Women's Health News
May 29, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 5:30am EDT

More Women's Health News
May 29, 2016

Research Points to Possible New Prevention Strategies for Ovarian Cancer

May 24, 2016 — The discovery of early changes in the cells of the Fallopian tubes of women carrying the BRCA genetic mutation could open the way for new preventative strategies for ovarian cancer, reducing the need ... read more

Investigational CDK4/6 Inhibitor Abemaciclib Is Active Against a Range of Cancer Types

May 23, 2016 — The investigational anticancer therapeutic abemaciclib, which targets CDK4 and CDK6, showed durable clinical activity when given as continuous single-agent therapy to patients with a variety of ... read more

May 20, 2016 — Researchers have compiled an extensive review of the key contributions to understanding the mechanics of the bladder ranging from work conducted in the 1970s through the present time with a focus on ... read more

Triple-Therapy Cocktail Shrinks Triple-Negative Breast Tumors

May 19, 2016 — In a new study using mice and lab-grown human cells, a scientific team of researchers shows how a triple-drug cocktail can shrink triple-negative breast cancers by killing off cancer cells and ... read more

May 19, 2016 — Many breast cancers are marked by a lack of HOXA5 protein, a gene product known to control cell differentiation and death, and lower levels of the protein correspond to poorer outcomes for patients. ... read more

May 19, 2016 — An experimental model uses genetics-guided biomechanics and patient-derived stem cells to predict what type of inherited heart defect a child will develop, according to authors of a new study. A ... read more

Identification of a Chemotherapy Resistance Factor in Breast Cancer Patients

May 19, 2016 — Scientists have identified low expression of methylation-controlled J protein (MCJ) as a marker of poor response to ... read more

Survey: 71 Percent of Hip Fracture Patients Not Told They Have Osteoporosis

May 19, 2016 — More than 7 in 10 older adults who suffer hip fractures aren't told they have the bone-weakening disease osteoporosis -- despite the fact that hip fractures nearly always signify the presence of ... read more

Intake of Dietary Fat in Adolescence Associated With Breast Density

May 19, 2016 — Consuming high amounts of saturated fat or low amounts of mono- and polyunsaturated fats as an adolescent was associated with higher breast density in young adulthood, investigators have found. ... read more

Infertility Risk Posed by Endometriosis May Be Half of Previous Estimation

May 17, 2016 — The infertility risk posed by endometriosis is about half previous estimates and indicates a possible detection bias in earlier studies, according to a new ... read more

May 17, 2016 — Female cancer patients of reproductive age could preserve their fertility during radiation and chemotherapy through treatments that target the DNA damage response in oocytes (the cells that develop ... read more

Cancer Risk Perception Could Lead to Adverse Health Outcomes Among Women

May 16, 2016 — According to recent studies, the US has a disadvantage in women's life expectancy compared to peer countries despite high rates of health screenings. Researchers have examined the perceptions of ... read more

May 12, 2016 — Women with early-stage breast cancer for whom chemotherapy was indicated and who used dietary supplements and multiple types of complementary and alternative medicine (CAM) were less likely to start ... read more

Scientists Identify Key Factor in Mitochondrial Calcium Uptake and Bioenergetics

May 12, 2016 — Mitochondria are the energy-generating batteries of cells, but they also perform other critical functions, including protecting cells against calcium overload, a significant cause of cell death in ... read more

Benefits of Calcium Supplements May Be Outweighed by Cardiovascular Risks

May 12, 2016 — Taking calcium and vitamin D can help prevent broken bones in older women. However, this benefit may be cancelled out by an increased risk of heart attack and stroke, say ... read more

Early Walking in Toddlers Linked to Stronger Bones

May 11, 2016 — Children who start to walk and jump earlier are more likely to have stronger bones later on in life, research ... read more

New Research Gives Deeper Understanding of Why Some Breast Cancers Are Hard to Treat

May 10, 2016 — Scientists have unearthed crucial new genetic information about how breast cancer develops and the genetic changes which can be linked to ... read more

May 9, 2016 — One of the cell's key enzymes, the calcium pump, has now been been described in its decisive moment -- a so-called transition state. These findings provide a very detailed picture of how one of ... read more

Men Also at Risk for Osteoporosis

May 5, 2016 — Screening women for osteoporosis is now routine, however, when it comes to men, most are never screened and therefore suffer the consequences of the disease. In the U.S., nearly 1.5 million men over ... read more

Testing Non-Breast Cancer Genes in High-Risk Women Leaves More Questions Than Answers

May 5, 2016 — Running large, multi-gene sequencing panels to assess cancer risk is a growing trend in medicine as the price of the technology declines and more precise approaches to cancer care gain steam. The ... read more

Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Monday, May 23, 2016
Friday, May 20, 2016
Thursday, May 19, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Thursday, May 12, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Tuesday, May 3, 2016
Monday, May 2, 2016
Saturday, April 30, 2016
Friday, April 29, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Friday, April 22, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Saturday, April 16, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Saturday, April 9, 2016
Thursday, April 7, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Sunday, April 3, 2016
Friday, April 1, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Tuesday, March 29, 2016
Monday, March 28, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Tuesday, March 22, 2016
Friday, March 18, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016