Sexual Health News
April 24, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 6:57pm EDT

More Sexual Health News
April 24, 2017

Physicians Vastly Underestimate Patients' Willingness to Share Sexual Orientation, Study Finds

Apr. 24, 2017 — A study that surveyed a national sample of emergency department health care providers and adult patients suggests that patients are substantially more willing to disclose their sexual orientation ... read more

Physicians Not Prepared for Male Patients Who Perpetrate Intimate Partner Violence

Mar. 1, 2017 — Family medicine physicians feel underprepared to serve patients whom they know are perpetrators of intimate partner violence, particularly if they also provide care to the ... read more

Transgender and Gender-Fluid Teens Left With Few Safe Harbors

Feb. 28, 2017 — Transgender and gender-fluid teens, particularly those born male, face up to three times more mental and physical abuse at school and at home than their gender-conforming peers, according to a new ... read more

State Same-Sex Marriage Policies Associated With Reduced Teen Suicide Attempts

Feb. 20, 2017 — A nationwide analysis suggests same-sex marriage policies were associated with a reduction in suicide attempts by ... read more

Feb. 16, 2017 — Scientists have discovered that a common type of cell within the human reproductive and intestinal tracts assists HIV in infecting immune cells. Understanding how these cells aid HIV could lead to ... read more

Feb. 15, 2017 — Delivering on the promise of preventing HIV infections with antiretroviral medicines, or pre-exposure prophylaxis (PrEP), requires thinking about PrEP as a nine-step continuum of preventive care, ... read more

New Findings Reveal Health, Aging Experiences of LGBT Older Adults Across Nation

Feb. 13, 2017 — In a first-of-its-kind study, researchers have released new findings this month on the health and aging of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender older adults in the ... read more

How Thailand Eliminated Mother-to-Child HIV Transmission

Feb. 8, 2017 — Thailand has become the first Asian country to eliminate mother-to-child transmission of HIV, thanks to a pragmatic multi-sector response backed by strong political commitment and heavy government ... read more

Beliefs About Better Treatment for HIV Leads Gay Men to Engage in Riskier Sex

Feb. 8, 2017 — A survey in the US notes a consistent increase in the occurrence of condomless anal sex among men, as well as a rise in how many sex partners they have. Although antiretroviral therapies (ART) have ... read more

How Geospatial Characteristics Affect Those Most Affected by HIV

Feb. 6, 2017 — Young men who have sex with men, particularly racial/ethnic minorities and youth living in socioeconomically disadvantaged communities, are disproportionately affected by the human immunodefiency ... read more

Study Affirms That Cocaine Makes Users More Likely to Risk Unsafe Sex

Feb. 2, 2017 — Cocaine use has long been tied anecdotally to higher-than-usual rates of impulsive behavior, including risky sex, but the tie-in has been difficult to study with any scientifically controlled ... read more

Better Sleep Can Lead to Better Sex

Feb. 1, 2017 — Sleep disturbance is common for many women during menopause, creating an array of adverse health outcomes such as heart disease, hypertension, and depression. A new study shows that sleep problems ... read more

Researchers Decode Rare Form of Adrenal Gland Genetic Disorder Linked to Gender Ambiguity

Jan. 30, 2017 — A complete clinical and genetic profile of a rare inherited disorder, steroid 11-hydroxylase deficiency, which can cause genital masculinization in females, is being reported by an international ... read more

For Immigrant Mothers Delivering 'the Talk,' Facts Trump Culture

Jan. 27, 2017 — Where a shift in cultural behaviors and beliefs typically takes three generations, new research has found that among African immigrant mothers, cultural views regarding sex are rarely passed down to ... read more

New Genital Herpes Vaccine Candidate Provides Powerful Protection in Preclinical Tests

Jan. 19, 2017 — Approximately 500 million people around the world are infected with the genital herpes virus known as herpes simplex virus 2 (HSV2). A vaccine that could bring an end to this global pandemic is ... read more

HPV Prevalence Rates Among US Men, Vaccination Coverage

Jan. 19, 2017 — Human papillomavirus (HPV) infection is the most common sexually transmitted infection in the United States, as well as a cause of various cancers, and a new study estimates the overall prevalence of ... read more

Jan. 17, 2017 — By studying the sexual behavior of a mutant strain of fruit fly called 'platonic,' researchers have found parallels between humans and flies in the neural control of ... read more

HIV Treatment Might Boost Susceptibility to Syphilis, Say Researchers

Jan. 16, 2017 — The antiretroviral drugs used to treat HIV infection might inadvertently be boosting gay/bisexual men's susceptibility to the bacteria responsible for syphilis, Treponema pallidum, conclude ... read more

Jan. 10, 2017 — Researchers examined the characteristics of HIV-1 strains that were successful in traversing the genital mucosa that forms a boundary to entry by viruses and bacteria. Studying viral isolates from ... read more

Certain Species of Vaginal Bacteria Can Increase a Woman's Susceptibility to HIV

Jan. 10, 2017 — Specific bacteria living in the human vagina may play a previously unrecognized role in the sexual transmission of HIV. Researchers, working with young, healthy, South African women, found that ... read more

Monday, April 24, 2017
Wednesday, March 1, 2017
Tuesday, February 28, 2017
Monday, February 20, 2017
Thursday, February 16, 2017
Wednesday, February 15, 2017
Monday, February 13, 2017
Wednesday, February 8, 2017
Monday, February 6, 2017
Thursday, February 2, 2017
Wednesday, February 1, 2017
Monday, January 30, 2017
Friday, January 27, 2017
Thursday, January 19, 2017
Tuesday, January 17, 2017
Monday, January 16, 2017
Tuesday, January 10, 2017
Monday, January 9, 2017
Friday, January 6, 2017
Wednesday, January 4, 2017
Thursday, December 15, 2016
Tuesday, December 13, 2016
Monday, December 12, 2016
Friday, December 9, 2016
Saturday, December 3, 2016
Tuesday, November 29, 2016
Monday, November 21, 2016
Thursday, November 17, 2016
Friday, November 11, 2016
Thursday, November 10, 2016
Wednesday, November 9, 2016
Tuesday, November 8, 2016
Wednesday, November 2, 2016
Wednesday, October 26, 2016
Monday, October 24, 2016
Wednesday, October 19, 2016
Thursday, October 13, 2016
Wednesday, October 5, 2016
Tuesday, October 4, 2016
Friday, September 30, 2016
Wednesday, September 28, 2016
Wednesday, September 21, 2016
Sunday, September 18, 2016
Thursday, September 15, 2016
Monday, September 12, 2016
Thursday, September 8, 2016
Wednesday, September 7, 2016
Tuesday, September 6, 2016
Wednesday, August 31, 2016
Thursday, August 25, 2016
Tuesday, August 23, 2016
Friday, August 19, 2016
Tuesday, August 16, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Monday, August 8, 2016
Tuesday, August 2, 2016
Monday, August 1, 2016
Friday, July 29, 2016
Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Thursday, June 23, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Thursday, June 2, 2016
Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Sunday, May 29, 2016
Thursday, May 26, 2016
Tuesday, May 24, 2016