Alzheimer's Research News
May 25, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 6:52pm EDT

More Alzheimer's Research News
May 25, 2016

Distinguishing Differences in Dementia Using Brain Scans

May 24, 2016 — Neuroscientists are now able to distinguish two different forms of dementia using advanced imaging techniques. This is the first step towards early recognition of dementia in patients on the basis of ... read more

PET Imaging With Special Tracer Can Detect, Diagnose Early Alzheimer's Disease

May 24, 2016 — Recognizing that the use of biomarkers has led to advances in the detection of Alzheimer's disease (AD), researchers reviewed a PET amyloid imaging agent, finding that imaging with PiB provides ... read more

Assistive Tech to Tackle Dementia Isolation

May 19, 2016 — Moblie and wearable technology used to support independent living for people with dementia could hold the key to cutting social ... read more

May 11, 2016 — By studying an orphaned domain considered disordered by others, researchers may have found the key to possible drug therapies for nervous system diseases and inflammatory ... read more

New Challenge for Caregivers: The Internet

May 11, 2016 — What should caregivers do when their loved one is checking in on social media at the bank, essentially announcing their whereabouts? What if they are posting too often or don’t remember making ... read more

May 10, 2016 — In Alzheimer's disease, plaques of amyloid beta protein accumulate in the brain, damaging connections between neurons. Now, researchers have found that the enzyme Protein Kinase C (PKC) alpha is ... read more

Stave Off Cognitive Decline With Seafood

May 10, 2016 — Eating a meal of seafood or other foods containing omega-3 fatty acids at least once a week may protect against age-related memory loss and thinking problems in older people, according to a team of ... read more

Gene Linked to Alzheimer's Disease Impairs Memory by Disrupting Brain's 'Playback System'

May 6, 2016 — Scientists have discovered how the major genetic risk factor for Alzheimer's disease causes memory impairment. A specific type of brain activity important for memory replay is disrupted in mice ... read more

May 5, 2016 — An important mechanism has been identified with which memory switches from recall to memorization mode. The study may shed new light on the cellular causes of dementia, say ... read more

Researchers Identify New Pathway Leading to Alzheimer's Disease

May 5, 2016 — A newly discovered pathway leading to neurodegeneration in Alzheimer's disease may unlock the door to new approaches for treating the ... read more

May 5, 2016 — Study of more than 10,000 patients treated long term with the blood thinner, warfarin, reveals higher rates of dementia for patients with atrial fibrillation versus non-AF ... read more

Study Contradicts Belief That Cancer Protects Against Alzheimer's

May 5, 2016 — Despite studies that claim people with cancer are less likely to develop Alzheimer’s disease--raising the possibility that what triggers cancer also prevents the neurodegenerative disorder--a new ... read more

Newborn Screening Test Developed for Rare, Deadly Neurological Disorder

May 4, 2016 — Soon after birth, a baby's blood is sampled and tested for a number of rare inherited conditions, such as cystic fibrosis and sickle cell anemia. A new study describes a novel newborn screening ... read more

May 3, 2016 — When given to old rats, the drug, which is known to affect signaling by the neurotransmitter glutamate, reversed many age-related changes that occur in a brain region key to learning and memory. The ... read more

Group Activities Reduced Depressive Symptoms Among Older People With Dementia

May 3, 2016 — Both a high-intensity functional exercise programme and a non-exercise group activity, conducted among older care facility residents with dementia, reduced high levels of depressive symptoms. ... read more

Social Clubs Fill Gap in Dementia Support

May 3, 2016 — Community-based social groups could play a crucial role in empowering people with early-onset dementia, according to new research. The research focused on an independently run program known as ... read more

May 2, 2016 — A new study is first to closely follow development of new neurons in the adult brain, giving potential new insight into neurodevelopmental disorders such as autism and ... read more

Neuroscientists Discover Previously Unknown Function of Cannabinoid Receptor

May 2, 2016 — In the brain, there is a delicate interplay of signaling substances and cellular activity. Scientists have now identified another key player within this ensemble. In a laboratory study they found ... read more

Depression Symptoms That Steadily Increase in Later Life Predict Higher Dementia Risk, Study Shows

Apr. 29, 2016 — Depression symptoms that steadily increase in older adults are more strongly linked to dementia than any other types of depression, and may indicate the early stages of the disease, according to the ... read more

Apr. 29, 2016 — Researchers are one step closer to understanding the genetic and biological basis of diseases like cancer, diabetes, Alzheimer's and rheumatoid arthritis -- and to identifying new drug targets ... read more

Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Thursday, May 19, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Friday, May 6, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Tuesday, May 3, 2016
Monday, May 2, 2016
Friday, April 29, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Tuesday, April 12, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Friday, April 8, 2016
Thursday, April 7, 2016
Sunday, April 3, 2016
Friday, April 1, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Tuesday, March 29, 2016
Monday, March 28, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Tuesday, March 22, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Friday, March 11, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Wednesday, March 9, 2016
Monday, March 7, 2016
Friday, March 4, 2016
Thursday, March 3, 2016
Wednesday, March 2, 2016