Sexual Health News
May 29, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 5:30am EDT

More Sexual Health News
May 29, 2016

DIY Sampling Kits Accessed Through Gay Men's Social Media Unearth New HIV Cases

May 24, 2016 — Offering DIY sampling kits for HIV using online dating apps and social media targeting gay men, successfully unearths previously undiagnosed cases of the infection, reveals an evaluation of the first ... read more

Low to Moderate Risk of Locally Transmitted Cases of Zika in Parts of Europe

May 24, 2016 — ECDC has updated its rapid risk assessment on the Zika epidemic that continues to evolve in the Americas and the ... read more

Apr. 27, 2016 — An effective vaccine against the virus that causes genital herpes has evaded researchers for decades. But now, researchers from the University of Illinois at Chicago working with scientists from ... read more

Young Gay, Bisexual Men Six Times More Likely to Attempt Suicide Than Older Counterparts

Apr. 26, 2016 — Young gay and bisexual men are at significantly greater risk of poor mental health than older men in that group, according to new research. The study is the first to examine the mental health ... read more

Child Homicide: Speaking of the Unspeakable

Apr. 26, 2016 — New estimates suggest that homicide could be responsible for just over 1 percent of all neonatal deaths in South Africa. Together with other studies reporting on child homicide from other countries, ... read more

Gender Differences, Relationship Power Could Be Key in Preventing HIV in South African Adolescents

Apr. 26, 2016 — Millions of those infected with HIV worldwide are young women, ages 15-24, according to the World Health Organization. Because the HIV epidemic overlaps with an epidemic of intimate partner violence ... read more

What Scientists Know -- And Don't Know -- About Sexual Orientation

Apr. 25, 2016 — Over the last 50 years, political rights for lesbian, gay, and bisexual (LGB) individuals have significantly broadened in some countries, while they have narrowed in others. In many parts of the ... read more

Expand HPV Vaccination Programs in Canada to Include Males, Say Experts

Apr. 25, 2016 — Expanding human papillomavirus (HPV) vaccination programs to include males in Canada will help protect them against HPV-related cancers, according to an ... read more

International Law Fails to Protect Pregnant Women in War Zones, Argue Doctors

Apr. 20, 2016 — Deaths from violent conflict and lack of available care are major causes of mortality among pregnant women in war zones, warn doctors in a new ... read more

Study Identifies Effects of Hormonal Contraceptives on Anti-Viral Immunity

Apr. 19, 2016 — Women account for approximately half of all individuals living with HIV worldwide, and researchers wanted to identify the risk factors that increase susceptibility of women to genital ... read more

Can Trajectory of Child Sexual Abuse Victims Be Changed?

Apr. 18, 2016 — Authors and investigators have announced the highly anticipated preliminary results of the clinical trials performed at the Little Warriors Be Brave Ranch, confirming that the four-week intervention ... read more

Apr. 18, 2016 — A new vaccine for human papillomavirus would significantly reduce both cervical cancer incidence and healthcare costs if states coordinated policies to improve coverage, a new study ... read more

Apr. 14, 2016 — The concentration of the hormone prolactin in the blood is controlled by dopamine. However, the system can be thrown off balance by certain drugs, especially antipsychotics, which can result in ... read more

Neonatal Circumcision Does Not Reduce Penile Sensitivity in Men, Study Finds

Apr. 14, 2016 — Few data are available concerning the consequences of neonatal circumcision on penile sensitivity in adults. New research indicates that there are no differences in penile sensitivity for a variety ... read more

Prevalence of Homosexuality in Men Is Stable Throughout Time Since Many Carry the Genes

Apr. 12, 2016 — Around half of all heterosexual men and women potentially carry so-called homosexuality genes that are passed on from one generation to the next. This has helped homosexuality to be present among ... read more

HIV Vaccine Candidate Confirms Promise in Preclinical Study

Apr. 11, 2016 — An HIV vaccine candidate has shown to generate more than 80 percent protection in groups of twelve female monkeys against high dose, repeated AIDS virus exposures during part of a preclinical ... read more

HPV Vaccine May Be Effective in Adolescents With Kidney Disease, but Less So in Those With a Kidney Transplant

Apr. 7, 2016 — Following vaccination against human papillomavirus, girls and young women with chronic kidney disease and those on dialysis had antibody levels above the threshold that indicates protection from ... read more

Apr. 7, 2016 — Genetic attributions strongly shape perceptions of whether a person's sexual orientation could change and likely made same-sex marriage and other policies more widely acceptable in the past ... read more

When Women Feel Their Partner Demands Perfection, Sex Life Suffers

Mar. 30, 2016 — Women who perceive that their sexual partner is imposing perfectionist standards on them may suffer sexual dysfunction as a result, psychologists have ... read more

Narcissism Linked to Sexual Assault Perpetration in College, Study Finds

Mar. 29, 2016 — Almost 20 percent of college men have committed some kind of sexual assault, and 4 percent have committed rape, according to researchers who were examining the link between different kinds of ... read more

Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Tuesday, April 12, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Thursday, April 7, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Tuesday, March 29, 2016
Monday, March 28, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Friday, March 18, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Wednesday, March 9, 2016
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Monday, March 7, 2016
Thursday, March 3, 2016
Wednesday, March 2, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Friday, February 26, 2016
Thursday, February 25, 2016
Wednesday, February 24, 2016
Friday, February 19, 2016
Wednesday, February 17, 2016
Tuesday, February 16, 2016
Tuesday, February 9, 2016
Monday, February 8, 2016
Wednesday, February 3, 2016
Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Friday, January 29, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Tuesday, January 26, 2016
Monday, January 25, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Monday, January 11, 2016
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Friday, December 11, 2015
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015
Thursday, December 3, 2015
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Tuesday, December 1, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Thursday, November 19, 2015
Tuesday, November 17, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Friday, November 13, 2015
Wednesday, November 11, 2015
Friday, November 6, 2015
Tuesday, November 3, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Monday, October 19, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015