HIV and AIDS News
May 29, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 6:26am EDT

More HIV and AIDS News
May 29, 2016

Antiretroviral Therapy May Not Be Enough to Reduce HIV-Associated Arterial Inflammation

May 25, 2016 — Initiating antiretroviral therapy soon after diagnosis of an HIV infection did not prevent the progression of significant arterial inflammation in a small group of previously untreated ... read more

DIY Sampling Kits Accessed Through Gay Men's Social Media Unearth New HIV Cases

May 24, 2016 — Offering DIY sampling kits for HIV using online dating apps and social media targeting gay men, successfully unearths previously undiagnosed cases of the infection, reveals an evaluation of the first ... read more

Fixed-Dose Combinations Vs Single-Drug for Treating Pulmonary TB

May 20, 2016 — A research team has prepared a systematic review that explores the efficacy, safety, and adherence to fixed-dose combinations (FDCs) of drugs versus single-drug formulations to treat people who are ... read more

Early-Capture HIV Study Allows for Characterization of Acute Infection Period

May 18, 2016 — Scientists have enrolled and intensively followed a cohort of high-risk individuals, tracking their HIV status and characterizing the disease through the acute stages of HIV ... read more

New Easy-to-Use TB Test Achieves Accuracy Comparable to IGRAs in Phase III Trials

May 18, 2016 — A new skin test for tuberculosis infection has proven safe, easy to administer and accurate in two Phase III clinical ... read more

Pursuing the Destruction of HIV-Infected Cells

May 18, 2016 — An oral drug used to treat an illness unrelated to HIV eradicated infectious HIV-producing cells in lab cultures while sparing uninfected cells -- and suppressed the virus in patients during ... read more

Leading Sexual Health Specialist Calls for HIV Prevention PrEP to Be 'Available Now'

May 17, 2016 — Following the decision by NHS England to not make pre-exposure prophylaxis (PrEP) available to HIV-negative persons in England at risk of acquiring HIV, an expert outlines how: "PrEP is ... read more

HIV Testing During Early Infection May Reduce New Cases in High-Risk Communities

May 12, 2016 — Detecting HIV earlier, through screening programs that can identify the virus shortly after infection, may lead to lower rates of HIV transmission in local epidemics, suggest findings from a new ... read more

A Brief History of Syphilis Points to a Neglected Disease in Sub-Saharan Africa

May 11, 2016 — It is known that syphilis rates have varied much between different countries and populations over the past 100 years. A new study collates a history of the disease and finds that while rates dropped ... read more

Same-Day HIV Treatment Improves Health Outcomes, Study Finds

May 11, 2016 — A clinical trial of same-day initiation of antiretroviral therapy for HIV patients in South Africa led to a higher proportion of people starting treatment and to better health outcomes, according to ... read more

Lateral Flow Urine Lipoarabinomannan Assay for Detecting Active Tuberculosis in HIV-Positive Adults

May 11, 2016 — An international review team has prepared a systematic review to assess the accuracy of a point-of-care urine test for diagnosing and screening tuberculosis (TB) in people living with human ... read more

Unsafe Sex Is Fastest-Growing Risk for Ill Health in Teens

May 10, 2016 — A new groundbreaking report finds that years of neglect have had detrimental effects on adolescent health. Two-thirds of young people are growing up in countries where preventable and treatable ... read more

Eliminating HIV Is Possible

May 10, 2016 — Researchers report that global elimination of HIV is possible, if countries use the strategy planned by the World Health Organization and the Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS. This ... read more

Antibody Therapy Opens Door to Potential New Treatment for HIV

May 6, 2016 — Researchers are developing an antibody-based drug that may provide a better strategy for long-term control of HIV. New results from a clinical trial suggest that a single dose of a so-called broadly ... read more

May 5, 2016 — Through the use of powerful genomic techniques, researchers have found that the development of immune cells, called innate lymphoid cells (ILCs), gradually prepares these cells for rapid response to ... read more

How a Female Sex Hormone May Protect Against STIs

May 5, 2016 — Research reveals for the first time how estradiol, a female sex hormone present during the menstrual cycle and found in oral contraceptives, may work to protect women against sexually transmitted ... read more

Broadly Neutralizing Antibodies Improve Immune Response; Clear HIV Reservoirs

May 5, 2016 — Two new studies reveal that administering a potent, broadly neutralizing antibody that binds to HIV evokes a strong immune response in humans, and can even accelerate the clearance of infected ... read more

Number of HIV Infections Falling in United States, but Fails to Meet Reduction Goals

May 3, 2016 — The number of new HIV infections occurring annually in the United States decreased by an estimated 11 percent from 2010 to 2015, while the HIV transmission rate decreased by an estimated 17 percent ... read more

Funding Decline for a US Government HIV/AIDS Initiative Raises Concerns

May 3, 2016 — A new study finds a significant decline in funding for an important part of the United States President's Emergency Plan for AIDS Relief, or PEPFAR. The study finds a 33 percent drop in funding ... read more

Promoting Abstinence, Fidelity for HIV Prevention Is Ineffective, Study Finds

May 2, 2016 — The US government has invested $1.4 billion in HIV prevention programs that promote sexual abstinence and marital fidelity, but there is no evidence that these programs have been effective at ... read more

Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Friday, May 20, 2016
Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Thursday, May 12, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Friday, May 6, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Tuesday, May 3, 2016
Monday, May 2, 2016
Friday, April 29, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Friday, April 22, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Friday, April 15, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Friday, April 8, 2016
Thursday, April 7, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Friday, April 1, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Tuesday, March 29, 2016
Monday, March 28, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Tuesday, March 22, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Friday, March 18, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Friday, March 11, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Wednesday, March 9, 2016
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Monday, March 7, 2016
Friday, March 4, 2016
Thursday, March 3, 2016
Wednesday, March 2, 2016
Friday, February 26, 2016