Stroke Prevention News
August 25, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 5:56am EDT

More Stroke Prevention News
August 25, 2016

Mental Stress May Cause Reduced Blood Flow in Hearts of Young Women With Heart Disease

Aug. 24, 2016 — Mental stress may cause reduced blood flow in the heart muscle of younger women with heart disease. Younger women with heart disease are more susceptible to reduced blood flow from mental stress ... read more

Biomarkers May Help Better Predict Who Will Have a Stroke

Aug. 24, 2016 — People with high levels of four biomarkers in the blood may be more likely to develop a stroke than people with low levels of the biomarkers, according to a new ... read more

Comparing Coronary Artery Calcium Scores in Patients With Psoriasis, Diabetes

Aug. 24, 2016 — Assessing coronary artery calcium (CAC) is a measure of the severity of atherosclerosis (clogged arteries) and a cornerstone for screening for risk of future cardiac events. The inflammatory skin ... read more

HIV-Infected Adults With Depression Have Increased Risk for Heart Attack

Aug. 24, 2016 — Among more than 26,000 human immunodeficiency virus (HIV)-infected adults, those with major depressive disorder (MDD) were more likely to experience a heart attack than those without MDD, according ... read more

Intravenous Glyburide Treatment May Reduce Dangerous Brain Swelling After Stroke

Aug. 23, 2016 — A phase 2 clinical trial of a drug that may alleviate brain swelling -- a dangerous stroke complication -- suggests the treatment may help reduce brain injury and death, and information from the ... read more

Recommended Blood Pressure Targets for Diabetes Are Being Challenged

Aug. 23, 2016 — The Swedish National Board of Health and Welfare recently raised the recommended target blood pressure for patients with diabetes. This may lead to more patients suffering from stroke or heart ... read more

Aquatic Treadmill Walking May Increase Exercise Capacity After Stroke

Aug. 23, 2016 — For patients in rehabilitation after a stroke, walking on an underwater treadmill produces better measures of exercise performance compared to conventional treadmill walking, reports a recent ... read more

Fall in UK Cardiovascular Disease Toll Not Equal Among All Four Countries or Genders

Aug. 22, 2016 — UK deaths from heart disease and stroke have plummeted by almost 70 percent over the past 30 years, but these improvements have not been equally distributed among all four countries, or between men ... read more

Study Suggests Ways to Block Hypertension in Those With Sleep Apnea

Aug. 16, 2016 — Suppressing hydrogen sulfide production in the carotid body may block the hypertension associated with sleep ... read more

Lack of Fresh Food Choices Linked to Signs of Early Heart Disease

Aug. 15, 2016 — A lack of access to nearby stores selling fresh food may increase residents' risk of developing the signs of early heart disease, according to new ... read more

China Facing Epidemic of Heart Disease, Stroke

Aug. 15, 2016 — A 20-year rise in cardiovascular disease (CVD) in China appears to have been spurred largely by increases in high blood pressure, according to a new study. Increasing body mass index (BMI), ... read more

Beta-Blockers Following Angioplasty Show Little Benefit for Some Older Patients

Aug. 15, 2016 — Following coronary angioplasty, beta-blockers did not significantly improve mortality rates or reduce the number of future cardiovascular incidents for older patients with stable angina but no ... read more

Aug. 15, 2016 — A new, non-invasive way to track the progression of Parkinson’s disease could help evaluate experimental treatments to slow or stop the disease’s progression, say ... read more

Stubborn Inequities in Heart Health Persist for Some African Americans in the South

Aug. 15, 2016 — Researchers examined data on ideal cardiovascular health in over 4,700 participants of the Jackson Heart Study in Jackson, Mississippi, one of the largest studies of heart health among African ... read more

High and Low Levels of ‘good Cholesterol’ May Cause Premature Death

Aug. 11, 2016 — Commonly touted as "good cholesterol" for helping to reduce risk of stroke and heart attack, both high and low levels of high-density lipoprotein (HDL) cholesterol may increase a ... read more

Aug. 11, 2016 — Coronary artery disease, the number one killer world-wide, restricts and ultimately blocks blood vessels, cutting off oxygen supply to the heart. A new study reports that treatment with AGGF1, a ... read more

First-in-U.S. Blood Test That Assesses Risk of Heart Attack Using Plasma Ceramides

Aug. 10, 2016 — A new type of blood test has been launched that will be used to predict adverse cardiovascular events in patients with progressing coronary artery disease (CAD). The test measures blood ... read more

'Fixing' Blood Vessel Cells to Diagnose Blood Clotting Disorders

Aug. 9, 2016 — A new device could monitor blood clot formation and diagnose effectiveness of anti-platelet therapy by microengineering tiny hollow channels lined by chemically 'fixed' human endothelial ... read more

Most Patients Taking Warfarin Long-Term Do Not Maintain Stable INR Values

Aug. 9, 2016 — Experts examined whether patients receiving warfarin who have stable international normalized ratio (INR) values remain stable over ... read more

Device Reduces Risk of Brain Injury After Heart Valve Replacement

Aug. 9, 2016 — Among patients with severe aortic stenosis (narrowing of the aortic valve) undergoing transcatheter aortic valve implantation, the use of a cerebral protection device (a filter that captures debris ... read more

Wednesday, August 24, 2016
Tuesday, August 23, 2016
Monday, August 22, 2016
Tuesday, August 16, 2016
Monday, August 15, 2016
Thursday, August 11, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Tuesday, August 9, 2016
Friday, August 12, 2016
Wednesday, August 3, 2016
Tuesday, August 2, 2016
Monday, August 1, 2016
Wednesday, July 27, 2016
Tuesday, July 26, 2016
Monday, July 25, 2016
Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016
Friday, July 15, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Sunday, July 10, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Tuesday, July 5, 2016
Friday, July 1, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Friday, June 24, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Tuesday, June 21, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Friday, June 17, 2016
Thursday, June 16, 2016
Wednesday, June 15, 2016
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Saturday, June 11, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Monday, June 6, 2016
Thursday, June 2, 2016
Wednesday, June 1, 2016
Tuesday, May 31, 2016