HIV and AIDS News
May 28, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 11:55pm EDT

More HIV and AIDS News
May 28, 2017

Sorting out HIV: Research Collaboration Devises a New Method That Could Speed Up Vaccine Development for HIV

May 25, 2017 — A new technique for rapidly sorting HIV viruses has now been created, which could lead to more rapid development of a vaccine for HIV, say experts. The technique will enable scientists to identify ... read more

Safe Space for Illegal Drug Consumption in Baltimore Would Save $6 Million a Year

May 25, 2017 — $6 million in costs related to the opioid epidemic could be saved each year if a single 'safe consumption' space for illicit drug users were opened in Baltimore, a new cost-benefit analysis ... read more

Directly Observed Therapy for Multidrug-Resistant TB Decreases Mortality Rate

May 22, 2017 — Directly observed therapy (DOT) for multidrug-resistant tuberculosis (MDR TB) was associated with a 77 percent decrease in mortality in the United States, compared to self-administered therapy from ... read more

T-Cell Signaling Process Central to Immune Response

May 16, 2017 — The immune system cells known as T cells play a central role in the body's ability to fight infections and cancer. For decades, however, details of the molecular signaling process that leads to ... read more

Controlling the HIV Epidemic: A Progress Report on Efforts in Sub-Saharan Africa

May 2, 2017 — Scientists report on a clinical trial evaluating an intervention to achieve universal HIV testing and treatment in Zambia. Researchers estimate that, after one year, the overall proportion of people ... read more

Apr. 27, 2017 — Public health researchers conducted a spatial epidemiology study to identify hotspot clusters of hepatitis C infections in Massachusetts. The information may help to make the best use of funding for ... read more

No Link Found Between HIV Levels and Immune Activation During Antiretroviral Treatment

Apr. 20, 2017 — Despite successful treatment, people receiving antiretroviral drugs continue to have small amounts of human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) in their blood, as well as elevated immune system activation. ... read more

Research Uncovers Life-Saving Benefits in the Battle Against Viruses

Apr. 20, 2017 — At-risk patients, such as those with HIV or transplant recipients, could benefit from potentially life-saving study, say ... read more

Defective HIV Proviruses Hinder Immune System Response and Cure

Apr. 19, 2017 — Proteins created by defective forms of HIV long previously believed to be harmless actually interact with our immune systems and are actively monitored by a specific type of immune cell, called ... read more

Teaching Happiness to Men With HIV Boosts Their Health

Apr. 17, 2017 — When individuals recently diagnosed with HIV were coached to practice skills to help them experience positive emotions, the result was less HIV in their blood and lower antidepressant use, reports a ... read more

New HIV Reservoir Discovered

Apr. 17, 2017 — Scientists have identified a new cell in the body where HIV persists despite treatment. This discovery has major implications for cure ... read more

Relationship Between Drug Injection Risk Behaviors, Immune Activation

Apr. 13, 2017 — Investigators examined the relationship between injection drug use and immune activation in a sample of HIV infected and uninfected people who inject drugs. Findings suggest that efforts to encourage ... read more

Post-SARS, Infection Rates in China Have Steadied, but Fast-Growing and Common Infections Now Need Attention

Apr. 12, 2017 — Following the severe acute respiratory syndrome (SARS) outbreak in 2003, China stepped up its prevention and control methods for all infectious diseases, and rates of infection have leveled off since ... read more

Apr. 12, 2017 — Herpes simplex virus (HSV) infections last a lifetime. Once a person has been infected, the virus can remain dormant (latent) for years before periodically reactivating to cause recurrent disease. ... read more

Apr. 11, 2017 — A population of cells that protect the brain against diseases and harmful substances are not immune cells, as had previously been thought, but instead likely arise from the lining of the circulatory ... read more

Viral Fossils Reveal How Our Ancestors May Have Eliminated an Ancient Infection

Apr. 11, 2017 — Scientists have uncovered how our ancestors may have wiped out an ancient retrovirus around 11 million years ... read more

Financial Math May Help Build a Better HIV Vaccine

Apr. 7, 2017 — Using computational tools inspired by financial math models developed to predict changes in stock prices, researchers were able to accurately predict how different properties of the HIV surface ... read more

Protein Detected That Increases Effectiveness of Vaccines

Apr. 7, 2017 — Researchers have discovered a protein they believe would help make vaccinations more effective and provide protection from other diseases such as cancer. The finding allows for greater understanding ... read more

Hepatitis B and C May Be Linked to Increased Risk of Parkinson's Disease

Mar. 31, 2017 — The viruses hepatitis B and C may both be associated with an increased risk of Parkinson's disease, according to a study. The hepatitis virus affects the ... read more

Mar. 29, 2017 — A widely dispersed population could pose challenges for the UN's initiative aimed to eliminate HIV in Sub-Saharan Africa, a statistical mapping technique ... read more

Thursday, May 25, 2017
Monday, May 22, 2017
Tuesday, May 16, 2017
Tuesday, May 2, 2017
Thursday, April 27, 2017
Thursday, April 20, 2017
Wednesday, April 19, 2017
Monday, April 17, 2017
Thursday, April 13, 2017
Wednesday, April 12, 2017
Tuesday, April 11, 2017
Friday, April 7, 2017
Friday, March 31, 2017
Wednesday, March 29, 2017
Tuesday, March 28, 2017
Thursday, March 30, 2017
Monday, March 27, 2017
Tuesday, March 21, 2017
Monday, March 20, 2017
Wednesday, March 15, 2017
Monday, March 13, 2017
Thursday, March 9, 2017
Wednesday, March 8, 2017
Tuesday, March 7, 2017
Thursday, March 2, 2017
Wednesday, March 1, 2017
Friday, February 24, 2017
Wednesday, February 22, 2017
Tuesday, February 21, 2017
Thursday, February 16, 2017
Wednesday, February 15, 2017
Thursday, February 9, 2017
Wednesday, February 8, 2017
Monday, February 6, 2017
Wednesday, February 1, 2017
Tuesday, January 31, 2017
Monday, January 30, 2017
Friday, January 27, 2017
Thursday, January 26, 2017
Wednesday, January 25, 2017
Monday, January 23, 2017
Thursday, January 19, 2017
Wednesday, January 18, 2017
Tuesday, January 17, 2017
Monday, January 16, 2017
Thursday, January 12, 2017
Wednesday, January 11, 2017
Tuesday, January 10, 2017
Monday, January 9, 2017
Thursday, January 5, 2017
Monday, January 2, 2017
Friday, December 23, 2016
Wednesday, December 21, 2016
Monday, December 19, 2016
Friday, December 16, 2016
Thursday, December 15, 2016
Wednesday, December 14, 2016
Tuesday, December 13, 2016