Fertility News
August 24, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 9:30pm EDT

More Fertility News
August 24, 2016

LGBT Persons Get Limited Educational Info for Assisted Reproductive Technology, Study Finds

Aug. 16, 2016 — With the recent one-year anniversary of Obergefell vs. Hodges -- the landmark US Supreme Court decision legalizing same-sex marriage -- researchers have published a report that identifies unequal ... read more

Soy May Help Protect Women With PCOS from Diabetes, Heart Disease

Aug. 4, 2016 — Women who have polycystic ovary syndrome -- a common cause of female infertility -- may be able to improve their metabolic and cardiovascular health by consuming soy isoflavones, according to a new ... read more

First Widely Protective Vaccine Against Chlamydia

July 19, 2016 — The first steps towards developing a vaccine against an insidious sexual transmitted infection (STI) have been ... read more

Obscure Virus Found in Women With Unexplained Infertility

July 7, 2016 — The little-known member of the human herpesvirus family called HHV-6A infects the lining of the uterus in 43 percent of women with unexplained infertility but cannot be found in that of fertile ... read more

Young and Well Educated Men in Demand as Sperm Donors in Global Life Market

July 7, 2016 — With commercial sperm banking giving women more opportunities to become mothers, a new study has found the age and education of sperm donors are the most important characteristics ... read more

Benefits from Freeze-All Embryo Strategy in Older IVF Patients

July 6, 2016 — Conventional IVF protocols involve the transfer of a fresh embryo to the uterus during the same cycle in which the eggs were collected and freezing extra embryos for future use. A novel approach to ... read more

A Short Period of Bed Rest After Intrauterine Insemination Makes No Difference to Pregnancy Rates

July 5, 2016 — Despite the positive results of small studies and a widely held belief in its benefit, the practice of keeping female patients immobilized after intrauterine insemination has no beneficial effect on ... read more

Still No Strong Evidence That Adjunctive Treatment With Human Growth Hormone in IVF Improves Results

July 4, 2016 — Despite its occasional use as an adjunct in IVF, human growth hormone appears of little benefit to women having difficulty conceiving. Indeed, in an Australian/New Zealand collaborative ... read more

How Lifestyle Intervention for Weight Loss Affects Birth Rates in Women With a High BMI

July 4, 2016 — Women who are overweight or obese pose an ongoing challenge for the fertility clinic. Many studies show that these patients are at increased risk of infertility and are less likely than normal-weight ... read more

Three in Four Women Starting Fertility Treatment Will Have a Baby Within Five Years

July 4, 2016 — Three in four women starting fertility treatment will have a baby within five years, whether as a result of the treatment or following natural conception. The figures emerged from a large cohort ... read more

Endometrial Scratch Appears Beneficial in Couples Trying to Conceive

July 4, 2016 — There is a much disputed claim that 'injury' to the lining of the uterus -- whether inadvertent or deliberate -- increases the chance of embryo implantation and thus the chance of pregnancy ... read more

Survey of 15,000 Women and Men Reveals Scale of Infertility

June 30, 2016 — One in eight women and one in ten men have experienced infertility, yet nearly half of them have not sought medical help, according to a study of more than 15,000 women and men in ... read more

Smartphone Apps Not So Smart at Helping Users Avoid or Achieve Pregnancy

June 30, 2016 — You might not want to depend on your smartphone app alone to help you avoid or achieve pregnancy, say the authors of a new study. A review of nearly 100 fertility awareness apps finds that most ... read more

Fifty-Four Mouse Testis-Enriched Genes Are Not Needed for Male Fertility

June 27, 2016 — In the male mouse, more than 2,300 genes are predominantly expressed in the testis, but their particular functions in reproduction are still a mystery. Researchers have now discovered that 54 of the ... read more

Smoking May Have Negative Effects on Sperm Quality

June 22, 2016 — A recent study found that that sperm of men who smoke has a greater extent of DNA damage than that of ... read more

Twin Birth Defect Risk May Be Higher Among Moms Not on Fertility Treatment

June 20, 2016 — The risk of birth defects among twins may be higher among mums who haven't used fertility treatment -- which is known to increase the chances of a twin birth -- than among those who have used ... read more

June 16, 2016 — Of the millions of sperm that enter the vagina, only about 10 make it to the egg, demonstrating how rigorous the natural sperm selection process really is. So how is it possible to select only the ... read more

Gene Required for Sperm Production in Blood Flukes Identified

June 15, 2016 — Scientists can interfere with sperm production in the parasitic blood fluke Schistosoma mansoni by blocking expression of the Nuclear Factor Y-B gene ... read more

How Females Store Sperm

June 13, 2016 — The science of breeding chickens has revealed part of the mystery of how certain female animals are able to store sperm long-term. Droplets of fat transferred from female cells to sperm cells may ... read more

A Child’s Right to Fertility Preservation When Undergoing Sterilizing Chemotherapy

June 10, 2016 — Ovarian tissue cryopreservation (OTC), harvesting and freezing ovarian tissue, is the most promising complication-free strategy to preserve potential fertility in pre-pubescent girls undergoing ... read more

Tuesday, August 16, 2016
Thursday, August 4, 2016
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Tuesday, July 5, 2016
Monday, July 4, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Thursday, June 16, 2016
Wednesday, June 15, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Friday, June 10, 2016
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Wednesday, June 1, 2016
Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Sunday, May 29, 2016
Friday, May 27, 2016
Thursday, May 26, 2016
Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Saturday, May 21, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Monday, May 2, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Saturday, April 16, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Tuesday, April 12, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Friday, April 8, 2016
Sunday, April 3, 2016
Friday, April 1, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Monday, March 28, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Tuesday, March 22, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Friday, March 11, 2016
Wednesday, March 9, 2016
Monday, March 7, 2016
Friday, March 4, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Thursday, February 25, 2016
Tuesday, February 16, 2016
Friday, February 12, 2016
Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Monday, February 1, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Tuesday, January 26, 2016
Monday, January 25, 2016
Friday, January 22, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Monday, January 4, 2016
Tuesday, December 22, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Monday, December 14, 2015
Friday, December 11, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015
Thursday, December 3, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Friday, November 20, 2015
Thursday, November 19, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Thursday, November 12, 2015
Friday, November 6, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015