Fertility News
May 24, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 4:00pm EDT

More Fertility News
May 24, 2016

Women With Epilepsy Just as Likely to Get Pregnant as Healthy Women of Childbearing Age

Apr. 16, 2016 — In a prospective study, women with epilepsy had a comparable likelihood of achieving pregnancy, time taken to get pregnant, and pregnancy outcomes such as miscarriage, compared to a group of healthy ... read more

Obesity and Male Infertility: A Global Health Problem

Apr. 14, 2016 — Infertility is a silent problem that obese men have to face. This is a health issue that deserves attention from policymakers and the media, suggest experts in a new ... read more

Apr. 14, 2016 — By using a systemic mtEF4 gene knockout mouse model, researchers have found that mtEF4 knockout damages the oxidative phosphorylation function in germ cells of male mice, thus causing male ... read more

Expanding Insurance for Single-Embryo IVF Could Improve Pregnancy Outcomes

Apr. 13, 2016 — Expanding insurance coverage for a type of in vitro fertilization known as elective single-embryo transfer could lead to improved health outcomes and lower health care costs, according to a newly ... read more

Potential Effects of Fertility Treatments on Breast Density, Cancer Risk

Apr. 13, 2016 — Infertility and hormonal fertility treatments may influence the amount of dense tissue in the breast, a risk factor for breast cancer, according to a study involving 43,313 ... read more

Apr. 12, 2016 — Single-cell embryos contain a set of maternal and paternal chromosomes, and as the embryo grows, daughter cells receive a copy of each. In a new study, researchers have discovered errors during the ... read more

Scientists Investigate Sperm-Boosting Nutrient Which May Help Infertile Couples

Apr. 11, 2016 — A pioneering study is being launched to investigate if a simple extra nutrient can boost male fertility. It is estimated that one in six couples are unable to conceive -- in about half of cases the ... read more

Maternal Obesity and Poor Nutrition in the Womb Impairs Fertility in Female Offspring

Apr. 8, 2016 — New research involving mice suggests that maternal obesity and poor nutrition during pregnancy affects the egg reserves of female ... read more

Radioactive Iodine Treatment in Women Affects Ovarian Reserve and May Affect Fertility

Apr. 3, 2016 — Women of reproductive age who have thyroid cancer should be cautious about receiving radioactive iodine treatment, which affects their remaining egg supply -- their ovarian reserve -- and may affect ... read more

Engineered Ovary Implant Restores Fertility in Mice

Apr. 1, 2016 — Scientists created a prosthetic ovary using a 3-D printer -- an implant that allowed mice that had their ovaries surgically removed to bear live ... read more

Mar. 31, 2016 — A protein once thought to be of little consequence has been found to be a central player in processes ranging from male fertility to early embryonic development, according to a new ... read more

Conspicuous Consumption May Drive Fertility Down

Mar. 28, 2016 — A new mathematical model shows how fertility goes down as the cost of achieving social status goes up. The study authors developed a mathematical model showing that their argument is plausible from a ... read more

Couples' Pre-Pregnancy Caffeine Consumption Linked to Miscarriage Risk

Mar. 24, 2016 — A woman is more likely to miscarry if she and her partner drink more than two caffeinated beverages a day during the weeks leading up to conception, according to a new study. Similarly, women who ... read more

Most Female Childhood Cancer Survivors Have Good Chance of Becoming Pregnant, Study Suggests

Mar. 23, 2016 — For women who have survived childhood cancer, the impact of modern chemotherapy regimens on the likelihood of becoming pregnant is generally small, and most have a good chance of conceiving, ... read more

Chemical Exposure Linked to 1.4 Billion Euros in Women's Health Care Costs, Study Suggests

Mar. 22, 2016 — Endocrine-disrupting chemicals may contribute to reproductive health problems experienced by hundreds of thousands of women, costing European Union an estimated 1.4 billion Euros ($1.5 billion) a ... read more

Mar. 17, 2016 — The cellular switch that boosts the activity of sperm cells so that they can travel to the egg has now been discovered by researchers. The finding may lead to new options for male contraception, as ... read more

Mar. 17, 2016 — When human sperm get near the egg, the female sex hormone progesterone released by the egg triggers a tail snap that propels the sperm forcefully into and hopefully through the layers of cells ... read more

Mothers With Postnatal Depression Reluctant to Have More Than Two Children

Mar. 15, 2016 — Mothers who have postnatal depression are unlikely to have more than two children according to research carried out by evolutionary anthropologists. Until now very little has been known about how ... read more

Mar. 14, 2016 — Women can choose from many birth control methods, including numerous oral contraceptives, but there's never been an analogous pill for men. That's not for lack of trying: For many years, ... read more

Almost 1/3 of Infertile Men at Increased Risk of Metabolic Diseases as They Age

Mar. 14, 2016 — Men with fertility problems are at increased risk of metabolic diseases as they age, according to new ... read more

Saturday, April 16, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Tuesday, April 12, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Friday, April 8, 2016
Sunday, April 3, 2016
Friday, April 1, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Monday, March 28, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Tuesday, March 22, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Friday, March 11, 2016
Wednesday, March 9, 2016
Monday, March 7, 2016
Friday, March 4, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Thursday, February 25, 2016
Tuesday, February 16, 2016
Friday, February 12, 2016
Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Monday, February 1, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Tuesday, January 26, 2016
Monday, January 25, 2016
Friday, January 22, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Monday, January 4, 2016
Tuesday, December 22, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Monday, December 14, 2015
Friday, December 11, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015
Thursday, December 3, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Friday, November 20, 2015
Thursday, November 19, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Thursday, November 12, 2015
Friday, November 6, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Wednesday, November 4, 2015
Tuesday, November 3, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Wednesday, October 28, 2015
Tuesday, October 27, 2015
Tuesday, October 20, 2015
Thursday, October 8, 2015
Tuesday, October 6, 2015
Monday, October 5, 2015
Monday, September 28, 2015
Sunday, September 27, 2015
Thursday, September 24, 2015
Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Friday, September 18, 2015
Wednesday, September 16, 2015
Tuesday, September 15, 2015
Thursday, September 10, 2015
Thursday, September 3, 2015
Tuesday, August 25, 2015
Monday, August 24, 2015
Sunday, August 23, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
Wednesday, August 19, 2015
Tuesday, August 18, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Tuesday, August 11, 2015
Monday, August 10, 2015
Monday, July 27, 2015
Friday, July 10, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015