NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Women's Health News
February 27, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 5:00am EST

More Women's Health News
February 27, 2017

Scientists Identify Chain Reaction That Shields Breast Cancer Stem Cells from Chemotherapy

Feb. 22, 2017 — Working with human breast cancer cells and mice, researchers say they have identified a biochemical pathway that triggers the regrowth of breast cancer stem cells after ... read more

High Rates of Satisfaction for Applicator Free Local Estrogen Softgel Ovule

Feb. 15, 2017 — A new investigational delivery method for localized vaginal estrogen therapy received high rates of patient satisfaction among post-menopausal women, according to post-trial survey ... read more

Feb. 13, 2017 — Cancer cells have been observed being targeted and killed from the inside with metal-based compound, report researchers. The compound, Organo-Osmium FY26, attacks the weakest part of cancer cells. ... read more

Feb. 8, 2017 — A new compound employs a unique mechanism of action that has safely and effectively suppressed tumors in animal ... read more

Calcified Plaque Raises Heart Disease Risk for Younger Adults

Feb. 8, 2017 — The mere presence of even a small amount of calcified coronary plaque, more commonly referred to as coronary artery calcium (CAC), in people under age 50 -- even small amounts -- was strongly ... read more

Researchers Quantify Immune Cells Associated With Future Breast Cancer Risk

Feb. 8, 2017 — Researchers have quantified the numbers of various types of immune cells associated with the risk of developing breast cancer, outlines a new ... read more

Breast Cancer Patients With Dense Breast Tissue More Likely to Develop Contralateral Disease

Feb. 7, 2017 — Breast cancer patients with dense breast tissue have almost a two-fold increased risk of developing disease in the contralateral breast, according to new ... read more

American Cancer Society Endorses Two-Dose Regimen for HPV Vaccination

Feb. 7, 2017 — The American Cancer Society has endorsed updated recommendations on human papillomavirus (HPV) vaccination supporting a two-dose schedule for boys and girls who initiate the vaccine at ages 9 to ... read more

Possible Link Between Early Menstruation, Stroke Risk

Feb. 7, 2017 — Women who start menstruating early in life could later face a higher risk of stroke, suggest researchers in a new ... read more

Feb. 3, 2017 — Memory involves the successful flow of neurotransmitters from neuron to neuron. When memory breaks down, researchers know there must be a gap in this flow but currently don't know where to start ... read more

Under and Misuse of Hormone Therapy Decreasing, but Still High

Feb. 2, 2017 — A nationwide cancer registry of almost one million patients treated for hormone-sensitive breast cancer shows that one out of six women who should have received post-surgical treatment known as ... read more

Understanding When Eating Soy Might Help or Harm in Breast Cancer Treatment

Feb. 1, 2017 — Researchers have used animal models to reveal new information about the impact -- positive and negative -- that soy consumption could have on a common breast cancer ... read more

Better Sleep Can Lead to Better Sex

Feb. 1, 2017 — Sleep disturbance is common for many women during menopause, creating an array of adverse health outcomes such as heart disease, hypertension, and depression. A new study shows that sleep problems ... read more

Changes in Gene Contribute Independently to Breast and Ovarian Cancer

Jan. 31, 2017 — Defects in the EMSY gene -- long thought to drive cancer by turning off the protection afforded by the BRCA genes -- spur cancer growth on their own, report ... read more

Jan. 30, 2017 — More than 160 million people in the US drink coffee or tea on a regular basis, and many of them use sugar, cream, flavored syrups or other calorie-laden additives in their drinks of choice. A new ... read more

Jan. 30, 2017 — Osteogenesis imperfecta, also known as brittle bone disease, is a genetic disorder that causes bones to break easily. Severe cases of the disease can result in hundreds of fractures during a ... read more

Bone Markers as Screening Strategy for Patient Adherence to Osteoporosis Medications

Jan. 30, 2017 — A new position paper proposes measuring specific bone turnover markers (BTMs) in patients who have initiated use of oral bisphosphonates for postmenopausal osteoporosis as a practical way to identify ... read more

Jan. 30, 2017 — For the first time, researchers have pinpointed a type of heart fat, linked it to a risk factor for heart disease and shown that menopausal status and estrogen levels are critical modifying factors ... read more

Certain Fat Found Around the Heart Associated With Higher Risk of Heart Disease in Postmenopausal Women

Jan. 30, 2017 — New study points to heart disease risk factor in menopausal women that could be caught ... read more

Women Treated for Precursor of Breast Cancer Can Expect to Live as Long as Other Women

Jan. 27, 2017 — Women over 50 who have been treated for ductal carcinoma in situ (DCIS), a precursor of breast cancer, are more likely to be alive ten years later than women in the general population, according to ... read more

Wednesday, February 22, 2017
Wednesday, February 15, 2017
Monday, February 13, 2017
Wednesday, February 8, 2017
Tuesday, February 7, 2017
Friday, February 3, 2017
Thursday, February 2, 2017
Wednesday, February 1, 2017
Tuesday, January 31, 2017
Monday, January 30, 2017
Friday, January 27, 2017
Thursday, January 26, 2017
Wednesday, January 25, 2017
Tuesday, January 24, 2017
Monday, January 23, 2017
Friday, January 20, 2017
Thursday, January 19, 2017
Wednesday, January 18, 2017
Tuesday, January 17, 2017
Wednesday, January 11, 2017
Tuesday, January 10, 2017
Monday, January 9, 2017
Friday, January 6, 2017
Thursday, January 5, 2017
Tuesday, January 3, 2017
Thursday, December 29, 2016
Tuesday, December 27, 2016
Wednesday, December 21, 2016
Tuesday, December 20, 2016
Friday, December 16, 2016
Wednesday, December 14, 2016
Tuesday, December 13, 2016
Friday, December 9, 2016
Thursday, December 8, 2016
Thursday, December 1, 2016
Tuesday, November 29, 2016
Monday, November 28, 2016
Monday, November 21, 2016
Friday, November 18, 2016
Thursday, November 17, 2016
Tuesday, November 15, 2016
Monday, November 14, 2016
Wednesday, November 9, 2016
Tuesday, November 8, 2016
Monday, November 7, 2016