Alzheimer's Research News
May 3, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 6:52am EDT

More Alzheimer's Research News
May 3, 2016

Apr. 25, 2016 — Optogenetics now enables the development of new methods that can be used like light switches to turn on and off specific processes in cells. Optogenetic methods are based on the isolation and ... read more

Unique Mouse Model for Studying ALS Developed

Apr. 21, 2016 — A unique mouse model has been developed that will allow researchers around the world to better study the genetic origins and potential treatments for a neurodegenerative brain disease that causes ... read more

Researchers Identify Key Factor for Reprogramming Adult Cells Into Stem Cells

Apr. 21, 2016 — Scientists have identified and characterized a biological factor critical to the transformation of adult somatic cells (cells that are not sperm or egg cells) into stem ... read more

Apr. 21, 2016 — An eight-year-long accrual and analysis of the whole genome sequences of healthy elderly people, or 'Wellderly,' has revealed a higher-than-normal presence of genetic variants offering ... read more

Early Abnormalities of Alzheimer's Disease: It Takes 2 (Proteins) to Tango

Apr. 20, 2016 — For years, neuroscientists have puzzled over how two abnormal proteins, called amyloid and tau, accumulate in the brain and damage it to cause Alzheimer's disease. Which one is the driving force ... read more

Health Problems May Predict Traumatic Brain Injuries in Older Adults

Apr. 19, 2016 — Researchers set out to learn about the risk factors for traumatic brain injuries in older adults so that healthcare professionals can develop strategies to prevent these types of injuries whenever ... read more

Investigating Plasma Levels as Biomarker for Alzheimer's Disease

Apr. 18, 2016 — The first detailed study of relationship between plasma levels of two amyloid beta peptides, cognitive function and the measures studying the size of brain, which shrinks with Alzheimer's ... read more

Apr. 18, 2016 — Older adults might want to avoid a using class of drugs commonly used in over-the-counter products such as nighttime cold medicines due to their links to cognitive impairment, a research team has ... read more

Apr. 14, 2016 — While research has identified hundreds of genes required for normal memory formation, genes that suppress memory are of special interest because they offer insights into how the brain prioritizes and ... read more

Animal Model for Pediatric Brain Tumor Created

Apr. 13, 2016 — Research scientists have developed a model to explore therapies for a pediatric brain tumor known as choroid plexus ... read more

Apr. 13, 2016 — New research has discovered that one protein, called PITRM1, which is found in mitochondria, otherwise known as the powerhouses of the cell, may be involved in the development of Alzheimer's ... read more

Apr. 13, 2016 — Researchers describe slow-binding inhibition of cholinesterases and present their pharmacological advantages over classical reversible inhibitors (e.g. long target-residence times, resulting in ... read more

Maple Syrup Protects Neurons and Nurtures Young Minds

Apr. 13, 2016 — Catherine Aaron and Gabrielle Beaudry were 17 when they knocked on the door of the laboratory of Alex Parker, a neuroscience researcher at the University of Montreal Hospital Research Centre ... read more

Newly Discovered Proteins May Protect Against Aging's Illnesses

Apr. 12, 2016 — Tested in both mice and human cells and produced in the energy-producing mitochondria of cells, the proteins may lead to greater understanding of aging-related diseases from diabetes to ... read more

Apr. 12, 2016 — Accurate diagnosis of Parkinson's disease, and the related disease "dementia with Lewy bodies," can be difficult in the early stages of both conditions. While brain biopsies can be ... read more

Apr. 11, 2016 — Abnormalities in a protein that helps transport and sort materials inside cells are linked to axonal dysfunction and degeneration of neurons in Alzheimer's disease and Down syndrome, report ... read more

Apr. 11, 2016 — Glial cells nourish, protect, and support neurons, but their role is far from passive. A new study shows how they can change the shape of nerve endings and distinguish between the different types of ... read more

Apr. 11, 2016 — Chemists have designed a set of molecules that promote microscopic, anatomical changes in neurons associated with the formation and retention of memories. These drug candidates also prevent ... read more

Brain Insulin Resistance Identified as Possible New Link Between Alzheimer's Disease, Diabetes

Apr. 7, 2016 — Alzheimer’s disease (AD) impairs insulin signaling in the portion of the brain responsible for regulating metabolism, making a person with AD more likely to develop diabetes, new research ... read more

New Gene Responsible for Stroke Discovered

Apr. 7, 2016 — Researchers have identified a new set of genes that may be responsible for the two most common and disabling neurological conditions, stroke and dementia. The study may help researchers better ... read more

Monday, April 25, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Tuesday, April 12, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Thursday, April 7, 2016
Sunday, April 3, 2016
Friday, April 1, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Tuesday, March 29, 2016
Monday, March 28, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Tuesday, March 22, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Friday, March 11, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Wednesday, March 9, 2016
Monday, March 7, 2016
Friday, March 4, 2016
Thursday, March 3, 2016
Wednesday, March 2, 2016
Tuesday, March 1, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Friday, February 26, 2016
Thursday, February 25, 2016
Wednesday, February 24, 2016
Tuesday, February 23, 2016
Monday, February 22, 2016
Friday, February 19, 2016
Thursday, February 18, 2016
Wednesday, February 17, 2016
Tuesday, February 16, 2016
Monday, February 15, 2016
Sunday, February 14, 2016
Friday, February 12, 2016
Thursday, February 11, 2016