NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
HIV and AIDS News
October 28, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 7:26pm EDT

More HIV and AIDS News
October 28, 2016

Drug Use in Business Bathrooms in New York City Surveyed

Oct. 24, 2016 — This is the first quantitative study of business manager encounters with drug use which suggests overdose recognition and naloxone training, combined with the operation of supervised injection ... read more

Cells Infected by HIV Defend Themselves, Research Shows

Oct. 4, 2016 — T cells, important in the immune system, defend themselves when infected by HIV (human immunodeficiency virus). Until now, it was considered that these cells were not aware of their infection by the ... read more

Age-Specific Strategies Are Needed When Caring for Older Individuals With HIV

Oct. 4, 2016 — A new article highlights the differences between older and younger adults living with HIV, and offers age-specific strategies on how to provide care. Older individuals differ from younger patients ... read more

Researchers Closer Than Ever to a Universal Flu Vaccine

Oct. 3, 2016 — Seasonal flu vaccines work by generating antibodies that bind to the virus and prevent it from infecting cells. Universal flu vaccines do this as well, but go one step further by recruiting white ... read more

Broadly Neutralizing HIV Antibodies Pave the Way for Vaccine

Sep. 26, 2016 — A small number of people infected with HIV produce antibodies with an amazing effect: Not only are the antibodies directed against the own virus strain, but also against different sub-types of HIV ... read more

Researchers Find a Potential Signature of Cognitive Function in People Living With HIV

Sep. 20, 2016 — A unique epigenetic footprint has been found in specific types of immune cells from blood that can identify individuals with HIV that have a range of impairments in cognitive function. Reliable ... read more

New Study Compares Approaches to Prevent Malaria in Pregnancy

Sep. 19, 2016 — A screen and treat strategy for pregnant women in sub Saharan African does not reduce adverse outcomes compared with standard preventative treatment for malaria, say ... read more

Sep. 19, 2016 — The discovery of a novel, advanced technique to identify the rare cells where human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) hides in patients taking antiretroviral therapy (ART). This is an important step ... read more

Study Explores Potency of Antibodies to Combat HIV Infection

Sep. 15, 2016 — A clinical trial underway – known as the AMP study (for Antibody Meditated Prevention) – will determine whether infusing an experimental antibody (VRC01) into HIV-negative men and transgender ... read more

Adverse Outcomes Not Improved in Novel Screen-and-Treat Program for Malaria in Pregnancy

Sep. 13, 2016 — A novel strategy to screen pregnant women for malaria with rapid diagnostic tests and treat the test-positive women with effective antimalarials does not lower the risk of adverse pregnancy outcomes ... read more

Despite Chronic Pain, South Africans With HIV-Related Pain Are Surprisingly Active

Sep. 13, 2016 — South Africans with HIV-related pain are surprisingly active and this is not due to their resilience, says a new report. More than 50% of HIV-positive individuals experience a painful condition like ... read more

Scientists Discover Antibodies That Target Holes in HIV's Defenses

Sep. 12, 2016 — A new study shows that 'holes' in HIV's defensive sugar shield could be important in designing an HIV ... read more

First Accurate Simulation of a Virus Invading a Cell

Sep. 12, 2016 — For the first time, scientists know what happens to a virus’ shape when it invades a host cell, thanks to a new experiment. Understanding how the virus shape specifically changes could lead to more ... read more

Sep. 8, 2016 — New approaches that could spur the human body to produce HIV-blocking antibodies have been successful in mice mimicking the human immune system, according to five new ... read more

Training Human Antibodies to Protect Against HIV

Sep. 8, 2016 — During HIV infection, the virus mutates too rapidly for the immune system to combat, but some people produce antibodies that can recognize the virus even two years after infection. With an eye ... read more

What Are the Challenges of Implementing New TB Screening Guidelines?

Sep. 6, 2016 — An editorial accompanies the publication of new US Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF) screening recommendations for latent tuberculosis (TB) infection in primary care settings. The editorial ... read more

Single HIV Mutation Induces Distinct T Cell Immune Responses

Sep. 6, 2016 — Scientists have discovered that a single T cell-selected HIV mutation can produce different T cell adaptations. The finding demonstrates that the complexity of the HIV/T cell co-evolution is much ... read more

Sep. 6, 2016 — Researchers found some monkeys whose immune systems are depleted by the simian strain of HIV have a second line of defense against tuberculosis. The discovery could have significant impacts on future ... read more

Gut Bacteria Affect Immune Recovery in HIV Patients, Study Finds

Sep. 5, 2016 — Gut bacteria also play their role in the immune recovery of HIV patients, an international study has found. The implications of this finding are that new complementary therapies could be developed ... read more

New Model Could Help Improve Prediction of Outbreaks of Ebola and Lassa Fever

Sep. 2, 2016 — Potential outbreaks of diseases such as Ebola and Lassa fever may be more accurately predicted thanks to a new mathematical model. This could in turn help inform public health messages to prevent ... read more

Monday, October 24, 2016
Tuesday, October 4, 2016
Monday, October 3, 2016
Monday, September 26, 2016
Tuesday, September 20, 2016
Monday, September 19, 2016
Thursday, September 15, 2016
Tuesday, September 13, 2016
Monday, September 12, 2016
Thursday, September 8, 2016
Tuesday, September 6, 2016
Monday, September 5, 2016
Friday, September 2, 2016
Thursday, September 1, 2016
Wednesday, August 31, 2016
Thursday, August 25, 2016
Wednesday, August 24, 2016
Tuesday, August 23, 2016
Monday, August 22, 2016
Friday, August 19, 2016
Thursday, August 18, 2016
Wednesday, August 17, 2016
Thursday, August 11, 2016
Friday, August 12, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Tuesday, August 9, 2016
Monday, August 8, 2016
Thursday, August 4, 2016
Wednesday, August 3, 2016
Tuesday, August 2, 2016
Monday, August 1, 2016
Friday, July 29, 2016
Wednesday, July 27, 2016
Monday, July 25, 2016
Friday, July 22, 2016
Thursday, July 21, 2016
Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016
Friday, July 15, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Tuesday, July 5, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Thursday, June 23, 2016
Tuesday, June 21, 2016