NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Urology News
October 28, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 4:55am EDT

More Urology News
October 28, 2016

Bladder Cancer Research Rife With New Approaches

Oct. 4, 2016 — The FDA approval of Tecentriq ushered in the first new treatment for advanced bladder cancer in 30 ... read more

Cervical and Endometrial Cancer Patients Report Fewer Side Effects and Better Quality of Life With IMRT

Sep. 26, 2016 — Patients with cervical and endometrial cancer have fewer gastrointestinal and genitourinary side effects and experience better quality of life when treated with intensity-modulated radiation therapy ... read more

SBRT Offers Prostate Cancer Patients High Cancer Control and Low Toxicity in Fewer Treatments

Sep. 26, 2016 — High dose stereotactic body radiotherapy (SBRT) for men newly-diagnosed with low- or intermediate-risk prostate cancer results in shorter treatment times, low severe toxicity and excellent cancer ... read more

Extremely Hypofractionated Radiation Therapy Shows Promising Toxicity Results for Intermediate Risk Prostate Cancer Patients

Sep. 26, 2016 — For men with intermediate risk prostate cancer, side effects at two years following radiation therapy (RT) were comparable for extremely-hypofractionated treatment, which was delivered in seven ... read more

Experts Encourage Prostate Cancer Patients to Weigh Long-Term Impact of Treatment Options With Their Doctors

Sep. 15, 2016 — For men with early stage prostate cancer, there is no difference in mortality rates following active monitoring, surgery or RT, ten-year findings from a trial indicate. Moreover, cancer-specific ... read more

Sep. 14, 2016 — An innovative procedure combining MRI and ultrasound to create a 3D image of the prostate can more accurately locate suspicious areas and help diagnose whether it's prostate cancer, new research ... read more

Keep Intimate Life Intact Despite Tumor Surgery in the Pelvis

Sep. 13, 2016 — Tumor surgery in the pelvis (urogenital and anal area) can lead to injuries of the regional nervous center and therefore to bowel and bladder incontinence and sexual function disorders. This can ... read more

Exercise App Reduces Incontinence

Sep. 12, 2016 — Urinary leakage whilst coughing and jumping is common in women. Using a self-administered treatment via a mobile app for three months reduced symptoms, led to fewer leakages and improved quality of ... read more

PSA Failure Predicts Risk of Death Only in Healthy Men

Sep. 6, 2016 — A rise in prostate-specific antigen (PSA) levels in healthy men who have previously been treated for prostate cancer is significantly associated with a 1.6-fold increased risk of death, a new study ... read more

New PET Scan for Prostate Cancer Patients

Sep. 6, 2016 — A new effective PET/CT scan for prostate cancer patients can detect the location and extent of cancer that has recurred after initial treatment. Prostate PET/CT scans can detect cancer earlier than ... read more

It May Be Time to Abandon Dreaded Digital Rectal Exam, Research Shows

Sep. 6, 2016 — The dreaded finger exam to check for prostate cancer used to be a mainstay of check-ups for older men. With its value now in question, some doctors share the risks and benefits with their patients ... read more

Gene Defect as a Potential Gateway for Targeted Prostate Cancer Therapy

Sep. 5, 2016 — The loss of CHD1, one of the most frequently mutated genes in prostate tumors, sensitizes human prostate cancer cells to different drugs, including PARP inhibitors. This suggests CHD1 as a potential ... read more

Female Triathletes at Higher Risk for Pelvic Floor Disorders

Aug. 23, 2016 — Female triathletes are at a higher risk for several health issues, including pelvic floor disorders, new research indicates. Researchers conducted an internet survey of 311 self-identified female ... read more

Rates of Early Prostate Cancer Continue Decline After USPSTF Recommendation

Aug. 18, 2016 — Rates of early prostate cancer have continued to drop since the US Preventive Services Task Force recommendation against routine prostate-specific antigen (PSA) testing in all men, according to an ... read more

The Gender Divide in Urology: Surgeon Gender Shapes the Clinical Landscape

Aug. 17, 2016 — Although female certified urologists are still a minority within the specialty, they perform many more procedures on women than their male colleagues, who perform more procedures on men than their ... read more

Researchers Pinpoint Key Regulatory Role of Noncoding Genes in Prostate Cancer Development

Aug. 15, 2016 — Prostate cancer researchers studying genetic variations have pinpointed 45 genes associated with disease development and progression, a new report ... read more

Radical Treatment and Examination Combined Can Halve Mortality from Prostate Cancer

Aug. 8, 2016 — Men with very high-risk prostate cancer, who are treated at hospitals with a high proportion of administered radical local treatment (radiotherapy or prostatectomy), only have half of the mortality ... read more

African-American Men Negatively Impacted by Hormone Therapy for Treatment of Prostate Cancer

Aug. 4, 2016 — In a retrospective study analyzing patients' medical records, researchers found that patients' race significantly affected their longevity by increasing the likelihood of death after ... read more

More Accurate Prostate Cancer Prognosis

Aug. 2, 2016 — Men diagnosed with prostate cancer can be provided with a more accurate estimate of their risk of death from the disease, and treatment planned accordingly, according to new ... read more

Prostate Cancer Breakthrough Could Lead to New Diagnostic Tests and Treatments

July 28, 2016 — Prostate cancer patients have been offered hope after scientists have identified a new group of molecules that could be targeted to slow tumor ... read more

Tuesday, October 4, 2016
Monday, September 26, 2016
Thursday, September 15, 2016
Wednesday, September 14, 2016
Tuesday, September 13, 2016
Monday, September 12, 2016
Tuesday, September 6, 2016
Monday, September 5, 2016
Tuesday, August 23, 2016
Thursday, August 18, 2016
Wednesday, August 17, 2016
Monday, August 15, 2016
Monday, August 8, 2016
Thursday, August 4, 2016
Tuesday, August 2, 2016
Thursday, July 28, 2016
Monday, July 25, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Monday, July 4, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Friday, June 24, 2016
Thursday, June 23, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Friday, June 10, 2016
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Thursday, June 2, 2016
Friday, May 20, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Thursday, May 12, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Saturday, May 7, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Tuesday, May 3, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Tuesday, March 29, 2016
Monday, March 28, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Friday, March 18, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Monday, March 7, 2016
Tuesday, March 1, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Friday, February 26, 2016
Tuesday, February 23, 2016
Friday, February 19, 2016
Wednesday, February 17, 2016
Thursday, February 11, 2016
Wednesday, February 10, 2016
Monday, February 8, 2016
Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Thursday, January 21, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Monday, January 11, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Friday, December 18, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Tuesday, December 1, 2015
Tuesday, November 17, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Saturday, November 14, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015