Women's Health News
May 1, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 6:59pm EDT

More Women's Health News
May 1, 2016

Is Breast Conserving Therapy or Mastectomy Better for Early Breast Cancer?

Apr. 30, 2016 — Young women with early breast cancer face a difficult choice about whether to opt for a mastectomy or breast conserving therapy (BCT). New research has shown young women, who had early stage breast ... read more

Good Long-Term Quality of Life After 'DIEP Flap' Breast Reconstruction

Apr. 29, 2016 — For women who have undergone mastectomy for breast cancer, breast reconstruction using the abdominal 'DIEP flap' provides good long-term quality of life (QOL) -- similar to that of women ... read more

Apr. 27, 2016 — Researchers describe how breast cancer cells challenged with a small-molecule inhibitor targeting specific invasive properties switch to an alternative mode-of-action, rendering them even more ... read more

Genes That Control Smooth Muscle Contraction Identified

Apr. 22, 2016 — A new molecular pathway has been identified that is critical for maintaining the smooth muscle tone that allows the passage of materials through the digestive ... read more

Longitudinal Trial of Safety, Efficacy of Calcium Supplement Used to Enhance Bone Mineral Density

Apr. 21, 2016 — A recent study examines the safety and efficacy of a vitamin/mineral enhanced plant-sourced calcium supplement in female consumers who had taken the supplement from 1 to 7 ... read more

Menstruation in Spaceflight: Options for Astronauts

Apr. 21, 2016 — A new article explores the options for astronauts who want to prevent menstrual bleeding during their space missions. The article reviews contraceptive devices available including those already used ... read more

No Increased Risk of Fatal Cardiovascular Events for Breast Cancer Patients on Newer Hormone Therapy

Apr. 21, 2016 — The use of aromatase inhibitors, hormone-therapy drugs used to treat patients with breast cancer, was not associated with an increased risk of fatal cardiovascular events, including heart attacks or ... read more

Study Finds Explanation for Some Treatment-Resistant Breast Cancers

Apr. 21, 2016 — Investigators have identified gene alterations that may explain why triple-negative breast cancer is resistant to most existing treatments, and suggests that a targeted therapy currently in clinical ... read more

Research Links Heart Disease With Testosterone

Apr. 20, 2016 — Testosterone might be involved in explaining why men have a greater risk of heart attacks than women of similar age, according to a ... read more

BRCA1 Gene Mutation Is Linked to Women Having Fewer Eggs in Their Ovaries

Apr. 19, 2016 — A link between the BRCA1 gene mutation and lower levels of a hormone that is an indicator of the number of eggs left in a woman's ovaries, has been identified by ... read more

Study Identifies Effects of Hormonal Contraceptives on Anti-Viral Immunity

Apr. 19, 2016 — Women account for approximately half of all individuals living with HIV worldwide, and researchers wanted to identify the risk factors that increase susceptibility of women to genital ... read more

Breast Cancer Patients Receiving Herceptin Treatment Should Be Monitored for Heart Damage at Any Age

Apr. 19, 2016 — Breast cancer patients undergoing treatment with trastuzumab-containing regimens should be monitored for heart damage regardless of ... read more

Media Coverage of Celebrities With Breast Cancer Influencing Rise in Double Mastectomy

Apr. 19, 2016 — An increase in women with breast cancer choosing double mastectomy may be influenced by media coverage of celebrities, a new study ... read more

Apr. 19, 2016 — Researchers have analyzed the effect of endurance running training on the stiffness index, a variable that is directly related to bone quality. The results confirm that the greater the race distance ... read more

Bisphenol A in Low Doses Can Affect the Reproductive System, Behavior

Apr. 19, 2016 — If rats are exposed to bisphenol A in low doses during early development it can lead to reduced sperm count, obesity and changes to breast development and behavior. These results support previous ... read more

Delaying Radiation Therapy for Women With Very Early Breast Cancer Ups Recurrence

Apr. 19, 2016 — Delaying radiation therapy too long after surgery significantly increases the risk of recurrent tumors in women treated for very early, or what is referred to as 'stage 0,' breast cancer, ... read more

UK Study Supports Cardiovascular Safety of Calcium and Vitamin D Supplementation

Apr. 16, 2016 — Rsearchers have presented a new study that supports the cardiovascular safety of calcium and vitamin D supplementation. The study was based on analysis of the UK Biobank, a very large study ... read more

Apr. 16, 2016 — Women who stayed on a low fat diet for approximately eight years reduced their risk of death from invasive breast cancers and improved their survival ... read more

Protective Mastectomies That Preserve Nipple Safe for Women at High Breast Cancer Risk

Apr. 14, 2016 — Protective mastectomies that preserve the nipple and surrounding skin prevent breast cancer as effectively as more invasive surgeries for women with a genetic mutation called BRCA that raises their ... read more

Apr. 13, 2016 — The protein COMP, which mainly exists in cartilage, can also be found in breast cancer tumors in patients with a poor prognosis, research shows. Studies on mice also showed that COMP contributed to ... read more

Saturday, April 30, 2016
Friday, April 29, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Friday, April 22, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Saturday, April 16, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Saturday, April 9, 2016
Thursday, April 7, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Sunday, April 3, 2016
Friday, April 1, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Tuesday, March 29, 2016
Monday, March 28, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Tuesday, March 22, 2016
Friday, March 18, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Wednesday, March 9, 2016
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Monday, March 7, 2016
Friday, March 4, 2016
Thursday, March 3, 2016
Wednesday, March 2, 2016
Tuesday, March 1, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016