Stroke Prevention News
May 26, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 6:26pm EDT

More Stroke Prevention News
May 26, 2016

Helping Stroke Survivors Get Back on Their Feet

May 26, 2016 — Small sensory devices could help to improve walking recovery during stroke rehabilitation in a bid to reduce social isolation, say ... read more

Antiretroviral Therapy May Not Be Enough to Reduce HIV-Associated Arterial Inflammation

May 25, 2016 — Initiating antiretroviral therapy soon after diagnosis of an HIV infection did not prevent the progression of significant arterial inflammation in a small group of previously untreated ... read more

May 20, 2016 — To increase our understanding of cardiac regenerative therapies, a team of researchers has recently developed a computational model capable of simulating the long-term effects of these ... read more

High Blood Pressure Linked to Vascular Dementia

May 18, 2016 — High blood pressure could significantly raise the risk of developing the second most common form of dementia, according to a new study. The medical records of more than four million people were ... read more

Compared With Men, Women With AFib Have More Symptoms, Worse Quality of Life, Although Higher Survival

May 18, 2016 — A new study examined whether symptoms, quality of life, treatment, and outcomes differ between women and men with atrial fibrillation. Results indicate that in fact, symptoms may be much worse for ... read more

Digital Health Intervention Does Not Lower Heart Attack Risk

May 18, 2016 — Researchers examined whether a digital health intervention using email and text messages designed to change diet and physical activity would improve heart attack risk among a South Asian ... read more

Arterial Switch to 12 O'clock Associated With Reduced Coronary Reserve in Adolescence

May 13, 2016 — Arterial switch to the 12 o'clock position is associated with abnormal coronary perfusion in adolescence, reveals new research. Babies born with transposition of the great arteries undergo the ... read more

Benefits of Calcium Supplements May Be Outweighed by Cardiovascular Risks

May 12, 2016 — Taking calcium and vitamin D can help prevent broken bones in older women. However, this benefit may be cancelled out by an increased risk of heart attack and stroke, say ... read more

May 12, 2016 — A promising new method for identifying atherosclerotic plaques, the encased deposits in arteries that restrict blood flow and can lead to heart attack or stroke, has been revealed by researchers. The ... read more

Computer Model Helps Physicians Prescribe Stroke Preventing Therapy

May 11, 2016 — Physician-researchers have developed a computerized decision support tool that uses a combination of patient information and characteristics to assist physicians and patients with decisions about ... read more

May 11, 2016 — While heart attack rates across all income levels have declined significantly over the last 15 years, people living in low-income communities are still more likely to be hospitalized for acute ... read more

May 11, 2016 — Researchers have improved upon previous instruments, developing a new IVPA catheter design with collinear overlap between optical and acoustic waves with a tiny probe. The design can greatly improve ... read more

Study Points to Challenges, Hopes of Helping Vulnerable Patients Avoid Stroke

May 10, 2016 — A new study demonstrates the importance and challenge of treating people at high risk of stroke. However, it did not find that the drug ticagrelor was better than aspirin, the current standard, in ... read more

Migraine Drugs Underused, Research Suggests

May 10, 2016 — More migraines could be safely treated with drugs that are known to constrict blood vessels, new research suggests, adding that patients who were given the drugs off-label had no stroke or other ... read more

Major Global Study Identifies a Safer Treatment of Acute Stroke

May 10, 2016 — A new study has aimed to improve survival rates of stroke victims. It is hoped the findings from the trial of more than 3,000 patients in 100 hospitals worldwide could change the way the most common ... read more

Blood Thinners on 'as Needed' Basis Is Safe and Effective for Lowering Stroke Risk as Compared to Long-Term Use

May 7, 2016 — A new study shows the use of novel anticoagulants for AF prescribed on an 'as-needed basis' guided by diligent pulse monitoring, can be a safe and effective alternative to lowering overall ... read more

PAD Patients on Statins May Have Lower Amputation, Early Death Risk

May 7, 2016 — People with peripheral artery disease (PAD) who take cholesterol-lowering statins may have a lower risk of amputation and early death than PAD patients who don't take statins. The risk of ... read more

Severe Stroke Prognoses Differ Depending on the Doctor

May 6, 2016 — Families rely on doctor recommendations after a brain hemorrhage, but new research shows different physicians make very different ... read more

Young Women at Greater Risk for Adverse Outcomes Following PCI

May 6, 2016 — Women younger than 55 years of age who undergo percutaneous coronary intervention for acute coronary syndrome are more likely to experience one-year adverse cardiovascular events due to risk factors ... read more

Why Are Women Less Likely to Be Prescribed Statins Than Men?

May 5, 2016 — Statins are equally effective at decreasing risk of coronary events in men and women, and yet women are less likely to be prescribed these cholesterol-lowering drugs than men. A new study identifies ... read more

Thursday, May 26, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Friday, May 20, 2016
Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Friday, May 13, 2016
Thursday, May 12, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Saturday, May 7, 2016
Friday, May 6, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Monday, May 2, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Friday, April 22, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Saturday, April 16, 2016
Friday, April 15, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Tuesday, April 12, 2016
Friday, April 8, 2016
Thursday, April 7, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Sunday, April 3, 2016
Saturday, April 2, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Tuesday, March 29, 2016
Monday, March 28, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Friday, March 18, 2016