NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Stroke Prevention News
February 20, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 8:26am EST

More Stroke Prevention News
February 20, 2017

New Doppler Sound Database Could Help Those Suffering from Heart Conditions

Feb. 15, 2017 — Handheld devices can scan the lower limbs of a patient and 'listen' to the blood flow, providing vital early indication of problems that could lead to strokes or heart attacks.  But ... read more

Feb. 10, 2017 — Novel technology has been used to monitor vulnerabilities for cardiovascular events, aid in diagnosis and ... read more

Calcified Plaque Raises Heart Disease Risk for Younger Adults

Feb. 8, 2017 — The mere presence of even a small amount of calcified coronary plaque, more commonly referred to as coronary artery calcium (CAC), in people under age 50 — even small amounts — was strongly ... read more

Function of Olfactory Receptor in the Human Heart Identified

Feb. 8, 2017 — Researchers have identified the function of olfactory receptors in the human heart muscle, such as are also present in the nose. One of the receptors reacts to fatty acids that occur in the blood, in ... read more

Number of Children Emerging as Cardiovascular Risk Factor for Both Parents

Feb. 3, 2017 — The number of children one has is emerging as a novel factor that influences the risk for some cardiovascular diseases (CVD), and in some societies in both parents, according to ... read more

With Mini-Vessels, Mini-Brains Expand Research Potential

Feb. 2, 2017 — Mini-brains produce networks of capillaries, an important anatomical feature for lab studies of stroke and other circulation-related brain diseases, report ... read more

Jan. 30, 2017 — A cell biologist shows that blocking a critical enzyme helps to mitigate diseases associated with protein folding and lipid ... read more

Over 100 New Blood Pressure Genes Could Provide New Targets for Treating Hypertension

Jan. 30, 2017 — Scientists have found 107 new gene regions associated with high blood pressure, potentially enabling doctors to identify at-risk patients and target ... read more

Research Suggests Way to Improve Stroke Treatments

Jan. 27, 2017 — Working with animal models, researchers now have demonstrated the potential of giving a drug in combination with tPA that might improve stroke outcomes and increase the window of opportunity for the ... read more

Low-Cost Therapy Produces Long-Lasting Improvements for Stroke Survivors

Jan. 23, 2017 — A low-cost therapy can improve the lives of stroke patients with vision problems, investigators have ... read more

Post-Concussion, Peripheral Vision Reaction Times Substantially Impaired

Jan. 23, 2017 — A study reported that patients who sustained a concussion, followed by symptoms of visual dysfunction, experienced significantly delayed central and peripheral vision reaction ... read more

Survey: Most Women Don't Know Age Heart Screenings Should Begin

Jan. 23, 2017 — When should women start getting heart screenings? A new U.S. national survey shows most women wait way too ... read more

A Role for Mutated Blood Cells in Heart Disease?

Jan. 19, 2017 — A new study provides some of the first links between relatively common mutations in the blood cells of elderly humans and ... read more

Advances in Imaging Detect Blunt Cerebrovascular Injury More Frequently in Trauma Patients

Jan. 19, 2017 — Advances in diagnostic imaging technology have meant that more trauma patients are being diagnosed with blunt cerebrovascular injuries, and as a result, stroke and related death rates in these ... read more

Atherosclerosis: Endogenous Peptide Lowers Cholesterol

Jan. 19, 2017 — Cells of the innate immune system that play an important role in development of atherosclerosis contain a protein that reduces levels of cholesterol in mice -- and thus helps to inhibit or mitigate ... read more

Disadvantaged Women at Greater Risk of Heart Disease Than Men

Jan. 19, 2017 — Women from low socioeconomic backgrounds are 25 percent more likely to suffer a heart attack than disadvantaged men, a major new study has found. A new study examined data from 22 million people from ... read more

More Than Half of Atrial Fibrillation Patients Become Asymptomatic After Catheter Ablation

Jan. 19, 2017 — More than half of patients with atrial fibrillation (AF) become asymptomatic after catheter ablation, reports the largest study of the ... read more

Report Highlights National Trends in Heart Disease Treatments

Jan. 17, 2017 — Over 93 percent of heart attack patients are receiving stents within the guideline-recommended threshold of 90 minutes after arriving at the hospital, with the median time to stenting only 59 ... read more

Personalized Treatment for Those in Blood Pressure 'Gray Zone'

Jan. 17, 2017 — Using data from a national study, researchers determined that using heart CT scans can help personalize treatment in patients whose blood pressure falls in the gray zone of just above normal or mild ... read more

Jan. 16, 2017 — Investigators report preclinical research showing that microinfarcts induce prolonged dysfunction in brain areas estimated to be 12-times larger than the visible injury site. Data from c-Fos assays ... read more

Wednesday, February 15, 2017
Friday, February 10, 2017
Wednesday, February 8, 2017
Friday, February 3, 2017
Thursday, February 2, 2017
Monday, January 30, 2017
Friday, January 27, 2017
Monday, January 23, 2017
Thursday, January 19, 2017
Tuesday, January 17, 2017
Monday, January 16, 2017
Thursday, January 12, 2017
Wednesday, January 11, 2017
Tuesday, January 10, 2017
Monday, January 9, 2017
Thursday, January 5, 2017
Wednesday, January 4, 2017
Wednesday, December 28, 2016
Monday, December 26, 2016
Wednesday, December 21, 2016
Monday, December 19, 2016
Friday, December 16, 2016
Tuesday, December 13, 2016
Monday, December 12, 2016
Sunday, December 11, 2016
Wednesday, December 7, 2016
Thursday, December 1, 2016
Tuesday, November 29, 2016
Friday, November 25, 2016
Wednesday, November 23, 2016
Tuesday, November 22, 2016
Monday, November 21, 2016
Thursday, November 17, 2016
Tuesday, November 15, 2016
Monday, November 14, 2016
Sunday, November 13, 2016
Thursday, November 10, 2016
Wednesday, November 9, 2016
Thursday, November 3, 2016
Wednesday, November 2, 2016
Tuesday, November 1, 2016
Monday, October 31, 2016
Friday, October 28, 2016
Thursday, October 27, 2016
Wednesday, October 26, 2016
Monday, October 24, 2016
Friday, October 21, 2016
Wednesday, October 19, 2016
Friday, October 14, 2016
Thursday, October 13, 2016
Tuesday, October 11, 2016
Monday, October 10, 2016
Tuesday, October 4, 2016
Monday, October 3, 2016
Friday, September 30, 2016
Thursday, September 29, 2016
Wednesday, September 28, 2016
Tuesday, September 27, 2016