NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Stroke Prevention News
September 27, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 9:56pm EDT

More Stroke Prevention News
September 27, 2016

Study Compares CV Risk Reduction of Statin Vs Nonstatin Therapies Used for Lowering LDL-C

Sep. 27, 2016 — Scientists evaluated the association between lowering low-density lipoprotein cholesterol (LDL-C) and relative cardiovascular risk reduction across different statin and nonstatin ... read more

Help Needed to Identify Post-Stroke Visual Impairments

Sep. 27, 2016 — A review of the methods available to screen for post-stroke visual impairments has found there is an urgent demand for the development of a ... read more

Genes Tied to Sudden Thoracic Aortic Dissections Discovered

Sep. 19, 2016 — Out of the blue, Tina Wilkins suffered a dissection of her thoracic aorta. From first symptoms to emergency surgery, here is her story, as well as news on the latest genetic discoveries related to ... read more

Size Is Everything When It Comes to High Blood Pressure

Sep. 16, 2016 — The body’s smallest organ dictates your blood pressure. The size of a grain of rice, the carotid body, located between two major arteries that feed the brain with blood, has been found to control ... read more

Occupational Therapy Reduces Hospital Readmissions, Research Finds

Sep. 15, 2016 — A recent study has found that 30-day readmission rates for heart failure, pneumonia, and acute myocardial infarction were improved with the help of occupational ... read more

Women, Minorities May Be Undertreated for Stroke

Sep. 14, 2016 — Women and minorities may be less likely to receive treatment for stroke, according to a study. For the study, the researchers looked back at more than eight years of hospital records from across the ... read more

MRI Guidance Shows Promise in Delivering Stem Cell Therapies

Sep. 14, 2016 — Working with animals, a team of scientists reports it has delivered stem cells to the brain with unprecedented precision by threading a catheter through an artery and infusing the cells under ... read more

Levels of Angiopoetin-Like Protein 2 Predict Risk of Death in Type 2 Diabetes

Sep. 12, 2016 — In patients with type 2 diabetes, those with higher levels of a growth factor protein called angiopoetin-like protein 2 (Angplt2) have an increased risk of death and serious cardiovascular events, ... read more

Endovascular Therapy Potentially Beneficial for Distal Stroke Clots

Sep. 12, 2016 — Endovascular therapy for disabling strokes caused by a blockage in a more distal portion of a large vessel is effective and possibly superior to best medical management, according to a large ... read more

Low Statin Use in People With Diabetes Despite Cardioprotective Effects, Guidelines

Sep. 12, 2016 — Nearly 2 out of 5 people with diabetes who could benefit from statin therapy to lower their risk of future heart attack, stroke and related death were not prescribed one, according to new research. ... read more

Major Review to Help Doctors, Patients and Public Make Informed Decisions About the Use of Statins

Sep. 8, 2016 — A major review of the available evidence on the safety and efficacy of statin therapy intends to help doctors, patients and the public make informed decisions about the use of the drugs. The authors ... read more

New Electrical Stimulation Therapy May Improve Hand Function After Stroke

Sep. 8, 2016 — A new technique uses a glove on the unaffected hand to send electrical stimulation to nerves in the stroke-affected hand. Researchers report that the best improvement was noted in patients who had ... read more

Sep. 8, 2016 — Scientists have implicated a type of stem cell in the calcification of blood vessels that is common in patients with chronic kidney disease. The research will guide future studies into ways to block ... read more

Excess Weight in Women Has Different Effects on Different Types of Stroke

Sep. 7, 2016 — Women who are overweight or obese may have an increased risk of the most common kind of stroke, called ischemic stroke, but a decreased risk of a more often deadly stroke, called hemorrhagic stroke, ... read more

Stroke: Study Examines Risk, Risk Factors for Depression

Sep. 7, 2016 — During the first three months after stroke, the risk for depression was found to be eight times higher than in a reference population of people without stroke, according to a new ... read more

Strong Social Support Is Related to Shorter Stay in Inpatient Rehab After Hospitalization

Sep. 7, 2016 — A recent study showed that patients with strong social support from family and friends spend less time in an inpatient rehabilitation facility. 'Without the social support of family and friends, ... read more

European Standards to Prevent Repeat Heart Attacks Launched Today

Sep. 6, 2016 — European standards to prevent repeat heart attacks have now been released. The consensus document outlines the steps patients and healthcare professionals can take to prevent recurrent heart ... read more

Irregular Heartbeat Linked to Wider Range of Serious Conditions Than Previously Thought

Sep. 6, 2016 — An irregular heartbeat (known as atrial fibrillation) is associated with a wide range of serious events, including heart attacks, heart failure, chronic kidney disease, and sudden cardiac death, ... read more

Hypertension: Releasing the Pressure at Its Source

Sep. 6, 2016 — Researchers are eyeing the first new anti-hypertensive drug treatment strategy in more than 15 years, having identified a potential new way of treating high blood pressure, or hypertension, by ... read more

Sep. 6, 2016 — A new update provides evidence-based guidelines for Canadian practitioners and will impact how they, and the global community of cardiologists, manage and treat atrial ... read more

Tuesday, September 27, 2016
Monday, September 19, 2016
Friday, September 16, 2016
Thursday, September 15, 2016
Wednesday, September 14, 2016
Monday, September 12, 2016
Thursday, September 8, 2016
Wednesday, September 7, 2016
Tuesday, September 6, 2016
Thursday, September 1, 2016
Wednesday, August 31, 2016
Tuesday, August 30, 2016
Monday, August 29, 2016
Sunday, August 28, 2016
Saturday, August 27, 2016
Friday, August 26, 2016
Thursday, August 25, 2016
Wednesday, August 24, 2016
Tuesday, August 23, 2016
Monday, August 22, 2016
Thursday, August 18, 2016
Wednesday, August 17, 2016
Tuesday, August 16, 2016
Monday, August 15, 2016
Thursday, August 11, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Tuesday, August 9, 2016
Friday, August 12, 2016
Wednesday, August 3, 2016
Tuesday, August 2, 2016
Monday, August 1, 2016
Wednesday, July 27, 2016
Tuesday, July 26, 2016
Monday, July 25, 2016
Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016
Friday, July 15, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016