with asthma, according to researchers who analyzed hospital records in a large national database. Even when patients were grouped by ... read more

For Kids With Asthma, Hospital Care Is Comparable for Medicaid and Non-Medicaid Patients

July 6, 2016 — Children covered by Medicaid and equally sick children not covered by Medicaid received essentially similar asthma treatment in a given pediatric hospital, according to a new study. In a national ... read more

New Research May Help to Develop Effective Pain Killers

June 30, 2016 — If you have ever chopped chilies and then accidentally touched your eyes you will be familiar with the burning sensation that this causes. However, the substance responsible for this sensation can ... read more

June 29, 2016 — Researchers have identified immune cells vital for protecting us from potentially deadly C. difficile. Surprisingly, those cells are often vilified for their role in causing asthma and allergies. But ... read more

Certain Red Flags Indicate an Increased Need for Intensive Care Among Patients With Asthma

June 29, 2016 — In patients admitted to the hospital for asthma, illicit drug use and low socioeconomic status were linked with an increased risk of requiring admission to the intensive care unit. Not adhering to ... read more

Eczema: Daily 'Soak and Smear' or Steer Clear?

June 29, 2016 — For a very long time, parents of kids who have eczema have asked doctors how often they should bathe their child. A new article offers insight into what the research ... read more

Laboratory Drug Trials Could Lead to Asthma Treatment Breakthrough

June 27, 2016 — A new drug with the potential to reverse or slow the development of asthma is being tested by ... read more

More Reasons to Eat Your Broccoli

June 22, 2016 — Broccoli and related vegetables in the Brassica family are loaded with health-promoting compounds known as phenolics. Researchers have identified a large number of candidate genes controlling ... read more

Monday, August 22, 2016
Tuesday, August 16, 2016
Friday, August 5, 2016
Thursday, August 4, 2016
Monday, August 1, 2016
Thursday, July 28, 2016
Monday, July 25, 2016
Thursday, July 21, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016
Friday, July 15, 2016
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Tuesday, June 21, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Monday, June 6, 2016
Wednesday, June 1, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Thursday, May 19, 2016
Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Sunday, May 15, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Tuesday, May 3, 2016
Saturday, April 30, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Tuesday, April 12, 2016
Sunday, April 10, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Friday, April 1, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Friday, March 18, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Friday, March 11, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Sunday, March 6, 2016
Wednesday, March 2, 2016
Tuesday, March 1, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Saturday, February 27, 2016
Wednesday, February 24, 2016
Monday, February 22, 2016
Friday, February 12, 2016
Thursday, February 11, 2016
Tuesday, February 9, 2016
Monday, February 8, 2016
Wednesday, February 3, 2016
Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Monday, February 1, 2016
Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Tuesday, January 26, 2016
Thursday, January 21, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Monday, December 28, 2015
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Monday, December 21, 2015