NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Asthma News
October 25, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 7:54am EDT

More Asthma News
October 25, 2016

Oct. 14, 2016 — Researchers reveal how mould from humidity caused by rotting fruits and vegetables unfolds a surprising strategy to infect ... read more

Researchers Study Diagnostic Error in Asthma, COPD

Oct. 13, 2016 — A $1.5 million grant has been awarded to a research team to study the impact of diagnostic error on outcomes for pulmonary patients and the use of lung-function testing in primary care. Studies ... read more

Is It Safe to Get Up Close and Personal With Food Allergy Triggers?

Sep. 14, 2016 — Allergists realize people who are severely allergic to a food can experience great anxiety when encountering the food in any form. Kids, in particular, can get extremely nervous about the idea of ... read more

The Impact of Extreme Exercise on Breathing in GB Olympic Boxers and Swimmers

Sep. 8, 2016 — Researchers investigated elite British athletes from both swimming and boxing and their research suggests asthma related breathing problems should not be a barrier to sporting success, as long as ... read more

Telemedicine Is as Effective as in-Person Visits for Children With Asthma

Sep. 8, 2016 — Sometimes children with asthma live hundreds of miles away from the nearest allergist and therefore may not be getting the best and most cost-effective care. According to a new study, treatment via ... read more

Acetaminophen Not Associated With Worse Asthma in Kids

Sep. 7, 2016 — Children with mild, persistent asthma did not have worse asthma symptoms after taking acetaminophen (e.g., Tylenol) for pain or fever, compared to using ibuprofen (e.g., Advil), according to the ... read more

High Quality Evidence Suggests Vitamin D Can Reduce Asthma Attacks

Sep. 6, 2016 — New research has found evidence from randomized trials, that taking an oral vitamin D supplement in addition to standard asthma medication is likely to reduce severe asthma attacks. Asthma is a ... read more

Benralizumab Injections Reduce Exacerbations in Severe, Uncontrolled Asthma, According to Two Trials

Sep. 5, 2016 — A year's course of benralizumab injections has led to a significant decrease in the frequency of asthma exacerbations -- cutting the rate of exacerbations by a third to a half compared with ... read more

Reduced Fetal Size Linked to Increased Asthma Risk and Reduced Lung Function in Children

Sep. 5, 2016 — New research shows that reduced fetal size is linked to increased asthma risk and reduced lung function in children aged 5 to 15 ... read more

Childhood BMI Linked With Asthma Hospital Admissions, but Differs Between Men and Women

Sep. 5, 2016 — Childhood body mass index (BMI) has been associated with hospital admissions for asthma in early adulthood, with overweight BMI measures increasing the risk of admission in women and underweight BMI ... read more

Asthma Gene's Effect on Respiratory Symptoms in Infancy Depends on Breastfeeding Status

Sep. 4, 2016 — Infants who have a genetic profile linked with asthma risk could be protected against respiratory symptoms if they are breastfeed, according to a new ... read more

Decision-Making Tool May Help Doctors Cut Unnecessary Antibiotic Prescribing

Sep. 1, 2016 — Respiratory tract infections (RTI) with cough are the most common reason children are prescribed antibiotics by their doctors, but up to a third of prescriptions may be unnecessary. A new study of ... read more

Young Children's Antibiotic Exposure Associated With Higher Food Allergy Risk

Sep. 1, 2016 — Antibiotic treatment within the first year of life may wipe out more than an unwanted infection: exposure to the drugs is associated with an increase in food allergy diagnosis, new research ... read more

Career Advice for Young Allergy Patients

Sep. 1, 2016 — Approximately one-third of apprentices in Germany are at elevated risk of occupational asthma, allergies, and dermatitis. A new study used a systematic search of the literature as the basis for ... read more

Combination Drug Therapy for Asthma Patients Is Safe, Study Shows

Aug. 31, 2016 — A post-marketing safety study mandated by the US Food and Drug Administration has shown that a combination drug therapy for the treatment of asthma is safe and ... read more

Children With Asthma Attacks Triggered by Colds Less Responsive to Standard Treatment

Aug. 30, 2016 — A study confirms that respiratory viral detection, not child's age, explains the high rate of hospitalization for asthma attacks in children under ... read more

Asthma Care Costs UK at Least £1.1 Billion Each Year, Study Shows

Aug. 29, 2016 — Asthma costs the UK health service at least 1.1 billion pounds each year, research has ... read more

Aug. 26, 2016 — In adults with a house dust mite allergy, a cascade of inflammatory signals on the surface of the airways leads to airway remodeling. This process cannot be influenced by standard cortisone ... read more

Children With Food Allergies Predisposed to Asthma, Rhinitis

Aug. 25, 2016 — Children with a history of food allergy have a high risk of developing asthma and allergic rhinitis during childhood as well. The risk increases with the number of food allergies a child might have. ... read more

Late-Onset Asthma Linked to Increased Heart Disease, Stroke Risk

Aug. 24, 2016 — People diagnosed with asthma as adults may have an increased risk of developing heart disease and stroke. Cardiovascular risk factors should be closely monitored in patients with late-onset asthma, ... read more

Friday, October 14, 2016
Thursday, October 13, 2016
Wednesday, September 14, 2016
Thursday, September 8, 2016
Wednesday, September 7, 2016
Tuesday, September 6, 2016
Monday, September 5, 2016
Sunday, September 4, 2016
Thursday, September 1, 2016
Wednesday, August 31, 2016
Tuesday, August 30, 2016
Monday, August 29, 2016
Friday, August 26, 2016
Thursday, August 25, 2016
Wednesday, August 24, 2016
Monday, August 22, 2016
Friday, August 19, 2016
Wednesday, August 17, 2016
Tuesday, August 16, 2016
Monday, August 15, 2016
Monday, August 8, 2016
Friday, August 5, 2016
Thursday, August 4, 2016
Wednesday, August 3, 2016
Monday, August 1, 2016
Thursday, July 28, 2016
Monday, July 25, 2016
Thursday, July 21, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016
Friday, July 15, 2016
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Friday, July 8, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Tuesday, June 21, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Monday, June 6, 2016
Wednesday, June 1, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Thursday, May 19, 2016
Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Sunday, May 15, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Tuesday, May 3, 2016
Saturday, April 30, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Tuesday, April 12, 2016
Sunday, April 10, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Friday, April 1, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Friday, March 18, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Friday, March 11, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Sunday, March 6, 2016
Wednesday, March 2, 2016
Tuesday, March 1, 2016