NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Alzheimer's Research News
February 19, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 9:53am EST

More Alzheimer's Research News
February 19, 2017

Feb. 14, 2017 — The older we get, the more our brain ages. Cognitive abilities decline and the risk of developing neurodegenerative diseases like dementia, Alzheimer’s and Parkinson’s disease or having a stroke ... read more

Children of Patients With C9orf72 Mutations Are at a Greater Risk of Frontotemporal Dementia or ALS at a Younger Age

Feb. 14, 2017 — The most common genetic cause of the brain diseases frontotemporal dementia (FTD) and amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS) is a mutation in the C9orf72 gene. Researchers have demonstrated that if an ... read more

Caregivers Should Be Screened Early, Often to Prevent Depression, Anxiety

Feb. 10, 2017 — Currently, more than 34 million people in the U.S. care for terminally ill love ones, but few resources are available to help them navigate the challenges they encounter. A study has found that ... read more

Alzheimer's May Be Linked to Defective Brain Cells Spreading Disease

Feb. 10, 2017 — Neurodegenerative diseases like Alzheimer's and Parkinson's may be linked to defective brain cells disposing toxic proteins that make neighboring cells sick, say researchers. These findings ... read more

Gut Bacteria May Play a Role in Alzheimer’s Disease

Feb. 10, 2017 — New research has shown that intestinal bacteria can accelerate the development of Alzheimer’s disease. According to the researchers behind the study, the results open up the door to new ... read more

Feb. 8, 2017 — Disabling a part of brain cells that acts as a tap to regulate the flow of proteins has been shown to cause neurodegeneration, a new study has ... read more

Alzheimer's Disease Researchers Solve Mystery of Beguiling Protein

Feb. 7, 2017 — Leading neuroscientists have clarified the role of a controversial immune system protein in Alzheimer’s disease, showing it has opposing effects in early and late stages of the disease. Their ... read more

New Algorithms May Revolutionize Drug Discoveries, and Our Understanding of Life

Feb. 7, 2017 — A new set of machine learning algorithms that can generate 3-D structures of tiny protein molecules may revolutionize the development of drug therapies for a range of diseases, from Alzheimer's ... read more

Feb. 6, 2017 — A team of engineers say a compound found in green tea could have lifesaving potential for patients with multiple myeloma and amyloidosis, who face often-fatal medical complications associated with ... read more

A Protein Called PERK May Be a Target for Treating Progressive Supranuclear Palsy

Feb. 6, 2017 — The brain disease 'progressive supranuclear palsy' (PSP) is currently incurable and its symptoms can only be eased to a very limited degree. PSP impairs eye movements, locomotion, balance ... read more

Research Reveals Strategy to Potentially Treat Juvenile Batten Disease

Feb. 6, 2017 — An international team of researchers has discovered a treatment that improves the neurological symptoms in a mouse model of juvenile Batten ... read more

Jekyll and Hyde Cells: Their Role in Brain Injury and Disease Revealed

Feb. 3, 2017 — New research has shown how normally helpful brain cells can turn rogue and kill off other brain cells following injury or ... read more

Feb. 2, 2017 — A research team has used an innovative neuroimaging tool to interrogate the complex brain networks and ... read more

With Mini-Vessels, Mini-Brains Expand Research Potential

Feb. 2, 2017 — Mini-brains produce networks of capillaries, an important anatomical feature for lab studies of stroke and other circulation-related brain diseases, report ... read more

Air Pollution May Lead to Dementia in Older Women

Jan. 31, 2017 — Tiny air pollution particles -- the type that mainly comes from power plants and automobiles -- may greatly increase the chance of dementia, including Alzheimer's disease. Scientists and ... read more

Drug Candidate Stabilizes Essential Transport Mechanism in Nerve Cells

Jan. 31, 2017 — New research has discovered how a drug candidate works to possibly alleviate Alzheimer's disease and autism spectrum ... read more

Jan. 31, 2017 — A new study reveals a new molecular mechanism essential for associative memory encoding in the hippocampus. This brain region is highly affected pathologically at early stages of several ... read more

Mental Activities May Protect Against Mild Cognitive Impairment

Jan. 30, 2017 — Researchers have found that engaging in mentally stimulating activities, even late in life, may protect against new-onset mild cognitive impairment, which is the intermediate stage between normal ... read more

Jan. 30, 2017 — Abnormality with special cells that wrap around blood vessels in the brain leads to neuron deterioration, possibly affecting the development of Alzheimer's disease, a study reveals. ... read more

Androgen Deprivation Therapy: Not Associated With Increased Risk of Alzheimer Disease

Jan. 26, 2017 — The use of androgen deprivation therapy (ADT) to treat advanced prostate cancer is not associated with an increased risk of Alzheimer disease, a large-scale, population based study has ... read more

Tuesday, February 14, 2017
Friday, February 10, 2017
Wednesday, February 8, 2017
Tuesday, February 7, 2017
Monday, February 6, 2017
Friday, February 3, 2017
Thursday, February 2, 2017
Tuesday, January 31, 2017
Monday, January 30, 2017
Thursday, January 26, 2017
Tuesday, January 24, 2017
Monday, January 23, 2017
Thursday, January 19, 2017
Wednesday, January 18, 2017
Tuesday, January 17, 2017
Monday, January 16, 2017
Friday, January 13, 2017
Thursday, January 12, 2017
Wednesday, January 11, 2017
Tuesday, January 10, 2017
Monday, January 9, 2017
Friday, January 6, 2017
Thursday, January 5, 2017
Wednesday, January 4, 2017
Tuesday, January 3, 2017
Tuesday, December 27, 2016
Monday, December 26, 2016
Thursday, December 22, 2016
Wednesday, December 21, 2016
Tuesday, December 20, 2016
Monday, December 19, 2016
Friday, December 16, 2016
Thursday, December 15, 2016
Wednesday, December 14, 2016
Tuesday, December 13, 2016
Monday, December 12, 2016
Thursday, December 8, 2016
Wednesday, December 7, 2016
Tuesday, December 6, 2016
Thursday, December 1, 2016
Wednesday, November 30, 2016
Tuesday, November 29, 2016
Monday, November 28, 2016
Wednesday, November 23, 2016