Urology News
August 30, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 4:55am EDT

More Urology News
August 30, 2016

Radical Treatment and Examination Combined Can Halve Mortality from Prostate Cancer

Aug. 8, 2016 — Men with very high-risk prostate cancer, who are treated at hospitals with a high proportion of administered radical local treatment (radiotherapy or prostatectomy), only have half of the mortality ... read more

African-American Men Negatively Impacted by Hormone Therapy for Treatment of Prostate Cancer

Aug. 4, 2016 — In a retrospective study analyzing patients' medical records, researchers found that patients' race significantly affected their longevity by increasing the likelihood of death after ... read more

Robotic Rectum May Aid Prostate Cancer Diagnosis

July 4, 2016 — A robotic rectum may help doctors and nurses detect prostate cancer. The technology, which consists of prosthetic buttocks and rectum with in-built robotic ... read more

Liquid Biopsy Biomarkers Identify Prostate Cancer Before Surgery

June 28, 2016 — Prostate cancer researchers have discovered biomarkers using non-invasive liquid biopsies to identify aggressive disease before ... read more

June 24, 2016 — A team of researchers are developing a three-dimensional model for prostate cancer research based on cryogels. The model will be used to reproduce natural processes and above all to examine the ... read more

Screening Strategy May Predict Lethal Prostate Cancer Later in Life

June 13, 2016 — Through a prospective study of US men, investigators have found that measuring PSA levels in younger men (between the ages of 40 and 59) could accurately predict future risk of lethal prostate cancer ... read more

Mouse Model Shows That Notch Activation Can Drive Metastatic Prostate Cancer

June 13, 2016 — Notch signaling is involved in prostate cancer and through new study, researchers have shown that, in a mouse model of the disease, Notch promotes metastasis, or the ability of the tumors to spread ... read more

June 10, 2016 — Up until now, capturing an image of a prostate cancer has been difficult because prostate tissue and tumor tissue are so similar. Precise, non-invasive surgical treatment has proved difficult as a ... read more

June 7, 2016 — A recent pilot study found that sodium fluoride (Na-F-18) positron emission tomography/computed tomography (NaF-PET/CT) accurately detects bone metastases in patients with advanced prostate cancer, ... read more

Higher BMI, Waist Circumference Are Associated With Increased Risk of Aggressive Prostate Cancer

June 2, 2016 — A study of almost 150,000 men from eight European countries shows that higher body mass index (BMI) and waist circumference are associated with an increased risk of aggressive prostate ... read more

In Obese Prostate Cancer Patients, Robotic Surgery Reduces Risk of Blood Loss

May 20, 2016 — In obese prostate cancer patients, robotic-assisted surgery to remove the prostate reduces the risk of blood loss and prolonged hospital stays, a new study has ... read more

May 20, 2016 — Researchers have compiled an extensive review of the key contributions to understanding the mechanics of the bladder ranging from work conducted in the 1970s through the present time with a focus on ... read more

E.coli 'Anchors' Provide Novel Way to Hijack Superbugs

May 16, 2016 — Scientists may have found a way to stop deadly bacteria from infecting patients. The discovery could lead to a whole new way of treating antibiotic-resistant 'superbugs'. The researchers ... read more

More Urinary Tract Stones Are Being Treated With Surgery

May 12, 2016 — Researchers who analyzed recent trends related to urinary tract stones in the UK found a sustained and high prevalence of the condition, with an increased trend to treat patients with surgery. The ... read more

New PSA Test Examines Protein Structures to Detect Prostate Cancers

May 11, 2016 — A promising new test is detecting prostate cancer more precisely than current tests, by identifying molecular changes in the prostate specific antigen (PSA) protein, according to new ... read more

May 11, 2016 — A new paper looks at how MRI and a clear understanding of the functional anatomy around the prostate can allow radiation oncologists to plan a course of treatment for patients with prostate cancer ... read more

Radiotherapy Halves Deaths from Prostate Cancer 15 Years After Diagnosis

May 9, 2016 — A longitudinal Nordic study, comparing the results of hormone (antiandrogen) therapy with or without the addition of local radiotherapy, shows that a combination of treatments halves the risk of ... read more

Cancer May Drive Health Problems as People Age

May 9, 2016 — A new study indicates that cancer may have negative impacts on both the physical and mental health of individuals as they age. The study suggests that cancer increases the risk for certain health ... read more

Testosterone Therapy Does Not Raise Risk of Aggressive Prostate Cancer

May 7, 2016 — Men with low levels of the male sex hormone testosterone need not fear that testosterone replacement therapy will increase their risk of prostate cancer, suggests a new ... read more

Prostate Cancer Screening Guidelines Called Into Question

May 5, 2016 — Researchers discuss their findings related to PSA screening, and urge reconsideration of prostate cancer screening after finding critical flaw in landmark ... read more

Monday, August 8, 2016
Thursday, August 4, 2016
Monday, July 4, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Friday, June 24, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Friday, June 10, 2016
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Thursday, June 2, 2016
Friday, May 20, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Thursday, May 12, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Saturday, May 7, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Tuesday, May 3, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Tuesday, March 29, 2016
Monday, March 28, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Friday, March 18, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Monday, March 7, 2016
Tuesday, March 1, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Friday, February 26, 2016
Tuesday, February 23, 2016
Friday, February 19, 2016
Wednesday, February 17, 2016
Thursday, February 11, 2016
Wednesday, February 10, 2016
Monday, February 8, 2016
Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Thursday, January 21, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Monday, January 11, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Friday, December 18, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Tuesday, December 1, 2015
Tuesday, November 17, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Saturday, November 14, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Monday, October 12, 2015
Tuesday, October 6, 2015
Monday, October 5, 2015
Thursday, October 1, 2015
Tuesday, September 29, 2015
Monday, September 28, 2015
Tuesday, September 22, 2015
Thursday, September 17, 2015
Monday, August 31, 2015
Monday, August 3, 2015
Wednesday, July 29, 2015
Friday, July 24, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015