Urology News
September 26, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 4:25am EDT

More Urology News
September 26, 2016

Sep. 14, 2016 — An innovative procedure combining MRI and ultrasound to create a 3D image of the prostate can more accurately locate suspicious areas and help diagnose whether it's prostate cancer, new research ... read more

The Gender Divide in Urology: Surgeon Gender Shapes the Clinical Landscape

Aug. 17, 2016 — Although female certified urologists are still a minority within the specialty, they perform many more procedures on women than their male colleagues, who perform more procedures on men than their ... read more

Researchers Pinpoint Key Regulatory Role of Noncoding Genes in Prostate Cancer Development

Aug. 15, 2016 — Prostate cancer researchers studying genetic variations have pinpointed 45 genes associated with disease development and progression, a new report ... read more

Radical Treatment and Examination Combined Can Halve Mortality from Prostate Cancer

Aug. 8, 2016 — Men with very high-risk prostate cancer, who are treated at hospitals with a high proportion of administered radical local treatment (radiotherapy or prostatectomy), only have half of the mortality ... read more

African-American Men Negatively Impacted by Hormone Therapy for Treatment of Prostate Cancer

Aug. 4, 2016 — In a retrospective study analyzing patients' medical records, researchers found that patients' race significantly affected their longevity by increasing the likelihood of death after ... read more

More Accurate Prostate Cancer Prognosis

Aug. 2, 2016 — Men diagnosed with prostate cancer can be provided with a more accurate estimate of their risk of death from the disease, and treatment planned accordingly, according to new ... read more

Prostate Cancer Breakthrough Could Lead to New Diagnostic Tests and Treatments

July 28, 2016 — Prostate cancer patients have been offered hope after scientists have identified a new group of molecules that could be targeted to slow tumor ... read more

Patients With Low Risk Prostate Cancer on Active Surveillance Experience Good Quality of Life

July 25, 2016 — Active surveillance (AS) has become an increasingly important alternative to surgery, chemotherapy, or radiation treatment for men diagnosed with low risk prostate cancer. However, what is the impact ... read more

New Findings Concerning Hereditary Prostate Cancer

July 11, 2016 — It is a well-known fact that men with a family history of prostate cancer run an increased risk of developing the disease. The risk for brothers of men with prostate cancer is doubled. But a doubled ... read more

Researchers Identify Bacterial Infection as a Possible Cause of Bladder Condition

July 7, 2016 — A research team has identified bacterial infection as a possible cause of Overactive Bladder Syndrome (OAB). OAB is a condition where the bladder muscle spontaneously contracts before the bladder is ... read more

Robotic Rectum May Aid Prostate Cancer Diagnosis

July 4, 2016 — A robotic rectum may help doctors and nurses detect prostate cancer. The technology, which consists of prosthetic buttocks and rectum with in-built robotic ... read more

Liquid Biopsy Biomarkers Identify Prostate Cancer Before Surgery

June 28, 2016 — Prostate cancer researchers have discovered biomarkers using non-invasive liquid biopsies to identify aggressive disease before ... read more

Prognostic Factor Indicates Risk of Cancer Recurrence Following Radical Prostatectomy

June 27, 2016 — Slightly more than 10% of all patients who undergo successful surgery for prostate cancer have an elevated risk of tumor recurrence afterwards – especially as metastases. Under the microscope, it ... read more

June 24, 2016 — A team of researchers are developing a three-dimensional model for prostate cancer research based on cryogels. The model will be used to reproduce natural processes and above all to examine the ... read more

Single Gene Drives Prostate Differentiation

June 23, 2016 — Expression of a single gene can convert cells lining the seminal vesicle in the pelvis into prostate cells, a new study ... read more

Screening Strategy May Predict Lethal Prostate Cancer Later in Life

June 13, 2016 — Through a prospective study of US men, investigators have found that measuring PSA levels in younger men (between the ages of 40 and 59) could accurately predict future risk of lethal prostate cancer ... read more

Mouse Model Shows That Notch Activation Can Drive Metastatic Prostate Cancer

June 13, 2016 — Notch signaling is involved in prostate cancer and through new study, researchers have shown that, in a mouse model of the disease, Notch promotes metastasis, or the ability of the tumors to spread ... read more

June 10, 2016 — Up until now, capturing an image of a prostate cancer has been difficult because prostate tissue and tumor tissue are so similar. Precise, non-invasive surgical treatment has proved difficult as a ... read more

June 7, 2016 — A recent pilot study found that sodium fluoride (Na-F-18) positron emission tomography/computed tomography (NaF-PET/CT) accurately detects bone metastases in patients with advanced prostate cancer, ... read more

Higher BMI, Waist Circumference Are Associated With Increased Risk of Aggressive Prostate Cancer

June 2, 2016 — A study of almost 150,000 men from eight European countries shows that higher body mass index (BMI) and waist circumference are associated with an increased risk of aggressive prostate ... read more

Wednesday, September 14, 2016
Wednesday, August 17, 2016
Monday, August 15, 2016
Monday, August 8, 2016
Thursday, August 4, 2016
Tuesday, August 2, 2016
Thursday, July 28, 2016
Monday, July 25, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Monday, July 4, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Friday, June 24, 2016
Thursday, June 23, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Friday, June 10, 2016
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Thursday, June 2, 2016
Friday, May 20, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Thursday, May 12, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Saturday, May 7, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Tuesday, May 3, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Tuesday, March 29, 2016
Monday, March 28, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Friday, March 18, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Monday, March 7, 2016
Tuesday, March 1, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Friday, February 26, 2016
Tuesday, February 23, 2016
Friday, February 19, 2016
Wednesday, February 17, 2016
Thursday, February 11, 2016
Wednesday, February 10, 2016
Monday, February 8, 2016
Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Thursday, January 21, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Monday, January 11, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Friday, December 18, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Tuesday, December 1, 2015
Tuesday, November 17, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Saturday, November 14, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Monday, October 12, 2015
Tuesday, October 6, 2015
Monday, October 5, 2015
Thursday, October 1, 2015
Tuesday, September 29, 2015
Monday, September 28, 2015
Tuesday, September 22, 2015
Thursday, September 17, 2015
Monday, August 31, 2015
Monday, August 3, 2015
Wednesday, July 29, 2015