Women's Health News
September 25, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 10:00pm EDT

More Women's Health News
September 25, 2016

Exercise App Reduces Incontinence

Sep. 12, 2016 — Urinary leakage whilst coughing and jumping is common in women. Using a self-administered treatment via a mobile app for three months reduced symptoms, led to fewer leakages and improved quality of ... read more

Sep. 12, 2016 — A biomaterial with the ability to serve as a support for regenerating bone tissue has been developed by researchers. The material is biodegradable and can be printed in 3D with controlled ... read more

Tamoxifen Resistance Linked to High Estrogen Levels in Utero

Sep. 8, 2016 — Resistance to tamoxifen therapy in some estrogen receptor positive breast cancers may originate from in utero exposure to endocrine disrupting chemicals, research in animal studies suggests. This ... read more

Neuroscience: Linking Perception to Action

Sep. 8, 2016 — A researcher studying how the brain uses perception of the environment to guide action has a new understanding of the neural circuits responsible for transforming sensation into ... read more

Sep. 8, 2016 — Scientists have implicated a type of stem cell in the calcification of blood vessels that is common in patients with chronic kidney disease. The research will guide future studies into ways to block ... read more

Chemists Devise Revolutionary 3-D Bone-Scanning Technique

Sep. 8, 2016 — A scanning technique for bones has been created that does not expose patients to X-ray radiation but provides exceptional 3-D images from which diagnoses and prognoses can be made. Their technique ... read more

After Long-Term Follow-Up, Study Looks at Prognostic Factors for Breast Cancer

Sep. 8, 2016 — A new study represents a long-term analysis of prognostic factors among some patients with breast cancer who were treated with breast-conserving therapy in the EORTC "boost no boost" trial, ... read more

Sep. 7, 2016 — In breakthrough research on breast cancer, a team discovered that higher levels of the nuclear transport gene XPO1 indicate when a patient is likely to be resistant to the popular drug ... read more

Sep. 7, 2016 — The antidepressant fluoxetine causes bone loss by instructing the brain to send out signals that increase bone breakdown, but a beta-blocker can intercept the signals, a new study in mice has ... read more

Computerized Tissue Image Analysis Reveals Underlying Genomics of ER+ Breast Cancer

Sep. 7, 2016 — The number of tubules in tumors may predict which women with estrogen receptor positive (ER+) breast cancer will benefit from hormone therapy alone and which require chemotherapy. A computer program ... read more

Scientists Reveal Insights Into Treatment Resistance of Metastastic Breast Cancer Research

Sep. 6, 2016 — A dynamic gene expression in metastatic breast cancer has been discovered that may contribute to disease progression and resistance to treatment experienced by many ... read more

Greater Efforts Are Needed to Eliminate Female Genital Mutilation

Sep. 6, 2016 — The World Health Organization reports that more than 200 million girls and women currently have been subjected to female genital mutilation/cutting worldwide, and three million girls continue to be ... read more

Out of Sync: How Genetic Variation Can Disrupt the Heart's Rhythm

Aug. 31, 2016 — New research shows how deficits in a specific pathway of genes can lead to the development of atrial fibrillation, a common irregular heartbeat, which poses a significant health ... read more

Researchers Use a Single Molecule to Command Stem Cells to Build New Bone

Aug. 31, 2016 — An easy and efficient way to coax human pluripotent stem cells to regenerate bone tissue has been identified by researchers: feed them adenosine, a naturally occurring molecule in the body. The ... read more

Increasing Nursing Mothers' Vitamin D Levels May Benefit Babies

Aug. 30, 2016 — New research has found that giving breastfeeding mothers monthly high-dose vitamin D supplements may be a possible way to improve their babies' vitamin D status. Vitamin D is essential for ... read more

Radiologists Detect Breast Cancer in 'Blink of an Eye'

Aug. 29, 2016 — Visual attention researchers showed radiologists mammograms for half a second and found that they could identify abnormal mammograms at better than chance levels. They further tested this ability ... read more

Artificial Intelligence Expedites Breast Cancer Risk Prediction

Aug. 29, 2016 — Researchers have developed an artificial intelligence (AI) software that reliably interprets mammograms, assisting doctors with a quick and accurate prediction of breast cancer risk. The AI computer ... read more

Breast Milk Sugar May Protect Babies Against Deadly Infection

Aug. 26, 2016 — A type of sugar found naturally in some women’s breast milk may protect newborn babies from infection with a potentially life threatening bacterium called Group B streptococcus, according to a new ... read more

Scientists Shed New Light on the Role of Calcium in Learning, Memory

Aug. 26, 2016 — While calcium's importance for our bones and teeth is well known, its role in neurons -- in particular, its effects on processes such as learning and memory -- has been less well defined. A new ... read more

Zika Virus May Persist in the Vagina Days After Infection

Aug. 25, 2016 — The Zika virus reproduces in the vaginal tissue of pregnant mice several days after infection, according to a new study. From the genitals, the virus spreads and infects the fetal brain, impairing ... read more

Monday, September 12, 2016
Thursday, September 8, 2016
Wednesday, September 7, 2016
Tuesday, September 6, 2016
Wednesday, August 31, 2016
Tuesday, August 30, 2016
Monday, August 29, 2016
Friday, August 26, 2016
Thursday, August 25, 2016
Wednesday, August 24, 2016
Tuesday, August 23, 2016
Monday, August 22, 2016
Wednesday, August 17, 2016
Tuesday, August 16, 2016
Monday, August 15, 2016
Thursday, August 11, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Tuesday, August 9, 2016
Monday, August 8, 2016
Thursday, August 4, 2016
Wednesday, August 3, 2016
Monday, August 1, 2016
Thursday, July 28, 2016
Wednesday, July 27, 2016
Monday, July 25, 2016
Thursday, July 21, 2016
Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Friday, July 15, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Friday, July 8, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Monday, July 4, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Saturday, June 25, 2016
Friday, June 24, 2016
Thursday, June 23, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016