Stroke Prevention News
April 27, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 2:55am EDT

More Stroke Prevention News
April 27, 2017

Gut Bacteria May Turn Common Nutrient Into Clot-Enhancing Compound

Apr. 24, 2017 — Gut bacteria can produce a clot-enhancing compound when people eat a nutrient found in a variety of foods including meat, eggs and milk, according to new ... read more

Single High-Sensitivity Troponin T Result Could Quickly and Safely Rule out MI in the ED

Apr. 17, 2017 — High-sensitivity assays for cardiac troponin T can quickly and safely rule out myocardial infarction (MI) in patients presenting to emergency departments (ED) with possible emergency acute coronary ... read more

Aspirin Therapy May Not Help Patients With Peripheral Vascular Disease, Researchers Find

Apr. 12, 2017 — Aspirin use may not provide cardiovascular benefits for patients who have peripheral vascular disease, an analysis has ... read more

Most Major Heart Attacks Occur in People With Normal Cholesterol, Research Finds

Apr. 12, 2017 — Researchers wanted to find out if new statin guidelines were affecting the number of heart attacks. What they found was promising, but revealed a basic flaw in preventive ... read more

Exercise Associated With Improved Heart Attack Survival

Apr. 12, 2017 — Exercise is associated with improved survival after a heart attack, according to research. The chances of survival increased as the amount of exercise rose, the investigators ... read more

Role of Vascular Disease in Development of Alzheimer's Disease

Apr. 11, 2017 — Among adults who entered a study more than 25 years ago, an increasing number of midlife vascular risk factors, such as obesity, high blood pressure, diabetes, high cholesterol and smoking, were ... read more

First Systemic Evidence for Safety of tPA in Stroke Patients With Sickle Cell Disease

Apr. 11, 2017 — Adult patients with sickle cell disease who experience a stroke caused by a clot (i.e., ischemic strokes) can be treated safely with tissue plasminogen activator if they qualify, report ... read more

Patients Uncertain About How to Best Manage Their Cholesterol, Survey Finds

Apr. 10, 2017 — People who have high cholesterol may understand they need to manage their condition, but many aren’t sure how to do that, nor do they feel confident they can, according to a new ... read more

Grey Hair Linked With Increased Heart Disease Risk in Men

Apr. 8, 2017 — Grey hair has been linked with an increased risk of heart disease in ... read more

Cardiologist Warns Against Dissolvable Stents

Apr. 6, 2017 — Expert commentary on bioresorbable stents, an alternative to the traditional stents used in patients with cardiac conditions, encourages cardiologists to continue using conventional drug-eluting ... read more

Inflammation: It Takes Two to Tango

Apr. 6, 2017 — Signal molecules called chemokines often work in tandem to recruit specific sets of immune cells to sites of tissue damage. A systematic analysis of their interactions pinpoints potential targets for ... read more

Monthly High-Dose Vitamin D Supplementation Does Not Prevent Cardiovascular Disease

Apr. 5, 2017 — Monthly high-dose vitamin D supplementation does not prevent cardiovascular disease, results of a large randomized trial ... read more

Race Ranks Higher Than Pounds in Diabetes, Heart-Health Risks

Apr. 3, 2017 — Americans of South Asian descent are twice as likely as whites to have risks for heart disease, stroke and diabetes, when their weight is in the normal range, according to a ... read more

Insomnia Associated With Increased Risk of Heart Attack and Stroke

Mar. 31, 2017 — Insomnia is associated with increased risk of heart attack and stroke, according to new ... read more

Mar. 31, 2017 — Five simple medical tests together provide a broader and more accurate assessment of heart-disease risk than currently used methods, cardiologists have ... read more

Molecular Therapy Set to Protect at-Risk Patients Against Heart Attack and Stroke

Mar. 30, 2017 — Even a single dose of a specific ribonucleic acid molecule, known as a small interfering RNA (siRNA), offers patients at high risk of cardiovascular disease long-lasting protection against high LDL ... read more

Aphasia May Not Solely Be a Language Disorder, Study Shows

Mar. 30, 2017 — Aphasia, a language disorder commonly diagnosed in stroke patients, may not be solely a language issue as traditionally believed, according to a new ... read more

Genetic Errors Associated With Heart Health May Guide Drug Development

Mar. 30, 2017 — A new study of such 'beneficial' genetic mutations may provide guidance on the design of new therapies intended to reduce the risk of heart ... read more

Software-Based System Improves the Ability to Determine the Cause of Ischemic Stroke

Mar. 29, 2017 — A software package has been developed that provides evidence-based, automated support for diagnosing the cause of ... read more

Apixaban Superior to Warfarin for Reducing Brain Bleeds in Patients With AFib

Mar. 29, 2017 — Patients with atrial fibrillation showed a substantially reduced risk of dangerous bleeding in the brain, known as intracranial hemorrhage, when taking the newer anticoagulant apixaban compared to ... read more

Monday, April 24, 2017
Monday, April 17, 2017
Wednesday, April 12, 2017
Tuesday, April 11, 2017
Monday, April 10, 2017
Saturday, April 8, 2017
Thursday, April 6, 2017
Wednesday, April 5, 2017
Monday, April 3, 2017
Friday, March 31, 2017
Thursday, March 30, 2017
Wednesday, March 29, 2017
Tuesday, March 28, 2017
Thursday, March 23, 2017
Monday, March 20, 2017
Sunday, March 19, 2017
Saturday, March 18, 2017
Friday, March 17, 2017
Thursday, March 16, 2017
Wednesday, March 15, 2017
Tuesday, March 14, 2017
Monday, March 13, 2017
Friday, March 10, 2017
Thursday, March 9, 2017
Wednesday, March 8, 2017
Friday, March 3, 2017
Wednesday, March 1, 2017
Monday, February 27, 2017
Friday, February 24, 2017
Thursday, February 23, 2017
Wednesday, February 22, 2017
Tuesday, February 21, 2017
Monday, February 20, 2017
Friday, February 17, 2017
Thursday, February 16, 2017
Wednesday, February 15, 2017
Tuesday, February 14, 2017
Monday, February 13, 2017
Friday, February 10, 2017
Thursday, February 9, 2017
Wednesday, February 8, 2017
Tuesday, February 7, 2017
Friday, February 3, 2017
Thursday, February 2, 2017
Monday, January 30, 2017
Friday, January 27, 2017
Monday, January 23, 2017