Sports Medicine News
April 27, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 8:27pm EDT

More Sports Medicine News
April 27, 2017

Dyadic Coping Can Enhance the Coach Athlete Relationship

Apr. 26, 2017 — The relationship between a coach and an athlete benefits from a two-way support system, according to new ... read more

Intense Training Without Proper Recovery May Compromise Bone Health in Elite Rowers

Apr. 25, 2017 — Bone mineral density, an indicator of bone strength, typically increases with regular exercise, acting as a protective mechanism against bone fractures and osteoporosis. But a new study suggests that ... read more

Volunteering Might Prevent Substance Abuse for Female Student-Athletes

Apr. 20, 2017 — As substance abuse continues to be a health concern in colleges and universities across the US, a social scientist has found that female student-athletes who volunteer in their communities and engage ... read more

Combating Wear and Tear

Mar. 22, 2017 — A team of researchers has discovered that damage to collagen, the main building block of all human tissue, can occur much earlier at a molecular level from too much physical stress. This could be ... read more

Correlation Between Second ACL Reconstruction and Physical Therapy Utilization Noted

Mar. 18, 2017 — Age, gender and frequency of physical therapy utilization after an anterior cruciate ligament (ACL) surgery may be correlated with second ACL reconstruction rates, according to ... read more

Surgery May Not Offer Additional Benefit to Patients With Tennis Elbow, Study Shows

Mar. 18, 2017 — Surgical approaches to treating tennis elbow may not offer additional benefit to patients, say researchers. Their study, a randomized, double-blinded clinical trial, explored patient responses to a ... read more

Levels of Biomarkers After ACL Surgery May Signal Severity of Osteoarthritis Later in Life

Mar. 18, 2017 — A majority of Anterior Cruciate Ligament (ACL) reconstruction patients develop a condition known as posttraumatic osteoarthritis (PTOA) within 15 years of surgery, which can be debilitating and limit ... read more

Heads Up Tackling Program Decreases Concussion Rates, Say Researchers

Mar. 18, 2017 — Consistently using a tackling education program appears to help lessen youth football concussion severity and occurrence, say ... read more

More Than Half of College Football Athletes Have Inadequate Levels of Vitamin D

Mar. 17, 2017 — More than half of college football athletes participating in the NFL Combine had inadequate levels of vitamin D, and this left them more susceptible to muscle strains and 'sports hernia,' ... read more

Study Identifies Modifiable Risk Factors for Elbow Injuries in Baseball Pitchers

Mar. 14, 2017 — Elbow injuries continue to be on the rise in baseball players, especially pitchers, yet little is known about the actual variables that influence these injuries. While elbow varus torque is already ... read more

Most Athletic Patients Return to Sports, Highly Satisfied With ACL Reconstruction

Mar. 14, 2017 — Most athletic patients who have reconstructive surgery for a torn ACL are highly satisfied with the procedure and able to return to sports, new research ... read more

Nearly All Shoulder Replacement Patients Under Age 55 Return to Sports

Mar. 14, 2017 — A new study found that 96.4 percent of recreational athletes, age 55 and younger, who underwent total shoulder replacement surgery returned to at least one sport, on average, within seven months of ... read more

High Rate of Return to Running Following Arthroscopic Hip Surgery

Mar. 14, 2017 — Ninety-six percent of patients who were recreational or competitive runners prior to developing hip bone spurs returned to their sport within nine months of arthroscopic surgery, according to new ... read more

Nearly Half of Today's High School Athletes Specialize in One Sport

Mar. 14, 2017 — Youth single sport specialization -- training and playing just one sport, often year round and on multiple teams -- is a growing phenomenon in the US A new study found that 45 percent of high school ... read more

Gastrointestinal Cancer: Physical Exercise Helps During Chemo

Mar. 10, 2017 — Walking or jogging helps patients with advanced gastrointestinal cancer to cope better with the side effects of chemotherapy, shows new ... read more

New Deep Learning Techniques Analyze Athletes' Decision-Making

Mar. 6, 2017 — Sports analytics is routinely used to assign values to such things as shots taken or to compare player performance, but a new automated method based on deep learning techniques will provide coaches ... read more

Athletes' Symptom Anxiety Linked to Risk of Injury

Mar. 1, 2017 — The anxiety experienced by elite athletes over illness symptoms is linked to the risk of being injured during competition and should be taken seriously, according to a study carried out at the IAAF ... read more

Differences in Sex and Running Ability Influence Declines in Marathon Performance, Study Finds

Feb. 28, 2017 — A person's sex and running ability play a role in the decline of their performance in marathons as they get older, according to a ... read more

The Differences Between a Sprain, Strain and Tear

Feb. 23, 2017 — For many, the start of a new year means the start of a new workout regimen. It is difficult enough to make the time commitment, but nothing throws off a resolution like an ... read more

Making It Harder to 'Outsmart' Concussion Tests

Feb. 22, 2017 — Concussion testing on the athletic field depends upon comparing an athlete's post-concussion neurocognitive performance with the results of a previously administered baseline test. Experts ... read more

Wednesday, April 26, 2017
Tuesday, April 25, 2017
Thursday, April 20, 2017
Wednesday, March 22, 2017
Saturday, March 18, 2017
Friday, March 17, 2017
Tuesday, March 14, 2017
Friday, March 10, 2017
Monday, March 6, 2017
Wednesday, March 1, 2017
Tuesday, February 28, 2017
Thursday, February 23, 2017
Wednesday, February 22, 2017
Sunday, February 19, 2017
Thursday, February 16, 2017
Tuesday, February 14, 2017
Monday, February 13, 2017
Wednesday, February 8, 2017
Monday, February 6, 2017
Thursday, February 2, 2017
Wednesday, February 1, 2017
Tuesday, January 31, 2017
Monday, January 30, 2017
Tuesday, January 24, 2017
Monday, January 23, 2017
Wednesday, January 18, 2017
Monday, January 9, 2017
Friday, January 6, 2017
Thursday, January 5, 2017
Tuesday, December 27, 2016
Thursday, December 22, 2016
Tuesday, December 20, 2016
Friday, December 16, 2016
Thursday, December 15, 2016
Wednesday, December 14, 2016
Monday, December 12, 2016
Friday, December 9, 2016
Wednesday, December 7, 2016
Tuesday, December 6, 2016
Monday, December 5, 2016
Wednesday, November 30, 2016
Tuesday, November 29, 2016
Monday, November 28, 2016
Monday, November 21, 2016
Saturday, November 19, 2016
Thursday, November 17, 2016
Tuesday, November 15, 2016
Friday, November 4, 2016
Thursday, November 3, 2016
Wednesday, November 2, 2016
Monday, October 31, 2016
Friday, October 28, 2016
Monday, October 24, 2016
Sunday, October 23, 2016
Friday, October 21, 2016
Thursday, October 20, 2016
Wednesday, October 19, 2016
Monday, October 17, 2016
Tuesday, October 11, 2016
Wednesday, October 5, 2016
Tuesday, October 4, 2016
Monday, October 3, 2016
Friday, September 30, 2016
Thursday, September 29, 2016
Wednesday, September 28, 2016
Tuesday, September 27, 2016
Monday, September 26, 2016
Tuesday, September 20, 2016
Tuesday, September 13, 2016
Monday, September 12, 2016
Thursday, September 8, 2016
Wednesday, September 7, 2016