Sexual Health News
September 25, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 10:00am EDT

More Sexual Health News
September 25, 2016

How Effective Is a Smartphone App in Teaching Sexual Health to Teen Girls?

Sep. 8, 2016 — New research has been published that suggests that a smartphone application vs. traditional methods can potentially connect teenage girls to more information about sexual ... read more

Transgender Youth Are as Likely to Become Pregnant as Other Adolescents

Sep. 7, 2016 — Sexually active transgender youth have pregnancy rates similar to their non-transgender peers -- dispelling the notion that trans youth are less at risk for pregnancy, according to new ... read more

Greater Efforts Are Needed to Eliminate Female Genital Mutilation

Sep. 6, 2016 — The World Health Organization reports that more than 200 million girls and women currently have been subjected to female genital mutilation/cutting worldwide, and three million girls continue to be ... read more

Single HIV Mutation Induces Distinct T Cell Immune Responses

Sep. 6, 2016 — Scientists have discovered that a single T cell-selected HIV mutation can produce different T cell adaptations. The finding demonstrates that the complexity of the HIV/T cell co-evolution is much ... read more

Aug. 19, 2016 — There are a couple strains of herpes so common that researchers estimate 90% of the human population have them. These strains, human herpes 6 and human herpes 7, usually do not cause severe symptoms ... read more

LGBT Persons Get Limited Educational Info for Assisted Reproductive Technology, Study Finds

Aug. 16, 2016 — With the recent one-year anniversary of Obergefell vs. Hodges -- the landmark US Supreme Court decision legalizing same-sex marriage -- researchers have published a report that identifies unequal ... read more

New Study Evaluates Link Between Young Women's Beliefs on Alcohol Use and Sexual Risk-Taking

Aug. 10, 2016 — A new study looks at how young women's beliefs about alcohol and sex affect condom usage during sexual encounters involving alcohol. The work shows that just over two-thirds (66.9 percent) of ... read more

Assisted-Living Facilities Limit Older Adults' Rights to Sexual Freedom, Study Finds

Aug. 8, 2016 — Older adults in assisted-living facilities experience limits to their rights to sexual freedom because of a lack of policies regarding the issue and the actions of staff and administrators at these ... read more

At Least 1 in 10 Young People in Britain Report a Recent Distressing Sexual Problem

Aug. 2, 2016 — Around one in 10 young men and one in eight young women in Britain who are sexually active have experienced a distressing sexual problem lasting at least three months in the past year, according to ... read more

Infections With the Parasitic Worm W Bancrofti Associated With Increased Risk of HIV Infection, According to Tanzanian Study

Aug. 2, 2016 — People infected with a parasitic worm called Wuchereria bancrofti in areas where HIV is endemic may be more likely to acquire HIV than people who are not infected with the worm, according to a new ... read more

Millennials Less Sexually Active Than Gen-X Peers

Aug. 2, 2016 — Since time immemorial, older generations have fretted over the sexual habits of young people. In today's world, however, elders might just be wondering why young people are having so little sex. ... read more

CDC Issues Travel Guidance Related to Miami Neighborhood With Active Zika Spread

Aug. 2, 2016 — New assessments of mosquito populations and test results this past weekend by Florida public health officials, as part of a community survey in the Miami neighborhood where several Zika infections ... read more

Effectiveness of New Anti-HIV Medication to Protect Women and Infants Demonstrated

Aug. 1, 2016 — Each year, 1.5 million women living with HIV become pregnant. Without effective treatment, up to 45 percent of HIV-infected mothers will transmit the virus to their child, usually through ... read more

Scientists Identify Immunological Profiles of People Who Make Powerful HIV Antibodies

July 29, 2016 — People living with HIV who naturally produce broadly neutralizing antibodies (bNAbs) that may help suppress the virus have different immunological profiles than people who do not, researchers report. ... read more

Preventing HIV in Transgender People

July 20, 2016 — Programs to reduce the high risk of HIV infection among transgender people are urgently needed -- but efforts are hindered by a lack of accurate information on HIV prevalence, HIV incidence, and ... read more

First Widely Protective Vaccine Against Chlamydia

July 19, 2016 — The first steps towards developing a vaccine against an insidious sexual transmitted infection (STI) have been ... read more

July 19, 2016 — Testosterone plays a major role in controlling behavior associated with masculinity in many mammals. In early development, testosterone is involved in the formation and organization of ... read more

New Evidence on Why Young Women in South Africa Are at High Risk of HIV Infection

July 18, 2016 — New evidence is shedding new light on why young women in South Africa have high rates of HIV ... read more

Study Examines Risk of HIV Transmission from Condomless Sex With Virologically Suppressed HIV Infection

July 12, 2016 — Among nearly 900 serodifferent (one partner is HIV-positive, one is HIV-negative) heterosexual and men who have sex with men couples in which the HIV-positive partner was using suppressive ... read more

HIV Vaccine Research Requires Unprecedented Path, Expert Suggests

July 12, 2016 — Because the body does not readily make an adequate immune response to HIV infection, creating a preventive HIV vaccine remains a formidable challenge for researchers. To succeed in this endeavor, ... read more

Thursday, September 8, 2016
Wednesday, September 7, 2016
Tuesday, September 6, 2016
Friday, August 19, 2016
Tuesday, August 16, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Monday, August 8, 2016
Tuesday, August 2, 2016
Monday, August 1, 2016
Friday, July 29, 2016
Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Thursday, June 23, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Thursday, June 2, 2016
Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Sunday, May 29, 2016
Thursday, May 26, 2016
Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Thursday, May 12, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Tuesday, May 3, 2016
Monday, May 2, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Tuesday, April 12, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Thursday, April 7, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Tuesday, March 29, 2016
Monday, March 28, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Friday, March 18, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Wednesday, March 9, 2016
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Monday, March 7, 2016
Thursday, March 3, 2016
Wednesday, March 2, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Friday, February 26, 2016
Thursday, February 25, 2016
Wednesday, February 24, 2016
Friday, February 19, 2016
Wednesday, February 17, 2016
Tuesday, February 16, 2016
Tuesday, February 9, 2016
Monday, February 8, 2016